Fan Fiction News

Many of you may already be aware; but long time and prolific fan fiction writer Armadilloi (aka “The Armor Plated Rat”) passed away earlier this month.  Starting late in S2 he worked on 25 stories for this fandom.  He had a distinctive style that was action heavy, in a dark and angst filled environment.  His influence is huge, with many writers now writing similar themes.  More after the jump.

He often started with Chuck being well motivated by some wrong to become a capable and dangerous agent.  Usually the guilty party in this transformation was Sarah, which lead to a very polarizing aspect to his writing; people often love it or hate it, there is not much in between.  And this is where I see a lot of his influence in other writer’s work.  He may not have been the first to play with the idea of “super-spy Chuck”, but he developed the idea a lot and we now see far more stories along those lines than before he started writing.

There is more to his writing than just that.  He played with many variations on Chuck themes; different ideas on the Intersect, Chuck with or against the government, good Casey/bad Casey, changing character backgrounds, and alternate pairings.  Usually he came back to Chuck and Sarah being together at the end, but certainly not always (be sure to read author’s notes, synopsis and reviews carefully if this matters to you!).  He takes readers on an exciting roller coaster to an uncertain ending.  His work is never light and fluffy!

Although many of his stories are too much of a wild ride for me, he did produce a couple of stories I like quite a bit.  The first is “Will You Remember Me?”.  Armadilloi describes this as a fluff piece; I’d say its pretty heavy angst, but a fun idea that will hold your interest.  The set-up here is Casey decides to protect Chuck from a coming kill order by faking his death.  To sell it, he doesn’t tell Sarah, and decides he’ll clue her in later.  But of course the death shatters Sarah, she quits the agency and drops off the grid.  Meanwhile Chuck is loosing hope as he is in hiding, and not getting the promised word from her.  As an added point of interest to this story, most of the action is set in St. Ignace Michigan.  As a long time Michigan resident, I enjoyed that unique and appealing element.  This story would be rated PG-13 for some language and thematic elements, its fairly short and can be read in an hour.

The second story I’ll mention here is “May ’til December”.  This is a complete AU.  It starts with an older Chuck; who is both retired Army, and a professor/scientist who has invented the Intersect.  Casey and his wife Carina are long time friends and partners of Chuck’s.  He has a teenage daughter, Ellie, by his ex-wife Jill.  The story gets going when the head of the CIA, Bryce Larkin, sends a new handler Chuck’s way; a tired, burned out Sarah Walker.  You could kind of call this story a Chuck stew.  All the familiar elements are there, but everything is blended together in a pretty different way.  But its not just about the odd mix, there is a good character driven story here too.  I would rate this story R for some violence and sexual content; allow 3 hours to read.

Given that my favorites list has grown very long; and Armadilloi has written a lot of stories that may appeal more to other readers, I’ve included a link to his author’s page at fanfiction.net.

 – Dave

About atcDave

I'm 54 years old and live in Ypsilanti, Michigan. I'm happily married to Jodie. I've been an air traffic controller for 31 years; grew up in the Chicago area, and am still a fanatic for pizza and the Chicago Bears. My main interest is military history, and my related hobbies include scale model building and strategy games.
This entry was posted in Fan Fiction. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Fan Fiction News

  1. Tynianrex says:

    I’d also recommend “Tuesday”, one of my favorite one-shots ever.

    While his style was darker than the show and most fanfiction, he was a talented writer, and gave Chuck stories a distinctive “noir” feeling. He might had been a bit unfair with his treatment of Sarah, but it made for some great stories. He didn’t write canon, but this is fan-fiction after all.

    He will be missed.

  2. ArmySFC says:

    dave…nice write up. APR could stir the pot a bit. a word of caution to readers quite a few of his stories are not complete so check to see if he finished them. chuck vs the mother of all headaches is also good. he foreshadows the problems with the intersect before it comes out in canon. he will be missed.

    • atcDave says:

      Good point about the incomplete stories, it is always listed in the synopsis line if the tale is complete. On the author’s page I linked above his wife has put out the call for writers who might want to finish some of his stories.

  3. BDaddyDL says:

    If you haven’t read it before, please still review. His bride Nikki, helped edit his later works. They weren’t together long enough, but it appeared to me a lot more sunlight some into his world when she entered it. I do know I was really happy when I got a review from him a few months ago. He could spin a yarn.

    RIP Armadilloi

    Nikki a lot of us authors would love to know if you are ok. If you hear about this, let us know how ya doing.

  4. Amron says:

    The first story I ever read was precisely from Armadilloi: “Chuck vs the mother of all headaches”. Yes, he didn’t wrote cannon but that’s what made him great.
    If I can say something about his stories is that they ALWAYS had a plot, they aren’t just a bunch of ideas thrown away, and that’s something I appreciate.

    He will be missed.

  5. Big Kev says:

    It always amazed me how many fantastic ideas Jim came up with. Some of his story set ups and premises were some of the most original in the fandom. Sometimes his characterisations felt the same, regardless of the story, but his plots were so packed with action, originality and drama that I usually didn’t care. You were always guaranteed a damn good read, which took you on all sorts of twists and turns that you normally didn’t see coming. Obviously an incredibly smart man, with a fertile imagination – and a damn good writer.
    I always loved that he put something og himself in his author’s notes too – if he was p*ssed off with something, you knew about it, and when he was happy too, and the same with Nik when she started to write them. You got a small sense of the person that he was, warts and all, and I really appreciated that.
    It’s awful news – and hopefully the knowledge that her husband’s work was read, enjoyed and appreciated by so many of us will be some consolation to Nik as she comes to terms with it.
    Vale APR. You were an original.

  6. Michael says:

    Dave,

    I have read them all, but the two you mentioned are my favorites from fanfiction. While not as well written, the story “Tuesday” is also a must read.

    Do NOT read ”Will You Remember Me?” any where public. Unless you can fake allergies. 🙂 Actually, that is pretty true for many of his stories.

    Nikki,

    If you read this site, my best to you. Many of us will miss Jim writings.

  7. Phil says:

    Mr. Jim started posting his stuff right about the time I started reading Chuck fanfic. He was also the first fellow writer I had any communications with after I left reviews about spewing coffee at the monitor from the funny / sarcastic things he wrote.
    APR has been my favorite Chuck fic writer ’cause I really enjoyed his reluctant warrior Chuck and yes he could come across as anti Sarah but when the Charah finally showed up it was well worth it.
    My favorite story was one that got deleted where Chuck and Ellie were actually aliens who’d been on Earth for several centuries. He’d been reading some Keith Laumer and flavored the story with that.
    I enjoyed kinda sorta getting to know Mr Jim through messages the past couple years. He will be missed and I’m glad Ms Nik is planing on leaving the fic up.
    RIP Mr Jim…
    phedtay / klingoncowboy

  8. Lola says:

    Oh, I’m sorry to hear about Jim.
    I’ve read almot everyone of his stories and enjoy them a lot. True, he wans’t always on cannon, and his Sarah was a lot more conflicted at the begginings. But I’d found that his fic was always very interesting and kept me glowed to my screen for a long time.
    The mother of all headakes and Tueday were among my favorite, but I also recomend Handcuffs Optional (the title doesn’t say a lot… but i liked it). The Game is also very nice.

    He will be missed.
    My best to his wife at this moment.

  9. Tamara Burks says:

    He actually had more than than 25 stories , he deleted a couple and never put them back up. He and Nikki had too little time together. You can follow thier relationship in a way from reading the author’s notes in his stories. It was a little over 2 years from his first posting to his death adn he wasn’t with Nikki when he started.

    Mother of all Headaches was his first story and it gripped me from the word go. His stories where the first Chuck stories I copied to disk so I could reread easily if my internet went down or I just wanted to reread. Unfortunately I didn’t get the ones he deleted.

    He was a wonderfully snarky person and he will be missed.

  10. Alex says:

    This is a very sad news, I really liked his stories, even though I often disagreed with his treatment of Sarah.

    Anyone knows what exactly happened?

Leave a Reply

