Bridge of Spies (Video Added)

Well, I’ve had lots of time to ponder the future for our favorite spies.   I’m not sure what is to come with the choices ahead in Season 5.  Part of me has a wish list and the other part of me wants to not project what I want onto the season, for fear of comparing the choices the writers and actors make with my expectations.  At any rate, I was listening to my iPod (I’ve had a lot of time spent traveling home, and music is a passion of mine) and came across a song that I thought was fitting for our heroes.  More after the break.
Back in the late ’80’s, there was a band that may be considered a one hit wonder.  The year was 1987 and the band was T’Pau.  The hit song was “Heart and Soul.”  Most of you probably know it.
However, I have chosen the title track of that album, “Bridge of Spies,” as an ode to what could be.  Take a look at the lyrics (below).  I think the song could fit any member of Team Bartowski.  At first blush, it would be a good fit for Sarah, choosing to be a full time wife and/or mother or both she and Chuck hanging it up for a post-spy life together.  The line “no hero, no regrets, but only meant to be” is perfect.  It could nicely fit for Mary, particularly if they retcon Stephen’s death and let them ride off into the sunset (I’m a sappy romantic, so I could deal with that as an option- I’m just sayin’).  How about Morgan, leaving the biz in spite of being the Intersect, choosing a life with Alex?  Or potentially it could fit for Casey and this new character, Gertrude.
Take a listen (http://tinyurl.com/3tlgr32) while you check out the lyrics and let me know what you think!
Bridge Of Spies lyrics
So long I've waited for you to come to me

anticipated what I would say.
And no one could know how it feels to be
in your embrace again
so tender.
Yes
there were times I could not hold on

Each day that came a little more hope was gone.
I'd look into my heart to see what I had done

And now I can't believe
the day is finally come!

I am walking over the bridge of spies today

Freedom is only one more step away
you only have to hold me.

Take me to you!
Now the things we wanted
they're so far away it seems
Your love is a distant thing that I kept deep inside of me.
Now if I could show you where I lived in my fantasy

On the continent of dreams you'd be with me.

I don't know if I could go through it all again

For what's the point if you are never free to say.
This is what I believe
this is a part of me

No hero
no regrets
but only meant to be.

I am walking over the bridge of spies today
. . .
I am walking over the bridge of spies today
. . .

Hold me
hold me! Hold me
hold me!
About amyabn

My name is Amy and I'm in the active Army as my profession. I love the show Chuck and want to see it succeed for many seasons to come. My twitter handle is amyabn.
This entry was posted in Music, Season 5. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Bridge of Spies (Video Added)

  1. Ernie Davis says:

    Great to have you back posting Amy, and back in general as we’ve all said. I’m guessing you know this, but there is an actual Bridge of Spies. Glienicke Bridge was a point where the American zone of West Berlin was adjacent to Potsdam in East Germany, with a bridge in between. It was used a number of times for spy exchanges between the Soviets and Americans. In that context the lyrics make a lot of literal sense, someone literally coming home to the love that kept him going and gave him hope, but I like your take on it having a deeper and more emotional resonance for our heroes. Without a separation involving Gulags please. 😉

  2. joe says:

    I hope you don’t mind, Amy. The TinyURL link seemed to be not what you intended, so I replaced it with the video directly.

    Oh yeah. It’s hard not to visualize Paris when I hear that song now. Ernie, you’re right. The emotional resonance is huge.

    There’s an underlying theme that runs through nearly every Chuck episode, and that’s the heroism hidden inside every person. Each character (yes, even Jeff and Lester) have had moments of heroism. Anthems like Bridge of Spies are essential begging us to recognize those moments in others and in ourselves.

    Hard to do. I’m starting to believe it’s essential, too.

    • amyabn says:

      No worries, Joe, I appreciate the save. We all know I’m the tech challenged of the group!
      I’m glad you like the song. I just see it as an ending, each character making a choice. Maybe they ride off into the sunset (or a delivery room, etc) with a new life choice, having vanquished the bad guy behind it all.

Leave a Reply

