One Year Ago…

I probably should have saved this for the time we decide to end this blog. That’s not today. But it is the one-year anniversary of the last episode aired, Chuck vs. The Goodbye.

Some of us haven’t gotten the memo and continue to watch! 😉

For this occasion, KrisWatchesOn made this amazing and amazingly touching video for the fandom. With all credit and thanks, #ChuckLivesOn.

– joe

About joe

In my life I've been a professor, martial artist, rock 'n roller, rocket scientist, lover, poet and brain surgeon. I'm lying about the brain surgery.
This entry was posted in Breaking News, Epilogues, Fan Base, News. Bookmark the permalink.

38 Responses to One Year Ago…

  1. uplink2 says:

    Thanks for posting this here. I saw it tweeted and watched without knowing who had done it. After about 30 seconds it could only be @KrisWatchesOn I was so proud to have worked with her on #Emmy4Yvonne. Her work is incredible and if she hasn’t already she should pursue a career in editing.

    I’m having mixed feelings today but this definitely brightened it and I’d recommend it to everyone!

  2. atcDave says:

    I’m definitely more sad than happy today. There truly is nothing else like Chuck on television. And yeah, I’ll never be one who could say “no complaints”, but when Chuck got it right it was just the best thing I’ve ever seen. Fan fiction is now the only real outlet for me, but I really miss the show…

    • joe says:

      After seeing the video, I’m actually rather uplifted, Dave. Kris, and many of the people who provided the quotes, got it right. Chuck was a catalyst that brought together a unique group of fans. That we’re still very much active as a group is one of the reasons we can say that and know it’s true.

      But aren’t those scenes in the video amazing? By now I should be inured to the emotions they bring up. But I’m not. That is the proof that the show was special and deserved all the fans and all the accolades it got.

      And hey, if any of the cast and crew see this – especially anyone behind the scenes that we don’t normally acknowledge – thank you all for a great run. It’s not an exaggeration to say our lives were touched.

  3. Wow, what a beautifully edited video. Fantastic job by Kris!

  4. mr2686 says:

    I’m not sure if this made me real happy, very sad, or both. I miss going on new missions with the gang but watching videos like this and watching the dvd’s are like remembering back to special times in your life. Well done! Long live Buymoria!!!

  5. resaw says:

    Dust… everywhere. This show has got its emotional hooks in me and I’m happily captive to its power. Very well done KrisWatchesOn. Thank you.

    • joe says:

      Resaw, and Mike, yeah. I think the video, our reactions and maybe the emotional aftermath of the show it self is the very definition of “bittersweet.”

  6. CaptMediocre says:

    Very nicely done.

  7. Robert says:

    Loved, LOVED that video! Everyone (myself included) had some quibbles with some parts of the show, but here, we saw everything that made “Chuck” great! All that makes it my favorite show ever (Sorry Fringe, and Person of Interest!), even a year after it ended! It’s the first time I was so involved in a tv show, and I don’t think I will ever be as emotionally involved in any other show in the future.

    I’m really grateful to TPTB, Zach, Yvonne and all the cast and crew who made possible!!!

  8. anthropocene says:

    That was a very moving video. Thank you, KrisWatchesOn.

    One year ago, although I’d been a devoted fan since about S1.5, I’d neither heard of ChuckThis! nor read (let alone written) a single word of “Chuck” fan fiction. I am very glad to have encountered this blog and this community—because of you all, today’s anniversary is a little less sad for me. Thanks to all of you as well!

    And now it’s back to my “avocational therapy” (working on “Chuck Versus the Amber Alert”).

  9. Wow, check out this tweet from Zachary Levi:

    Zachary Levi ‏@ZacharyLevi
    Hey, @kriswatcheson, thanks for making me cry at the airport in front of a bunch of strangers. 😐 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zuss_WtlwJo … Nice work. 😉

  10. kg says:

    Every time now I see a regular cast member or even an actor who appeared only once, I’ll step up and say,”hey that’s so and so and remember when he/she was so and so on CHUCK season x and episode y.” I have folks shake their heads, roll their eyes and generally dismiss me, but of course, I don’t give a crap…Well done…That is completely awesome that Zac saw the piece and tweeted.

  11. mr2686 says:

    Less than 30 minutes until the official one year anniversary of the showing of Chuck vs Sarah here on the West Coast. I still have both that one and Chuck vs The Goodbye on my dvr from that night even though I have them on DVD. I just can part with them. Who knew that the pilot for Chuck would be so prophetic…”working on my five year plan”, and “It’s hard to say goodbye”.

  12. Bravo,Kris.Watching your video was another intensely emotional experience after my NYC trip.Everything you guys have said also brings back such other great memories since the day I started watching Chuck over 3 years ago.Wonderful to see Zach’s immediate response too.
    Keep believing,one of my new neighbours is now starting series 1 and is loving it!!With Netflix as well in both the US and UK,maybe Chuck can return in some form-I am living proof that miracles can happen and dreams do come true.

  13. Chris says:

    Very moving video, it got dusty in my house again. Thanks for posting. It’s amazing how this show touched our hearts. Quite the feat with todays run of shows.

    I’m so glad I discovered this site. Between “Chuck This” and Twitter I’ve found several new Chuckster friends..

  14. garnet says:

    Really nice video. It is hard to believe that it has been a year already. I continue to miss CHUCK like no other show. As a bit of a coincidence, yesterday I went on a milk run and there was a “freal milkshake machine at the con. I looked at the machine’s screen for a moment and realized that the woman on the commercial was either Yvonne or her identical twin sister. Has anyone else out there seen this??

  15. Kris says:

    I just found this post tonight. I wanted to say thanks for watching this video and for all the wonderful comments about it. They mean a lot to me. My goal was to represent the fans in this one, show off their love and passion and gratitude. It’s been a true honor to make these videos over the years and it’s wonderful to know that they are so well received and appreciated. The Chuck community overall has been amazing to me. This is simply my way of giving back. Thanks to all of you for your support. And of course thanks to the cast and the crew for making such an unforgettable show. 🙂

  16. Chuck lives in our mind, Chuck lives in our dreams, i never forget this show. after watching the video i am again crazy to start to watch this show again from starting..

  17. Rajni Verma says:

    Chuck is always in our mind and in our dreams, i never forget this show . It has memorable things to me..

  18. lappers84 says:

    Aww man, it’s blocked in my country – can’t see it 😦

Leave a Reply

