Season Four Discs Now Available

Yeah, the long wait is over!  Chuck Season Four is now available on Blu-Ray and DVD.  A long season of 24 episodes, and a nice collection of extras means this set fills four (!) Blu-Rays or five (!!) DVDs.  

The new content is a lot of fun as always.  The extra scenes are maybe less interesting than in years past, there seems to have been less controversy about direction this year.  Or maybe the tighter shooting schedule just meant less for the cutting room floor.  So while a couple of the scenes are quite funny, I would say only the couple removed from Cliffhanger (buzz has it the episode was originally very over-length) really added valuable exposition.  There is also a featurette of Josh Gomez practicing his spy skills (quite funny, right through Yvonne kicking his butt); one of Jeffster on the lam; and another on Zach Levi’s work as a director.  The S4 gag reel is funny just like the previous entries.   The Blu-Ray set also boasts a “Chuckipedia Interactive Experience” for episode 4.07; I haven’t played with this yet so I can’t really comment on its worth.

As always, most of this content has already been available on-line.  But I would ask everyone who can afford it, to support our favorite show and buy a set (or two…)

 ~ Dave

About atcDave

I'm 53 years old and live in Ypsilanti, Michigan. I'm happily married to Jodie. I've been an air traffic controller for 30 years; grew up in the Chicago area, and am still a fanatic for pizza and the Chicago Bears. My main interest is military history, and my related hobbies include scale model building and strategy games.
This entry was posted in Season 4. Bookmark the permalink.

41 Responses to Season Four Discs Now Available

  1. cholitau says:

    My S4 Blue Ray DVDs came in a little while ago and i CAN’T WAIT to get home and watch!
    Man am i gonna miss this show when it’s done!

  2. Faith says:

    Dave, is the infamous Casey-Sarah hug in push mix in the DVD/Blu-ray?

    • atcDave says:

      No hug, lots of fun stuff, but no hug. Most of them are transition sort of things that maybe get us from point A to point B a little more easily. I wonder if that hug was even shot, because it is exactly the sort of scene most of them were.

    • DKD says:

      I thought the infamous hug was a myth. I heard it never happened. Bad rumor.

  3. joe says:

    Oh noz! Amazon tells me that my DVD isn’t coming until next week! I’ll be the last kid on the block to get it!

    • Faith says:

      Nah, not the last Joe. I’m not getting mine until after thanksgiving. I love me some thanksgiving sales. 🙂

      • joe says:

        Smart girl, Faith.

      • Gord says:

        Faith, you have the patience of a Saint. There is no way I could wait that long. Besides here in Canada we don’t have a Black Friday. I would have to wait until Boxing Day (26 Dec).
        You just better hope that when you go to the Buy More to get your copy there is no Pineapple incident. We all know how scarey those are.

      • Faith says:

        Nah it’s not that bad Gord, I still have the episodes recorded onto my computer plus DVR so I’m not completely without Chuck. *sniff* for now.

        I’m yearning more for new Chuck tunes at this point.

    • atcDave says:

      The hazards of the pre-order!

  4. Mike says:

    As far as the Chuckipedia Interactive Experience goes, I just finished watching it and I have to say it may be my favorite special feature this year. I’ve been waiting foreeeever for some episode commentary (none since the Season One DVDs right?) so this was great. Chris, Zac, and Josh really do a good job with it, too.

    There’s also a bunch of inline interviews and such about everything from mythology to stunt casting. There are appearances from Linda, Timothy, the Buy More extras, and of course the regulars. My only complaint would be not enough Yvonne!

    • joe says:

      Mike? Can you tell me something about it? Will I be able to play it on a Linux OS (that is, is it an .exe file on the DVD or is it something else?)

      Thanks

    • Gord says:

      The only way there would ever be enough Yvonne is if they changed the name of the show to Sarah and got rid of all the other characters.

      By the way, how come there was no special feature called Sarah Vs The Belly Dance? I was hioping for an entire 40 minute video of Yvonne belly dancing. Also what ever happened to Sarah vs the bikini?

      • joe says:

        Gord. GORD! WAKE UP!

        You’re having that dream again…
        😉

      • Gord says:

        But Joe, I don’t want to wake up from that dream. For me it is like when Lou is thinking of sandwiches. It puts me in my happy place. LOL

      • Faith says:

        Would this sandwich be roast-beef on a deserted island? LOL! We’re such “Chuck” nerds. And proud of it! 😉

      • Ernie Davis says:

        OK, total Chuck nerd. I’ve made both the “Chuck Bartowski” and Chuck’s makeup sandwich. Lou isn’t such a great sandwich maker… First of all pairing turkey and Munster? Do you want to actually taste the turkey? I tried smoked turkey, that helped. But Chuck’s sandwich, pastrami with munster topped with coleslaw on seedless rye, grilled, is to die for.

  5. JC says:

    So the Sarah vs Morgan Duck Hunt scene wasn’t included right? How bout the scene in Cat Squad where Sarah mentions how impressive Chuck is?

  6. herder says:

    Finished season three yesterday, bought season four. Season five (how nice to be able to say that ) starts the 28th so I have sixteen days to watch 24 episodes, one and a half per day, that’s doable. From what I have seen on line, a lot of scenes and out takes that I would have expected to see didn’t materialize. I thought for sure there would be some outtakes from Chuck, Sarah and Lester shareing the bed in Chuck’s dream.

    • Gord says:

      24 episodes in 16 days is doable. I once took out 9 guys to escape a fulcrum facility – 24 episodes in 16 days is easy. . No wait I’m thinking of a Chuck episode. lol

      I have a feeling there will be a lot of Chuck fans spending their next few weekends doing Chuck marathons.

  7. Gord says:

    I’m such a chuckaholic that I picked it up both in blu ray and DVD yesterday. I like to have a copy to lend out and hook someone with the series. I last managed to hook a few new coworkers with the s1 DVD.

    As for the S4 set, I was disappointed with the extra features. I was hoping the deleted scenes would fill in a lot more of the gaps that appeared to be there in the episodes – especially early s4 and the season finale.
    I personally thought the Operation Gomez was lame. All the jokes fell flat for me, and the bit about putting cameras in Yvonne’s bathroom seemed more creepy than funny. I was thinking wow when did Morgan turn into Jeff. This bit gave me even more dread over the impending Morgansect.

    I did love the gag reel though, and the Jeff/Lester on the lamb bit was like watching alternative universe version of Cubic Z (who knew Big Mike could fit in an air duct. lol). I didn’t watch the Zac as director feature and couldn’t get the interactive Chucoipedia to work on my blu ray. I’m thinking its time for a firmware update.

    All in all though, with the exception of Operation Gomez, I have no complaints about the special features that are there, just wish there was more deleted scenes, and I wouldn’t have minded a directors cut of the finale episode with extended wedding scene.

    • atcDave says:

      I’d love extended cuts for a lot of episodes! I can’t think of any television show that’s ever had that done though… bummer.

      • DKD says:

        Farscape had longer versions of episodes on their DVD’s than aired in the U.S. But, that was because the show was longer in other countries.

      • atcDave says:

        I guess it makes sense that shows done primarily for foreign markets where the hour is longer (!?) would have a longer cut. I know older shows often have longer running times too. But it seems every season we get a couple of those scenes that I really wish were cut back in (like the one where Sarah is questioning Casey about a possible kill order from 2.01)

      • joe says:

        Dave, I’ve been in some South American countries where the hour is longer, especially around siesta time. You can take that one to the bank.

    • Faith says:

      They have to leave something for the complete series collection. Right? Well I’m hoping for that at least.

      • atcDave says:

        Yeah it would be great if more deleted scenes showed up on a later collector’s edition or some other marketing scam to get us to spend our money again. Of course for Chuck, I’d do it!

      • Gord says:

        I would gladly drop some more coin for a series box set if they included such features. Funny thing is for most DVD sets I have I don’t even bother with the special features, but with Chuck it always leaves me wanting more.

  8. Gord says:

    Did anybody see the 15 second Chuck promo this past weekend? I found it much better than the 1 minute promo because it focussed on Chuck in the thick of the spy action. It makes me think I might survive Morgansect after all.

Leave a Reply

