A Friend In Need

This blog has clearly been a community and a major part of life for many of us, for quite some time.   I think many of us have formed important friendships and connections here over the years (yes years!).  So I wanted to bring up a friend, and a valued member of this community who is need of our prayers, thoughts, and well wishes.  Erik (AKA ref51907) wrote a particularly powerful guest post for us a while back about how he and his wife lived through a situation much like Chuck and Sarah after the finale.

Well we got an e-mail from our friend Erik that he is quite ill, and recently received a liver transplant (6/9).  Obviously, this is no small thing.  Erik wanted us all to know, and he has asked for prayers for healing.  Also let’s not forget comfort and peace for his family and loved ones.  He is thinking of us at this time to wanted us to know; let’s turn our prayers and thoughts back for him and his quick healing.

~ Dave

About atcDave

I'm 53 years old and live in Ypsilanti, Michigan. I'm happily married to Jodie. I've been an air traffic controller for 30 years; grew up in the Chicago area, and am still a fanatic for pizza and the Chicago Bears. My main interest is military history, and my related hobbies include scale model building and strategy games.
This entry was posted in Fan Base. Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to A Friend In Need

  1. Faith says:

    I join Dave in urging everyone to send good thoughts and prayers to ref51907. We may not all understand or grasp what he and his family is going through but we can all stand tall and be his (metaphorical) strength during tough times. Positive all the way. On behalf of the principles, we’re thinking of you Erik, best of luck in your recovery and beyond.

    ~ Faith

  2. joe says:

    Erik, more than anything else, my experience with this blog has been about family. And not just my own. Many people here have touched my life, making me feel that this community really is a large family. When I saw your note, you reminded me of that.

    So you take care, heal, rest and get well. Know that our thoughts and prayers too are about you these days, and for your donor.

    • ref51907 says:

      Thank you Joe. The family of the donor needs to be remembered as well. It couldn’t have been an easy decision for them. When things settle down I do plan on trying to connect them but for now they are in my prayers as well.

      Erik

  3. uplink2 says:

    Erik, I would like to add my thoughts and prayers as well. One of the great things about this show is how it brought so many of us together in a way never heard of before. It’s a bond we will always share and its one of the great legacies of this show. We will probably never actually meet, but we care about each other and hope for the best for you and your family as you are a part of the greater Chuck family as well.

  4. Dave says:

    Good luck, Erik.

    Keep us posted on your situation.

    Chuck has a good group of fans.

  5. Justin says:

    I hope all goes well for Erik. His post about him and his wife was very moving to me.

  6. thinkling says:

    I’m so sorry to hear it. Erik, be assured that my prayers are with you. I know that God’s grace is sufficient, and I pray that you and your family will experience it without measure.

    • ref51907 says:

      I know that God’s grace is sufficient and He has helped me already. Thank you for your prayers and your continued prayers. The next 9-12 months will be the real challenge for me.

      Erik

  7. Louis Sytsma says:

    Best wishes Erik. Strength to you and your family.

  8. Lola says:

    Best wishes Erik. I hope everything goes allright. You and your family are in my thoughts.

  9. CaptMediocre says:

    Sending good vibes in your direction.

    Hope you feel better soon.

    • ref51907 says:

      Thank you Louis, Lola, and CaptMediocre, for your best wishes, thoughts, and good vibes. I appreciate your thoughts and concern as every little bit helps me now as I recover.

      Erik

  10. resaw says:

    Erik, may you sense God’s comforting presence in the midst of a very challenging time. To quote the apostle Paul, “in all these things we are more than conquerors through him who loved us. For I am convinced that neither death, nor life, nor angels, nor rulers, nor things present, nor things to come, nor powers, nor height, nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God in Christ Jesus our Lord.”

    • ref51907 says:

      Thank you Resaw for the reminder from Paul. As a teenager I memorized the whole book of Romans so when I read that section of scripture above I was reminded of God’s work, power, and promises to us. It should give me strength to continue on when parts of my recovery begin to hurt.

      Erik

      • joe says:

        I can’t say that Chuck ever overtly showed religious themes, but the show certainly had subtle moral, ethical and even Christian messages in the subtext. I always knew that the audience tended to ponder and reflect those ideals.

  11. anthropocene says:

    A speedy recovery to you, Erik…all best wishes!

    • ref51907 says:

      Thank you, anthropocene for the best wishes and the speedy recovery. I greatly and eternally thankful for them.

      Erik

  12. ref51907 says:

    -Thank you everyone for your thoughts, prayers, concerns, and well wishes. When I first got the news last Sunday that they had a new liver for me I was thrilled nervous, apprehensive, and about one million other emotions all at the same time. One of my first thoughts in recovery was to let you all know what was going on. Even though I haven’t been able to post much the last few weeks I am still dropped by to read the comments each Sunday or Monday about the re-watch. You all are like family to me and I wanted my extended family to be aware of my situation. I don’t hide the fact the my faith in God and the support of all my friends and family got me through the toughest part. The actual surgery, and the beginning stages of recovery.
    -Saying all that I have one more bit of great news. I am back home now and am beginning the slow process of the 6-12 month recovery process. If anyone wants to know some specifics or wants to get a hold please shoot me an email or let me know in this comment section. I am a social butterfly by nature so I love to talk and email back and forth or whatever.
    -All though my wife will probably never read this I want to take a brief moment and brag on her for a moment. For the 7 days I was in the hospital she hardly ever let my side. I love her now more than I did yesterday, and I hope all you have someone like that in your life. She truly is a blessing for me.
    -Anyway this is getting pretty long and I am getting tired so I should get some rest. Thank you again everyone for all your support, prayers, well wishes, and thoughts. I really, really, really do appreciate them.

    Your friend,

    Erik

    • atcDave says:

      Thanks for the update Erik. It is awesome to hear you are now recovering at home. You, your wife and family will remain in my prayers.

      Drop by and say “hey” anytime, we always love to hear from you!

    • Louis Sytsma says:

      Fantastic Erik! Best wishes for a speedy and complication free recovery!!

  13. garnet says:

    I am glad to hear that you are on the road to health. My thoughts and prayers are with you and your family. Your willingness to post your personal story that mirrored Chuck and Sarah’s story helped at a time when many of us had questions about the ending and just how hopeful it really was. All the best in your recovery.

  14. Wilf says:

    Dear Erik,

    I’m very sorry to hear how ill you have been and hope that your recovery will be as rapid and free of discomfort as it can possibly be.

Leave a Reply

