News! News!

Of No Particular Consequence…

I was a little quiet around these parts this last week, as my wife and I were on the road for our summer vacation road trip.  We had a great time on a trip that would prove our nerd credentials; museums, zoo, and historical tours.

But I mention this for two reasons of marginal interest to Chucksters at this site.  First, at Lincoln’s New Salem Illinois, a reconstruction of a town Lincoln lived at in the 1830s; there was a graffiti covered footbridge that connected two parts of the village that prominently featured the words “Nerd Herd”.  I was first pleased then horrified at the presense and sleazy tackiness of my fellow Chuck fans.

But on a completely more pleasant note, my wife and I met with Thinkling and her husband last Sunday night for dinner, then spent all day together Monday at the Creation Museum in Petersburg, KY.  We all had a good time together and the day passed far too quickly. I mentioned last week in our 1.5 million post how I knew most of the friendships made through this site were “one issue” sort of friendships.  But it is such pleasure that this is not always so.  I have now met four of my fellow bloggers here and have had a wonderful time in every case.  We all do have interests in common and can enjoy each other’s company.  I wish I could meet more of you, and I know I’ve exchanged BTS notes with other history buffs, modelers, gamers, and aviation professionals.  This hobby has been important and satisfying on a personal level.

Dave, Mrs Dave and Thinkling pretending to be tourists. Mr Thinkling was hiding on the other side of the lens

 

 

 

~ Dave

About atcDave

I'm 53 years old and live in Ypsilanti, Michigan. I'm happily married to Jodie. I've been an air traffic controller for 30 years; grew up in the Chicago area, and am still a fanatic for pizza and the Chicago Bears. My main interest is military history, and my related hobbies include scale model building and strategy games.
This entry was posted in Fan Base, Off Topic. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to News! News!

  1. joe says:

    Man, I definitely wish I was there (but hey, real life can be a bear sometimes).

    It’s great to see your face again, Dave (if only in pictures) and the Mrs. too. And Thinkling, that’s the best pict I’ve seen of you yet! Someday I’ve got to meet the man behind the camera, too. 😉

    Don’t tell her I said so, but I think Faith has been traveling with the US mens basketball team. I just know she couldn’t let an ocean stand between her and Kobe.

  2. Ernie Davis says:

    I see you are all wearing your intersect glasses. Or are those just the normal spy disguise?

    • atcDave says:

      Dang! Our cover is blown! Don’t worry about the government cleaners who will now be paying you a visit Ernie; they’ll just be there to empty the wastebaskets, really…

  3. thinkling says:

    It was all really great fun. We just needed the rest of you to join us. Next time! Of course you’ll need to bring your own Intersect glasses 😉

    And, ah, my hair is not quite that white. It was the sun … or maybe my halo … no definitely the sun.

Leave a Reply

