Fan Fiction Poll, Part Deux

For those who have been following bdaddy’s fan fiction poll of best stories ever, we have some results.  After the jump take a look at what fellow fans have nominated for favorite stories.

This a pretty comprehensive list.  We are fortunate with a very talented fan base, and four years of history that have led to A LOT of nominees.  bdaddy expects to open voting on these selections next week, but we are lucky to get this list to ponder over until then.  When its time for the voting to start, just head over to bdaddy’s author page (linked under the “fan fiction” header at right), and I’ll add a comment below when he’s ready.

And the Nominees Are…

The Fatesverse by Frea O’Scanlin

The Missing Years Series by malamoo

The Inevitable Life of Chuck Bartowski by jomarch05

Double Agent by mxpw

WatchVerse by SharpAsMarble

Walker’s Eleven by Moonlight Pilot

Revelations by MySoapBox

 Charles vs his Destiny by Arathorn73

Only two Options by LeeCan

 Witness Protection by AKAdenny

Briter Side verse by Notorious JMG

That Which is Greater by Frea O’Scanlin

 The Adorable Psycho Franchise created by Wepdiggy

Collide by Brickroad

Chuck vs the Second Chance by Malamoo

Chuck and Sarah verse by Ninja Vanish

S3 AU by ndnickerson

Chuck vs Family Matters by Lucky47

JimmySlade Verse by PJMurphy

Come away with me by hazelnutcoffee12

Sarah vs. The Long Flight by Go-Chuck-Go

Chuck vs. The Good, Normal, and Wonderful Life by Ersk4

Chuck vs. The Pacific Northwest by Nervert

Sarah vs. Green Bay by Moe32

Chuck vs. Life by Marybr

Chuck vs. The Missing Memeries by Ersk4

Chuck vs The Campaign by Ersk4

Chuck vs The Terrible, Horrible, NG, Really Bad Day (Author’s Intersect)

The Fake Relationship Arc by Billatwork

The Negotiation Arc  by Billatwork

Chuck vs. The Do Over by louzeyre

Chuck vs the Rome Assignment by Fogh

Chuck vs the True Friendship by ThereIsAnother 

 Inevitability of Life by chuckfan56. 

As you’ll notice, many of these are multi-episode epics.  There is an incredible amount of material here.  The variety is also huge. Readers will get to choose their 5 favorites off this list; which will be tough, I was thinking anything less than 15 and I’m going to have some hard decisions to make!

 – Dave

About atcDave

I'm 53 years old and live in Ypsilanti, Michigan. I'm happily married to Jodie. I've been an air traffic controller for 30 years; grew up in the Chicago area, and am still a fanatic for pizza and the Chicago Bears. My main interest is military history, and my related hobbies include scale model building and strategy games.
This entry was posted in Fan Fiction, Season 4. Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to Fan Fiction Poll, Part Deux

  1. BDaddyDL says:

    This is so cool. A huge Kudos to Dave. All those links are because of him. This is a great list, nay an awesome list.
    For those who helped made nominations thank you. Don’t worry the short story and the authors list will be out later. this is a lot to process. % stories from this list, tough.

    • BDaddyDL says:

      Sorry, 5 stories from this list is tough.

    • atcDave says:

      oops, sorry, no links. Dave is far less brilliant than claimed.

      But yeah, five picks from this list is going to be seriously tough.

    • Michael says:

      FIX! FIX! FIX! I must protest!

      I am joking. This is a great list, but seriously, there isn’t a single entry from the late Armadilloi, aka APR.

      For ‘Will You Remember Me?’ alone he should be on this list. And there is ‘To Live, Love and Die in Paris’ and ‘Kappa’

      • BDaddyDL says:

        Email me your top 5 at bdaddydl@gmail.com ill add them to the poll.
        I know for a fact APR is on the other lists.

      • atcDave says:

        Shorter stories and favorite authors was a separate poll. I believe APR is represented in both of those.

      • Michael says:

        @bdaddydl
        >>> Email me your top 5 at bdaddydl@gmail.com ill add them to the poll.

        I kind of get the feeling that completed stories should be on the list, so I would nominate APR’s ‘Kappa’.

        Also, I would nominate one of yours; ‘Heritage’. If anyone crys conflict of interest, just point at me. 🙂

        The only other story was one where I can’t remember the name or author. I hate when that happens. Chuck and Sarah are together, basically from the beginning but do a very good job of keeping it a secret from everyone.

        Say, will mxpw ever complete Double Agent? That is a great story, but it just died. I don’t see anything new from him in 2011.

      • BDaddyDL says:

        Seriously, thank you. That means a lot. To be mentioned even close to this kind of list…wow I’m speechless. Thank you

  2. joe says:

    Um, you’re the instigator BDaddy. So take a bow!

    Everyone (‘specially me!) has a lot of reading to do now! 😉

  3. uplink2 says:

    Thanks for doing this guys. Even though I have read most it also points out other great ones I have missed. Still gots l;ots to keep me busy this summer. Thanks

  4. Nervert says:

    Kinda daunting when it’s all listed out like that. There are so many I have yet to read (this is a good thing though).

    • BDaddyDL says:

      That is a reason I wanted to do this list. We ended up with several different viewpoints.
      For example, One list was by someone who dis not want to list incomplete fics. Another by a person who dislikes a week Chuck.
      I am going to vote on the top 5 also. I just can’t decide which of my 4 top fives ill vote on.

      • atcDave says:

        Hmmmm, I don’t believe I said I didn’t like incomplete works; only that I wouldn’t nominate any as a way of eliminating about 15 possibilities!

  5. louzeyre says:

    I just wanted to say I thank you for including my story on this list. (I kind of let out a rather undignified squeal when I saw it on there.) And to point out ahead of time that if the next chapter is late because I’m reading (or rereading) the rest of the things on the list, you’ll only have yourself to blame.

    • atcDave says:

      Dignity is over-rated anyway, squeal away! We’ve heard plenty of those at this site the last year or so, although usually its one of us ‘shippers getting excited (ask Faith…)

      There’s no doubt “Do Over” deserves its place on the list, sorry we made you read almost to the end!

  6. Jomarch says:

    So this was a nice surprise to stumble onto. Just wanted to say thanks for including my story (The Inevitable Life of Chuck Bartowski). Regards jomarch05

    • atcDave says:

      We are happy to give you guys some recognition. I remember your story as one of the first complete AUs I read. Good story, I didn’t like the ending much (!), but otherwise good story.

  7. lucky47 says:

    Wow, I’ve been included too? That’s amazing! Thanks so much. I’m surprised cause my story misses the action aspect of Chuck but grateful nonetheless.

    I’ve never read some of the stories up there so I look forward to catching up =) You guys always have the best recommendations.

    • atcDave says:

      You know it’s funny about themes and tone on different stories. The show itself is so eclectic, being comedy, drama, romance, action/adventure all rolled into one. It seems to me a lot of very good Chuck stories only focus in on one or two of those elements. And when a writer handles just those couple of elements very well, like you do, the result can be very satisfying. The funny thing to me is how I was drawn to the show initially by my love of action and comedy, yet now I’m so invested in these characters I can completely enjoy a story that focusses on entirely different aspects.

  8. Fogh says:

    Wow… Umm.. Wow can’t believe I’m on this list. Not sure if it deserves that honor but still very awesome, and quite the humbling honor.

    Anyway BDaddyL thanks for starting this and composing this list, so many great stories in there, some that I already knew, some I almost forgotten and some I’ve never even heard off. So thanks for giving me some new reading pleasure.

    • Fogh says:

      Ok I know this os lame responding to.myself but picking five is going to be a hellish task.

    • BDaddyDL says:

      For me the shame is one of my all time faces did not make it on the list.
      Chuck vs The Coma from supesfan is so close to my top 5. I betad a big portion of it, but it is so worth a read.

    • atcDave says:

      Picking five is going to be tough. And there is so much more good stuff that almost made it. Its amazing how long this could keep you busy, I know only a portion of my own favorites list made this list.

  9. joe says:

    Nervert, Lucky47, Fogh, Jomarch, louzeyre, and anyone I might have missed here, I’m sure I speak for all of us when I say you’re all very welcome. But we’re just as honored to know that you read us. I personally have not spoken up because I haven’t been able to devote the time your works deserve, and not enough to comment intelligently. But the stories I’ve read consistently fall between wonderful and amazing on the enjoyment scale.

    If you haven’t yet, you may want to read Dave’s previous post, Change and Endings. You’ll see that people are starting to think seriously and deeply about what this community will be after next season.

    What ever that is, it’s pretty clear that the fan-fic writers are going to be a major part of it. I’m old enough to remember when Star Trek:TOS ended. The fan-fiction never did, and became an inspiration for a franchise that continues to this day. Anything is possible, and your work means that much.

  10. BDaddyDL says:

    Hopefully the short story list will be up soon. Unfortunately, work and life got in the way.
    Any who.. this is the list for the top five long fics of all time. http://www.weekofmondays.net/survey/index.php?sid=44655&lang=en BTW there is a box on top of the list which must be submitted for this to work.

  11. Henry says:

    Talking about fanfiction, as this was not mentioned here, I would like to suggest, in case you missed it, Taming The Giant Blonde Shemale by LittleCandyMan (http://www.fanfiction.net/s/7151254/1/Taming_The_Giant_Blonde_Shemale).
    In my opinion, this is one of the most interesting fanfics that I have read recently, and if you haven’t checked it yet, it is definitely worth a look…

Leave a Reply

