SQUEEEEE!!!

Because Faith gets a shameless shipper day for her birthday.

They're Getting Married

We love love, and we love Chuck and Sarah.  We really love Chuck and Sarah in love.  Nobody loves all of the above more than our very own Faith.  Though the rest of the ChuckThis crew may protest a bit at that statement, for her birthday, Faith gets the title as ChuckThis’ most shameless shipper.

So what is it about Chuck and Sarah in love that makes us go squee!  It’s those little moments that Zach and Yvonne do so well, where the chemistry and the acting let you see something so real and genuine and touching, it’s hard to remember that Chuck and Sarah are characters and Zach and Yvonne aren’t a real couple.  We cherish those moments.  Even though Chuck and Sarah are together now they still tend to be rare.  Oh, there are the little things, like the constant hand holding or the quick kisses every time one of them leaves or enters the room.  But then there are those moments of memorable intimacy, like the famous motel in Barstow, where we see things will never be quite the same and Faith lets out a squee! heard ’round the world.  Let’s re-live some of this seasons best, after the jump.

I’m probably the last guy who should compile this list, which makes me perfect to do it.  Faith and the others will obviously have to discuss everything I missed and the merits of those I did manage to remember practically all day.  An all day shameless shipper-fest is just what the doctor ordered.

Still I tried to pick what I thought were the most Barstow-esque moments of the season (so far) and put them in a poll.  Pick your top four below.

Editors Note:  Yes, I managed to screw it up and get the day wrong.  But since Faith may be doing other things on her actual birthday (Sunday) I say make the best of it and have a few shameless shipper days in the meantime.

About Ernie Davis

I was born in 1998, the illegitimate brain child and pen name of a surly and reclusive misanthrope with a penchant for anonymity. My offline alter ego is a convicted bibliophile and causes rampant pognophobia whenever he goes out in public. He wants to be James Lileks when he grows up or Dave Barry if he doesn’t.  His hobbies are mopery, curling and watching and writing about Chuck.  Obsessively.  Really, the dude needs serious help.
This entry was posted in polls. Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to SQUEEEEE!!!

  1. Faith says:

    Aww thank you. Squeee.

    But it’s not my birthday lol, though I’ll take the open opportunity to squee regardless ;).

    • Ernie Davis says:

      So which shipper moments did I miss? 😉

      • thinkling says:

        Perhaps:
        The hand holding/date in the beginning of Leftovers.
        The steam/dream at the beginning of Phase 3.
        The “you’re perfect” moment in Cat Squad.
        V-day in Masquerade.
        The ILY fountain moment in Couch Lock.
        The shoulder rub in Aisle of Terror.
        The hand holding moment in the hospital corridor.

        Just thinking. I differentiate a little between shipper-y and couple-y and SQUEEE! And this is probably way more than anyone wants to know, but in honor of Faith’s birthday on Sunday (and mine on Wednesday) here is my purely subjective way of looking at romance.

        SQUEEE! = The two proposals, the Suitcase confession and spooning (have to include the confession), the Coup d’Etat confession, and “we’re getting married” from FBoE. SQUEEE’s, the really big ones, for me are unforgettable confessions and kisses and moments that move the relationship somewhere new (in a good way). Not that I don’t squeee at some of the other stuff (I do), but the heart-racing, ear-drum-shattering SQUEEE’s are mile stones.

        Couple-y = physical/external expressions of an intimate relationship, through 1) comfortable affection, like the aforementioned hand-holding moments, the foot rub, and the AoT shoulder rub; or 2) the kisses and moments that hint at something more, like the steam/dream, the V-day surprise, the FOD massage, the Anniversary kiss, the Gobbler kiss, and the promise of something to do on the plane. All very couple-y. By that standard most of A-Team was very couple-y because of their easiness of being together and working together.

        Shipper-y to me are the moments that reveal Chuck and Sarah’s deep emotional connection. That would include the rest of the moments: ILY at the fountain, smelling the shirt, Phase 3 confession, Mr. Sarah Walker conversation, and the “you’re perfect” speech.

        I know. There must be something seriously wrong with me … to analyze what’s probably just meant to be felt. 😉

      • atcDave says:

        Apparently, you’ve really spent a lot of time thinking about this …?

      • Ernie Davis says:

        Well I’d say my shipper credentials are lacking. But everything you say makes sense Thinkling.

        (So another poll next Wednesday?)

      • thinkling says:

        Not so much, Dave. It’s just that those moments have a different feel to me. I guess I’ve have been parsing them all along without thinking too much about it. I hadn’t actually tried to articulate the distinctions until I read Ernie’s list. I mean, he just mixed them all together. =:o

      • Faith says:

        Great job Thinkling! I deem thee, 2nd in command in my shipper army ;).

      • thinkling says:

        Thank you Faith … it’s an honor I do not take lightly. 😉

  2. joe says:

    Oh, NOW I find out when the big day is! Sheesh!

    Well, happy birthday anyway, Faith. This year, you get two.

    As for the poll, Ernie, you’re just TRYING to torture me with these hard decisions. Right? 😉

  3. Malcolm says:

    Well when the charismatic and charming zac levi is on screen with that aura that is so awesome! every moment, every time he is with yvonne or any girl, you know you are witnessing something special!

  4. Rick Holy says:

    Am I missing something? How about that ferocious, wildly passionate kiss just seconds before “the bomb” was supposed to explode in Season 1’s (I seem to recall) “vs. the imported Hard Salami”??

    There hasn’t been a kiss like THAT one between Chuck and Sarah since.

    • Ernie Davis says:

      Limiting it to season 4 for the poll, discuss your favorites at will. 😉

      • Silvercat42 says:

        Well, with that in mind, for me the biggest shipper moment was in Season Three’s The Honeymooners when they’re snuggling and kissing to Nina Simone’s “I’m feelin’ good.” I think that’s the most romantic thing I’ve seen in a television show.

      • joe says:

        Heh! That’s a good moment, Silvercat.

        For me, I like Sarah’s aggressive attack on Chuck’s mouth and lips when they thought the bomb was about to go off in Hard Salami, and her shy “I don’t know what I’m going to do!” look at the end of Best Friends. 😉

        Of course, for sheer HEAT, I still love the famous motel room scene.

        All in all, my all time fav. was the incredible emotional content of the climax of Phase 3, doubled by seeing it from Sarah’s POV and Chuck’s unconscious POV.

        ‘Scuse me while I sing a chorus of “Mem’ries, light the corners of my mind…”

      • atcDave says:

        SilverCat you said it perfectly, I’ve never seen anything better. But as Joe points out, many of the scenes that even come close to that, are from other episodes of Chuck!

    • Tamara Burks says:

      That we’ve seen on screen but then there was a bomb going off. Imagine how many kisses like that could have happened in Honeymooners.

  5. Verkan_Vall says:

    I’m sorry, Faith. But I can’t post on this thread, or I’ll lose my membership in the He-Man Woman-Haters Club.

  6. alladinsgenie4u says:

    Hey there! How’s everyone? I don’t’ know about you guys but I missed all of you. 🙂

    @Faith – I am somewhat late but here goes: Happy Birthday to you. 🙂

    @Thinkling – That Snark Soother Solution is near fatal. I OD’d and I have been in a non-posting, comatose state from the past month. As a side effect I was not able to watch Episodes 18 and 19. I am suing Alladins Apothecary. 😉 🙂

    On Topic: An article to celebrate the birthday of the Queen herself!! . 🙂 Well done!!.
    Such pieces remind me that although there have been SQEEE moments, the PDA has gone down substantially over the seasons. I protest on behalf of the Association of Fans Eager for SexyTimes. 😉 😀

    • thinkling says:

      Alladins, great to have you back … been missing you. I hope you have recovered and can keep posting and watching. Have you been able to recoup 18 & 19. They are good episodes, especially 18.

      So, stick around. No fair wandering off.

    • joe says:

      Great to see you back, Genie!

Leave a Reply

