Bartowski Women Best

Season 4 has brought an unprecedented expansion of female character growth and interaction … something many of us (Amy, Faith, me, to name at least 3) have wanted to see for a long time … something I could go on about at length, but won’t. I’ll be uncharacteristically brief.  … 

Ellie has always liked Sarah. It’s obvious from their first meeting in Helicopter through Anniversary and into Season 4:

Helicopter: “Wow, Chuck, wow. I mean I knew that you had it in you, but she is, oh, wow, she is really great”

Tango: “Trust me. I have seen the way that that girl looks at you, and she is into you.”

Sizzling Shrimp: Inviting her to Bartowski Mother’s Day.

The Breakup: Ellie inviting her to be a bridesmaid, and her excitement at sharing wedding stuff with Sarah.

Lethal Weapon: The morning squeee hug and total excitement that Chuck and Sarah were moving in together.

The Ring(i): “I made my dreams come true, Chuck. What are you going to do about yours?”

American Hero: “Sarah is special. You know it. I know it. If you love her, if she’s the one, you don’t stop, you don’t quit, you never go too far.”

Anniversary: “I’m really happy right now, Chuck. I’m starting a new family, and you have Sarah …”

 

For her part, Sarah liked, admired, and envied Ellie; and as much as she could, given her CIA circumscribed boundaries, related to her as a real friend. After all, “When you’re under cover, you’re still you, but the details are different.”

For all their simpatico vibe, we got precious little interaction between them. In those rare conversations (both of them), I loved Ellie’s open way of reaching out to Sarah and Sarah’s endearing, I’m-out-of-my-depth responses. Who can forget the hilarious Chuck is like a duck evening from Tom Sawyer and the poignant Angel of Death conversation about Sarah’s feelings for Chuck.

What little we got of Ellie and Sarah left me wanting much more.

Cue the trumpets.

Season 4 brought me that more that I wanted. It also introduced a third Bartowski woman … the enigmatic, long-absent Mary Bartowski. I have loved every minute that any two or all three of these women shared the screen. Their progressing relationships have greatly enriched my enjoyment of Season 4.

My applause and hearty thanks to YS, SL, and LH.

See, that was brief. … Now, what about you? What are your favorite Bartowski Women Moments? Pick 5.

Thanks for playing,
~ Thinkling

About thinkling

In my [younger] youth, I was a math teacher, basketball coach, and computer programmer. In 1984, we moved to Brazil, where we serve as missionaries. I like to design things and build things, read things and write things. We now live part-time in Brazil, part-time in the US. Love them both. Wife, 37 yrs; mom, 30 yrs. I am blessed.
This entry was posted in polls, Season 4. Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Bartowski Women Best

  1. Faith says:

    Lovely read Thinkling, I have definitely enjoyed seeing these women flourish this season.

    One of my favorites is of course, “Chuck, Chuck is a like a duck” 😀 and this season’s future Mother-in-law (Mary Bartowski) burn (on Sarah) in first fight.

  2. joe says:

    Wow! After this I can’t wait to see Mary Elizabeth again!

  3. atcDave says:

    I’m betting we have a few good moments for the ladies yet to come too. I hope we hear something about Sarah and Ellie’s talk about Sarah’s family; and we know there has to be some good Mary/Ellie stuff yet to come.

    • thinkling says:

      I’m counting on more Bartowski women scenes. Like you, I hope we get to hear some of Sarah’s talk about her family with Ellie. Can’t wait.

  4. kg says:

    Excellent examples to support your premise Thinkling. I’m not at all surprised. All effective scenes and lines to back up Ellie’s early contention that “Sarah’s special. She’s different (read as postive) from your Stanford friends.”

    I was initially thinking as early as Helicopter, but now I’m figuring it might have been in the same conversation you cited from Tango. Just to lazy right now to confirm it.

    The important thing is I agree with you and this is a fresh, overdue poll with many top choices.

    • thinkling says:

      Thanks, KG. You’re right. The “she’s different” speech was from Helicopter, when Chuck was getting ready for Bryce’s funeral.

      It’s a poll that wasn’t possible until Season 4. There just weren’t any Sarah/Ellie scenes, save the two I mentioned. So, it’s been a fun, new part of S4.

  5. amyabn says:

    I love this topic! I really hope we get more LH on a consistent basis. So many fun conversations that could occur. I think Ellie sees the spy world as so alien. It would be neat for the three of them to talk. Mary and Sarah see their lives as their normal, and Ellie could appreciate Sarah and Chuck (if they finally get around to spilling that Chuck is spying again). I for one would like to have the “tell us how you two got together, for real” conversation. Carina would give Sarah her line about breaking the cardinal rule for spies and that could spur a great talk. Sarah glowing about her Chuck. Squee potential is high. 🙂

    • thinkling says:

      I’m just so grateful for what we’ve gotten this season. I hope they realize what a rich field it is. I’ve always wanted the how did you really get together conversation, too. That would be a good three-some conversation. I’d also love for Ellie to find out how Sarah saved her mom. I’d love to know what MamaB knew about Carmichael and Walker before Aisle of Terror.

      It’s such fun to see Ellie and Sarah together, because the real world is as alien to Sarah as the spy world is to Ellie. Yet each is super accomplished in her own world. Of course the one area they share in common is their dysfunctional family life.

      I’m with you, Amy. In fact I thought of you when I did this poll. It’s one of my favorite topics, right up there with the squeee.

      • alladinsgenie4u says:

        @Thinkling

        Sorry for going off topic but I was finally able to watch Eps 18 and 19 and loved both of them. Now what’s the current thread of discussion that’s most busy (as per posts). Thinking of joining in on the conversations.

        On a side note – I haven’t seen JC posting. Is he here?

      • thinkling says:

        Hey Alladins. Besides checking out the polls, the most noise is on the spoiler page.

        Glad you liked 18 and 19. I liked both but liked 18 better. Chuck and Sarah were such a hoot.

        JC has been posting on the spoiler page.

        Glad you’re back. 🙂

  6. Crumby says:

    The “Chuck is like a duck” is cult by now. The scenes between Sarah and Ellie in Undercover Lover are hilarious as well.

    Ellie: It’s just that I have both feet in and Devon only has one foot in… So then it’s just me taking care of three feet. And I want it to be us, taking care of four feet. Do you understand what I’m saying?
    Sarah: Completely. (While shaking her head no. :))
    Ellie: Of course you do. Of course you do. I’m gonna get us some more wine.

    First Fight has to be my favorite Bartowski Women episode! The scene with Sarah, Ellie and Mary was so great. The three actresses can really bring the emotions! Great music too. 😉

    I know the article is about the Bartowski women but S4 really has more of a feminine touch with the addition not just of Mary but Alex as well. With Anna leaving, S3 was just Sarah, Ellie and the boys, and both women were pretty isolated. Now, not only we got Sarah/Ellie scenes but Mary’s back and Casey and Morgan have a new woman in their life as well. That’s quite a change, and I think it’s for the best. 🙂

    I’m looking forward the bachelorette party and some kind of pre-wedding scene between Sarah, Ellie & Mary. That’d be great!

    • thinkling says:

      Crumby, I had forgotten about the scene in Undercover Lover, brain cramp. You’re right … it’s one of the best … hilarious! It shows that Sarah really cares about Ellie … she can’t walk away from her, but is completely out of her depth in the real life arena.

      I agree that the female touch is a good one.

      • atcDave says:

        Also interesting that prior to Honeymooners, the Sarah/Ellie scenes were about the only comedy we’d seen from Yvonne. I love S4!

      • thinkling says:

        Good point, Dave. I love funny Sarah. May we have many more seasons like the season of genius.

      • thinkling says:

        You got me thinking, Dave. Sarah was pretty funny in Cougars. Surely there are a few more examples, but they were definitely rare.

      • atcDave says:

        Thinkling I suppose there’s category of very dry humor that Sarah occasionally got prior to the drunken Texan; like we saw in Cougars. Perhaps I should do a full series re-watch to catalog those moments…

      • thinkling says:

        You reading my mind, again, Dave? 😉

        (I appreciated the tank was another one.)

      • Crumby says:

        Her “Thank you!” to Casey in Nacho Sampler.

      • thinkling says:

        Yeah good one, Crumby, and the look on her face during the whole laser pen thing.

      • The first moment we saw that Sarah was possibly a cannibal, because she is funny: when she took a picture of Casey handcuffed to the bed in Wookie! 🙂

      • thinkling says:

        You’re on a roll Crumby!

  7. Crumby says:

    Also, I really liked Ellie offering to talk about Sarah’s past, and making it just something between the two of them. Not that I don’t want Chuck out of the loop, but I like that their relationship isn’t just about Chuck.

    What could be cool would be Sarah being there for Ellie about something, instead of the other way around. But I’m willing to wait for S5 for that. 😉

  8. herder says:

    I don’t know if it counts as a Bartowski women scene, but the opening of Seduction Impossible with all the extended Bartowskis around the cradle and then the overwhelming tide of family pressure turned on Chuck and Sarah is one of my favorite family scenes of the year. The deer in the headlights look in both Chuck and Sarah’s eyes and her and her “I’m starting to sweat…” were great and in some way true to how a private individual like Sarah would react to the extremly close knit Bartowskis.

    • thinkling says:

      Me, too, Herder. I love that scene. I thought of it, but since it wasn’t technically Bartowski women, I didn’t list it in the poll. But it is one of my favorites. The last time I sweat, there was gunfire involved. Classic funny Sarah/Yvonne. One of my favorite Sarah quotes, of which there are many this season.

      Even in that scene, you can tell Ellie is clued into Sarah … I don’t know that Sarah’s a veil girl. 😀

Leave a Reply

