Who do you want to play Sarah’s mom Part Deux

Spoiler alert within, so avert your eyes.

Normally I’d encase this within the Spoiler Page, but since we took a poll and talked about this, I figured this would be safe. Provided you avert your eyes if you’re spoiler phobic. More after the jump…

Surprise, they’re bringing in Sarah’s mom and she’s been cast. It’s none other than…

Cheryl Ladd

Though the Chuckthis winner was Michelle Pfeiffer, Ladd was the top 3 pick at 11%.

“Look for Sarah’s estranged mum, Emma, to turn up in this season’s eighth episode, slated to air in January. I’m told mother and daughter share a very complicated past and haven’t seen each other in five years. (Read more in link).”

About Faith

Eternally faith-ful at least as it relates to my beloved Los Angeles Lakers. Yes that's where the username comes from. Other than that self-professed Chuckaholic, Laker blogger and part time internet addict. Ok, full time.
This entry was posted in Season 4. Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Who do you want to play Sarah’s mom Part Deux

  1. uplink2 says:

    Well I’ve been wanting Cheryl Ladd for over a year. She is a perfect pick for me. She has certainly the resume, blonde, can easily play a very loving and maternal woman and is still gorgeous, My only issue has been her height but that is insignificant really. I’m very pleased with this choice!

  2. jason says:

    thx for the news – was not my first choice – but she passes all the criteria – hope the story is a great one!

  3. atcDave says:

    Cheryl Ladd was not one of my picks, but I think she’ll be fine. She looks the part, except as previously mentioned it makes both of Sarah’s parents kind of short. Maybe she was subject to experiments with human growth hormone? Anyway, that’s my theory and sticking to it…

    I would say this casting decision sheds little light on what sort of role she’ll play. Cheryl Ladd is not really an obvious tough chick or total push over, she’s more likely to be somewhere in between.

  4. atcDave says:

    One stray comment to add, and this may be as good a place as any. We spent a lot of time fretting a few weeks back over what mom will call Sarah; whether they’ll dare use Sam, or Sarah, or a pet name.
    Well we’ve seen now that Sarah hasn’t seen her mom in 5 years. 5 years ago she was apparently using the uber-alias Sarah Walker that Graham had given her, so it seems to me Sarah is fair game for mom to use.

    • Leigh says:

      I still think it would be pretty funny if we found out that she lied like crazy to Shaw, and her real name really is Sarah. Unlikely, as all getout, but it would be pretty lol-worthy in my opinion.

  5. joe says:

    Oh, be still my beating heart. I’ve had a crush on Cheryl Ladd ever since she wore a tee-shirt announcing “Farrah Faucett Minor”.

    As for the height thing, I sort of thought MamaB was a bit too short for 6’4″ Chuck and the tall, lanky Ellie too. But only as a first impression. Those things become unimportant quickly.

    • atcDave says:

      At least Scott Bakula was taller…

      Of course this is all a silly discussion. I don’t think anyone really cares much about the height, just havin’ fun.

      • joe says:

        Sure! My guess is that any height difference dissonance will disappear the moment Mama Burton smiles at her daughter.

        We have a new BIG question, now, though. If she exists, who will play Sarah’s sister???

      • Ernie Davis says:

        Frankly I believe the show will dissolve into a contrived irredeemable muddle if she isn’t tall enough. But I still want Kristin Bell to play Sarah’s sister. 😉

      • atcDave says:

        Oh that’s easy Joe, Mini Anden! (I still think that would be a fun twist, even if it seems less likely now than it did a few seasons ago).

      • jason says:

        ernie – so funny – I was going to suggest 4ft 11 inch Kristin Chenoweth, the perky little blond with the high pitched voice from the later seasons of the West Wing.

      • Leigh says:

        Joe – I think Alona Tal would make an awesome sister for Sarah. She was so feisty and bad-ass on Supernatural as Jo, I think she’d be a shoe-in. Although I doubt she exists. I don’t know how they’d explain where she’s been or how she grew up or why she was only mentioned once/never in any flashbacks.

        Still!

      • Faith says:

        Still rooting for fellow Aussie Tabrett Bethel of Legend of the Seeker fame for Sarah’s sister but I’m not averse to Kristin Chenoweth. She’s great.

      • Verkan_Vall says:

        Count me in as a supporter of Tabrett Bethel for just about any role, but I think she would do very well as Sarah’s sibling.

  6. Rick Holy says:

    They would have never have landed Michelle Pfeifer. Cheryl Ladd is a GREAT choice. I loved her in Charlie’s Angels and as a teenager felt she was actually the prettiest of a very pretty bunch! I’m so looking forward to seeing the interaction between Sarah and “mom” and also between Chuck and mom-in-law. On a side note, NBC’s The Playboy Club got axed. Not that we want any other NBC shows to fail, but if they do, maybe – just maybe – the possibility of a Back 9 order for CHUCK could come through – and we could get to that magic 100th episode! Hey, one can dream! 🙂

    • atcDave says:

      I share the dream!

      • Rick Holy says:

        ANOTHER NBC show axed: Free Agents. What’s next to go? Do I hear “9 more episodes of CHUCK?”. The sets are already in place, cast, crew, etc. Got to find SOMETHING cheap to produce to fill those holes in the schedule! The dream of 100 episodes isn’t dead yet! 🙂

  7. Pooched-It says:

    I still believe that Sarah does not have a sister. I really do think that the whole “most dangerous situation ” was totally, not partially, a cover story and therefore a lie. I just got that feeling when she said that and never thought otherwise.

    • joe says:

      Pooched, if TPPB never address this again, fans will wonder about it ’till the end of their days. We’ll never know if Sarah made it up on the spot as part of her cover or was revealing a tiny part of her history.

      I’m guessing they actually won’t and Mrs. Bartowski will always be a bit of a mystery to us. After all, we seem to like it that way! ;o

      • jason says:

        Joe – I think it was during s4 I once posted to you that I don’t like revisiting old characters or stories in Chuck, I prefer new stuff. The reason is clear to me now, when TPTB do stuff like Agent X or the big conspiracy or Mama Walker, I don’t think those had been part of a plan when some of the original ‘mythology’ was established. Hence the breadcrumbs we have been given all along have to determine the destination rather than the destination picked, and juicy breadcrumbs given as we go.

        The best TPTB can do now is review what they have done and try to make the next big thing fit. That seems like a terrible way to have to write creatively vs knowing the ending, and dropping little clues along the way . The last time TPTB did not get an extension mid season was season 2, sort of interesting isn’t it?

      • joe says:

        It must be a difficult balance for them, Jason – picking up the breadcrumbs that the fans themselves have declared to be delicious, and introducing something new and exciting, as demanded by networks, fans, advertisers… you know. Everyone.

        I keep coming back, in my mind, to Lord of the Rings and the way it was constructed. It was exactly that feature, as you described it, that makes it so classic. Every chapter, every page, is something new and exciting, yet the last draws on a pearl left in the first. I’m not saying Chuck is that kind of high art. It’s not. But in my mind it approaches that level sometimes, more than I recognize in other shows.

        I think part of my satisfaction with having a definite ending date in place (sorta, kinda) is related to my fears that TPTB can’t keep it up. All shows fight increasing entropy like that, and I really don’t want it to happen to Chuck. I’ll always want more, but I’m going to be happy with what’s been constructed.

      • atcDave says:

        I think there’s a reasonable chance we will simply never get answer on the sister question, and it isn’t something TPTB likely regard as a big deal. But as far as “making it up as they go”, that’s sort of my main objection to serialized television under any circumstance. Any show runner who tells you they have 5 seasons mapped out is mostly lying. That just isn’t how television works; they never know how many seasons they will have or what cast members will still be around (especially secondary characters). Most serialized shows that last over a season end up with at least a few continuity problems as a result. All things considered, I think the writers of Chuck have done a commendable job; and I think they’ve been wise, given the unpredictable episode orders they’ve had of doing mostly short arcs and stand alone episodes. I won’t get into the one time I think they really screwed up…

  8. Gord says:

    Cheryl Ladd was always on my very short list of who could play Sarah’s mom. I think she will do great.

    When I was a teenager I recall there bieng a poster of her in a very sexy bikini, they also used footage of that scene in the opening credits of Charlie’s Angels. I think it would be funny if they do a Buy More scene with Jeff’s office (tjhe bathroom stall) in that office is the poster.
    Then Jeff meets Mama Walker and says something like “Have we met before ?” with a very lustfull look on his face.

    Also, I want to see her do a Charlie’s Angels pose with Sarah (it was so cute in Role Models), and as for what she will call Sarah, I wont be surprised if we here her use darlin (like Papa Jack).

  9. amyabn says:

    I am really excited to see the dynamic and to find out what the underlying issues between mother and daughter are. I would also like to see Mama B and Ellie come out guns blazing (proverbially speaking) in defense of Sarah. Could be interesting!

Leave a Reply

