Fan Fiction Again

There has been a little activity on the fan fiction front recently.  We’re now over a year since the end of the series, we’re all moving on to other interests (should I tell you all about the P-38 model I’m restoring for a local museum?) and things are generally slowing down in the fandom and at this site.  But there is till some new Chuck content, and I expect we’ll continue to have at least a trickle for a long time to come!  After the jump, I’ll discuss a couple pieces that have drawn my attention recently.

One of the biggest pleasant surprises I’ve had recently was the return of NinjaVanish.  He has written some of my favorite Chuck fan fiction, and is known for an explosive and exciting style of action adventure.  Well apparently his muse felt like revisiting Chuck and Sarah again, because he is returning with Chuck vs The U-Boat, a sequel to his previous Chuck vs The Sunken Treasure.  These two stories form a unique AU; Sarah was still the con-man’s daughter, who had wound up running a marine salvage company.  The first story ended with Chuck and Sarah in LA where Chuck was back at the Buy More, and Sarah was taking classes to become more professional in her chosen field.  So far just a single chapter is up in the new story, but it looks like it will involve a sunken U-Boat with nuclear material on board.  But what we can know about any NinjaVanish story is lots of exciting action, colorful characters, and plenty of Charah.  I don’t know how long this story will go, but the first one in this AU was medium length.  NinjaVanish’ style is generally R rated for graphic violence and occasional sexual material.

A less unexpected. but no less welcome start-up this past week is the latest episode in Anthropocene’s hypothetical season six series “Chuck vs The Amber Alert“.  In the first chapter, a false report is filed that gets Chuck busted while he’s out with Molly.  Sounds pretty dark, but this series has been fun, fast-paced and imaginative.  Really, very close in keeping with the tone of the show, which is fitting as that is Anthropocene’s stated goal!  These stories have all been a lot of fun and I really recommend them highly.  He’s also been good about updating pretty regularly (weekly).  Expect a fast paced story that can be read in a couple hours and be rated PG-13 for reasons much like the show.

Doc in Oz recently started his latest short piece, “Chuck vs the iPhone“.  This really is shorter, as Doc walks us through the dark days of Team B learning to adjust to their new iPhones early in S2. Do I need to mention that this story is mainly there for the laughs?  It looks to be nearly done and will likely be around 10K words (maybe an hour to read?)  So far rated PG, I don’t expect that to change much.

I previously mentioned “Chuck vs The Long Island Debutante” by Jason75.  This is one of the more unique AUs going as Jason fuses Chuck with The Thin Man.  He does a very good job of capturing a 1930s detective narrative tone, and combines elements of Chuck and Sarah and Nick and Nora with interesting results.  Other Chuck and Thin Man characters show up in both fun and unexpected places.  And who can resist a mystery?!  This is really a lot of fun.  Give it a try! Jason already finished one mystery, which wouldn’t have been a very long story; and now he has jumped right into another (in the same story), so I really don’t have a good gauge for how long this might go.  Currently its medium-long; but if the second story runs as long as the first it will definitely be on the longish side (maybe over 100K words?).  It would be rated PG.

I think that’s where I’ll leave it for now.  Hopefully there will be more new material before too much longer.  And next month I’ll start with a S3 alternates topic.

~ Dave

About atcDave

I'm 53 years old and live in Ypsilanti, Michigan. I'm happily married to Jodie. I've been an air traffic controller for 30 years; grew up in the Chicago area, and am still a fanatic for pizza and the Chicago Bears. My main interest is military history, and my related hobbies include scale model building and strategy games.
This entry was posted in Fan Fiction. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Fan Fiction Again

  1. jam says:

    Seeing that sequel from ninjaVanish was awesome, I love Sunken Treasure.

  2. resaw says:

    Of those mentioned this time around, I’m only familiar with Anthropocene’s work, which I am enjoying a great deal. Having said that, Dave, I really appreciate your Fan Fiction posts as these have been a great source of really good reading ( and dare I say it, inspiration for my own efforts in this regard, progressing in fits and starts, and not yet ready for prime time).

    • atcDave says:

      I’m really glad to hear all of that Resaw. Anthro’s work has really been a lot of fun.

      • anthropocene says:

        Dave, thanks again; I’m always grateful for your reviews in the blog. And to both resaw and Dave, I appreciate your thoughtful reviews on FF dot net after each chapter. I am determined to update this ‘episode’ every Friday—this upcoming Friday for certain.

      • atcDave says:

        Cool, that will make Fridays something to look forward to! (I work Saturdays, so you know, not that…)

  3. Robert says:

    I really like “Chuck vs the Iphone”, very funny, and the author got the tone of the series.

  4. uplink2 says:

    I’m going to recommend a couple here as well. 2 I am betaing and another that is just a great read.

    Chuck vs The Domino Effect by Maverick41
    http://www.fanfiction.net/s/8664390/1/Chuck-vs-The-Domino-Effect
    Really a good story but quick warning the most recent chapter is probably an M rating so be aware, it probably won’t be that way again but it is tasteful.

    A Comet Appears by SamlovesChuck
    http://www.fanfiction.net/s/8554168/1/A-Comet-Appears
    Another fantastic story if I could just get the author to update quicker lol.

    The Choices we make
    http://www.fanfiction.net/s/8952773/1/The-choices-we-make
    mssupertigz always writes great detailed stories that challenge the reader. I love her work and this one is no exception. I highly recommend it.

    Thanks again Dave for doing this. All of us folks that put ourselves out there really appreciate the support you give us.

  5. anthropocene says:

    Dave,

    FanFiction.net readers and authors who use Apple (iCloud) email services should be aware that there have recently been some problems with the service dropping emails from fan fiction.com or fictionpress.com. There is information posted on this at: http://blog.fictionpress.com/2013/03/29/notice-to-icloud-mac-me-users/

    I posted an update to “Chuck versus the Amber Alert” this morning, and never received notification through iCloud as I usually do.

    • atcDave says:

      iCloud sure has been getting a lot of bad press recently, apparently many developers and existing apps have problems with the service too.

      Fun chapter today, but then yours usually are!

Leave a Reply

