The Things We Do For Love

To be perfectly honest, this review for Chuck vs. Bo, is one of the tougher reviews I’ve ever had to write. I just want to sit here and yell, “JUMP THE SHARK! JUMP THE SHARK!”

But…something interesting is happening.

Usually at this time I would wax poetic about the episode and all of its merits or demerits. Usually skipping over the elephant in the room until I absolutely have to…okay I never do that. If my review of Gobbler (correction: Fear of Death is the correct episode. Thank you Ernie) were any indication, I usually don’t shy away but this one is a little different.

I liked it.

Now hear me out! Sarah has always done whatever it takes for Chuck. To save him, to be with him, to love him. Whatever it takes. Sarah almost shot a Fulcrum agent simply because he was going to take Chuck away from her and put him in a bunker. Sarah ran away with him to find his father, risking treason and a life of imprisonment. Sarah razed Thailand without thought to her own life or well-being. Remember the teeth on her arm? Remember the “I’m different without Chuck, and I don’t like it”? Remember the almost single-minded pursuit and emotion she showed to find him, to have him “home?” This is no different. Except this time she’s not risking her life, she’s risking her sanity. And Chuck would do absolutely the exact same thing for her. Absolutely the exact same thing, and has on many occasions.

The thing about these two that we love is that they are people that would do absolutely anything and everything for each other. Their love is so strong and so pure that reason and logic hardly ever comes into play. It’s good to have that back. It’s good to see two people who love so much that they would do anything for each other. It’s good to see it one final moment before the end (albeit there should have been better ways to go about showing it but c’est la vie).

Should she have intersected knowing full well that the intersect has glitches, is in fact a minefield and could be a risk to her sanity? Absolutely. If it it’s a question about her life versus his, she’ll save his every time. Chuck showed her he was something different when he did the same. In a life filled with Bryces and Carina, Chuck showed he was different from the get go. From the pilot and later in Helicopter when he risked life and limb to rescue her from torture, Chuck showed her he was different. That’s the guy she fell in love with (partly the reason why she was so angry in Helicopter), and the guy she’s risked everything to save. His life was in danger, her and Casey’s lives were in danger (reminds anyone of Alma Mater a bit? I think the call back was intentional) and she had no choice. So she took the glasses and did what she always does, for Chuck, for them, for that house and that life and the maybe babies she dreamed of with him.

It turns out that they were right all along. She was compromised, love has compromised her and it’s a beautiful thing.

Now for other notes: this was actually a far different episode than the way it ended. A more lighthearted, romantic romp. One with a hopeful eye to the future and a humorous look at the past and present with Bo Derek. Who didn’t laugh when Sarah said, “hey Chuck, how’s it going with Bo? Have you had any sneak peek at your childhood crush’s boobies?” And Chuck said, “what? No. Shut up.” So funny.

Jeff and Lester constantly pursuing and landing themselves back in the car, in the desert, in the middle of nowhere with their memories expunged only to find themselves wanting to end up there? Hilarious. A very nice Matrix homage as well with ignorance being bliss. For Jeff and Lester, ignorance is definitely bliss. Writers tend to plot themselves into a corner (a phrase I got from the Smallville writing room) and it was an interesting way to get out of that corner, Jeffster knowing, and doing it organically.

Even the return of Morgan’s frosted tips weren’t that abrasive. It figures that intersecting him will have had lasting and reverberating consequences (as we see with Sarah being intersected) but it was nonetheless an interesting storytelling in this one episode. Morgan Grimes and Bo Derek. Only on Chuck. Oh and for the 70’s nostalgic out there, there was also a very funny and nice homage to Jacklyn Smith with, “Lap dance from that dirty whore, Jacklyn Smith.” I love Jacklyn Smith!

In the end, all the stuff about “our last mission,” and how it never turns out well…well that goes for Chuck’s last hurrah as well. Apparently. But at least we had Chuck and Sarah’s sweet goodbyes before everything amps up, before everything did amp up for the final arc. 2 more to go (3 if you consider the two hour finale as two separate entities).

About Faith

Eternally faith-ful at least as it relates to my beloved Los Angeles Lakers. Yes that's where the username comes from. Other than that self-professed Chuckaholic, Laker blogger and part time internet addict. Ok, full time.
This entry was posted in Observations, Reactions, Season 5. Bookmark the permalink.

55 Responses to The Things We Do For Love

  1. atcDave says:

    Good review Faith. I loved your observations on the end in particular. There’s never any doubt that Sarah will do anything for Chuck. And she’s really trusting that Chuck will figure out how to make it right in the end. He’s never let her down before, so she’ll do anything to save him and let Chuck fix it later…

    • Faith says:

      Great insight atcDave. In a show about trust (well not only about trust but you know what I mean), it’s a good way to go out with it. Thematically.

    • lappers84 says:

      I have a feeling Ellie being involved somewhere in trying to help Sarah – especially with the whole hypnosis scene (which was hilarious btw)

  2. lappers84 says:

    Man 5×11 is going to insane. At least we do have the 2 hour finale s owe don’t have to wait long. But that makes it much worse 😦

    • Faith says:

      I know what you mean but hopefully we can rely on each other here in the blog a bit longer after the finale for continuing group therapy. 🙂

      • lappers84 says:

        I think we’ll be talking about it for some time after the dust is settled. Kind of a shame I didn’t find this place earlier. Oh well it’s been fun, and we still have a couple more weeks to enjoy. 🙂

  3. Holly Love says:

    thanks for the review. I can’t wait to buy season 5 on dvd so I can watch the whole season. Not being online has been a huge disappointment but your reviews help

  4. joe says:

    Heh! Keep that up, Faith, and you’ll be elected into the Hopeless Romantics Club right up there with me and Thinkling!

    Great review. You’re absolutely right about the tenor of the show being different than the ending. This episode will forever be Jeff, Lester and The Band (playing The Weight) in the desert. Perfect!

    But Sarah and Casey hopelessly trapped? Chuck (Mr. “I’ve got a plan” himself) kidnapped? What’s a desperate Sarah to do? Also perfect!

    One night has passed and I’m more excited than ever about these last 3 hours coming up.

    • thinkling says:

      Joe, you’re the music guru (along with Amy) but the music in the final scene was like the final scene of Business Trip … foreboding. It was really perfect.

      • joe says:

        Oh yeah. If I didn’t know that it would be driving everyone nutz, I’d be exclaiming about The Weight (especially about the way it was used!) and Don’t Stop (Color on the Wall) (yeah – I first heard it on the commercial too) all day long.

        We’ve emptied Awesome, Epic and Genius of all meaning. I need another description for all the great music we’ve heard over the years. 😉

      • MyNameIsJeffNImLost says:

        Speaking of music, I liked how they used “Rock The House” by The DeeKompressors for Morgan’s flashback. It was the same song that played in Frosted Tips when Morgan drove into the Buy More and when he arrived with the helicopter. “One October Song” is the Bartowski parents’ goodbye song. Bon Iver is the Charah-wishing-they-could-be-together singer. “Rock The House” is the Morgan’s a jerk song.

    • herder says:

      A question, if Sarah becomes pregnant while intersected wil the baby be an intersected baby? Little kids running around with superman capes?

      • atcDave says:

        That might be a fun question to leave the series with. I mean we know Chuck and Sarah will be back together next week before the Intersect starts melting her brain, so anything is possible…

      • MyNameIsJeffNImLost says:

        That reminds me of a fanfic, but I can’t remember which one. I think Beckman was trying to kidnap the Charah baby. She was stopped in the living room and maybe Casey shot her. Beckman was trying to kidnap the baby because it had the Intersect or was genetically dispositioned to be able to download the Intersect.

      • ArmySFC says:

        is that the one where their kids look at a guy on tv and say fulcrum, only in baby talk?

      • atcDave says:

        I’m pretty sure that’s by notoriousjmg.

      • andyt says:

        The official comic from two years ago had a story called “Moscow 2020” that had Sarah calling Chuck on a mission to tell him that Chuck, Jr. was having his first “flash”. The implication in the story was that it was passed down through Chuck, but anything could work. If both parents had the Intersect, the children might inherit it.

        By the way, good review Faith.

      • MyNameIsJeffNImLost says:

        I don’t remember. It’s bugging me. I remember liking it, or at least that chapter, because I read it when Beckman was a lot less likeable in the show. I liked evil Beckman fanfics at the time.

      • MyNameIsJeffNImLost says:

        Thanks, Dave. It’s Chuck vs the Ring of Fire, last story of his Bright Side universe. It’s set this year, but was written post S1 (so it’s four years in the future). After Marlin, Beckman did look a little evil.

    • Verkan_Vall says:

      Joe, Faith is already a Founding Member of the ChuckThisBlog Hopeless Romantics Club. If I ever need to prove it, I’ll just bring up the wedding (or lack there of) in S4, quite possibly one of the most wasted opportunities I’ve ever seen in a TV show.

      After removing myself to a safe distance, of course.

  5. thinkling says:

    Thanks for the uplifting review, Faith. Actually it was a great episode, except that it’s marching us toward some hard times … and the finale (for real this time). This was an excellent Chuck and Sarah episode. And I do love these two in “whatever it takes” mode. I expect we’ll see that from now til the end.

    Only two more weeks … 😥 At least the last one is a double. We may all need doubles when it’s over (rocky road of course).

  6. MyNameIsJeffNImLost says:

    I thought the Gobbler arc wasn’t great, but it did not bother me as much as it did some people. Part of that was because I never expected the proposal until the 13th episode. However the bigger reason was because of exactly what the first part of Faith’s great review is about. Sarah would do anything for Chuck. In Gobbler, Sarah’s reasoning and plan wasn’t great, but I blame that on Beckman, who devised the plan and gave Sarah her orders. At the end of Bo, Sarah was more desperate. Chuck would only be saved if she survived to rescue him, and the only way for them to escape was the glasses. Sarah understands the price. She lived through Tooth, Ring 2, Frosted Tips, and Santa Suit. Chuck is worth more to her than the price.

    • atcDave says:

      When I dislike an episode its rarely because I can’t rationalize or make sense of it; some viewer criticisms aside, its rare that a story line is really so broken that it can’t be reconciled to the show’s own history (and I mean that in a broader sense than just Chuck).
      My likes/dislikes are usually just purely visceral. If an episode strikes me as too negative; or dwells on issues that don’t interest me; or makes the characters I like look stupid or immoral; or just generally registers as “no fun”; that’s usually when I say “dislike.”

      In the case of “Gobbler” it was a couple of things that rubbed me wrong. For starters, it just wasn’t a very funny episode. That’s hardly a deal breaker (neither was Baby) by itself. But add to that a lot of Sarah Walker stupid stick moments (basically any time she turned to Mary for advice…) and finally the gut wrencher of the declined phone call. And it just wasn’t a very fun episode to me.
      Now as I’ve said before, I didn’t hate the episode. There were some good moments too, and of course the whole arc ended quite nicely. So its not really a big thing, its just my bottom one or two of S4.
      And for the record I’ve never complained about the lack of an engagement in Gobbler! I think it shouuld have happened in Balcony. Like the wt/wt before, I think they dragged the proposal out a beat too long. But when they finally got to it was very well done, and unlike the wt/wt they didn’t do any character assassination in the interim. And Gobbler of all episodes had virtually no opportunity for such a thing to happen anyway!

    • Shepperd of Lost Sheep says:

      Gobbler wasn’t a bad episode until Push Mix when Mama B told Sarah that she was sending her home, hence turning Gobbler into a completely useless episode.

    • Shepperd of Lost Sheep says:

      Too quick again.

      There was no payoff at all for all that went on in Gobbler. Sarah should have realized that a possibly extended mission was not for her, not Mama B. I think they were trying to redeem Mama B (but by then there was no point) and Sarah and Gobbler took one for the team.

      • atcDave says:

        I would agree that was a writing flaw I didn’t care for Shepperd. But that was Push Mix not Gobbler. And of course it was a continuation of my complaint with Gobbler. Mary was clearly an incompetent spy yet Sarah just played along with her…

        At least they made it right in 4.23 when Sarah tore Mary a new one…

        That pretty much made it all worth it!

    • Faith says:

      I certainly didn’t mean to make this into a Gobbler revisiting (*shudders*) lol. Ernie is probably somewhere having a cold brew, cursing my name–because we reviewed that episode together and he tried oh so valiantly to get me to buy into it then only to give up lol.

      But yes, there are certainly parallels. This is the beginning of the arc, just as Gobbler was essentially the beginning of the intersect less arc. Well actually, to be precise I think Gobbler was the meat of that arc, this is merely an introduction, a tease if you will. But there is one major difference (at least in my book). My thing is always…if you’re going to venture into something risky, or something I, as a viewer may dislike, you have to make me buy into it. This definitely did that. I felt Sarah’s struggle against danger, against Chuck’s life being in peril. Her earnestness at wanting a safer life (they foreshadowed a bit of the end with the beginning conversation and her unrest when in bed) for them and for their maybe babies reverberated with me. I bought into it. I’m buying into this premise for that exact same reason, and the ones I listed up above about them returning to form so to speak as the two people who would do anything for each other.

      • thinkling says:

        LOL … I am one of those who liked Gobbler (but I’m having hot tea), contingent on the outcome of Push Mix. It didn’t make me feel good, but I did like the story and I totally bought into Sarah’s motivation, which we saw in the beginning of Balcony. Actually it wasn’t related the the Intersect-less arc, but the fact that Volkoff followed Mary to Burbank and invited himself to dinner. Oh well, I digress. Back on point, I see the same motivation in Bo as in Balcony … doing anything for Chuck and their future. In Bo, Chuck is hostage and Sarah was physically backed into a corner. She did the only thing she could have done at that point to get out alive to save Chuck. In Balcony, the reality was that Volkoff held her family and future hostage. She offered to do whatever was necessary to end it.

        I think the set up and structure of this Sarahsect arc will be much like the Balcony/Gobbler/Push Mix arc.

      • MyNameIsJeffNImLost says:

        I’m sorry I brought up the sensitive topic of Gobbler. It was mixed for me. For me, it unintentionally emphasized how incompetent Frost was. I also didn’t like the very end, but if it was aired back-to-back with Push Mix, I probably wouldn’t have cared.

        However, I thought the prison bit and Volkoff parts were funny. Until the end of Bo, it had one of my favorite two Sarah action sequence where she disarmed Volkoff’s guards. The main thing I liked was the “Sarah will do anything for Chuck” theme, which lines up with the current theme.

        If the next episode has good action sequences from Sarah, maintains some funny stuff, doesn’t emphasize how Frost was an incompetent spy, and doesn’t have Sarah turning off her cell phone, what’s not to like?

      • Katsumaro says:

        My only argument into her having ‘no way out’ is.. they’re trained NSA/CIA agents, and they didn’t plan for an escape in case things were indeed trappish? But then again, that’s looking to deep into the ‘spy’ portion of the show, which we’ve come to sort of.. push aside as of late, what with them being ‘the worst spies ever’ as someone quoted earlier in the series, Haha. 😀

        Either way, great review Faith! You nailed it on the head for me. Sarah’s willing to do anything for Chuck, whether it’s kill, or run over a country just to get to him. Now.. it looks like Chuck may have to do anything to save her. It wouldn’t be ‘Chuck’, especially a ‘Chuck’ end of season/series (Q_Q) stretch run without some heavy tension/drama/slight angst with characters in danger, right? God.. is it Friday yet?

      • Ernie Davis says:

        Hmmm. I think Faith was confusing Gobbler with Fear Of Death (curse her). 😉 (No beer, I’m at work) I’ll gladly defend both Gobbler and FoD, but I’m pretty sure it was FoD I reviewed with Faith. resulting in my agita. I believe I reviewed Gobbler with Thinkling.

      • thinkling says:

        There you go, Jeff. You’ll probably get your wish on those. 🙂

      • MyNameIsJeffNImLost says:

        Ernie, you’re on your own with FoD, my least favorite of S4. Sarah and Chuck did not bother me in that episode (like they did a lot of people) because they still weren’t communicating well. But Beckman, Rye, and the CIA scientists really annoyed me. I was happy Rye fell to his death (best part of the episode). That episode is part of what got me to write Chuck vs All of the Intersects.

      • Faith says:

        Ernie is absolutely correct, I did mean Fear of Death *shudders*. Actually for Gobbler I likened it to a painting…waiting for the full picture and all that. But confusion aside, the point stands 🙂 In this one I bought into the premise much more readily.

      • Gord says:

        Intialliy, when it aired I wasn’t all that thrilled with Gobbler, but when you look at the whole arc – balcony/gobbler/pushmix, it is an awesome story and while Gobbler was the weakest of the 3 it was absolutely essential to the story.
        To me this arc is right up there with the Orion arc in S2.

      • joe says:

        You know, Gord. I would never have thought of that comparison. But it’s a good one! I’d put it only slightly behind the Orion Arc, myself, but only because Vincent was a bit better menace to a barely spy-competent Chuck than the menace Yuri provided behind jail house walls to Chuck as a full-fledged, Intersected-with-2.0 spy.

        But then again, the romantic promise at Barstow was just a tad premature. I recall saying so at the time, too. By Push Mix, it’s perfect.

  7. SarahSam says:

    Nice review Faith. The greatness of Charah love i remembering all the sacrifices they’ve made for each other. I can’t believe the lack of faith in the covert abilities of one Mary Bartowski lol, which makes me wonder what possible role she could play in the upcoming Sarahsect ( I like that) arc. My expectations mostly align with thinkling’s ( . of course, I couldn’t go wrong there )

  8. kg says:

    These two characters specifically, and the show in general, has made me a better person. Investing time and emotion into this show for five years I believe has allowed me to feel better about myself. Has forced me to aspire to be a better person. To be and act more like Chuck and Sarah.

    Excellent show. Excellent blog community. So blessed, fortunate and appreciative to have experienced this phenomenon.

  9. Gord says:

    Great review Faith. I really loved this episode too.
    As for those who are freaking out over how dramatic it is and how are they going to possibly resolve it, think back to the end of every season.
    S2 ended with Orion kidnapped, Chuck and Sarah going rogue rescuing Chuck’s father, followed by Ted Rourke crashing Ellie’s wedding.
    S3 we had Chuck’s brain turning to mush / Chuck dying from using the intersect, Ring taking control of the CIA, and Shaw intersected.
    S4 – Vivian using the Norseman device on Sarah, Sarah dying, Decker taking out Team Bartowski and deintersecting Chuck.
    These all had pretty good outcomes in my mind (well except for Morgansect and a less than excellent Chuck/Sarah wedding but at least it was a wedding).

    A couple of things to ponder after my 3rd rewatch of Bo

    1. When Sarah asked the bad guy in the warehouse where Chuck was. He said something like “change of plans – he’s needed”, which suggests Quinn needs his talents (probably hacker/computer talents) for something he’s up to.

    2. The scene in the promo where we see Sarah sealed off and passed out on the floor first had me thinking that it was related to her malfunctioning intersect. However, the alarms going off were the same ones that went off in Castle whenever a gas/toxin was released (eg. Mask/Aisle of Terror). This has me thinking that Sarah has been gassed and not incapacitated by the Intersect.
    It also has me thinking that at this point Chuck has the intersect glasses and to save Sarah he is going to use them himself right at the end of that scene.

    Chuck Vs Sarah might be a scenario where because of the way the Intersect is affecting Sarah, Chuck has to stop her from doing something evil and we get a fight similar to Shaw Vs Chuck in Ring2 between Chuck and Sarah. Sarah wins the fight, and just as she is about to kill Chuck, her love for him overpowers the psychotic urges of the intersect. Then in comes Ellie to fix the intersect in Sarah’s brain.

    That would fit with my idea of the show ending with both Chuck and Sarah as intersect agents

    • lappers84 says:

      That would be pretty awesome Gord, whether that happens though remains to be seen, but I certainly see something that Chuck says jogs her memory (if indeed the memory loss actually occurs.) I mean it did work for Morgan to snap him out of his madness by recalling the event from high school.

    • atcDave says:

      Gord I think there is a pretty good chance things will go like that. Well, I’m not so sure about ending with the Intersect still in play; but the Chuck/Sarah fight, Ellie (and maybe
      Hartley?) helping get Sarah’s memories back, that sounds right on the money.

    • Shepperd of Lost Sheep says:

      The only thing different from Gord’s spec I would like to see is Chuck unsurpressing his own intersect by himself, without glasses or a computer.

      • joe says:

        You have an interesting concept in there, Shep. I sort of like the idea that Chuck can do things like that on his own (re-intersecting himself), without some device that Stephen or the CIA or even Ellie has made for him. Those devices are “unnatural”, and I’d rather see Chuck excel with on his own, by his own abilities.

        But we’ve been approaching that point all season. Chuck’s shown fabulous skills, both computer and fighting skills, and they’ve been growing with each episode. The kind of confidence that he “faked” with Luthor Colt in 2.01 by pretending to be Charles Carmichael is now present constantly, like it was at the beginning of Bo.

        So, what does he need the Intersect for, exactly? Well, Sarah needed it, and she’s naturally a better spy that he is. Right?

        I’m starting to think he can prove he doesn’t need skills he doesn’t have already.

      • lappers84 says:

        Maybe he doesn’t actually need the intersect to be the intersect *Thinks for a second* if that makes sense. I mean he was easily able to defend himself against an intersected Morgan and he took out Shaw. Again! (OK he wasn’t intersected, but he gave him a damn good beating.) Or maybe he ends uploading the intersect 3.0 in order to save Sarah.

      • MyNameIsJeffNImLost says:

        I Hmm. Recently trained Chuck with the the Intersect 3.0, catching bullets in his teeth. Sarah Walker with the Intersect 2.6. Hmm. If they fix the side effects Sarah is having in the promos, I think Sarah wins. Chuck doesn’t hit any girls, not to mention his wife, but even ignoring that… the Super Giant Blonde She-Male still wins.

      • Gord says:

        Joe its funny you should mention Colt, I watched that episode Sunday night. Before Christmas I rewatched S1 and planned to watch the other seasons. This Sunday night was the first time I could squeeze in an episode.
        Since Xmas, any time I have had for rewatches has been used to rewatch the amazing episodes of S5 – all the ones after Morgansect. This last one I have rewatched 3 times already. Same with Baby and Santa Suit.

      • lappers84 says:

        Remember in CAT squad when he got a beating from Amy – simply because he doesn’t hit girls – he’s certainly not going to hit his wife, even if she is trying to kill him.

  10. Poppadac says:

    I absolutely love this series it has been a thrill to watch…. but I have to ask in the last episode when Morgan and Chuck were watching Morgan’s recording on the cell phone he clearly says, “I was partying my f@#king face off.”

    My wife and I rewound it at least four times to make sure that we had heard it right and its VERY clear what he says. You can tell they were trying to make the video look choppy but they seem to have chopped on the wrong word. Let me know if anyone else out there heard this or not.

    • MyNameIsJeffNImLost says:

      I just checked. To me, it clearly sounds like, “I was partying my freaking face off.”

      They edited the F-word from “Keep Yourself Warm” in Ex. If I remember correctly, they edited the S-word from “Backwards Walk” in Pink Slip. However in Three Words, they used the David Guetta’s “Sexy Bitch” song instead of his “Sexy Chick”. That’s where they drew the safe for TV line.

      Actually, I think it’s funny when shows just make up their own words. BSG used frak. Babylon 5 used frag. Farscape had at least a dozen different words, including frell,

    • thinkling says:

      Definitely freaking. I slowed it down and listened in slow speed so I could catch every sound. I think the stuttering of the video interfered with the ‘r’ and made it a bit dubious.

  11. Gina says:

    The depth of love Sarah has for Chuck is the one thing that keeps me going through all the plot holes and weak spy stories. I mean you take the first scene with the laying in bed next to each other. Did anyone notice that Sarah snucked up on Chuck’s side of the bed did that to be closer to him. Colonel she did the same, during the night she just wanted to be closer to him and moved over onto his side of the bed. Last Details she moved over his side of the bed and woke him up and cuddled upto him. End of honeymooners in the bed she moved over and laid on top of him. End of suitcase she took his hand and moved her whole body into him. End of coup D’Etat she did something similar.

    That is what draws me in the fact that she feels safe and happy to want to be closer to him and this last scene is a great continuation of that theme. The fact that she always stands close to him, always grabs his hand (even when they are getting married), smartens his hair, caresses his face, etc. These things do play the romance perfectly.

    • joe says:

      Ah, the memories. I always liked how Sarah unconsciously adjusted Chuck’s tie.

      For those of you who are young and unmarried, take that as a lesson on how to treat your future mate; It’s the little things that make a difference.

      And for those of you who older and who’ve been married for longer than you can remember, take that as a BIG lesson. It’s still the little things that make a difference. 😉

Comments are closed.