Fan Fiction News

Any regular visitor to this site will recognize the screen name MyNameIsJeffNImLost.  Jeff has been a regular commenter here for quite some time, and is also a fan fiction writer.  A fan fiction writer with an awesome sense of humor, which won’t surprise anyone who’s read his comments here.

Jeff has started his own post-series AU called “Chuck & Sarah vs Their Next Adventure“.  Post series stories can be a touchy subject for many fans, so I’ll start by saying this works perfectly well for me, and I hope that doesn’t give too much away!  The story starts on the beach and is a lot of fun immediately.  Sarah’s memory problems are never ignored, but they are related in the most entertaining light imaginable.  And the story progresses quickly from relationship mending to an actual adventure; and it’s an adventure with a very different version of Team B including at least one character we haven’t seen much of for a while.  This is really a fun ride.

An extra bonus is the speed of the updates.  So far, Jeff has been posting daily.  That will apparently end this weekend once he gets caught up to where he’s written so far.  So the pace of updates will slow down to a more normal sort of rate.  But by then we should have a dozen or so chapters up that would take a couple hours to read.  Current content would be rated PG-13 for some pretty obvious husband/wife action; but language is otherwise not an issue and violence is not graphic (that might change as we get into more action?).

I recommend this story very highly; the mood and style should appeal to most Chuck fans!

~ Dave

About atcDave

I'm 53 years old and live in Ypsilanti, Michigan. I'm happily married to Jodie. I've been an air traffic controller for 30 years; grew up in the Chicago area, and am still a fanatic for pizza and the Chicago Bears. My main interest is military history, and my related hobbies include scale model building and strategy games.
This entry was posted in Fan Fiction. Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Fan Fiction News

  1. joe says:

    Downloading it now!

    Oh brother. I’ve entered into the next phase of my Chuck addiction. I blame George Bush Thinkling Dave!

    And now, Jeff.

  2. Thanks for the shout out, Dave. I’ve also been posting screencap collages and cover art related to each chapter. First chapter is at the bottom. They might spoil chapters you haven’t read yet.

    • atcDave says:

      Those definitely contain spoilers! But they’re loads of fun for after someone’s read…

    • atcDave says:

      Chapter 10’s cover is very fun. Great picture of Sarah (I know, most unnecessary comment ever made…); I love how cheerfully she’s waving the gun around (fun moment from Role Models) and I can just imagine her grilling Morgan on who to shoot with which gun!

  3. Wilf says:

    I’m finding this a really good, fun read, not least because it’s not taking itself too seriously.

  4. BDaddyDL says:

    I have been so happy to see that story. He know how much I love his canon humor and insights in the reviews I have and will send.

    I would be remiss if I didn’t mention Frea’s new AU Set, Spike, Dive! The chapters are of Frea’s normal length, as is the quality of writing. I do find however that the tone is immensely lighter. Its about Chuck Sarah and the Olympics. I am really enjoying it, and as an added bonus Sarah is a beach volleyball player, and Chuck is a diver. Their uniforms leave the imagination run wild.
    Definitely worth a read or two or three.

    • joe says:

      Oh yeah. I’m halfway through, and Jeff’s story is fun.

      Thanks for the tip on Frea’s new story – she’s been mentioning it on twitter, but I literally forgot to get the URL and post it.

      So glad that’s Dave’s job, my enabler.

  5. uplink2 says:

    I have to agree as well. The first chapter of just over 150 words is to me at least the absolute perfect ending to Goodbye. If they had simply added those 30 seconds to the finale all of the controversy, heartache, anger and despair their “artistic” ending gave so many in the fanbase would never have happened. Then we would have had a “satisfying” ending to an amazing series. Plus I also believe it would not have diminished their vision one bit. I wish somehow Zach and Yvonne could read it.

    It was fantastic Jeff, thanks for writing it. I’m enjoying the next bunch of chapters as well but I think that may be the most perfect 150 word chapter I have read yet.

    • atcDave says:

      Yeah Uplink that first chapter is the perfect minimalist fix. I will always wish we had seen that moment.
      But the whole story has been a lot of fun. I like how the memory loss has presented some problems, yet the main consequence is just a pretty crazy mission. So much fun.

  6. Thank you all very much for the kind words. Now I really feel the pressure of keeping up the story quality and hilariousness.

    I’ve been compiling a soundtrack for a few of the chapters I’ve finished. So far I have four songs, other than the songs explicitly mentioned in the story. Not all of the lyrics are perfect, but the music works and feels Chuck-like. I’m trying to find a song for the upcoming action sequence. I really admire the work the music directors did on the show. This is hard. I’ll post the list at the end of part 2, which will be Sunday or Monday.

    • joe says:

      All deserved, Jeff.

      Now I must chide you. Did you get that it’s “3 Rounds and a Sound”? 😉

    • atcDave says:

      Especially the all important hilariousness. Sorry, I just had to type that to see if the spell checker thought that it was word. You pass. But I’m a little disappointed, I like made up words.

      • joe says:

        Well, yeah. But you should turn off the Zanibian dictionary and use the ‘merican one, Dave. 😉

      • Dave, I thought it was a made up word, and I was fine with that. I was surprised when Firefox didn’t underline it.

        Joe, oops. That’s fixed now. Thanks. It’s only one of my favorite songs from the show. I almost used the wrong name for someone in today’s chapter, many times. I caught it a couple minutes before I posted. My worst mistake was once putting in “Sarah” for “Sam” Carter in a Stargate SG-1 fic. I blame Shaw for that.

        Everyone, feel free chide me with all fixes like that. If you have a FFnet account, PM’ing me is the easiest way without annoying everyone else here. Guest reviews work too. You can also use the Ask on tumblr to send anonymously. I’ve re-read stuff a year later and still correct the smallest of mistakes, so I won’t be offended.

      • joe says:

        Jeff, here’s a story to tell your grand-kids someday. I know the song, and love it. So your typo made me go and look for it in my Chuck play lists, and much to my surprise, it wasn’t there! No where to be found. C’est incroyable! C’est impossible! (yes, say that with a French accent!).

        So, somewhere between hither and yon I lost it. But you inspired me to find that dang mp3 again and add it to my “official” play lists. Some of these things are so hard to track down!

        So I owe you my thanks. You’ve improved my song selections.

      • It’s only the second time I’ve referenced the song in a fic. I made it their wedding dance in Bridezilla vs the Extreme Wedding. I double checked and got it right there. It’s actually 3 Rounds and a Sound, not “Three”. I hope that didn’t mess up your search. I’d hate it if my typos wasted 99cents of your hard earned money.

      • joe says:

        Jeff, I finally got caught up with your last chapters in part 2 of “vs. Their Next Adventure”. It’s been a great and fun read.

        Thank you so much for the plug for our blog. It’s very appreciated.

  7. resaw says:

    Jeff, thank you for story. I just started reading it last night and have just finished chapter 9 this afternoon. Lots of fun!

  8. Chris Dunlap says:

    Dave, thanks for posting these. Jeff great story. I’m with Uplink on the final thirty seconds. Fun read. It’s amazing how powerful these characters are and how much they resonate with us.

  9. I’m loving this. It’s filled with Easter egg’s and hidden sarcasm. Such a fun read. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

