Fan Fiction News

This is not one of my usual review posts, but just rather a bit of fan fiction news for those who follow it at all. Two stories I’ve been recommending here put up pivotal chapters in the last two days.  So just a quick update after the jump.
The first is “Chuck vs the Jill Ride” by ersk4. This weeks chapter was also the penultimate one, with only an epilogue to follow. This story is a pretty thoughtful attempt at what might need to happen to shake some sense into our protagonists, especially Sarah, to make a serious relationship a possibility in the season two time frame.

The second is “Chuck vs The Sound of Music” by Quistie64. I’m not sure how many chapters remain, but those who know the movie will recognize that not much story remains (I’ve just learned at least three chapters to go, more than I would have expected!). As I said in comments a few days back, this story presents one the most appealing portrayals of Sarah Walker in all fan fiction.

I was specifically motivated to comment on both of these stories for two reasons. The first is just the quality of both. They have both delivered a great and satisfying story with regular (weekly) updates. That is no small thing; writing of this quality is a significant amount of work, and of course, being a hobby, no paycheck is ever collected for it. So we’re getting two wonderful Chuck and Sarah stories purely as a labor of love.
Secondly, as different as both stories are, they are also oddly parallel. The climactic chapters posted this week both deal with Sarah’s final victory over Jill (I’m hoping neither writer will put out a hit on me for giving such a key spoiler!)
I know I’ve recommended these before, and I’m guessing anyone who follows my posts is already reading both. So maybe this post is more about me saying “Wow I had fun!!!” than actually corralling any new readers for these stories. But if you haven’t started yet, do yourself a favor and check them out. You won’t be sorry!

 ~ Dave

About atcDave

I'm 54 years old and live in Ypsilanti, Michigan. I'm happily married to Jodie. I've been an air traffic controller for 31 years; grew up in the Chicago area, and am still a fanatic for pizza and the Chicago Bears. My main interest is military history, and my related hobbies include scale model building and strategy games.
This entry was posted in Fan Fiction. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Fan Fiction News

  1. Amron says:

    I totally agree. Quistie’s story is insane! And Chuck finally, finally did what he needed to do. And “vs the Jill Ride” is an awesome story, a little more serious, but really good. Also, and I know atcDave is not going to like it, there’s a new story called “Born Under a Bad Sign”. The authors came with a very, VERY unorthodox AU: Chuck Bartowski, sociopath. It’s kind a crossover with Dexter. It’s sooo twisted and soooo enjoyable… First chapter is an introduction of why he is like he is. Next chapter is the introduction to the Intersect. It’s well-telled and with a good plot, everything fits. Give it a chance.

    • atcDave says:

      No doubt I won’t be reading that one recommendation; but there are other AUs just getting going right now, like fogh’s well written WWII spy thriller “Chuck vs the Occupation” and “Chuck vs the Other Super Spy“. I’ll be doing another full length piece in a couple weeks.

      • Amron says:

        Hehe! I knew it! 🙂
        “Vs the Other Super Spy”.. well, I don’t like stories with a lot of characters at once, because sometimes authors didn’t know what to do with each one… I hadn’t read “vs the Occupation”, but since it is a Fogh’s fic, I have no doubt it must be good.

      • atcDave says:

        Yeah I’m pretty obvious with my preferences!

        Super Spy is CostasTT story if that tells you anything. He has a pretty fast paced and fun sort of style.

Leave a Reply

