Chuck Season 5: The Final Season

Update: Chuck returns on Fridays this fall with 13 final episodes.

TVLINE |  Why did you decide to make Chuck‘s upcoming fifth season its last?
It seemed to be the way to end it appropriately for the fans who love it, and not get into a situation where it might end or might not end and then it ends and we haven’t concluded the storyline. It gives [producers] a chance to plan for it. I think that’s the best way to do it.

TVLINE | You only ordered 13 episodes of Chuck. Any chance you’ll increase that number?
I don’t think so. Unless suddenly we have 10 million viewers watching it on Friday night, then it would.

—————————-

Well guys, we did it. We got a season 5 of Chuck. The bad news (or good news depending on what you ascribe to) it will be Chuck’s final season.

I call good news, Chuck gets to go out its way, knowing the end in sight. They don’t have to worry on which storylines to conclude, which twists to pull (though they probably still will). And Chuck fans will have their closure. One last season to say goodbye. It’ll be an emotional goodbye, but one I can’t wait to see nonetheless. We’ve invested 4 years of our life on this great show and saying goodbye will be bittersweet but at least we get to do it in proper fashion.

So let us treasure every single moment from now until then. 14 episodes of Chuck memories. Let go of bitterness and hate, embrace the show that we all love (loved). 14 more episodes and it’s curtains. A bittersweet goodbye (are you crying yet? I’m getting close!) filled with memories.

I’m very thankful for NBC for giving us a new season, but more importantly not keeping us in limbo beyond that.

So Chuck fans:

Now for reads:

EW:  “NBC’s Chuck has been renewed for a fifth season. Yay! But: This is will be the final season of Chuck.”

TVGuide#Chuck renewed for fifth and final season

Ausiello: “Sources confirm to TVLine that Chuck has cheated death once again and will return for a fifth — and final — season this fall.

NBC declined to comment, but I hear the show will be back for a 13-episode farewell season.”

Deadline: “As expected, NBC today officially picked up perennial bubble showChuck for a fifth and final season with a 13-episode order.”

Mo Ryan: “Sometimes there are dispiriting days on the TV beat. This is not one of them.”

(for cast/crew reactions, check out the previous thread, I’ve updated it).

About Faith

Eternally faith-ful at least as it relates to my beloved Los Angeles Lakers. Yes that's where the username comes from. Other than that self-professed Chuckaholic, Laker blogger and part time internet addict. Ok, full time.
This entry was posted in Season 4. Bookmark the permalink.

127 Responses to Chuck Season 5: The Final Season

  1. alladinsgenie4u says:

    Bittersweet. That’s all I am saying. 🙂 😦

  2. Rick Holy says:

    I’ll take it. It’s amazing that we made it to a 2nd, then a 3rd, then a 4th, and now a FIFTH season! REALLY, reflect on that. This show has literally “escaped” coming to an end each “renewal announcement time.”

    So – CELEBRATE, REJOICE – knowing we’ve got a 5th – and I’m betting REALLY SPECIAL – season to look forward to. Then we’ll watch for Zach and Yvonne and the rest of the cast to appear in other projects which hopefully we’ll love just [or almost just 😉 ] as much!!

    Monday night could have been the end, but it won’t be. So we can watch it knowing that we’ll have MORE CHUCK to look forward to before we say goodbye.

    • Gord says:

      I hope we get to see Zac and Yvonne do more projects together, they have such great chemistry. They are like this generation’s Tracey and Hepburn.

      Also at some point I expect to see them winning academy awards.

      In the interim, it would be great to see Yvonne win that Emmy.

      • thinkling says:

        Aha. You don’t know how often I’ve thought that very thing … the Tracey/Hepburn thing. I don’t know career wise if they would want to, but I’d love it if they did.

  3. Michael says:

    Please, dear Lord, no more Buy More.

    So Faith, when are you going to post all those behind the scenes pictures I’m sure you have! 🙂

  4. Rk2011 says:

    Great News….but kinda sad that one of the best shows on TV will be wrapping up

  5. lappers84 says:

    man did I choose the wrong time to start blogging. I guess you guys will have to put up with me for one more season 🙂

  6. atcDave says:

    My feelings are completely split. I’m happy that Chuck will be back in the fall. But I hate the sound of final season. I wonder how definitive that is. We’ve all seen shows where they changed their mind during, or even AFTER a “final” season ran (Magnum PI, renewed after they’d killed Magnum off. Or Sledge Hammer renewed after Sledge accidentally set off an atomic bomb with the whole cast in the same room). I HOPE there’s still some room for another change of heart, like say a back nine order anyway.

    But for now, I am just glad Chuck will be back, and in the fall. Too cool.

    • alladinsgenie4u says:

      I HOPE there’s still some room for another change of heart, like say a back nine order anyway.

      Amen to that. But once the show ends, I am going to miss C/S and the fandom like hell. 😦

    • thinkling says:

      That’s me, too, Dave. I am very happy for another season. But I ended up checking sad, because I want another season or dozen. I think I would always want more. But I am ecstatic for what we’re getting. Given the ratings, it’s a gift. I hope all the Chuck folks are happy, too.

      • jason says:

        think / dave / faith – I voted happy, not so much due to the angst or due to the out on top, but I really am looking forward to watching Yvonne & Zach’s careers moving forward, they deserve a shot at bigger things, doesn’t mean it will all work out, but I love that they are getting their shot. A darkhorse candidate for a great ‘next’ job, Josh Gomez, more and more, I think he nails his serious stuff & his quick wit is going to help any stage he acts on.

      • atcDave says:

        I understand that actors likely want to move on at some point. But I’ll say right now I don’t expect to ever feel the same about their work again. Don’t get me wrong, I’ll at least read reviews of anything Zach and Yvonne do in the future, and I may even get hooked on some later project of theirs. But its hard for me to get excited about a possible future when I know I love the present work so much.

    • Tamara Burks says:

      I too am hoping for a back nine to make it a full 22 ep season.

      According to my dvd of the First season of Sledge Hammer, the people who ran the show itself where so certain they’d be canceled that they came up with the nuclear bomb ending and were surprised to be renewed so it didn’t seem to be a matter of them being told they were canceled , they just assumed because it was such an oddball (but really fun) show.

      Kind of how at certain points I automatically assumed that if I liked a show it would be canceled because pretty much every one had been canceled. Then came Quantum Leap.

      One year there was 3 new shows I liked and all 3 were canceled (Brimstone, Vengeance Unlimited and Cupid (the original series)).

      • atcDave says:

        Yeah Tamara I’ve had years like that. I usually watch 8-9 shows a year, and am really hooked on maybe 3 of them. One year (2005 or 2006 maybe?) FIVE of my shows ended withing three weeks of each other. OUCH!

        I actually watched less TV for a while (not exactly a bad thing!). But summer of 2007 Burn Notice premiered and I swore it was the best show I’d seen in almost a decade. Then of course Chuck came along that September, my favorite show ever. Add to that Castle and White Collar and this is sort of a golden age for me and TV.

      • jason says:

        dave – did you watch alias? If you haven’t, you should, 5 seasons, you will see so many parallels, and the show is done quite well IMO – more dramatic than chuck, less comedy, but the same heart.

      • atcDave says:

        I watched the first season and hated the cliffie so much I never watched again. I may get back to it at some point, there was a lot about it I liked. But I’m really turned off by the darker themes and characters of confused/conflicted/uncertain loyalties. In fact, the uncertain loyalties part has become a very popular theme in the last decade or so and I just really can’t stand it.
        So I don’t know. Since its a finished product now it might be a good time to give it another try.
        I also watched the first season of 24 and quit it for pretty much the same exact reasons.

      • Tamara Burks says:

        The writer’s strike didn’t so well for shows either . Pushing Daisies got a second year but not a real chance since they threw away the chance to pick up more viewers by showing reruns.

      • jason says:

        dave – the cringeworthy drama, betrayals and cliffy’s in chuck are pretty much straight from the alias playbook … but alias is a drama, hence I expect that – for me, chuck took the comedy portion of the story so far, that the dark stuff from alias does not work.

        why I think you would like alias, is more because the structure of chuck has followed alias fairly closely, you can almost see what Fedak was thinking or trying to do in chuck from watching alias, since I am pretty sure he has admitted being a huge alias fan and that chuck is ‘alias meets the office’.

        The proposal happened near the end of S4 in alias, and after several failed attempts, the actual proposal words were near identical to balcony, including the no real answer part …. S3 had the worst LI eps for the lead couple, and did not get fixed till near the end of the season, from what I could tell, viewership dropped like a rock that season too. There was a suburbs episode, that really made me laugh. Morgan is pretty much Marshall, Mary is Irina, Casey is Dixon, Orion is Jack, along with the leads Chuck is Sydney and Sarah is Agent Vaughn – hence the role reversal right from the start in chuck.

        By the way, s4 ended with the pair in a car going off to get engaged for real / vacation / maybe get married, last moment the car gets crashed into. S5 early eps Vaughn got faux killed by a rogue CIA agent for half the season, after the lady lead found out she was pregnant (she was preg in real life too)

        That is why I think sarah will be pregnant as the cliffy, but based on watching alias, I hope they skip right to the baby in S5, as watching a pregnant super hero on screen was not that entertaining – watching the superspy couple and friends with the baby late in the season, was pretty good, and if fedak is following the alias playbook, it will happen.

      • atcDave says:

        I can see all that, doesn’t really inspire me sit through Alias S3 though! Funny, you’d think at some point writers would start to get the message that fan’s patience with OLIs is far lower than previously assumed.
        Since Yvonne isn’t pregnant (as far as we know…) it would obviously give them more freedom story-wise if they wanted to skip a lot of time or not. If they do go that way, my own preference would be a couple of episodes with pregnancy/hormonal humor on missions then a big time jump (maybe 5 years) and deal with Sarah (maybe both of them?) getting back into missions after an extended family leave (possibly 2 or 3 kids).

  7. jason says:

    @faith – so what happens when chuck beats all the other NBC shows on Friday nights, heck they might even beat the ABC & CBS shows too – what happens then? Here is the competition, if Chuck’s 1.5M/4M fans walk over to friday nights enmasse – we pick up say .25/1M smallville fans – and zoowiieee

    http://tvbythenumbers.zap2it.com/2011/05/07/updated-tv-ratings-friday-fringe-down-but-better-than-return-of-flashpoint-csi-ny-blue-bloods-down-kitchen-nightmares-up-smallville-supernatural-steady/91836/

    Time Net Show 18-49 Rating/Sh Viewers (Millions)
    8:00 FOX Kitchen Nightmares 1.6/6 3.66
    ABC Shark Tank 1.2/5 4.48
    CBS Flashpoint 1.1/4 6.89
    NBC Friday Night Lights 0.8/3 2.72
    CW Smallville 0.8/3 2.00

    9:00 CBS CSI: NY 1.5/5 9.31
    NBC Dateline 1.4/4 5.20
    ABC Primetime: What Would You Do 1.2/4 4.04
    FOX Fringe 1.2/4 3.30
    CW Supernatural 0.9/3 2.08

    10:00 NBC Dateline 1.9/6 6.57
    ABC 20/20 1.7/5 6.09
    CBS Blue Bloods 1.5/4 10.12

    • Faith says:

      What happens? Chuck gets a full season, but no more than that IMO. Also, no word yet (official that is) of what day… 😉

    • patty says:

      At 9:00 Chuck, Fringe and Supernatural would split the same darned audience. That is just dumb.

    • Tamara Burks says:

      Flashpoint doesn’t really overlap that much with Chuck. It’s only shown two episodes of this season so far.

      • Gord says:

        Actually the flashpoint episodes on CBS are all repeats to us Canadians. It ran on CTV most of the season.

        It’s one of the better Canadian shows.

        I think if NBC put Chuck on Friday nights, they would put it on at 8pm. The former Smallville crowd will be looking for something to watch.

  8. herder says:

    Ever since the fall out of the Chuck panel at Comic-con after the second season I’ve had a soft spot for Mo Ryan and her article that you linked above most closely expresses how I feel about this renewal. This is a good day and this is good news.

    Again, does Chuck have a beverage sponsor, Johnny Walker for the depressing times, but that doesn’t apply here, perhaps something amber complected.

    • Faith says:

      Yeah she’s great. I’m hoping she does Comic-Con this year too. Maybe moderate instead of Sepinwall ;).

      I’ve seen Dos Equis a couple of times during the parties, so that works. Celebratory brewsky.

      Thinkling, for cast/crew reactions, I posted a couple of tweets on the previous thread (recently). On Tuesday ChuckTV has an interview with Schwartz so that’s worth waiting for as well.

    • thinkling says:

      Apple juice? Although there are no bombs to diffuse today.

    • jason says:

      Mo Ryan’s eye for the show is very much like mine, there were several sentences in this article that sum up my view of chuck – ones that I have not been able to convey with thousands of words on this blog, she has done with a couple of dozen – here are my fav 2 thoughts from her in this article:

      “…. I’m not going to sit here and say that every episode of the show is perfect. I’ve come to accept a certain amount of inconsistency from ‘Chuck,’ because the good or great episodes of this show are just so damned entertaining.”

      “We’ll get more spy antics, pop-culture references, silliness, adventure and heart, and the show will get to go out on its own terms.”

      • atcDave says:

        I agree Jason, Mo Ryan is the pro who’s comments always best reflect my feelings.

  9. odysszeuss says:

    OMG! OMG! OMG! OMG! OMG! OMG! OMG! OMG! OMG! OMG! OMG! OMG! OMG! OMG! OMG! OMG! OMG! OMG! OMG! OMG! OMG! OMG! OMG! OMG! OMG! OMG! OMG! OMG! OMG! OMG! OMG! OMG! OMG! OMG! OMG! OMG! OMG! OMG! OMG! OMG! OMG! OMG! OMG! OMG! OMG! OMG! OMG! OMG! OMG! OMG! OMG! OMG! OMG! OMG! OMG! OMG! OMG! OMG! OMG! OMG! OMG! OMG! OMG! OMG! OMG! OMG! OMG! OMG! OMG! OMG! OMG! OMG! OMG! OMG! OMG! OMG! OMG! OMG! OMG! OMG! OMG! OMG! OMG! OMG! OMG! OMG! OMG! OMG! OMG! OMG! OMG! OMG! OMG! OMG! OMG! OMG! OMG! OMG! OMG! OMG! OMG! OMG! OMG! OMG! OMG! OMG! OMG! OMG! Chuck hat es wiedermal geschafft!!! unglaublich 😉

  10. Gord says:

    Well, I know its been a long time since I’ve made it to this blog, but on this occassion I’m not sure how I feel. On the one hand I’m extremely happy to be getting a S5, and on the other sad that it is the last season.

    As stated, at least knowing its the last gives the writers a chance to end the series the way they would like to. I just hope that if they do pick up extra episodes, they make the announcement early enough in the season that TPTB can adjust the story lines accordingly. I guess also at the end of S5 we wont have to wait as long for the S5 boxed set to come out.

    I imagine after S5, I will still be popping in a Chuck disc on monday nights at 8 to watch a rerun because this show in reruns is still better than most shows out there.

    Thankyou NBC, thankyou WB, and most importantly thankyou Chuck showrunners, cast and crew for giving us such an amazing show that we can feel passionate about.

    • joe says:

      Gord, it’s good to hear from you again.

      From the beginning, back at the NBC message boards, you had this terrible habit of saving my life uh, way of saying what I was thinking. And you just did it again.

      It’s waaayyyy too early to be thinking about the end, but it’s impossible not to. For the show, the cast and crew, I have nothing but happiness. I’m so glad that they have a chance to go out on their own terms.

      In that world, it’s a rarity.

      But oh yeah, I’m gonna miss them. I shouldn’t be thinking of this now, but I’m gonna miss this even more when the time comes.

      • Faith says:

        I don’t think this is that Gord Joe, I call impostor. Who we know and love, Gord2, got taken over… 😉 LOL. JK.

      • atcDave says:

        So you’re saying Gord2 is the original and Gord is the copy?

      • Gord says:

        Gord2 is my evil twin from an alternate universe. lol

        Actually the only reason I’m Gord2 on the NBC boards is because when I registered they told me Gord was already taken for a user name.

      • atcDave says:

        Yeah I know how that goes. My last name is only slightly less common than my first, and I tried about 5 variations on my actual name at NBC before I tried my job description. So now I’m known in the fandom by my job, swell.

    • atcDave says:

      I’m thinking the biggest difference may be if they were unsure about certain story lines, like KIDS. Now there’s nothing to loose they’ll go all out.

    • Faith says:

      Reunion movie in 6 years! I can dream can’t I? 😉

      • thinkling says:

        Better yet a spin-off, set a few years from now. Never happen, but that’s what I’d love.

      • patty says:

        With a loyal fan base, a cast that isn’t left hating the show and the current trend of garbage coming out for TV it sounds like a plan to me!

      • Rick Holy says:

        Hey – Firefly (which didn’t even air 13 episodes) got made into “Serenity” on the Big Screen. So ANYTHING is possible!

      • atcDave says:

        I’d agree about the possibility. Maybe in a few years a retooled show on CW or something. I just hope its the later adventures of Chuck and Sarah; not Morgan and Alex!

      • Gord says:

        Movie followed by a spin-off, but don’t make us wait 6 years.

        Here’s my idea for a spin-off its called “Sarah”. Here’s the premise – a beautiful CIA agent (Sarah Walker) marries a nerd CIA agent (Chuck Bartowski) they work along with their partners Morgan and Casey to keep the free world safe from bad guys.

      • jason says:

        agree gord, except for the last part, here is my take:

        “they work along with their partner Casey to keep themselves & the world free & safe from their friend Morgan”

      • alladinsgenie4u says:

        @jason – LMAO. Priceless. 🙂

  11. rac2873 says:

    I am happy.

    They get to go out on top and with only 13 episodes they get to tell a story with an actual finale. If they get a back 9 then we would have to go through two finales. Not a fan of that.

    Also if they are done filming in December then Zach and Yvonne can move on with their careers maybe get on some pilots or get some sweet movie deals.

    To think how much this show has gone through to get to this point is amazing.

    I say go out on top with 13 episodes and ride off into the sunset. 🙂

    I am at peace because even though it is over they never got cancelled. Just like when Lost was over, sad but I was able to enjoy the finale.

    • Rick Holy says:

      I’m with ya, friend. Ditto with LOST, also ALIAS and as of tonight, SMALLVILLE – which went out with a “SUPER” two-hour finale. Now, if they were to get a 22 episode order right from the start, that would be different, but that’s not going to happen – and neither will a “Back 9” unless NBC’s schedule is a worse train wreck next season than it was this season – and I just don’t think that’s going to happen. At some point they’re going to start turning it around, and there’s some positive vibe I’m hearing about some of their new series.

      Have to admit, I was bummed to see Wonder Woman NOT get picked up. That COULD be what made room for CHUCK, who knows? But I’m a HUGE Adrianne Palicki fan from Friday Night Lights. Maybe we could “squeeze her” into a guest role on CHUCK. Hey, JS and CF already did that with two of my favorite female tv series actresses (Kristin Kreuk and Summer Glau) – so it’s possible. (I can DREAM folks, can’t I?). 😉

      • Faith says:

        I’m glad to see I’m not the only one saddened by the Wonder Woman news. I think Adrianne could have been the next big icon, a la Lynda Carter. I still hope beyond hope that someone would do it right and cast her again.

        In the meantime, we got Chuck season 5. Now if only Erica Durance could guest star in it 😉 Haha.

      • thinkling says:

        I was pulling for WW, so I was disappointed about that. Haven’t gotten to Smallville finale, yet. I was hacked off by the end of 20, but everyone raves over the finale, so I’ll be watching it soon.

        Yes, Fr Rick, you can always dream!!

      • atcDave says:

        I can’t rave about it. Sorry but I thought it was a one hour episode padding with 50% filler, including a dreadful round of wt/wt wedding angst that recycled the very issues they’d covered early in the season. My wife fell asleep.

        Now that said, Clark, Chloe, Tess and Oliver all had good hero moments; and we finally saw that Tom Welling would make a very acceptable Superman. But the “padding” (including LOTS of clips from past episodes) was truly excessive.

      • Rick Holy says:

        @atcdave – usually we see “eye to eye,” but on the Smallville Finale we’re miles apart. I thoroughly enjoyed it. LOVED seeing all the key characters brought back. And actually – considering I was one of the biggest haters of the CHUCK wt/wt angst, I didn’t feel like the Lois pre-wedding thing was angsty at all. Although I must admit, I haven’t seen every episode this season, so if they already covered that stuff, well…..

        But finales – especially series finales – and 10 seasons at that – I think assume that not everyone has watched every episode, but would tune into the “last one.” Honestly, I really liked the Lois and Clark pre wedding stuff. The scene outside her apartment door and the “pre-exchange of vows” I thought was really touching – the old softie in me almost (O.K., I admit it, I DID have a little tear in my eye) when Lois shed one on “her side” of the apartment door.

        The “looking back” stuff was fine. After 10 seasons – which is 10 years of your life! – to reminise a little isn’t such a bad thing.

        I’m already watching it again, I enjoyed it so much. Not only the “overall story” but so many “little touches” that they did right for a series finale – like even the “real” Jimmy Olsen appearing at the end. I think they went out on a high note.

    • BDaddyDL says:

      I agree just give me 13 or 21 now, and be done. No more renewals. Give me a finale that sets up a long term future, while making me happy to see where the characters have gone.
      Is it tough, maybe but I think Matt Miller Ali Adler and Lejudkins are up to the task

      • Gord says:

        Did you hear that Matt Miller and Ali Adler are coming back?

        I’ve been wondering about that since their shows have been cancelled.
        Zev Burrows was also working on Human Target.
        It’s a real shame they cancelled that show, I didn’t care much for it at the beginning, but I checked it out after Matt Miller took over, and I found it much better.

        Not great, but still better than a lot of the crap out there.

      • atcDave says:

        Gee, again I agree with Gord. I got bored of Human Target in S1 and quit watching after three episodes. I also gave it another look after Matt Miller took over and loved S2, much better show. Of course I gather from other things I’ve read that the fans who actually liked S1 didn’t share our enthusiasm.

        I don’t believe we’ve heard anything on if those former Chuck writers will be returning at all, but the cancellations were only official this week so we may hear more later.

  12. lappers84 says:

    is there any word on the old writers coming back?

    • atcDave says:

      Haven’t heard, but getting a renewal fairly quickly is good. It should mean they haven’t all sent out too many resumes yet!

  13. Katsumaro says:

    Super duper excited for a fifth and final season. I actually commented how I hope this is the last season, but not in that “Zomg Chuck suxorz stop renewing it nbc sux” sort of way, but I don’t like seeing it dragged through mud due to executive decisions and I’d like the writers to know what they have to work with so they can go out on top. 😀 So super happy for that.

  14. Paul says:

    While I’m sad that Chuck will be ending, I think it’s better to know that this is the last season than being left with an incomplete story. IMHO, Chuck was always a TV with a definitve end. It isn’t like other shows that can go on idefinately. I much prefer going into a season knowing that it IS the end.

    • atcDave says:

      Now I never get that Paul. I mean obviously its always best for the writers to know when they need to wrap up story-lines. But Chuck strikes me as a completely open-ended format. As long as the show is about a team of spies and friends it can continue indefinitely as long as worthy rivals can be found. And given that spy stories of heroes and villains are pretty timeless in nature, I don’t see any obvious, mandatory end point. I guess if we limit Chuck to just a coming of age story or something its a little different, but its already gone well past that. And I think the stand alone episodes are always the best episodes anyway; so I see the over-arcs as not only unnecessary, but often counter-productive.
      To me, the only obvious time to end the show would be if/when one of the two leads decides to move on.

      • jason says:

        dave – for me, I see both sides, I would be quite content with 10 or 12 seasons of a smart, funny, spy couple vs the world ….. but, if fedak needs to kill someone, marry someone, break someone up blow something up at the end of each season – I am quite glad the show is over at 5, the problem is, in order for fedak to be epic and gamechanging, the bad stuff keeps having to happen to sarah again and again, not every time, but often (and indirectly chuck)

        also, I have always fondly watched ron howard’s career, and am quite happy to have been an andy griffin and happy days fan, I think that is the type of career Zac is going to have (or lets say ron howard meets tom hanks meets lenord nimoy) … anyhow, I think zach is going to be big and it is going to be fun to watch

        With Yvonne, who knows, but I am glad she will get her shot, she seems a little gullible and naive, I hope Hollywood does not gobble her up? She probably should hire Baldwin as her body guard / advisor – it seems like he knows the ropes?

      • atcDave says:

        I guess I would add in a perfect world Fedak would move on while the show continues; I don’t believe HE is capable of running a long term project. Not that he isn’t clever and funny, but he does like constantly reinventing everything; and I think that’s counter-productive to a long running show.

        I still just can’t get excited about anyone’s future projects, that aren’t even defined yet. There’s no performer or writer I’m so enamored of that I’ll watch anything they do; and I don’t know enough about any of their preferences to know if I’m even likely to be interested in their future work. Maybe Adam Baldwin, but even he’s done some pretty dreadful stuff. I could see Zach going heavily into Disney sort of stuff which is only of moderate interest to me. I have no doubt Yvonne could be offered her own action-adventure themed show, but I have no idea if she’s even interested in TV again or if a theoretical show would even be to my liking; so that’s even more of a wild card than the others.

      • thinkling says:

        I agree Dave. I don’t think Fedak is interested in, or capable of, the kind of show Chuck could be indefinitely. But as we’ve talked about before, there are many more stories to tell about Chuck and Sarah and Team/FamB. It would be the epilogue to all of what’s now being told, but I would enjoy it indefinitely.

        I agree about future projects, too. ZL and YS are tremendously talented, but there are some shows I would never watch no matter who is in them. There are some shows I will try if someone I like is in them. So, I could see getting interested in some of their projects, depending on the project. I would certainly be more apt to watch them than unknowns on a potentially interesting show.

        But the Chuck and Sarah phenomenon is unlikely to be repeated often, if ever. It’s been an unusual moment of TV magic, and I hate to see it end. I would love to see them collaborate on some projects like we’ve discussed before. They could definitely be a fantastic romantic TV/film “couple” (like Tracey/Hepburn), but that’s not really done so much any more.

        I hope they give us a great S5 with a happily married, passionate, empowered Chuck and Sarah fighting the baddies and building their family.

      • Gord says:

        I agree, they could have continued to evolve the show/characters over time. Imagine Chuck and Sarah being spies while trying to raise a family.

        Chuck flashing on a bad guy while watching his son’s little-league ball game.

        Little Jenny taking her mom’s throwing knives to show and tell.

        I can also just picture how uncomfortable Sarah would be at a PTA meeting.

        The only challenge would have been for the writers to keep the stories fresh enough that we would still want to watch.

      • atcDave says:

        Yeah Thinkling, Gord I agree with that. One of our local papers (Detroit Free Press, don’t recall the news service) mentioned Chuck’s renewal as a “likely” final season. So it will be interesting to see in the next few months how Schwedak approach this. Will they be all on board with this being the end? Or will they start talking in terms of on-going stories?

      • thinkling says:

        Yeah Gord, and you forgot Sarah as a soccer mom 😀

      • Waverly says:

        Baseball and soccer for the kids? Too boring: more likely chessboxing and modern pentathlon.

        Or maybe they could be Spy Kids.

      • thinkling says:

        They’ll do it all. But regardless, pitty the coach that answers to mama Sarah.

      • atcDave says:

        There could be so much fun in that.

        I also like the idea of one Bartowski kid taking after dad while another is more like mom. So one is bully bate while the other is a terror. Even better if the younger is the one who annihilates bullies, too funny.

      • Waverly says:

        Actually, do we know that young Chuck was bullied? Certainly Morgan was, but I don’t remember anything about Chuck being bullied.

  15. lappers84 says:

    I’ve finally accepted that this next series may indeed be it’s last but I really hope it isn’t restricted to 13. At the end of the day all we can do is wait and see what TPTB have planned for season 5, whether we have a definite ending or an on going ending where fan fiction writers can go mad, I’m just glad to have found such a great series 🙂

  16. weaselone says:

    I think it’s fantastic that Chuck is getting a 5th season. Let’s hope the producers and writers go all out to the extent their limited budget allows. It would be nice to lure in some new viewers during the final season.

    • Rick Holy says:

      Just PLEASE, no more REALLY BAD “green screen” stuff. As much as I LOVE “CHUCK,” I still think I’ll never get over that HORRIBLE scene with Chuck hanging off the gondola (in vs. Fear of Death??). Honest to God, when I was back in high school and had a Super 8 film camera, we did better special effects with clay figures we made by hand. That scene in Chuck looked like a G.I. Joe (in civilian clothes) hanging off a kids toy gondola. Yeesh. There were other really bad “green screens” this past season as well. I understand the budget cut effect, but it’s like, if it’s going to look THAT bad, then just don’t do it!

  17. herder says:

    I suspect that the how of the story will be decided by the role that Chuck is given by NBC tomorrow, the what of the story is already been decided, after all they had to make a pitch to NBC to get the new season. There may be some tweaks to finish the story as is fitting for a final season but the broad strokes are already sold to the network.

    If Chuck is coming back in the fall I would expect a story that follows real time pretty closely, if it is held back for the spring or as an emergency cover for a loss of Sunday night football then I would expect time jumps so that it can air at any time. The down side of this is no holiday episodes, ie Halloween, Thanksgiving or Chistmas.

    If Sarah may be pregnant in Cliffhanger then a jump to the birth or beyond, this would allow them to use Sarah Lancaster’s real pregnancy to show the birth of the second or third Awesome child. Also if the show is being held back time jumps would allow for a few extra episodes to be slipped in between 5.09 and say 5.19 in a less obtrusive was than in season three.

    We have heard that there is a 13 episode order and that this is the final season, nothing about any possible expansion of that order, it may mean that there is no possibility of any back order or that no one has considered it yet. In any event I think that the longer time between filming and airing that the likilhood of time jumps in the story increases.

  18. Faith says:

    For those wondering if there’s a question about a possible back 9, this is from the Wrap:

    “NBC ordered 13 episodes of “Chuck,” a perennial bubble show with a dedicated fan following, but has no plans to order more.

    In the past when we've gotten a season order, it's always been 13 with option for more. This time it's different. This time it's the "last season" and we're being given a proper chance to say goodbye.

    • Rick Holy says:

      13 done all done well is better than 22 with a number of “suck” (excuse my French) episodes.

      Honestly, I think that’s what accounted for the drop in ratings this season. There were some episodes (maybe 3 or 4) that were flat out weak or just plain bad. The Rob Riggle episodes as far as I’m concerened could have been thrown in the trash. And there were a few others (can’t call to mind the titles, but remember going “Oh, boy, that’s not going to get anybody to tune in next week) that if not trashable, were darn close to it.

      If they’re able to get back a writer or two from the first two seasons and plan these 13 episodes out WELL, I think we’re going to be in for a real treat – and perhaps one of if not the best CHUCK season yet. Hey. S1 was only 13 episodes – and it was damn good.

      All I know is that we made it to a FIFTH season, which when you look at how many shows don’t make it past one, is a REMARKABLE accomplishment, esp. in the time slot we were in. We’ll never know if things could have been different in a different time slot, but that’s water over the dam at this point.

      What looks to be a FANTASTIC Season 4 finale – and then 13 more episodes of Season 5 to go! Will be smiling all summer waiting for Season 5 to start!

      • Big Kev says:

        Agreed Rick. The pacing of the seasons and the rejigging of stories necessitated by these back orders never helped us. My S5 wish was for a final 13, tightly plotted, where every scene counts and there’s no filler. Hopefully that’s what we’ll get, and our favourite show can go out in style.

      • atcDave says:

        Dang guys I usually like the filler episodes. I’m hoping for 13 with a back 90 order.

        Sounds like that’s not going to happen, total bummer. I didn’t dislike a single S4 episode; I’d say the weakest (either Anniversary or Muuurder) was still better than all but 3 of S3 (Angel of Death, Honeymooners, Subway/Ring II). I can confidently say if they just continued with episodic shows I’d never get tired of it.

        Now if they keep trying to do “big” stories, all bets are off.

      • Faith says:

        Dave, it seems we’re back to agreeing again 😉 Kidding. I do think it was a good thing that we’re told definitively 13, but at the risk of bringing in bad blood, I’m really going to miss the Seduction Impossible type epis. Which is not to say they can’t put that in within the 13, it’s still a network show with ratings and sweeps, but at this point it’s more hope than anything.

      • atcDave says:

        Well Faith I do agree its better to know when your last episode is, but the way Chuck has usually gone I don’t think it matters if it happens in 3, 13, or 50 episodes. And I’ll just always say more would be better.

        Getting 13 more is good. Better than getting 12 more and not as good as getting 14 more.

      • thinkling says:

        I was kind of thinking the same thing, Dave. S4 has been my favorite on all levels. Some of my favorite episodes are the stand-alones. In the polls the stand-alones always do well, too.

        Front 13 and a back 90 … I like it!!

      • McNugget says:

        my wish for S5 would be 9 stand alone episodes then finish the series with a tightly constructed 3 episode arc . 5.01 could tie up the fallout left over from S4 then 5.02-5.10 episodes like seduction impossible . Fun , sexy stand alones with Halloween , thanksgiving , and Christmas eps . But you know TPTB are going to go into the heavy serialization for the last 13 , and that kind of disappoints me a little on the inside lol 🙂 .

      • jason says:

        mcNugget – your post made my mind race, my quick plan for the 13 eps:

        5×1 chuck vs honeymooners II
        5×6 chuck vs halloween
        5×9 chuck vs thanksgiving
        5×10 chuck vs santa claus II

        and as you said, ten standalone eps until the final mini arc

        5×11 thru 5×13 a final showdown arc, one last chance to get it right so to speak

        I would forshadow the big bad for the showdown all season, but not introduce the big bad until the final scene in the santa claus, right b4 the holiday hiatus

        any ideas on who the season 5 big bad should be?

      • lappers84 says:

        I don’t think chuck will ever have a big bad to end all big bads. B ut I’d like to see the appearance of bad guys that were being researched by Orion and maybe said bad guys went high in the chain of command (above Beckman). Team B saves the day, Chuck and Sarah are offered new jobs (analyst/instructor positions) and with the potential pregnancy storyline they decide to semi retire. I know kind of lame but it’s the best I can think of right now.

      • atcDave says:

        Actually lappers I like that a lot. I think the two obvious endings that would be satisfying are 1) Chuck and Sarah both leave the dangerous missions behind and enter a sort of semi-retirement to raise their family or 2) we see them with one or two kids as they re-enter the spy world while some combination of the Woodcomb and Grimes families help with kids while Chuck and Sarah are saving the world.

  19. Mike Hansen says:

    Okay let’s so make it to Ep. 100. It wil be Awesome.
    From a Chuck fan from Denmark
    Chuck fan for lift!!

  20. lappers84 says:

    One thing I am curious about is whether the credits will change. I notice every season they change whose in the intro. Season 1 just included the main cast Chuck,Sarah,Morgan,Ellie,Casey. Season 2 added Awesome,Big Mike, Jeffster and Anna. 3 was the same except Anna was taken out, then in 4 Beckman was added to the main credits. I’m interested to see whether they’ll add Mama B as a regular.

    • atcDave says:

      It sounds like Linda Hamilton would like that too! That’s among the things we’ll hopefully learn by Comic Con.

  21. herder says:

    So as I understand it we should know today what the NBC schedule is for next year. For our purposes the big question is about Chuck; does it return to Mondays in the fall, does it move to Friday nights, is it held in reserve for the spring (aka, reserve in case of a football strike).

    My personal guess is that it gets Friday nights at 8 pm in the slot that School Pride had last year and that Friday Night Lights gets this spring.

  22. Silvercat42 says:

    Well, I don’t care what they do… story arcs, stand alones, etc. I’m just happy we’re getting a Season 5. I’m not even going to speculate what stories they will pursue or what I’d like to see until I see Monday’s season finale.

    I must admit so-called fans who have been saying the show should just end really tick me off. In my opinion, they are no longer fans, but critics who look down on us who still enjoy Chuck.

    That being said, I’m looking forward to continuing participation in Chuck This and other Chuck fan sites. It’s become a major part of my lifestyle.

    • atcDave says:

      I’d agree I’m not nearly ready to consider the end.

      I get that its being forced on us, but I’m not ready.

    • eaglemmoomin says:

      Thanks for that. I’m quite happy to see it end going out on top and not being dragged out beyond it’s welcome like say oh Smallville. I would have been ok with it ending this season also. I don’t believe that JS or CF would end the show without resolving most story arcs. CF has often said he prefers prequels. I’m happy for the cast and crew that they get 13 more episodes to wrap up the series definitively but even then I can’t see JS or CF tying it all up in a nice neat bow.

  23. Tamara Burks says:

    I’d actually like to find out how Chuck and Ellie coped with no parents. We know that Jack left Sarah a pile of money in at least one place to pay the bills but was a there a similar plan in place for the Bartowski children ? And even if there was how did they manage to stay under the radar of CPS to keep Chuck from being put into fostor care because he was definitely underage when thier father left , Ellie was at least old enough to not be covered or to pass for old enough.

    Not to mention what about Sarah’s mother?

  24. JC says:

    Great News on NBC letting the show go out on it’s own terms with a final season. And the move to Friday’s is even better with Chuck, Fringe and Supernatural all together its a geek paradise of TV.

    I do find myself conflicted though. Serialized, mythology heavy shows are my favorite but after the last two seasons I just don’t know if they can pull it off. IMO the best episodes this year have been the standalone ones or with just a hint of the larger arc. I do admit the prospect of Chuck and Sarah or Team B in general at odds with CIA has so much potential but depending on how Cliffhanger plays out it might not even matter.

    • thinkling says:

      JC, you hit on what I think would be the most successful way to keep doing Chuck … mostly standalone episodes with hints of mythology or larger arc along the way. That would be my favorite format. Then you can have a story (or a 2 story arc) every now and then that’s mythology or big picture heavy.

      With TeamB at odds with the CIA, working as a clandestine team (in connection with a secret government protector) to find and bring down the big bad in the CIA that was the root of the Intersect/Hartley/Bartowski story, you could go a couple more seasons, easily. As a clandestine spy team they would do standalone episodes based on the Orion files from the basement. Mary and Hartley would help from their end. Do some combined missions with them. (Hartley would provide some capital and cool gagets/weapons.) Some of those cases would provide a clue about the big bad. It would be a new branch of mythology, with current mythology as its back story. It would be enough of a change and higher stakes to refresh and reboot the series, and with Chuck and Sarah together (happily married, passionate couple/power spy couple), I think it would be fantastic.

      So, we could have a Chuck trilogy: part one ends with S4; part two is Chuck vs the CIA; part three is an epilogue with Chuck and Sarah balancing their family life and their elite spy life.

      • JC says:

        It pains me but I do think standalones with an occasional two or three arc works the best for the show. The serialized format could work if the mythology of the show was planned out better and someone was brought in to work with Fedak in clearing up continuity issues.

        I’ve been wanting Team B vs the CIA or on the run since the finale last year. That was my crazy spec last season with a shadow government taking over and Mama B revealing herself as a leader of a group of good rogue spies. The story has a lot of legs with the chance to bring in former guest stars and villains while exploring how the CIA handles things which I think has been glossed over a lot. And it would give them a chance to tell a somewhat serious and dark story about external forces threatening not just Chuck, Sarah and the extended family but the whole world.

      • armysfc says:

        jc…i agree with the last part of what you said. isn’t that what fulcrum was during seasons one and two? the ring was supposed to take over that in season 3 i suppose (from what i hear) but that fell flat. why did they abandon the idea from seasons one and two? i guess we’ll never know.

      • thinkling says:

        Right, JC, with something like that you could have drama and tension, without! putting it between Chuck and Sarah. It would be strong Chuck and Sarah against long odds and higher powers. It could be great … but not leaving out the comedy that is Chuck’s hallmark.

      • JC says:

        Yep, I don’t want the show to ever turn into Alias or go really dark and serious. Looking back S1 had more of a balance with a somewhat serious spy story like a live action comic book in some ways. At least that’s how I always saw the show. I try and tone down my expectations but a S1 like story with these new dynamics could be really great.

      • Michael says:

        @thinkling

        >> with Chuck and Sarah together (happily married, passionate couple/power spy couple), I think it would be fantastic.

        But then you would be periliously close to Undercovers. 😉

        >> So, we could have a Chuck trilogy: part one ends with S4; part two is Chuck vs the CIA; part three is an epilogue with Chuck and Sarah balancing their family life and their elite spy life.

        Actually, I’m hoping for the latter two of those with an emphasis on family life. I would love to see them dealing with kids going to school, but that would require some time slippage; “Seven Years Later”.

        I can see it now as one kid says to Chuck Jr., “My Dad can take your Dad.” To which Chuck Jr. responds with, “Please, my Mom could take your Dad.”

        And for the angst, there would be “The Seven Year Itch.”

        Of course, now I’m just getting silly.

      • atcDave says:

        I agree Michael the family stuff could be fun. And I think Undercovers would have worked if it had been about Chuck and Sarah!

  25. Faith says:

    • ArmySFC says:

      Thanks, although i have no idea what that means.

    • patty says:

      Season 1? Chuck is forced to be a spy against his will? Beckman is ordering Casey to kill Chuck? Sarah may or may not like Chuck?

      Maybe they mean Chuck and Co. will face bad guys as they appear instead of “specializing” in a particular evil organization?

      • joe says:

        Patty, I’d guess that the “roots” he’s referring to have something to do with Chuck’s desire to have a “normal” life and to be a “normal” guy.

        I do believe that even Sarah was wondering (wistfully) what that would be like in Crown Vic.

      • patty says:

        Hmm, I would like to see the idea that that balancing the spy world and Chuck world is hard to do. I would like to see them be ultimately successful at acheiving some sort of balance.

      • thinkling says:

        Maybe Chuck and Sarah become increasingly disenchanted with the CIA (or at odds with them, which I think would be fun) and are trying to figure a way out.

        The one thing I couldn’t tolerate (and probably wouldn’t watch) would be putting a rift between Chuck and Sarah and taking the season to get them back together.

        As long as they do Chuck and Sarah happily married/great spy couple (like S4) and some great family stuff (and of course comedy), I’m open to whatever stories and bad guys they face together.

      • atcDave says:

        No surprise I agree again Thinkling. I would also be bitterly disappointed if they played the S3 card again for S5, but I really don’t expect it. We’ve seen enough dark from the CIA I think some sort rift between the agency and our favorite spies would be a viable story. Although I’m thinking the most likely course might be Chuck and Sarah trying to find some sort of “normal” without completely abandoning their profession.

      • thinkling says:

        I agree, Dave. I really don’t think they’ll go there.

        It would be interesting to have them at odds with the CIA and wanting out, but at the same time feeling the pull to what they both love to do. In the end finding a spy life (one on their own terms, not the CIA’s) that balances with their real life would be very satisfying.

    • atcDave says:

      It also may have to do with the balance of drama and comedy, S1 was a little darker. Of course there were still lots of laughs and sweet/warm moments too. Just not so much of the light and goofy.
      The other thing that occurs to me that it was more episodic, with only a single arc (1.08-1.10). Before someone objects to my arc definition, I freely admit Chuck is a Serial/Episodic hybrid. There were some continuing elements from Pilot to Marlin; and 1.11 could easily be included in the arc (especially the beginning of it). But it was largely an introductory season without too much backstory.

      • ArmySFC says:

        well that could work. i’m sure it will still be clear as mud after the finale tonight. as long as it peaks interest it’s all good.

      • JC says:

        I think we’re all missing the bigger picture, S1 roots means the return of Bryce. 😉

      • atcDave says:

        The return of Bryce could be funny now. A prima dona who lost the girl is comic gold!

        Unfortunately, White Collar seems to be doing pretty well…

  26. Tamara Burks says:

    I just hope there’s no scheduling conflict with Fringe. Maybe they can have Chuck on at 7CST and Fring ewill be in the same spot at 8cst.

    • jason says:

      pretty sure that is how it will be, 99% + sure, fringe, supernatural, and the new NBC show are all on at the same time, an hour after chuck, I suppose chuck will get blamed for that show’s failure too?

  27. sniderman says:

    In Season 5, there -must- be one episode aired:

    Chuck Vs. Comic Con

    You know it’d be awesome.

  28. jason says:

    the cast talks about season 5 being the last season:

Leave a Reply

