New From The Cast and Crew

First, Let Me Apologize

…for being so tardy with our next Readers Digest Review. It’s coming, but the delay is all my fault. Real-life can be a bear sometimes.

But until then I’d like to show you this Youtube video that is making the twitter rounds just today. Enjoy!

– joe

About joe

In my life I've been a professor, martial artist, rock 'n roller, rocket scientist, lover, poet and brain surgeon. I'm lying about the brain surgery.
This entry was posted in Season 4. Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to New From The Cast and Crew

  1. Faith says:

    No gruel for you Joe! Just kidding, take your time! Life and love is more important.

  2. Robert H. says:

    Thanks very much Joe, not only just for this but for all you have done from start to finish. That also includes everyone else on your team, You all have been great. Best of luck to all of you moving forward.

  3. MyNameIsJeffNImLost says:

    This seems as good as place as any to post this. From http://www.tvguide.com/News/Dexter-Season7-Spoilers-Sara-Colleton-1049195.aspx

    Also, we have Yvonne Strahovski. She is fantastic. She plays this woman named Hannah, who took off from this small rinky-dink Florida town and ran off with this older guy and they went on this wild killing spree. So when they got caught, she turned state’s evidence on the boyfriend, he went to jail for life and she started a new life. Years later, she’s in her 30s and she will intersect with Dexter. I would say Hannah is a still water that runs very deep and is quite unlike any woman Dexter has ever known.

    I guess I just don’t get the appeal of a show about serial killers. Maybe this is what Hannah from Chuck was like too. The Intersect wasn’t working right, so maybe that’s why he didn’t flash on her. Or witsec files are redacted from the Intersect.

    • aerox says:

      The ‘she will intersect with Dexter’ made me laugh, I’ll admit. Whether it was a coincidental phrase or not.

    • atcDave says:

      I’m with you on that Jeff, I don’t get it. But I am glad Yvonne has found work, and I hope it gets her some more recognition and respect that will lead to more work (like something I might want to see!)

    • Ernie Davis says:

      Well if you doubt Chuck’s impact in Hollywood’s perhaps limited, but still influential community look at what the main cast are moving on to. Yvonne to an arc as a mysterious woman who is secretive about a troubled and troubling past, Zach to play a swashbuckling charismatic hero who will do the right thing regardless of cost, and Adam to play a hard-core special forces colonel with an unconventional team. (I count Castle as more of a one time buddy thing).

      Still, as similar as those roles are I think each is also different enough to not be type-casting.

      • atcDave says:

        It certainly is awesome that the leads are all finding work.

      • joe says:

        I fear Adam is still being type-cast, though. I catch him in a rerun of an NCIS episode occasionally, still playing a Marine Sgt. He’s a natural for those military type roles; I understand that. But I fear you’ll never see him playing, say, a doctor or an academic type.

        It wouldn’t surprise me at all to see Zac playing that kind of role, though. For him, playing against type would be something like being the bad guy or a psychopath. Can you see him doing that?

        Me neither.

      • Ernie Davis says:

        Yeah, I almost forgot that this is the second project since the series ended for each of them. Zach had a pilot, Yvonne had a movie and Adam had the aforementioned guest stint on Castle.

        While I’ll certainly check out Thor 2 and Leverage, not so sure I’ll be tuning in to Dexter. I don’t get Showtime, and while I did give Dexter a shot on DVD and won’t deny there are some great performances, it just wasn’t my thing.

      • Ernie Davis says:

        Well Joe, Adam has been sort of typecast as either a military guy or heavy for years, so I don’t see that as a change for him coming about because of his role on Chuck.

      • atcDave says:

        I think Adam was born to be typecast! And he seems more than okay with that.
        Although funny that Joe would mention “professor”. I remember a couple years ago he played a sleazy professor and archaeologist on one of those “D” grade SciFi channel monster movies. It was some mummy thing, Curse of the Mummy’s Tomb or something equally outrageous sounding. Of course he was the villain and died a gruesome death.

      • Ernie Davis says:

        One thing that has impressed me about Adam is that if you look at his IMDB profile he’s made a 30+ year career as a journeyman actor being typecast. I could see him as a series lead again in something, or a few somewhat higher profile roles in movies, but overall he seems a pretty content guy.

        Zach I see as the next Tom Hanks. Like Hanks he’ll be underestimated early in his career, but I see him becoming a force in the industry outside of acting as well. Yvonne … tough to say. She has the ability to take on the heavier Meryl Streep type dramatic roles, but the charisma to pull off the Julia Roberts roles. I just hope she doesn’t get typecast as “hot girl for romantic lead”, because she has a lot more to offer.

      • JC says:

        If I’m not mistaken Zach was originally cast as Fandral but had to pull out because of the extra S3 episodes. And now he gets the role again because the guy who replaced him show got picked for a second season.

        Now just cast Yvonne as Ms Marvel and Val in Game of Thrones.

      • aerox says:

        I think Zac would be perfect for a villain role. He’s charismatic enough to be able to pull both types off, at least, in my opinion. Now all he has to do is work on his facial expressions and he’s golden.

      • joe says:

        Hum. You know, from what I can tell from the outside, they all seem pretty happy with their careers so far, especially Adam. I think it speaks well for their character.

        What about Josh Gomez? He could play that man-boy sidekick for a while yet, but he’s got more talent than that, I think. He could play more sophisticated stuff, even if he’ll never be “the leading man type.” I hope he does.

        Oh, Ryan’s been tweeting about an upcoming role too, I believe.

  4. Sam Carter says:

    @aerox:”I think Zac would be perfect for a villain role. He’s charismatic enough to be able to pull both types off, at least, in my opinion. Now all he has to do is work on his facial expressions and he’s golden.”

    I liked his work in Fake Name when he pretended to be bad guy Rafe Gruber, so yeah I could see him as a villain. I also agree that he needs to work on his facial expressions, he has like 2 or 3 most of the time, and I don’t like the way he cries. His best crying was again in Fake Name when he talked to Ellie near the end. He seemed very sincere in that scene. But it didn’t come off as well in Chuck vs Sarah when he and Sarah are in the ‘dream house.’ I liked his acting overall in that scene, but the crying was so fake, IMO.

    • aerox says:

      Yeah. His “I think I should propose to you now” face in Push Mix seems similar to the general “I think I should really hurry to the bathroom now,” face.

  5. MyNameIsJeffNImLost says:

    It looks like ZL and AB are going the blood and gore route just like YS:
    http://www.break.com/nerdmachine-2012/

Leave a Reply

