Thanks a Million Part 1.5

Behind the scenes we’ve been watching as the counter ticked away, and Friday morning while we were all sleeping it happened.  We reached 1.5 million hits.  We wanted to take the time to thank those who read and those who post for their support and invaluable contributions.  Why not wait till 2 million?  Well because we may not get there for a while.  The show is over, readership is naturally dropping off, and even at present rates it would take nearly 2 years to reach that goal.  Coincidentally just about as long as a weekly re-watch of every Chuck episode.  Things are changing here at ChuckThisBlog.  We’re slowing down and as our favorite Costa Gravan marriage councilors said, while that sweet jungle love doesn’t have to change, change is inevitable.  Join us after the jump for some of our thoughts on the future of ChuckThisBlog.

I suppose if you’d told me when I slid that first Chuck DVD into the player to check out the show that it would turn into a nearly obsessive hobby for the next 3 years I’d have thought you a bit crazy.  Now I find the fact that I still do this, and still want to do this, perfectly normal.  The love is still there.

I like to think that people are still discovering Chuck, and will still discover Chuck for years to come.  I didn’t discover Firefly till the fall of 2005 when a SciFi marathon of the series for the upcoming release of Serenity and my rainy vacation in late September coincided.  When that Chuck movie results in a few people checking out the back-story of that series, I want us to be here.  I want that for a simple reason.  Firefly was like a shooting star.  It died young and never in my opinion suffered the growing pains, the awkward teen years, or the infirmities of age that other shows sometimes do.  Chuck wasn’t always easy, and it was sort of an odd duck to begin with, but I like to think we helped each other through the rough spots, and can continue to do so.

So here’s the plan.  This Sunday we are starting a re-watch.  Starting with episode 1, the pilot we plan to watch one episode per week.  More or less.  As I mentioned, things are slowing down, we are moving on to new pass-times along with our readers, but we want to keep the blog and the connection with all of you and our favorite show going, so we’re not making this a rigorous thing, just pledging that starting  this Sunday, roughly once a week, usually Sunday nights, some subset of us will share whatever thoughts we have on the next episode of Chuck until we reach the end.

Is this the end of the blog?  Certainly not.  We just want to assure you that there will be new stuff to discover here, so keep stopping by, tell your web friends and all your Chuck twitter friends and neighbors, because that describes the minimum.  As we get new posters who have stumbled on to Chuck the discussion could get lively, or one of us might be inspired upon seeing the show through new eyes to write some epic ode to Morgan’s awesomeness.  And when that movie deal is closed, we’ll be here waiting.  What?  It could happen…  It’s Chuck, a show where magical kisses make sense.  Anything is possible.

Dave’s Ramblings

It’s pretty awesome just how active this site has been for the last three years.  Suffice to say, I’ve never been a part of anything quite like this before.  It’s been so much fun to be able to discuss a show I love with equally committed lunatics fans.  I think the discussing has led to an even higher level of enthusiasm and investment than I started with.  I feel like some good friendships have been made too.  That is a very strange thing to me.  I have no doubt these are mostly “one issue” sort of friendships; but even so, the shared passion, lively debates, and often unexpected shifts in viewpoints and alliances (!) have made this a very exciting and fun meeting spot.  And none of you have ever made fun of how I talk or dress, bonus.

The only real problem is my little Chuck hobby has gotten bigger than my wife’s more legitimate art lessons and Interior Design sites, so really, head on over to those sites right now.  And sign up for her art classes if you happen to be passing through southeastern Michigan. Be sure she knows this has nothing to do with Chuck.  Nothing at all.  We’ll get her up to 1.5 million in no time…

About Ernie Davis

I was born in 1998, the illegitimate brain child and pen name of a surly and reclusive misanthrope with a penchant for anonymity. My offline alter ego is a convicted bibliophile and causes rampant pognophobia whenever he goes out in public. He wants to be James Lileks when he grows up or Dave Barry if he doesn’t.  His hobbies are mopery, curling and watching and writing about Chuck.  Obsessively.  Really, the dude needs serious help.
This entry was posted in Administrative, ChuckMeMondays. Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to Thanks a Million Part 1.5

  1. authorguy says:

    Ah, Dave, you are so right. I consider it a great misfortune that I didn’t discover this blog or the fanfictions until Chuck was over. I’m sure many of you may feel like you’ve said everything there is to say, twice, but to me and people like me it’s a chance to talk for the first time.
    My family is convinced I’m losing my mind with a Chuck obsession, but where else can I find the characters and the chemistry that this show had? (Actually, if you could tell me that it’d be great, since I don’t watch TV.) The last show that had anything like it was Wonderfalls, and that lasted four episodes, although I have the whole first-and-only season and recommend it if that chemistry and romance is what you want. If nerds who get the girl are your interest, try The Librarian: Quest for the Spear (but not the other two).
    My Chuck obsession is even helpful to my writing. I don’t let myself write another chapter in my fanfiction until I put another thousand words in my manuscript. (I just posted a chapter yesterday and I’m already close to a thousand in my MS today!) Our long discussion of season three a few months ago was instrumental in shaping my conception of where I want those stories to go. So thanks to you all for being here, and staying here.

    • joe says:

      Whoa! Authorguy, if you don’t watch TV, I gotta ask – how did you find Chuck in the first place???

      There must be a story in there somewhere and if you’re willing to tell us, we’d love to hear it.

      I, for one, understand this obsession thing (mostly because I’ve been afflicted for years now). It started when I joined Weight Watches years ago and started walking for my health. With iPod buds firmly affixed to my ears I found myself thinking waaaayyyy too much about the latest episode I’d seen, where the characters were going and what it might mean. When I started collecting the music I was hearing on the show and walking with that in my ears, it got worse!

      Please keep us apprised about your fan-fic.

      • Joe, I discovered Chuck at local BJs where they had seasons 1 & 2 on the DVD rack. I bought them, watched them, and caught up to season 3 on Hulu.com, just in time to watch the Mask as my first ever broadcast episode!
        I actually don’t care too much about the music. Dropped by Phantom Planet is the only song I went looking for, since it was so integral to First Date, my favorite episode (obsession tip: listen to the whole song, bearing in mind that I can karaoke it). I picked up Feeling Good because who wouldn’t, and I found a reference to Young Blood somewhere and got that. Otherwise I don’t really notice it much.
        I walk for my health lately too, but mostly I think about what I want to do in my next Chuck story! Speaking of those, I’ll try to keep this next part short, since I don’t know which aspect of my writing you want to hear about:
        My first was the Hannah_HISHE, which I wrote to give the Hannah arc a happier ending. I wrote it to finish a story I thought was incomplete (HISHE stands for How It Should Have Ended). I wrote it, posted it on FF.net, and forgot about it. I wasn’t motivated to do another until the next incomplete storyline presented itself, the beach finale. Chuck vs. the Epilog is my version of what came after. It is not Charah fluff (in fact I didn’t even know what Charah fluff was until Dave explained the idea), I wrote it to be episode 14, or the basis of the movie. My next story was the flipside of the finale, a series of little vignettes from Sarah’s POV that ultimately reprised the Epilog. It isn’t fluffy at all, it’s actually quite dark, except at the very end. My current project is the nine2five AU, yet another rewrite of season 3. I’m writing each story to be a separate ‘episode’, usually about 4 chapters long, and I’m trying to keep to model of season 3, achieve the same puposes as season 3, while being more logical, better written, and more fun than season 3. The first 2 episodes are up and complete. My current story is based on The Three Words, using Carina to provoke some minor angst about their relationship. (I will use Shaw, but in a small and more positive role.) Last chapter got very silly. I’ll be starting Chapter 4 almost immediately, hopefully get it done and posted tomorrow.
        I hope that isn’t TMI.

      • joe says:

        TMI? Not at all! Thanks. If you post some links I’ll betchya you’ll get more than a few visitors quickly.

    • atcDave says:

      I think we’ve all been pleasantly surprised with how many new readers have found this site since the show ended. It helps keeps it fresh for all of us when someone new has comments and feelings they need to share.
      Although having friends and family decide you’ve lost your mind just comes with the territory (and of course, we all actually HAVE lost our minds…)

      And Joe, Marc (authorguy) has started an S3 AU that is a lot of fun. I’ll be doing another ff post in a few days including links to Marc’s work. In fact, there’s been enough good stuff recently, I think I won’t even include any “classic” stories this time!

  2. anthropocene says:

    Dave—my spouse is also into interior design and will enjoy your wife’s website!

  3. thinkling says:

    Thanks for this post, Ernie. Perfect picture, BTW.

    I discovered Chuck about when S3 was ending. Then I discovered the blog. I posted a comment … and people actually posted back. It’s been so much fun being a part of the community and writing about Chuck. I’m glad that even though the show has ended, we will still hang out and keep on talking Chuck. It’s been so much fun to have those new viewers and readers participating in the discussions. I’m all ready to go again!

    • atcDave says:

      I remember those posts. You were adding heroic length breakdowns and analysis that rivaled Ernie’s. We had to recruit you, we couldn’t have a visitor putting us all to shame!

      • thinkling says:

        I think you just got tired of scrolling so far down my comments … ;). Faith and I came on board at the same time; only she was already a veteran, with many guest posts to her credit. I was the new kid on the Chuck block … still am, technically, but now I feel all moved in and quite at home.

    • Ernie Davis says:

      Thanks Thinkling, you know me, a big one for milestones and nostalgie-ing (nostalgia-izing?)

      Ahhh, nostalgia-izing… I remember when we got both Faith and Thinkling to sign on. I thought it the greatest recruiting coup since the Pittsburgh Pirates got the killer B’s. (We’ll just ignore how that one turned out.)

      With Faith we were worried she’d turn us down because she had too much on her plate and we weren’t sure an offer she’d probably have to reject was fair. Fortunately Faith considers sleep optional.

      With Thinkling, well without giving too much away, I think she greatly underestimated her talent and impact at first. 😉

      Hope I’m not telling too many tales.

  4. ww1posterfan says:

    Congratulations on the 1.5M. Glad to know you guys are hanging around. I just found this wonderful blog and its community. I’m not going anywhere as long as you keep reviewing and posting. :0)

    • thinkling says:

      Glad to hear it ww1!

    • joe says:

      WW1, it really gladdens my old heart to have new readers at this stage. I don’t know if I can ever get across the feeling that the Chuck fans had, especially after season 2 ended with that amazing run of episodes, then no word of renewal followed by the Subway campaign and then finally, finally renewal. There was so much that happened that summer (including the start of this blog) that it sounds as fictitious as having an Intersect in your head (but just as much fun).

      We’re not quite ready to give this up yet.

  5. resaw says:

    Well here I go. Episode 1.1 yet again. Fortunately, Chuck is that kind of show! I watched it right from the beginning; the network promos in advance of its debut had me intrigued about the sci-fi-ish and comedic elements. Little did I know that I would eventually be swept up into the romantic journey of Chuck and Sarah…. As for Chuck This, I’ve been an occasional observer for the last couple of years, or so, but it was in the final year of the show that I began to “lurk” more consistently, and now and then begin to post once in a while: My name is Russ and I’m a Chuckaholic….

    • Ernie Davis says:

      My name is Ernie. And I’m a Chuckoholic

      And I feel no shame, nor need to change.

    • atcDave says:

      I like to think of us more as enablers than support…

    • joe says:

      Amateurs. I was a Chuckoholic after two episodes and then graduated to the hard stuff – Faith’s NBC Boards. From then on, mainlining blogs was inevitable.

      • atcDave says:

        And Joe, didn’t we ask Faith to join us when we started in 2009? I thought she was too busy and changed her mind later (at the same time we asked Thinkling). Certainly we knew her well from the NBC forums, but she wasn’t kicked out with the rest of us…

  6. Latetotheparty says:

    “I like to think that people are still discovering Chuck, and will still discover Chuck for years to come. “ You are so right on it. I’m one of those many folks that have discovered Chuck after the fact and that you speak to. I’ve been lurking, in a good way that is, since I found your site after discovering Chuck around the first of the year. It’s funny that you came to the same conclusion as I did and that is we need a second go around of Chuck.

    I was thinking of sending you guys a little note saying how important your site is to us newbie’s. I’ve been reading you’re posting to learn more about Chuck. With out your archived posts the world would be a much darker place.

    I wish I could have been with Chuck from the start; it all seemed so exciting Comic Con and all. I was looking forward to talking to Chucksters because I have so many unanswered questions about what was going on the first half of season 3 with the Shaw debacle and all, but since that opportunity may have pasted I will have to rely on your new rewatch schedule to comment on things I missed the first time around.

    I’ve never been into a show like this ever and I don’t think that it will ever happen again. I won’t go into detail as to how the show has affected me and my life, but I will say in my case the meaning of addicted is raised to a whole new level. I’m still trying to understand how a TV show like Chuck can have this much effect on me and so many others, I think a lot of it is Yvonne and the way she comes across to Zach. There’s purity about her and the way she cares about him that works so perfectly. I’ve tried to define it further and really I can’t, but I knew it when I first saw it and I’ve seen it from the start. It is so special and no other show has it.

    I’ve read a lot of the old posts to learn more about the subtle nuances of each character and how it makes the scene work, all that makes the re-watch more enjoyable. This site has given me so much pleasure that sometimes I’d rather read the blog and comments than to see the next episode, but then again since I have all the seasons on DVD so any old time I want to…… I have the best of both worlds.

    One thing I feel I must do is thank you for letting Liz James be a contributor on your site. I would like to give her a big shout out, hug or what ever else is appropriate to let her know how much I’ve gotten from reading her articles. I think see is so right on. I’m reading her pre season 3 comments in retrospect and with what she has written she must be a clairvoyant; if only Fedac was wise enough to get a clue from her we might have had a great third season. This lady is amazing and my favorite commentator, bar none. That being said I have gotten lots of wisdom and insight from all of you at Chuck This, even from some of the posters from the far right.

    I must offer this disclaimer; I represent the 70 + demographic group, yes there are a few of us still out there. Also I’m dyslexic so take that into account when you are reading this, my first comment; I’m hoping I got all the words in, and in some kind of order.

  7. Welcome,you can never be “Latetotheparty” with Chuck!! I am 60+and only found this blog about 18 months ago.I loved simply reading all the essays and comments on the blog which gave me even greater understanding and appreciation of the show-and how at times I have “chuckled!”(by the way ,what has happened to Rick Holy?).
    I never found the courage to post in such distinguished company until after the final episode,but was welcomed immediately,within minutes.I still prefer to keep a low profile,but know I can feel at ease with posting at any time.
    As season 5 was not shown in the UK,I originally part watched on you tube coupled with this blog,which was interesting to say the least! It still greatly enhanced my first viewing(with Subway sandwiches), when I eventually got the blu-ray from America.
    Rest assured,I will be with you until the……………?

    • atcDave says:

      Rick Holy, like so many others at this site, has moved on to other interests. It really amazes me the turn over we’ve seen in visitors. Virtually everyone who regularly comments today came somewhat later. And what really surprises me is the number of enthusiastic newcomers there are. I hope new viewers keep coming to the show, and this site for a long time to come.

  8. resaw says:

    I may have overlooked this from an earlier blog posting, but have you ever invited your readers to complete a “demographic” questionnaire? Age, city, state/province, country of residence, level of education, etc? As you mention, many have moved on, but new people are coming on board. I wonder about this, because it would be interesting to compare that sort of information against the target audience to whom NBC pitched the show (on the other hand, do we even know the desired makeup of that audience?). I’m getting the impression, though I may be mistaken, that Chuck This participants skew to an older demographic. Just a thought….

    • atcDave says:

      We haven’t done that Resaw, although I would agree with your judgement. I believe it was said all along for Chuck that the audience skewed slightly older than is considered “ideal”. Not greatly so, like most CBS programs, but more so than most of NBC.

      I also believe this site in particular skews older than most other Chuck sites. That may start with the principals; we have a twenty-something, a thirty-something, two in their 40s and two in their 50s. I think that makes us a little greyer than most fan sites; but I have no data to prove it.

      We do get some data from Word Press about our site. Joe and Ernie are the real experts about it; but I would say we have a very international following (and strangely get a lot of traffic from Finland). Our busiest day ever was in March of 2010 (during the misery arc) with almost 6000 hits. That whole month was our busiest ever with the next month shortly behind. I think the emotional intensity of that period is reflected in our need to first commiserate, then celebrate together.
      January of this year was also a very busy period as the show wrapped up, and then we all spent a lot of time sorting through it.
      But now we’ve slowed way down, with 700 or so hits a day. Weekends are slower, occasionally under 500. I think we’re all somewhat surprised that things have stayed as active as they have so far, but I expect traffic will continue to fade.

      • joe says:

        I have one caveat, Dave. If we ever hear news of a Chuck movie in the offering, I expect the fade to be like the recessing of the sea before the tsunami hits.

      • atcDave says:

        Yeah Joe, I think things will pick up fast if we ever see a Chuck movie. Things picked up some just for Comic Con; imagine if there had actually been something new to talk about!

    • Ernie Davis says:

      We’re very big in Finland.

      I had thought of collecting that sort of information at one point, but it often seems a bit intrusive when I’m on the other side. My general impression is that Chuck’s fan base skewed older and more educated and tech savvy in general, and this site even more so.

      • atcDave says:

        Oh yeah, I forgot about the educated and tech savvy part. I believe I also heard we were above the economic mean; which was all great news to advertisers. I’m not sure how much of that compares to other fan sites; but I believe we’re generally more polite than others! I am often surprised, when I say something controversial at a site for one of my other interests, just how ugly the replies can get! But of course that’s non-Chuck sites, so the comparison may not be valid.

  9. thinkling says:

    Welcome all newbies and newcomers. You’re right on time!! Chuck This Blog is just one big after party. So join us for the sequel!

  10. cholitau says:

    I know i’ve been MIA from the site, but i got a little pang in my heart at the thought of ChuckThis closing down. Yeah, Chuck is over but i’m still a fan, i still think about the show, i still watch it, as do all of you. I’m still so impressed that a TV show could have such an effect on so many people, even if it struggled to stay on from the very beginning. People… what do they know! they should have all been watching Chuck with us! 🙂
    SO, i’m happy the site is stayign on and about this re-watch plan. I plan on joining as much as i can. I wish we coudl some sort of live-chat! If we already have that, please just ignore me…i’ve been away far too long.
    Like Ernie said, others will discover Chuck at some point so we’ll (…stand up straight, full of pride, and tell them we are the original fans!) be there to welcome the new Chucksters… just like my buddy Ernie welcomed me into the world of Firefly. I credit him and some from the twitterverse from teaching me all about it and making me a fan.

    Anyway, let’s carry on Chucksters!

    LOL… Keep Calm… Watch Chuck!

    • joe says:

      Awww… it’s always great to see you here, Jen.

      Yes, we’ll be here for a while yet, but can I ask a favor? Tell others about the re-watch. And if you have friends who haven’t seen the show, you know what to do! A couple of Subway sandwiches, perhaps a bottle of wine, one DVD or Blu-ray player and voila, instant Chuck party. THEN tell them about us.

      • cholitau says:

        LOL… i’m gonna have to skip on the Subway cause i don’t eat bread 😛 but i can still have friends over to watch Chuck! I’ll try my best! I’ll bribe them with wine and delicious food and then get them hooked on Chuck before they know it! At least that’s what i would like to happen 🙂 And of course, i’ll point them in this direction.

    • Ernie Davis says:

      Thanks for stopping by Jen. And for crediting me with making a Browncoat out of you. 😉

      I have to say as much as I watch Chuck I was still excited to be starting over. Since Firefly and Serenity were done deals by the time I discovered them I never spent as much time on the Firefly boards, so now my Chuck experience gets to start from the beginning.

      One fun part will be that we aren’t skipping any episodes like in previous re-watches. Somebody pointed out that we’ve never reviewed Tango, which I find shocking given how often Dave and I geek-out over it as the episode that established Chuck’s signature style. Now that gross oversight will be corrected!

      • cholitau says:

        Yes sir, you are responsible! you and @dren on Twitter… don’t’ know if he ever comes around here, but i’m sure some of you also follow him.

        When i started watching Chuck i wasn’t into analyzing it. To say the truth, i was a shipper from the get go and wanted a Chuck and Sarah hook-up cause c’mon, how could they not??? 😛 but in coming across this site and finding that a group of people also liked to think about the going-ons in the show and analyzing characters, i just had to stay. Not all people enjoy dissecting things like that.
        I’m looking forward to the re-watch… i think i missed Pilot!!! I hope the post is actually about re-watching it and not discussing what was re-watched.

      • Ernie Davis says:

        Yup, I follow @dren, but I don’t get over to the Twitter as much now. It was basically my Chuck grapevine, and while I still follow Zach and Yvonne and Adam et al, there just isn’t as much Chuck news to keep up with.

        By the way, we already started the pilot re-watch discussion in this post, so watch and join in! Or join in first and then watch, we aren’t being sticklers on this one.

Leave a Reply

