Chuck This vs. The Hurricane

And Other Natural Disasters

So, in the past two weeks, half of your intrepid Chuck This! bloggers have been subjected to solar storms, earthquakes and now, hurricanes (oh my!).

I blame Decker, myself. It’s just like his diversionary, tactical approach.

Our flashes give us limited intel; this storm is not so bad as Isabelle back in 2003, but we do sorta expect power failures region wide. With that in mind…

If you don’t hear from us on the East Coast, our Midwest, West Coast and South American contingents will keep you entertained for the interim.

And if this hurricane really goes off course and decides to hit the Midwest and California too, then please consider this an open thread until we get back. I think South America is safe for now.

For your re-watching pleasure we’ll be reviewing one of our very favorite episodes, Chuck vs. The Honeymooners, on or about the 29th of Aug. And then, after the Labor Day weekend, Thinkling and ATCDave will continue our Season 4 Summer Re-watch Marathon with a review of Chuck Versus Agent X.

Enjoy!

– joe

About joe

In my life I've been a professor, martial artist, rock 'n roller, rocket scientist, lover, poet and brain surgeon. I'm lying about the brain surgery.
This entry was posted in Administrative. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Chuck This vs. The Hurricane

  1. atcDave says:

    So is the best guess a communications blackout starting sometime in the next 24 hours? Last time my parents got hit they were without power for over two weeks. Not that I’m trying to scare anyone or anything…

    I’d brag about no hurricanes or earthquakes here in the midwest, but we’d probably get nailed by a tornado if I say anything.

    • joe says:

      Best guess is probably within the next eight hours, Dave.

      It’s a weird thing, and not predictable. We didn’t lose power at all during Isabella. But less than two weeks later I was hit by another bad storm that left my neighborhood powerless for 5 days. That was fun.

      NOT!

      It really was a matter of how quickly the utilities could get the power back to the neighborhoods, and when the storm damage is wide spread (like it was during and immediately after Isabelle), it can take days.

      Or it can take hours. They’re predicting wide spread outages this time, but the best guess is, shall we say, a lousy guess.

      Tornadoes? Been there, done that in Kalamazoo, Dave! 😉

    • patty says:

      Here in Richmond VA I got no power, no phone, no tv, no wifi and no water. I am at Barnes and Noble enjoying the ac, ice cold coke and hoping my school cancels teacher work week for tomorrow before I have to go home. Cell works at home but not at B&N so go figure! I wonder if the quake loosened up the trees so they would fall easier? The one that fell in my yard was HUGE. It has blocked the road, taken down power lines in 3 directions and made a huge mess! My brother says that on the bright side having power lines UNDER a tree blocking the road will make us more of a priority to Dominion Power, of course he lives in FL.;-)

      • joe says:

        Good Ol’ Barnes & Noble!

        In the past few years a number of these “Fruitless Pear Trees” they planted around here started coming down, mostly in bad storms. They tend to have very shallow roots and it’s been a nuisance when they come down on top of cars. But it appears now that only trees with substantial roots are left, and they weathered this storm well.

        I think your brother is right about Dominion Power’s priorities, Patty. Good luck!

      • Faith says:

        Holy moley. Stay safe Patty!

        Goes for everyone on the path of the storm. Stay safe, and hope your love ones are with you.

  2. herder says:

    Personally I blame Shaw, but that’s just my own personal opinion.

  3. OldDarth says:

    Wishes of safety to all those in the path of Irene.

    • joe says:

      Ah, thanks, Lou. Appreciated.

      • OldDarth says:

        So how did you make out Joe?

      • joe says:

        Good morning! We came through okay – there’s tons of junk in the road and the streetlights are out, but my lights only flickered.

        My Church, about half a mile away, had no power (Fr. Bob was “unplugged”), so I got a little lucky.

        Okay, a lot lucky.

        Haven’t heard from my brothers in Conn. yet, so I expect they lost power. I haven’t heard that it was horrible up there, though, so I’m optimistic.

      • atcDave says:

        Awesome news Joe. Looks like Ernie is up and running this AM too!

  4. OldDarth says:

    Great to hear! Hope everyone fared as good as you did.

    The vigil continues as the storm heads into Canada for my wife’s relatives whom live there.

  5. BDaddyDL says:

    This reminds me of a few years back. Guys if ya can plan a trip to where there is power to get fuel. It’s probably.gonna be scarce for a while.

Leave a Reply

