Chuck Season 5 Sneak Peek

Ladies and gentlemen we have our first promo! There are spoilers within so don’t click if you don’t want to be spoiled.

Though in this case, I think being spoiled is totally worth it ;). Talk about building excitement for the season!

Vodpod videos no longer available.

About Faith

Eternally faith-ful at least as it relates to my beloved Los Angeles Lakers. Yes that's where the username comes from. Other than that self-professed Chuckaholic, Laker blogger and part time internet addict. Ok, full time.
This entry was posted in Season 4. Bookmark the permalink.

128 Responses to Chuck Season 5 Sneak Peek

  1. Wilf says:

    Hey – what about us poor but faithful British followers of Chuck 😦 Could some kind person please upload the video to Youtube please as this will only play in the U.S. ? TIA

  2. JC says:

    They brought back Decker! YES

  3. atcDave says:

    Must use flash, I can’t see it on my iPad either.

    • atcDave says:

      Okay, I found it. Very exciting stuff! Looks like Decker will be a major issue. Intersect or no, Chuck is clearly in charge! Very exciting stuff. Is it October yet?

      • thinkling says:

        Yeah, I liked the Chuck-in-charge part, too (especially Sarah’s “you are our leader”). I also really liked Yvonne’s comments that whereas in the beginning she was taking care of Chuck, now it’s the two of them together taking care of Morgan. It looked like the Morgan training was being distributed to all of TeamB. I can live with that.

        The Decker menace will create tension and a real danger that Chuck and Sarah (and the team) will face together (and that’s what we want, right). That should make it more exciting to the people who were never really on board with the mom/Volkoff story.

      • michael says:

        @thinkling
        >>> Yeah, I liked the Chuck-in-charge part
        Same here. But I always felt he was that guy since mid third season.

        >>> now it’s the two of them together taking care of Morgan
        Are there any bets on what Morgan flashes on first? I think it’ll be either a squirrel or Jeffster. Lester is a foreign agent. 🙂

      • atcDave says:

        Yeah Thinkling I’m hopeful the Decker/CIA thing will appeal to more long-time fans than last season’s main arc did.

        Michael I like the squirrel idea, seems fitting. My thought was just that he’ll have no filter, and have to blabber the most embarrassing details he learns whenever he flashes on someone’s file. But then Casey or Sarah may decide he has to die…. (sorry, for some reason I keep coming back to the whole “Morgan’s death” theme)

      • thinkling says:

        Yeah, Michael, but this time it’s WITHOUT the Intersect. That’s why I’m glad.

      • michael says:

        @thinkling
        >>> Yeah, Michael, but this time it’s WITHOUT the Intersect. That’s why I’m glad.

        True. I always felt that Chuck’s finest hour was when he tricked Shaw into admitting that he had killed Stephen and signalled the Ring elders to leave the meeting. Pure intellect, cunning and guile. And no Intersect. Mua ha ha

      • atcDave says:

        I’ve always preferred when he used his brains instead of the gimic. I’ll be happy to see Chuck be the smart leader now.

      • Faith says:

        Ugh. *repeatedly bangs head on desk when just thinking about Morgan being distributed* ;). LOL.

      • thinkling says:

        LOL. Who will buy …

        I just meant that I was glad it wasn’t going to become the Chuck and Morgan show.

      • Faith says:

        Good point. Though the promo didn’t exactly emphasize any specific relationship you know? Though Sarah got in there with the “you’re our leader” quote, there wasn’t much emphasis on “Charah” either–even though we know full well we’ll get some of that during the season. Interestingly enough the promo emphasized more the mythology/spy aspect of Chuck so this bodes well for fans of that aspect of the show. I really, truly think this is the season where they master that balance again (shout-out to Big Kev).

        The other thing I was thinking is that they may have just spoiled MH’s complete role/scene. He reportedly basically just did a cameo and that might have been it (the scene we saw). But on the plus side nothing on “other” guest stars (I won’t spoil it for you guys, but needless to say *nerdgasm* for all who love kick ass women).

  4. Jen says:

    Thanks for that YouTube link! It’s iDevice friendly 🙂
    Have a Chucktastic day!!!! Thanks for the post Faith!!

  5. lappers84 says:

    O YEAH ,can’t wait 🙂

  6. joe says:

    Great promo! Thanks, Faith.

    What caught my attention was Chuck’s statement “How certain are you that these glasses have one re-load left?” That’s interesting, for all sorts of reasons.

    Oh, and I like it too that Ellie appears to be their “Intersect Technical Consultant.” 😉

    • thinkling says:

      Yeah, Joe. I loved that Ellie is now the Intersect guru. Yvonne said in one of the interviews how nice it is that all the family knows.

    • DKD says:

      The word was “had” not “have”.

      “How certain are you that these glasses had one re-load left?”

      I listened again with earplugs.

      • atcDave says:

        Yeah that’s what I thought; basically they’re spent.

      • michael says:

        Did the second shot come from the grassy knoll?

        Truly, I am not making fun, I just had the giggles at the idea of studying the clip with headphones. In the surveillance van. 😉

        I have to wait until I get home to view the clip, so this is fun.

      • joe says:

        We’re still doing the acoustic analysis, Michael.

        😉

    • joe says:

      Gotcha. I’ll listen again, DKD. Thanks.

    • joe says:

      You’re right, DKD. The glasses are spent. Outstanding questions, then: Can Morgan be “De-Intersected?” Who is Decker talking about when he says “He must fail.” – Chuck or The Intersect? Lastly, are Chuck & Sarah living in a mansion???

      • DKD says:

        I presume Decker was talking about Chuck, but my question is “what is the reason Chuck must fail?”

        I think the mansion belongs to Mark Hamill’s character. They only film at that location one day.

      • joe says:

        Man, I haven’t had my mandatory coffee yet, I’m still half asleep, and you’re harshing my mellow, DKD! I want Chuck & Sarah living in a mansion!!! Waaaaaa!!!
        😉

      • thinkling says:

        OK, Decker says Now you understand how important he is … and why he must fail.

        He has to fail because he is so important. So, the question is … why is he so important?

      • ArmySFC says:

        Joe, my bet is Chuck. the file decker had on the table was all pictures of chuck, to me that was the big clue.

      • DKD says:

        Sorry, Joe.

        It is a spoiler thread and I’ve been following their filming schedule very closely through twitter. I guess it’s possible C&S rented the mansion for just a day as a cover.

      • joe says:

        Think, I suspect that’s the question TPTB want us to chew on – Why is he so important? I can hazard a few guesses, and most of mine bring one person back to mind. Orion.

        Hum… It may be time for a speculation thread already.

        DKD, I just like the idea of Chuck & Sarah stepping out of a mansion looking like the Duke & Duchess of Burbank. That’s what I saw. 😉

      • thinkling says:

        I still wonder if the Buymorons will know who owns them. Still think it would be a fun secret for a while, and the reveal would be a hoot.

        As to Chuck’s importance … it could be his Orion connection or his special brain, or that he is the only one that can stop them from (???). You remember when Stephen told Chuck that since he was gone the people who were after him would come after Chuck and Ellie. I wonder if it’s these guys and only Chuck stands in their way now.

      • atcDave says:

        I think the Buy More reveal could be a total blast; but I do hope they draw it out as long as possible first!

      • thinkling says:

        Yeah, if they all know from day 1, it will be a missed opportunity for great comedy

      • Amron says:

        Orion must know something: “You’re special, son”! I hope they could fix the mess they did with the Intersect Mythology… I mean, we know Chuck is special just because who he is, but I’m intrigued about why he is special for the CIA without the Intersect…

    • Faith says:

      Welcome. It pays to be an insomniac sometimes! Caught that around 2am my time. With thanks to @Minneapolisnice for leading me to the find.

      I love the family aspect. Ellie being “included” in the big stuff is always welcome to me. Drawing on that “Bartowski” connection that gave the show unity and purpose from before.

  7. DKD says:

    Anybody know where this came from? Was it on TV or did NBC release it to the internet?

  8. Amron says:

    OH MY GOD! It looks amazing!!! Chuck can kick ass without the Intersect! And the file thing! It felt epic, as epic as the season finale of S4… I have to say, if the writers go with that sentiment of the season finale, I’m in! And I’m sure they could bring back the feeling of S2… Fingers crossed and I can’t wait!

  9. Amron says:

    Oh, also… can anybody tell me what Casey said? I didn’t understand… Thank you!

  10. Faith says:

    On a totally unrelated note, Jason I caught the pilot of Hart of Dixie (Josh Schwartz’s other show)–they’re giving it for free in iTunes–and I like it. It needs some ripening (if that makes sense), but otherwise I think it’s going to be a good, borderline great show. There are some very familiar elements in it that is not that different from Chuck and although Chuck is a whole other level of awesome, Hart of Dixie wasn’t bad either. I’ll certainly tune in for the next one.

    • jason says:

      I read one review last week or the week b4, I can’t recall the words, but something like, I don’t want to insult Schwartz, but what is he doing writing a show that is sweet and charming? If I like it, the show will have elements of Friday Night Lights, of Everwood, and of Chuck. If I don’t like it, the show will more resemble Gossip Doctor, OC and General Hospital. In your opinion, was the show more the former or the latter?

      • Faith says:

        Apparently my reply from the AM did not take. Anyway, I’ll try to remember it.

        I too read a review, a scathing one from Variety. Some things were on point, most were way too harsh. There seems to be an inordinate amount of critics that just can’t get past Rachel Bilson, pretty girl, being a doctor in any shape or form. Which I think is ridiculous. Though I do think that because of the premise she needs to be more like Christina Yang of Grey’s Anatomy, but that’s one of my few negatives.

        To answer your question there are definite elements of his old shows but yet I see it more as what Chuck would have been had Kayla stayed in the picture. There are a lot of things that are outright similar…not knowing where you fit in, what to do with your life after you’ve been kicked out of Stanford by your best friend (though obviously not that specifically, but the sentiment is similar). It’s definitely not Friday Night Lights, her relationship with her family is nowhere near that, but you again see some of Chuck and Ellie of season 1 where there’s a question mark there that you’ll probably get to know more in later seasons (if it goes that far). I would only compare it to Everwood in the medicine aspect of it. And you’ll see that from the get go. Apart from that not so much. Getting back to Chuck though, I think one of the biggest things missing in it is an Ellie. Ellie, the heart of Chuck always brought more into the story than just the action, the romance, the comedy. And Hart of Dixie needs that.

        Last point, I didn’t realize this before but Josh Schwartz tends to write his pilot scripts like you would a movie. Not always a great movie like Chuck was, but with all the things needed in a pilot, he adds a closing–a satisfactory conclusion to the journey in the end like you would in a movie. All his other episodes after the pilot aren’t like that, but that pilot always is. At least the ones I’ve seen.

      • jason says:

        Faith – You still watching HOD – you like it? Thought I’d ask, since there is little Chuck to discuss right now, unless one wants to join the s3 vs s4 fray, which must be starting to bore most of the combatants???

        I still am watching HOD … two episodes, still haven’t thrown anything at the tv. Relative to Everwood, I love the big city doc finding her soul in a small town, looks like HOD will deliver that.

        The mayor, the lawyer, and the other doctor and his daughter are all great characters so far to me, I like them all. Again, they have a FNL’s or Everwood feel to them as characters.

        I had never really been a fan of Bilson, and I am afraid she is miscast for this role. But she is really cute trying, it just is hard to buy her as a surgeon when she looks (and dresses and acts) like one of my son’s college friends. I’m still watching, so she is doing ok.

        Relative to LI / PLI overuse, so far, I am onboard. I am usually ok when the primary wt/wt is not an option for now and sold convincingly as such. The problem with Chuck and LI / PLI use, TPTB sold me CS were a real couple as early as the pilot, and I never was convinced about the reasons keeping them apart. IN Chuck, all of the LI / PLI uses seemed OOC and interrupted the procedural part of the show (think Castle without Beckett or Castle on the missions).

        Anyhow, HOD is the only new show I am still watching – for now.

      • Faith says:

        Yes still watching, though what sold me most was the reveal about the Mayor and Lemon. Or as I call it, twist!

        I don’t think Bilson was miscast, but I do think she doesn’t effectively convey the proper reactions that the role required, especially in the very beginning. I don’t know if you’ve ever seen an episode of Grey’s Anatomy but to me the character demanded more Christina Yang than Rachel Bilson (think I said this before :D) but since the premise of the show is for the main character to change and be lovable, Bilson works in that sense, or she will…eventually. If you haven’t watched Grey’s Anatomy, picture a cold, calculating, task-centric, almost robotic Sandra Oh. In any case, you aren’t alone in your sentiments, half of the reviews I’ve read have pointed out that exact same thing—they can’t buy Bilson as the doctor, she’s too beautiful, etc. The way she dresses though is appropriate in the NY sense…if you’re going by the surface/stereotype which the show is apt to do (heavily so if you read half the reviews). It’s like plopping down one of the Sex and the City girls (aka NY) into the deep south, so fitting in that sense. That said, I do like Bilson so I’m liable to give her leeway.

        As for the characters, I admit they’re good but I don’t know why I keep on hoping she has an Ellie or a really close friend like an Ellie in her life. Well actually I know, but it’s mostly because I think everyone should have an Ellie. She’s too isolated and though George is her friend (and probably Lemon, eventually) it really doesn’t count. Mostly though I’ve been impressed by the patients and the emotion those story lines have brought.

        Finally the PLIs. I admit it’s heavy, but I agree with you, it’s different from Chuck. I mentioned before that Hart of Dixie was how I imagined Chuck would have been had Kayla stayed on the show. I meant that in the PLI sense. They were brilliant on Chuck (not that they weren’t in this case) because taking out that girl changed the entire dynamic of the relationship and made it something more from the get go. While I don’t fully agree with you about the lack of need/role of PLIs, I do agree that from the pilot on, it was Chuck and Sarah, it really was just a matter of time, and growth to get there. This feels a bit different. I’m less invested, and that’s probably a good thing, but though I want Zoe and George to get together (eww Wade), I really care more about all the things around them versus just them.

      • jason says:

        Funny how much we agree, I almost brought up the ‘Kayla’ comparison.

        As far as the need for a friend, the odd thing is how well Zoey and the 14 year old girl (I am sorry, I don’t even know whose kid she is?) work as friends, and even how Wade helped the young girl with her b/f problems after they made the parade float. Again, this just reinforces how young Zoey acts as a character. In spite of all of the current PLI’s floating around for her, she really does not fit well with any of them, I would not be shocked if most of her real action, comes from guest stars. If the Mayor, her and Wade all become friends in a battle with the townie’s and George stuck in the middle, I think that the show might keep me, the more they all become LI’s with one another, the less.

        I get the high heels and the New York look in the pilot, but she spent much of this ep dressed in little else other than a football jersey, and I think she wore jean shorts in another scene or two, more ‘Daisy Duke’ than ‘New York Sex and the City’ girl. I am not commenting about this based on the sexuality of it, more on the age appropriateness of it vs the character – especially given how young Bilson looks anyhow.

        Finally, I think HOD ends with George and Zoey together, this is a perfect example of a couple that can’t be coupled without ruining the show. My logic is nearly all of the story revolves around the two of them in separate plots (the zoey vs the townie’s thing) that criss cross, almost perfectly in lots of ways. But, their story is why I am still watching, I am curious what Schwartz does with them … so far, he has my attention.

      • thinkling says:

        Sorry … I commented under the wrong name, so I deleted and re-commented.

        I’m watching. At this point I am totally un invested in the relationships and don’t care if any of them get together. I enjoy the laughs and the situation appeals to me … outsider earning her place, finding herself, and being bewildered and out of touch with her new setting. I expect the town characters will be entertaining, perhaps interesting, if not a little stereotyped.

        Bilson in Dixie strikes me a little bit like Witherspoon in Legally Blond in two ways. She doesn’t seem to fit the doctor role, and yet she does. She also totally doesn’t fit in with the people around her, but in the opposite configuration. I don’t know if that makes any sense at all.

        So far we are entertained by it. I don’t see becoming invested, but I think we’ll keep tuning in for the laughs, and a little warmth as things go along.

      • Faith says:

        Interesting perspective Jason. I’m not sure yet if the show will be ruined when they get together, because at this point, I really don’t know how I really feel about them together. I’m already anticipating Schwartz getting us Schwartzed but amazingly enough I’m not dreading it…must be that investment thing I mentioned.

        As for the age, or really maturity, I think part of that is by design. Obviously Bilson plays younger anyway but also from a storytelling standpoint she’s basically a child right now in need of maturing. Both as a doctor and as a person. One of the things I think they need to explore more is how she got the way she is apart from finding out that her father isn’t her father and never getting approval from her (now we find out as) her stepfather.

        Thinkling, I really do think there’s something special about Chuck. I’m usually a person that gets involved in the shows I tune in but Chuck’s level of involvement or as I put it before–investment was always more–special and organic. The characters are just that special and the situation and relationships that identifiable. Anyway my point is, I’m not really surprised that between the three of us, none are really all that invested and yet it’s a good show (so far ;)), so we tune in.

        As for Legally Blond, great comparison. Now that I think about it, I’m thinking Reese Witherspoon would probably have been better cast in this role (though I still maintain that Bilson was not miscast, per say). She did a great job with her disdain of the south and its conventions in Sweet Home Alabama even though the movie itself wasn’t all that great.

      • thinkling says:

        Faith, you’re right about Chuck, re: investment. I don’t think I’ve ever been as invested in any fictional characters as Chuck. I know some credit has to go to the creators and writers, but to me the lion’s share goes to ZL and YS and cast. I find myself invested in characters to varying degrees on shows, from practically none (but the show is somehow still interesting) to off the scale, which is only Chuck … and it’s a good thing or I’d never get anything done. 😉

        Agree about Reese Witherspoon and Sweet Home Alabama (partially filmed on my son’s college campus … Berry). Hadn’t thought of it, but RW would be good in the role. (Totally OT, but I thought she was great in Walk the Line … proved she had more in her than LB and SHA)

      • jason says:

        I’m still watching HOD. I am now convinced Schwartz has magic in creating characters I enjoy. The ‘other’ doctor had a great 3rd ep & the mayor, Wade, and Zoey formed a team. If Schwarz can just keep that team in place without ruining it with LI’s, Wade is an excellent PLI to keep everything off balance, and the mayor is the perfect ‘girlfriend’ to allow Zoey to be escorted around to town functions, etc.

        If either of you is bored, try Revenge, I did since I dropped Harry’s Law last week. Revenge is a twisty drama. The pilot begins with the climax to the 13th episode, what looks like a murder of the groom to be at an engagement party, then gradually unfolds the plot each week of how they all got there. Think ‘Dallas’ set in Hamptons with the internet startup / hedge fund crowd replacing the oil crowd. Throw in two rich and powerful families intertwined by all the familiar vices, with two JR type characters battling each other and all kinds of evil doers lurking all about.

  11. DKD says:

    I wonder how many different episodes this footage comes from. Zac had a tweet of him with Richard Burgi (Decker), but that was around the time they were filming the 4th episode. It’s possible, thought that Decker is in several episodes, though. The stuff in the mansion is definitely from the first.

    • dkd says:

      It’s possible Morgan can go “Agent X” like Hartley did. I still remember Fedak’s stumbling over the question(at SDCC) of how is it possible so many people can get an intersect when Chuck was “special”. His ultimate answer was that people react differently to the intersect. It’s very possible that the Intersect impacts Morgan negatively.

  12. Amron says:

    Im getting a feeling, and maybe I’m speculating too much but… I believe Morgan could be a baddie…

    • ArmySFC says:

      your not alone i said that after the finale when morgan said he was always the driver.

      • Amron says:

        I don’t know if he is the big baddie behind the curtain, but I can see how Morgan’s delusions of grandeur could be amplified because the Intersect and the power within… Decker could influence him, perhaps?

      • ArmySFC says:

        dunno, i just feel he was part of the reason chuck never grew up, like they had him hold him back. with morgan he could remain the failure he was until sarah and casey came along. it wasn’t until they came along did chuck reach his potential. face it a trained chimp could do better than the buymorons, so his time there is nothing special.

      • atcDave says:

        You know there’s no way Morgan would actually be the villain. That’s WAY too dark for Chuck.

    • atcDave says:

      Maybe, but more likely he is manipulated by the baddies like Ellie was at the end of S3.

      • Amron says:

        Exactly. As I said, I could see how Decker could manipulate Morgan to switch sides… Something like “Chuck is jealous because now you’re the Intersect, now You’re the special one…”

      • ArmySFC says:

        Dave help me out here. what is the definition of dark? i hear that a lot and it covers everything for the first part of 3 to morgan being bad to sarah being poisoned, just what is dark?

      • atcDave says:

        Yeah something like that. But it would have to be an agent of Decker, I don’t see Morgan being fooled by the man himself for a second.

      • atcDave says:

        Well army, if you look on wiktionary I’m normally using something like the “poetic” definition of the word. It can involve evil things and motives, or grim imagery. Any show or story involving good guys and bad guys will use some dark subject material to at least define that the bad guys are “bad.”. Chuck sometimes takes this quite far and we’ve seen some pretty dark baddies like Decker who is willing to kill fellow intelligence agents; but more often we’ve seen a sort of comic dark like Volkoff who was just ridiculously over the top.
        But many modern stories delight in applying such darkness to the protagonists. We often now see stories with “good guys” who don’t even know right from wrong. I’m talking a step beyond the sort of moral traps and puzzles that have long been popular in philosophy courses. Any hero can find themselves in such a position, we saw Sarah deal with one back in Santa Claus. But I think it’s another step beyond to have a protagonist who say, thinks it’s okay to kill for money or betray their friends as a matter of personal convenience. That is very dark material and beyond anything I think we’re likely to see on Chuck. At least I hope it’s too dark for Chuck; it’s certainly too dark for me and I don’t watch such shows.
        Early in the series, Casey was almost such a dark character, but we always knew he had that potential. And I think his character has been redeemed over the last couple seasons in such a way that he would never be confused by something as dumb as immoral orders again. And given that a major theme of the show has long been friends and family, I think Chuck winning Casey over and helping him rediscover some sort of moral center is more like what the show does best.
        I can’t even imagine what a betrayal it would be both of Chuck personally, and of the family themes we so often see on the show if Morgan deliberately chose to turn on Chuck. He could be duped, with no moral decision on his part; but I’m sure he would return to teamB the instant he knew he’d screwed up.

      • ArmySFC says:

        thanks, but using that why do people say three was to dark? i use it because that’s what everyone else says. i would love to see morgan as part of the bad guys. i would tune back in to see that, or him get killed, that would be fun too. oh well thanks anyway.

      • atcDave says:

        I think three was dark for a few reasons. By far the biggest was that Chuck himself struggled with basic moral issues. The biggest being that he got involved with and slept with another woman mere weeks after telling Sarah that he loved her; I think that would be wrong in any universe, and when you consider how much most of us like Sarah that was a very ugly turn. Add to that the lying (which continued through S3.5, really for no good reason) and Chuck was seen as a bad guy for a while. Much of the season was also dark in the “somber” sense of the word, starting right with Pink Slip which felt bleak and barely had a single laugh line.
        I know many of us don’t like Morgan a lot. But as Chuck’s good friend and frequent comic relief I think killing him would feel too dreary. I wouldn’t completely rule out a sad end for Morgan, but my guess is they’ll want to keep him in the story in case they ever do later episodes or movies. If I’m wrong about that, then I would bet his end is heroic. Sorry army, but I think your death wish for Morgan will be frustrated!

      • ArmySFC says:

        yeah dave that’s what i figured about morgan. but you ruined my hopes.

    • thinkling says:

      Sorry, guys, but I would almost bet the farm on Morgan’s loyalty. No way he’s the baddie. He could be deceived, but not swayed.

      • joe says:

        I’m with you, Thinkling. It won’t happen, except possibly as a minor fake-out for the fans, but one that Chuck is in on.

        That kind of thing was the very reason I stopped watching Bones. They essentially made the Zack character go insane and criminal. No fun, and much darker than Chuck ever wanted to go.

      • Amron says:

        Not the big baddie, of course, but something á la Ron Weasley in the Book 7. Morgan is Chuck’s Ron, so why not? I mean, Fedak himself told us that Morgan is very positive to be the Intersect, just the opposite to Chuck’s behavior in S1/S2. As atcDave said, I believe he will be manipulated but as soon as he sees how stupid/dangerous/selfish it was, he will come back…

  13. Leigh says:

    Thanks for posting this! New fan and lurker here. *waves* Hello…

    I actually really like the idea that Chuck doesn’t need the Intersect to be a great spy. I’m excited to see him kick some ass without it. 🙂

    • Amron says:

      Me too! I was a little worried, because I didn’t want Chuck to become defenseless without the Intersect, like Fear of Death, but now I’m just happy… and excited.

      • Leigh says:

        It’s hard not to be hyped up about the new season, and I’m trying not to let my expectations get to high, but…it does look really awesome lol

      • Amron says:

        I know! I landed here at the beginning of S4, and it was the same… And it’s always better when you can share your excitement with others as excited as you…

      • Leigh says:

        I agree! I just plowed through all four seasons over the summer, So I’m such a newb!

      • Amron says:

        Hehe! You really remind me myself a year ago… in my case, it was very frustrating, because in my country nobody had heard about Chuck thanks to WB Latin American Branch bad timing, so I couldn’t talk with anyone about it… until I find this blog. Also, well, my english was/is just awful, so it’s semi impossible to read me and write what I want to say exactly… Anyway, let’s just geek out together! Viva Chuck!

      • joe says:

        Amron, I’m always amazed and gratified that so many Chuck fans and so many of our readers are from outside the US.

        It’s nothing but good news all around!

      • Gord says:

        If you ask me Chuck still is defenseless, it seems the only thing he is capable of doing is throwing a sucker punch.

      • lappers84 says:

        Chuck may not have the intersect anymore, but he’s still the brains of the whole operation, that seemed evident in the promo. Also love how he’ll still be using the nerd herd install cover to infiltrate bad guy lairs lol.

      • atcDave says:

        I don’t really care if he can punch anyone or not, that’s what Sarah and Casey are for. I just want to see him be smart.

      • Leigh says:

        Actually that didn’t look like a sucker punch. I sucker punch is when the other dude isn’t expecting it, and Chuck had him….although technically a sucker punch is delivered to the belly. Haha semaaaantics! Sorry.

        A training montage perhaps?

        But I agree with actDave! I just want him to use that ginormous brain and be smart. That’s where his strength has always been.

      • thinkling says:

        I do think Chuck’s brain is his main contribution, but I also think he needs to have minimal fighting skills and always a tranque gun. Otherwise, he’s a liability to the team in the field.

    • Faith says:

      Hey there! Welcome! And I hope you stick around :).

    • atcDave says:

      It’s always good to have a new commenter show up; so welcome! Don’t be shy, and just remember when we get contentious is all in good fun!

      • Leigh says:

        Thanks!
        Believe me, after being apart of superhero comics fandom, I feel like I can take just about anything! 🙂

      • Faith says:

        “Believe me, after being apart of superhero comics fandom, I feel like I can take just about anything! :D”

        Ha! 😀

    • joe says:

      Greetings, Leigh. Un-cloaked lurkers always make my day. 😉

      You’ve hit on one of my secret, somewhat Undisclosed Desires too; I still want Chuck to actually have his season 1 wish; I want him to not be burdened by the Intersect.

      That’s what Stephen wanted too. Even Sarah. The trick was to get the girl without needing the Intersect to do it, and that’s accomplished.

      • Leigh says:

        Hi!

        Haha, I doubt season 1 Chuck could have ever dreamed of opening up his own freelance spy agency, though! 🙂

        You have to wonder what season 1 Chuck’s reactions would be to any of what’s happened actually…I mean other than his jaw dropping on the floor.

      • Amron says:

        He wouldn’t believe it… I mean, in that time he was confused and insecure and Charles Carmichael was just a fantasy. Now, he’s Carmichael.

      • atcDave says:

        I love watching S1 and S4 episodes back-to-back; the changes are utterly amazing!

      • Faith says:

        Working on a fanvid with just that in mind Dave! Great minds…

      • thinkling says:

        Neither one of them could have imagined this as their future, but it’s the one they were meant to have. Of course we don’t know where it will go from here. But Chuck is a fully functioning hero (including some fighting skills apparently) without the Intersect. Oh, and he got the girl. The girl who is finally a whole, real/normal person.

        I am so glad we got a fifth season. This is the good part. Well, not that the journey wasn’t good, but this is what the journey was for. They (and we) deserve to live it and enjoy it.

      • atcDave says:

        Well put Thinkling!

        And I’ll look forward to that video Faith; yours are always a lot of fun.

    • thinkling says:

      Welcome Leigh. Glad you found us and de-lurked. It’s always good to have another Chuck friend.

      You’re like me a year ago. I found Chuck in May 2010 and did a marathon to watch them all. Then I found this blog. I liked it so much I stuck around 😀

      • Leigh says:

        Hi! Thanks!

        Ha, Faith, that video sounds awesome…

        Of course all this talk about season 1 Chuck vs. Season 4/5 Chuck only makes me want to write Doctor Who Crossovers. 😀

  14. herder says:

    Sorry if it has already been brrought up but when do we get the first official synopsis, NBC usually does it at least two weeks in advance. Normally if the first episode was October 17th I would expect the full synopsis on the 29th or 30th of September and the short one on the 27th or 28th. Are NBC’s releases done on a weekly basis or from the date of airing. do we get it next Tuesday or Wednesday or is it pushed off to next weekend.

    • Faith says:

      It’s every Friday 3 weeks before the episode airs at noon PT (here). So our 5.01 will be up next Friday. It will look like this, just need to scroll down to Friday.

  15. ArmySFC says:

    herder i don’t know if this helps but the air date is the 21st two week prior would be the 7th of oct. i guess that would put it like 13 days away give or take a day or two.

  16. Gord says:

    I guess I’m in the minority but I was completely underwhelmed by the promo – the very little bit of humour in it fell flat to me, the action seemed mediocre and now more than ever I think Morgansect is horrible.
    Everything in the promo seemed forced to me, and Chuck seemed to have all the energy and enthusiasm of a sloth.

    The only part I found mildly intriguing was when Decker was talking with his henchmen about why Chuck must fail. I’m interested in hearing the rest of that conversation.

    From my perspective, what is in the promo better not be the best Chuck has to offer this season, or I wont be watching.

    If so, it wont be the first time a show has taken a new direction that makes me lose interest.

    Sorry for being such a downer, but right now my enthusiasm for S5 is at an all time low.

    • ArmySFC says:

      Gord, i wasn’t as down on it as you, it’s just a few clips. a few things did bug me, morgan falling out of the tree and saying i’m all right, how many time has that line been used. i think it was morgan that lands next to Sarah (black dress scene) and says now that was awesome, and when morgan gets told off by casey and his kicking the agent after the flash was lame.

      i did like the attitude chuck has now, that was different, decker was interesting. unlike you i did stop last year and nothing in the promo made me want to change my mind on that, unless the decker part is getting great press, then maybe i’ll give it another shot. one can hope. it does look like they are trying to show more balance which i felt the show needed. don’t get so down yet, it may still meet your needs as a viewer.

      • lappers84 says:

        I still think it’s too soon to panic about the final season, but personally I enjoyed that promo and am feeling pretty optimistic about it. I’m also chuffed to see Decker included in it, I think there were always questions on whether he’ll appear again……well I guess those questions were answered.

  17. Shepperd of Lost Sheep says:

    The conspiracy storyline excites me and fills me with dread at the same time.

  18. jason says:

    I liked the sneak peek, I did not love it.

    1 – Only a few seconds of Chuck and Sarah, I think in s5, Chuck and Sarah on missions is going to be alot like s1 / s2. Except in addition to Sarah trying to keep Chuck alive and the intersect functioning (in 1/2 in Chuck, now in Morgan), I think she is also going to be keeping Chuck moving forward in terms of leadership, sort of the way Ellie did in S1/S2 about his career and love life.

    2 – I like that Decker is talking early about the overall picture. I hope this continues and we get multiple scenes of him on his own turf with his own team plotting strategy to take down Chuck. I felt the last time we had this type of back and forth was season 2, between Roark & his team, Orion, and Team B.

    3 – I am not a Morgan fan, the only problem I have with Morgansect is it means Morgan will be on the show. My favorite non Chuck / Sarah scene ever in Chuck was when Morgan left to go to Hawaii, I ‘cheered’, bought Norm and Cliffy a cold one, and then went and made mad passionate love to Diane all night (with Sam’s and Frazier’s permission of course). Anyhow, in the promo, it seems like a bunch of Morgan stuff is coming, just like comic con foretold. One thing that has seemed consistent about TPTB, what they say the show is going to be something, it is. 3rd season they told us about LI’s. 4th season they told us about family and ‘the couple’. This season we know about Morgan, my advice to myself and to others who don’t like it, is deal with it.

  19. SarahSam says:

    LOL jason. Not only do they tell us about forthcoming season, they tell us with some sense of misguided enthusiasm and it is never what the fans want. Consequently, more fan attrition occurs and we are where we are. According to Fedak, this season will be a ” love letter ” to the fans. I’m no longer frightened by his proclamations because my expectations for his story are low. My passion for the journey has long since waned. I’m here to the end because I love most of the show’s characters and will eternally support the career of Yvonne Strahovski.

    • jason says:

      SarahSam – nice screen name! IN fairness, although I did not like the foreshadow and subsequent delivery of the LI’s in season 3, I loved the family / real couple delivery in s4, so I am not ready to lower my s5 expectations too much – I don’t think I am alone in that regard.

      I don’t like Fedak real much, but I do think he is aware what a “love letter” might look and feel like for the show. If he delivers, he will a hero, season 3’s miserable failure will drift more toward the horizon and nearly out of sight from my vantage point on the ‘love ship’

      For s5, the Sarah character is my first concern, the Big 2’s interaction second, the Big 3’s interaction third, Casey 4th, Chuck and Ellie tied for 5th. Strangely, I dislike near everything else about the show. Anyhow, from my POV, as long as Sarah has a great season, along with Chuck and Sarah as a married couple / spy partners, and finally with Casey as a spy partner, I am OK. Most the evidence about season 5, points that Fedak will deliver his promised “love letter”. I have always FF’d thru most Morgan, thru all LI moments, thru Jeffster, thru all Shaw usually while throwing stuff at my tv. My guess is s5 will be great, and if not, so be it, this is Fedak’s letter to create, I am curious to discover what he actually is made of!

    • thinkling says:

      I agree with a lot of that Jason. I like your wish list for S5. If met I, too, will be very happy indeed.

      As for my expectations, S4 cleared my palette of all the bad aftertaste of S3, leaving me salivating with expectations for S5.

      I don’t dislike Morgan like you do. In fact I like him a lot of the time. After Yvonne’s interviews, I’m even anticipating Morgansect with an open mind. I really don’t care about the Buymore. However, Chuck and Sarah’s owning it could increase my tolerance level considerably.

      I feel very positive about the S5 love letter. I don’t know exactly what Fedak thinks that is, but I’m pretty sure he knows what it’s not … which makes me feel good about our prospects. (Plus the things that Yvonne has said in interviews also make me think it will be a really good season.) I expect good things for Sarah, Chuck, Chuck and Sarah (as married couple/spy couple), the Bartowski’s one and all, TeamB, Casey, and spy stuff. I think TPTB will honor the things we love, and by now they know what those are. That’s the minimum I would expect from a love letter, and I think they know that as well.

      I think it’s safe to have good expectations. I’d rather do that than limp into the last season of my favorite show, half-heartedly with low expectations. If they do something dumb. I’ll deal with it then, rather than worry about things they might do but haven’t yet.

      If you cross a bridge before you come to it, you have to pay the toll twice.
      • atcDave says:

        As usual, I pretty much completely agree with Thinkling. I loved S4 and am eager for S5. I think 4.01 (maybe even 3.14!) got me over most of my S3 funk; I really do expect great things from here on out. Obviously, S3 talk can still get me pretty riled up; bit it IS in the past, and it no longer has much bearing on my expectations.
        I watch the show for Chuck and Sarah, everything else is secondary; but I DO like the secondary elements too which makes for a very solid overall experience. I enjoy Casey as a fun side-kick. I like Ellie and Devon as supporting characters and think Devon is actually the funniest character on the show. Morgan is often very funny too, they occasionally over use Morgan, which is my biggest concern going forward; but as Thinkling mentioned, several interviews and clips have eased my fears on a lot of this. The Buy More as a setting (and it’s associated characters) has a deep history with the show and has often been used to good effect. Like Morgan it has occasionally been over-used. But I think the Buy More is less likely to be a major distraction, it is also less likely to really contribute anything. So I really do not have strong feelings about it’s continued usage either way.

      • BigKev67 says:

        Expectations with Chuck are a strange thing.
        I expected S3 to continue with the tone and story of the back half of S2. And they went down a darker, in some ways more “grown up” road. I liked that mostly, after I got used to it.
        Then I had huge expectations for S4 to deliver a family heavy, mythology heavy arc given the tone of Subway/Ring 2 and the Orion cave reveal. They chose to go down a much lighter, rom-com road that didn’t interest me nearly as much.
        I’m expecting S5 to be much the same as S4, so for me, lowering expectations is a necessary part of enjoying these last 13. And I’m fine with that. But a part of me hopes I’m wrong, as I have been for the last 2 seasons, and we get something tightly constructed and substantial.

      • atcDave says:

        Kev I do applaud your ability to overcome your own expectations, obviously I can’t even come close to doing that. But I do object to your characterization of S3 as more “grown-up.” My impression was the exact opposite; they went with the sort of darker themes and reduced the warm and fuzzy Chuck/Sarah AND family moments in a way that screams “we’re courting the teen male audience” to me.

      • Amron says:

        I agree with BigKev. Now that they -finally- are married, I hope they could focus a little more in the story. The conspiracy thing could be a brilliant move were all the hole plots and nonsense would be wrapped or the final jump to the shark. Fedak had said S5 is going back to S1 and S2 tone, so I hope they could bring back the balance. I will enjoy S5 no matter what, of course, but if I could have a Chuck wish…

  20. Sam Carter says:

    Funny.. I’m so totally dreading this final season (didn’t like S4), but at the same time I’m curious about it since is the last. Just hope it’s a decent end.

  21. Wilf says:

    I pretty much trust it will be a good season and ~I am definitely not dreading it. I AM dreading the end of it all, though 😦

    What I am most looking forward to is being introduced to more great music by artists I have never previously heard of. Of the (probably) hundreds of tracks associated with Chuck 1 to 4, I have this year compiled a personal play-list of over 50 which I really like and most, although not all, are tracks I have never heard before, mainly by performers hitherto unknown to me. In recent months I have listened to this compilation again and again, while thinking about / visualizing the scenes they relate to.

    [Your wish is my command, Wilf – ed.]

    • Wilf says:

      for seaon read season, of course. Can some kind person please correct my post, as I hate misspelling!

    • joe says:

      I co-sign this meme, Wilf. My “Chuck-CD” collection is now up to 13 CDs, and that doesn’t even include two more that I’ve labeled “Chuck Xtra”, full of songs that never appeared in the show but should have.

      They really rekindled my interest in new music.

    • atcDave says:

      I am also dreading the end of it Wilf. This is one show I could happily watch for a long time to come.

Leave a Reply

