Christmas Fan Fiction

I wasn’t expecting to do this this year.  Really.  But an amazing thing has happened in this last week.  I think we had more Christmas stories posted this year than we did last year!  Now I’m a huge fan of this holiday season and Christmas themed stories anyway, so this is very exciting to me.  After the jump, we’ll look at 2012’s selection of holiday stories.

Most of what’s new this year is new installments of ongoing AUs.  This is a bonus in a way, we get to revisit some old favorites at a time that’s largely about visiting family and friends anyway.  So first up is Another Stocking by Altonish.  This is a sequel to The Stocking which was published way back in 2008.  So obviously this breaks from canon quite early. So far just the first chapter is up, but Altonish has several completed stories, even if its been a while, so hopefully that bodes well for this one!  The first story was well written, exciting, and sweet in the end.  So precedent is good, and I look forward to this one.

Quistie may be taking the month off from her epic Sound of Music II; but that didn’t stop her from delivering Chuck vs the Sound of Music: Christmas Can’t be Very Far Away.  This is the story of Sarah’s first Christmas with her new family, which pretty much means first Christmas ever for her.  It is always great to spend time with this version of the Bartowski-Woodcomb family, and this story delivers everything we expect. Heartwarming and fun, exactly the holiday we would wish for our favorite spy and her family.  This is a one-shot and complete; and can be read in about 30 minutes.  It is also the perfect thing for all of us not so patiently waiting out the hiatus from the main event…

And Quistie isn’t the only “big name” with a holiday treat for us.  Frea O’Scanlin has given us another installment in the That Which is Greater AU, called Holiday Shopping.  Chuck is taking Violet Bartowski to see a mall Santa, and find the perfect Christmas present for his (cover) girlfriend Sarah.  Never fear, Sarah drops in at an inopportune time; and this story adds layers of humor to the expected holiday sweet.  It is part of a series of stories, that fits somewhere in the middle of previously published tales.  But I recommend all these stories highly, visit Frea’s author’s page if you haven’t started the series yet, you won’t regret it!  This is also a one-shot, so no fears about completion, and it could be read in under 45 minutes.

Now I also need to mention what I consider to be the classic Chuck Christmas story.  I just finished my own holiday tradition of re-reading A Chuckmas Carol by Mikki13. I don’t even have words for how beautiful this story is.  Of course it helps to follow the outline of a serious holiday classic!  But this story is extremely well written and perfectly integrated into the Chuck-verse.  I may be a sentimental old fool, but this story makes me cry every time, and in more than one place!  It is amazingly powerful stuff.  The absolutely perfect end will feel well earned when you get there.  It is only five chapters, but they are longer chapters; be prepared to spend three or so hours on this one.  But it is really, really worth it (really!).  I often forget to mention this story when discussing absolute favorites, probably because as a seasonal piece it just isn’t at the forefront for 11 months out of the year.  But that is really too bad, “A Chuckmas Carol” is truly one of the very best Chuck fanfics ever written.

And now back to our normal programming…

~ Dave

About atcDave

I'm 54 years old and live in Ypsilanti, Michigan. I'm happily married to Jodie. I've been an air traffic controller for 31 years; grew up in the Chicago area, and am still a fanatic for pizza and the Chicago Bears. My main interest is military history, and my related hobbies include scale model building and strategy games.
This entry was posted in Fan Fiction. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Christmas Fan Fiction

  1. garnet says:

    Having just found “A Chuckmas Carol”, I can give it two thumbs up for my review. I would suggest that those who have not had the opportunity to read it should give it a go. It is also nice to see that Frea is continuing to write for the Chuckverse. But you have also listed several stories that I haven’t yet read so it looks like I have a little more reading to do before Christmas. 🙂

    Thank you for this Dave. My own searches start from the favourites of authors I have liked, and this works fairly well, but it does end up missing stories that I’d enjoy.

    • atcDave says:

      You know I’m always happy to help fans find good stories! I’m glad to hear someone else loves Chuckmas Carol, that one really is special to me. And so is the whole Sound of Music AU, one of the warmest most appealing stories in the fandom.

  2. Faith says:

    Uh oh, Dave has discovered my weakness. Well played Dave, well played.

    • atcDave says:

      Hmmm, I’m not sure what that might be. I don’t remember Faith as a big fan fiction reader. Is it Dickens or cookies? My bet is cookies, I know that’s mine…

      • Faith says:

        Close! I’m partial to beheading snowman (men?) cookies. ‘Tis the season!

      • atcDave says:

        The head is the best part! I like making little screaming sounds as I bite in. Oddly, my wife rolls her eyes, or moves away from me quickly if we’re in Public. Strange woman.

  3. garnet says:

    Here is a story that is a bit of a mashup of a Christmas Carol, Chuck and Dr Who. It is fun and an easy read. It is done ins script format and features Dr. Who (11), Amy, Rory, and Chuck’s family. It is not at FF so I hope this link works.
    http://derricksfanfic.blogspot.com/2012/03/doctor-nerd-surgeon-spy.html

    In spite of the Title, I don’t see any reference to Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy.

  4. An oldie short Christmas story that I liked a lot was TwotoTenth’s Chuck vs the Christmas Surprise. It pre-S3.

    And a drabble that I recently discovered was silver in the stars above that shine on everybody by leigh57. It less than 600 words. I recommend it. 🙂

  5. Wilf says:

    I just read A Chuckmas Carol last night – thank you for telling us about it. What a great story, which I thoroughly enjoyed in the small hours when I couldn’t get to sleep. It is so nicely written … and with good grammar as well, something which much FF, even some of those with excellent plots, so often seems to lack.

    • atcDave says:

      No doubt Wilf, some of my favorite ideas are…. let’s say technically weak. A few have been weak to the point I couldn’t recommend them even though I wanted to. But the quality of Mikki’s writing is first class all the way. Beautifully crafted piece.

      I’m really glad you liked it, that makes my day!

    • anthropocene says:

      I also stayed up late last night to read it, and I fully agree—it’s well-crafted and heartwarming.

  6. I noticed that you read somedeepmystery’s ‘A Merry Christmas’ today, Dave. – http://www.fanfiction.net/s/8443109/7/Chuck-vs-The-Ins-and-Outs – So very Chuck and Sarah. And Chuck received a gift he has always wanted.

    • atcDave says:

      I liked that a lot Angus! I can’t believe I sort of missed it in the beginning, but seriously a lot of fun. I would have featured that piece too if I’d read it earlier. I definitely WILL feature it next time I do a fan fiction post.

    • anthropocene says:

      “Chuck versus the Ins and Outs” is definitely a must-read!

      • jam says:

        Agreed. It seems to me that there’s been a resurgence in really high quality Chuck stories recently, and that’s all the more pleasing since two of the best, somedeepmystery and Steampunk.Chuckster, are new(ish) to writing Chuck (as far as I know).

        Also, your S6 stories continue to be great, you manage to capture the spirit of the tv show very well.

      • atcDave says:

        I agree with all of that Jam!

      • anthropocene says:

        Thank you, jam! The writing is so much fun that I might eventually get to 13 episodes.

  7. Mikki13 says:

    Wow. Thank you for this beautiful review, and your shout out to “A Chuckmas Carol.” It truly made my day; it’s wonderful to know the story is still loved and enjoyed. Cheers, and best wishes for a happy 2013.

    • atcDave says:

      You really created a masterpiece with that one Mikki. My favorite list is admittedly huge, but if I cut it down to only five or so “favorite” favorites, “Chuckmas Carol” would still be on it. Thank you for a Chuck classic!

Leave a Reply

