And Now For Something Completely Different

Can’t Resist

Zac sings the Cole Porter classic I’ve Got You Under My Skin. You probably have heard Sinatra doing the song, We all discovered Zac could sing just before Christmas, 2009, but man, he’s good!

This is, apparently, Richie Cannata’s band. Cannata has been the sax man for Billy Joel forever. On a personal note, I saw Joel with Cannata and Liberty Devito (on drums) live back in 1976 in a very small auditorium. Amazing musicians, all.

– joe

About joe

In my life I've been a professor, martial artist, rock 'n roller, rocket scientist, lover, poet and brain surgeon. I'm lying about the brain surgery.
This entry was posted in Music, No Spoilers, Observations, Off Topic. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to And Now For Something Completely Different

  1. Ashley says:

    God i really hope he gets a top role after Chuck has gone, he deserves it so much. Thats my worry for when Chucks gone, that some of this great cast will fade away. Acting can be a really harsh world sometimes and i would hate to see any of the cast struggle for another job.

    • atcDave says:

      I was just thinking the same thing a couple days ago. We talk euphemistically about the cast being able to “move on” when Chuck is gone; but the thing is, most actors just fade away after TV series ends. They may get the occasional guest spot or co-star in a movie or two. But the number of actors who actually make it big and star in multiple movies or TV series is really very few. Adam Baldwin has had a very successful career playing miscellaneous thugs and soldiers for 30 years, and he will likely continue in that niche after the end of Chuck. But Chuck is already the longest role he’s ever had, odds are he’ll never get anything else to compare.
      We all love Zach and Yvonne, and I think they both have real talent. But becoming big stars is as much about luck as anything. If you noticed the latest interview with them posted yesterday, the first comment Zach made was “we weren’t sure if we’d have jobs next season.” That is the most realistic attitude. Neither of them has become headliners yet. Yvonne’s next big opportunity is as the girlfriend in a Jason Statham movie coming out in September. So that’s what, a secondary part in a movie coming out after the summer rush. While we can certainly hope for the best, it doesn’t have “big break” written all over it. If she’s willing to be typecast she could likely play tough/sweet chicks on TV as long as she wants, but I suspect she actually wants more variety in her work. All of the show’s supporting cast has been very good, but none of them have become well known in the last four years; and the best they’re likely to get is continuing work as character actors (Sarah Lancaster could conceivably get a bigger part on another TV show, but I think she’s the only one of the supporting cast that actually has a “good” chance of a bigger part).

      I’m not trying to be down at all. I do believe in the cast of this show. But the reality is, we may not see much of them anymore when Chuck ends.

      • jason says:

        dave – time will tell – I know we look at it very different, in that same interview, I think Zac and Yvonne looked almost giddy chuck was done. I agree about AB and SL, the rest of the regulars probably will have tough sledding, except I would think Gomez really has two shots – first, some sitcom might hire him as the #2 or #3 guy, I think he has shown a fair amount of range and aptitude esp this past season, but second, I think levi is going to be huge, he is going to take care of gomez, in many ways, I think levi already is, hence gomez’s ever expanding role in chuck and representing chuck as a member of the big 3 – levi-yvonne-gomez in near every interview out there.

      • atcDave says:

        I thought they seemed mostly happy to have gotten an S5! Yeah I think Zach will be sure Gomez gets work as he gets more work on the production end of things.

        I do want them all to succeed. And I HOPE Zach, Yvonne, and Adam all do fun projects that I will enjoy watching for many years to come. But I still think with the end of Chuck their visibility will shrink dramatically. And of course, even if any or all of them do make it big, it’s unlikely my affection will ever be the same for their later projects/characters. What can I say, I’m a very choosy viewer.
        I would compare it to something like Lord of the Rings. I loved those movies. And I’ve seen all of the stars in other projects. But nothing else has ever been quite the same.

      • wax_eagle says:

        Love me some Adam Baldwin, hope that he continues to find work. Sad that he is a bit type cast at this point, but honestly he does it so well why should we really care. He really embodies the Anti-hero that he played so well in Firefly and to some extent in Chuck (although he has leaned much farther hero since Season 1).

      • atcDave says:

        Yeah WaxEagle he is typecast. But I don’t think he’s the sort who minds. I know many actors are always wanting to “spread their wings”; others are happy to just do what they do. Baldwin strikes me as the second sort.

    • joe says:

      I’m certain Zac will be every bit as successful and a director and producer if he chooses. He seems very entrepreneurial!

      And between you and me, I won’t be too surprised to see Ryan M. again. There’s something about him that’s just made for TV sit-coms.

  2. James says:

    Ashley, I would not be too worried about Zac at least. I mean Tangled and the chipmonks have made over a billion dollars…Thor in which he was supposed to be in is already ove 350 million dollars and all these movies have garnered critical aclaim. Zac has signed for an agency that has him lined up for great things that include acting and directing…no worries there….he will be awesome!

    • atcDave says:

      I do think Zach has a good chance of being a career professional in the entertainment industry. He’s a talented comic actor, he can sing, he has directed, and he’s willing to do both major commercial projects and indie/artsy stuff.
      He will still need a lot of luck to make it big, but I’m pretty sure he can at least have long running career even without ever being a huge star.

  3. jwr says:

    atcDave – I could not agree with you more. I think that while Zachary Levi has the best shot at “making it” big, even he needs all kinds of things to go just right for his career to continue to grow and expand. In some ways, he reminds me quite a bit of Zach Braff. Another talented, likable guy with chops in front of and behind the camera. After Zach left Scrubs, what has he really done? A couple of forgettable movies (Garden State, Chicken Little, and even the small film The Last Kiss all happened during his Scrubs run). There’s no doubt that his career is far from over, but Braff’s star has definitely dimmed since the end of Scrubs. All of that to say, even for Zac Levi, losing Chuck as a weekly exposure platform is a challenge more than an opportunity. Sure, it theoretically opens his schedule up for films, but it also takes away a weekly reminder of his talent and likability. If I were him, having a TV show would far outweigh the possible chances an “open calendar” would afford him to make feature films.

    Yvonne, while a very gifted actress, will struggle, I think…to get the best kind of emotional material to “make it” bigger than she is now. Anyone who’s ever seen the “girlfriend role” in an action film knows how unimportant that role can be (and almost always is). It’s certainly not the kind of platform she would really want to show off her skills. As for looks, beautiful girls really are a dime-a-dozen in Hollywood. My guess is that’s already opened the door for her as much as it will. I hope to see her blossom, I really do, but I have serious doubts as to how well that will go for her. If Zac tried to help her as much as he seems to be trying to help Joshua Gomez, maybe, but that will only apply if Zac hits the real deal big time. I’m not sure she would even ask for it. She’s probably a little tired of all the attention that Zac gets as the primary character in the show she’s a co-star in. My guess is that she may have convinced herself that she needs to create a little distance from him in order to really shine on her own. Zac’s hard to compete with in an open interview experience. His personality is bigger than life and very warm. Yvonne normally seems pretty quiet and a bit out of her element. And it may just be me, but there doesn’t appear to be much “real life” chemistry between the two of them in recent interviews. Who knows.

    I wish all of them the best, but Chuck is probably “the little show that could,” a time in their professional lives that they will all miss dearly and think of very fondly in the years to come…a steady paycheck, some weekly name recognition, a passionate fandom, working with people they respected and got a long with…I’m guessing that for most of them, it will be a reminder of that old saying, “You never know what you really have until it’s gone.”

    • atcDave says:

      My biggest hope is that we’ll see the gang together again on occasion. I know that takes some level of influence, but Zach just might attain that. Hopefully they all are having as much fun as they often seem to be.

  4. Faith says:

    I find him (Zac) so very hot right now :D.

  5. Jen says:

    I saw this video as soon as it was posted, and after melting into a pool of goo on the floor and then having to get myself together again i thought of the incredible talent that Zac has, and of course… my fave, Yvonne too. I’m bummed that we only have short period of time left seeing them together on screen, but i’m also happy for them, that they were a part of Chuck, that it became the very special show that it is, how it moves so many people to been such big fans, that they were part of something special, and now that it will be done they will have the opportunity to move on and do so many other great things… and that’s what i hope for them, i wish them much success. To the rest of the cast too, of course… they are all awesome.

Leave a Reply

