Getting Started on Fan Fiction

And Some Really Cool New Stuff!

This site has seen a lot of newcomers in the last few weeks.  Many seem to be viewers who just found Chuck through NetFlix.  Maybe a few just had their interest reignited.  Whatever your story, I thought this would be a good opportunity to introduce a few new readers to fan fiction based on our favorite show.

And for all you old timers out there, we’ve got a few new stories as well.  So after the jump, its time for another fan fiction discussion.

For any Chuck fan who really wants to see new content featuring your favorite characters the options are pretty limited.  Canon is set at 91 episodes for now.  Once you’ve seen them all, and maybe tracked down the finale extended cut, and watched a few deleted scenes, interviews and featurettes you’ve pretty much exhausted the “official” material.  The only way to get more is to go unofficial.

Fortunately the Chuck community is blessed with a talented and enthusiastic group of fan fiction writers.  But it sure is hard to know where to start reading!  I have set up some utilities here to try and help.  I rely almost entirely on the Chuck page at fanfiction.net, you can always find that link under the “Fan Fiction” header on the right side of this page.  The only down side to this is there are over 3300 entries at that site.  I also have a link to my own favorites under that same header.  I also have a lot of favorites, 268 at last count.  I hope some of you will find that a useful starting point.  If you’ve read much of my commentary at this site you have some idea what my taste is. Fan Fiction can appeal to a broad variety of tastes, but if you like Chuck you’re bound to find a few stories there that will appeal to you.

A few things to watch for with any story you read, a sort of vetting process; first is just read the short synopsis, see if it interests you.  Then you might want to check the rating; if the story is violent or raunchy it should be made clear.  Once you’ve read a few stories you’ll get to know some writers you like.  If you have any concerns, check the reviews!  Posted reviews can give away plot points. They are usually written more to provide feedback to the author than they are for other readers, but they are a resource.  The synopsis will also show word count in the bottom data line; just a guideline if you aren’t used to looking at word counts, I usually figure I can read 12K+ words an hour.  I really don’t know if that makes me faster or slower than most of you, but that’s my baseline for allotting time to read.  Lastly check and see if the story is tagged as complete (This is the very last piece of information in the summary).  Sometimes its a lot of fun to read along with the writer as they go, and many of us eagerly await updates of favorite stories.  But be warned, many stories are never finished.  If its last update is listed as more than a couple months ago the prospects of it being finished aren’t good!  For a start in the world of fan fiction I would strongly suggest a finished work.

There are a few terms unique to fan fiction.  The first is AU, this means Alternate Universe, and just means the story is set in a completely different world than the TV show.  So we may get an old west Chuck, or a Chuck who’s in the Navy, or a story that’s patterned more after a completely different TV show but uses the characters from Chuck. You will occasionally see a story described as AU from a certain point.  That’s just saying you can assume everything happened like the show until Marlin or Colonel or some other point.  In a sense, any work of fan fiction becomes AU the moment it starts because it is no longer bound by canon.  If you see the term AU there will usually be an explanation as to what you need to know right in the synopsis.  Another term is OC for Original Character.  Many stories include an OC or two.  If they’re important they will usually be mentioned in the synopsis. One-Shot is another term you’ll often see; that just means its a single chapter short-story.  I’ve seen a lot of One-Shots I wish were turned into longer stories; but the author is warning you up front this is all there is.

Get To the Point Already…

So now I’ve wasted enough of your time!  What I really wanted to do here today was recommend some great stories to get started with.  I’ll break this into a few categories that will hopefully excite everyone still reading (!).  The first couple seasons of Chuck were characterized by asset/handler rules, a cover relationship, and an information only model of the Intersect. Many writers were inspired to tinker with the story at this point.  One early example is “Sarah vs Green Bay” by Moe32. This was written before we knew anything about Sarah’s background in canon.  So the writer goes directions very different from the show.  But its a fun ride, and one of my very favorite endings among the early stories.  An early one-shot is “Sarah vs the Second First Date” by Course Jester.  Something’s been bugging Chuck, and Sarah sets out find what it is.  This is a fun look at late S1/early S2 sorts of concerns.  “Chuck vs The Campaign” by ersk4 is a good example of an early fluff piece.  There is little real drama to be found.  This is pure fun, as Sarah sets out to prove to Chuck that she can be the “normal” girl he claims to want. The story is all light hearted and fun, with a few significant guest appearances.  My last “early” recommendation is in two parts; “Chuck vs a Normal Life” and “Chuck versus the Decision” by timewalker05.  The two parts are quite different, but just a terrific story over all, and a good example of where another fan thought the story could go way back in early 2009 (mid-S2).

Season Three brought a huge explosion in Chuck fan fiction.  So many writers were motivated to tinker with or improve upon a big upheaval in the direction of the show.  I recently spent several months going over Season Three “Alternatives” so I’ll only mention a couple here. “Chuck vs the Fight” by KateMcK goes back to several S3 episodes and imagines a small twist to each one that could have led to very different results.  Some of these are tons of fun and could have led to whole AUs all their own.  The other I’ll mention is a longer treatment of an AU version of S3 called “Chuck vs the Rogue Spy” by Crumby.  If you think Sarah seems an unlikely candidate to go rogue, Chuck would agree.  And he’ll do anything to prove she’s innocent.

Another major category of stories is post-series.  Of course the way our show ended only serves to generate speculation.  There are some really terrific choices here.  Starting with Thinkling’s “Sarah vs Finding Herself” and Angus MacNab’s “Chuck Versus the Lost Years“.  Both are excellent stories that pick up right at the end.  But wait, there’s more… “The Long Road Home” by BillandBrick; “Chuck and Sarah vs Their Next Adventure” by MyNameIsJeffNImLost; “Sarah and Chuck’s PANTS” by newbie93 are all examples of well done epilogue stories.  Anthropocene has even started a whole hypothetical Season Six, which is very well done.

And I haven’t even started on complete AUs.  I think, since the end of the show, this has gradually become the most common sort of story.  Let me quickly mention a few of the very best.  “Chuck vs The Frontier” by NinjaVanish is an old west/Victorian sci-fi sort of tale.  NinjaVanish is best known for his explosive and exciting action sequences, and this is great example of that.  “Walker’s Eleven” by Moonlight Pilot (AKA Frea O’Scanlin) is the story of career con woman Sarah Walker trying to pull one last con and get out of the business.  But when she is double crossed by her team, she has put together a new team with a lovable nerd she recently met, and his unlikely assortment of friends and family. Another different take is “Permutations” by Uplink2.  This has Chuck as a late night DJ, and Sarah as an interested listener. A fun story with a number of show characters making different sorts of appearances.

The single longest epic is a two part (actually more than that with a few one-shot add ons) masterpiece by Quistie64.  The first is “Chuck vs the Sound of Music”  This is a mash up of Chuck and the Rogers and Hammerstein classic The Sound of Music.  What is a mash up?  Well start with our much loved Chuck characters, and a spy themed story; then add seven children and some seriously twisted song re-writes.  It may sound bizarre, but the result is brilliant.  And the story continues in “Chuck vs the Sound of Music II“, the much longer sequel.  There is less singing than the first part; but we gain a family themed spy adventure that spans Europe and is alternately funny, sweet and exciting.  Do yourself a favor and read this.

And you know I’ve only scratched the surface.  There is so much good out there.  And the 268 on my list are just my favorites.  There are many well written tales that weren’t to my taste for some reason or another.  You all know I’m fussy.  I’m sure any of you could build your own favorites list that’s either slightly, or very different from mine.

Finally, Something New!

There are still new stories in Chuck fan fiction.  So let me start with a new work by ref51907 called “Chuck: The Sarah Walker Chronicles“.  This goes back to the very beginning of the series, is mostly canon,  and looks at Sarah’s thoughts and responses to different events in each episode. The writer intends to treat the whole series.  I hope he makes it!  I know from our re-watch posts this is a massive undertaking.  I also may have to sit out a few chapters when we get to Season Three!  But this has been such a thoughtful and well conceived project so far, very enjoyable.  It is only four chapters in and could be read in about an hour. It seems to be rated about a PG-13 to me.

Prolific writer CostasTT is back with another adventure.  “Chuck vs the Masquerade” has Chuck hired by the CIA to impersonate Hans Lichtenstein, who he apparently resembles.  He has been assigned Sarah Walker as his protector, and has his old college buddies Bryce Larkin and Jill Roberts as support.  Costas’ stories are always entertaining adventures with minimal angst.  It could currently be read in a couple hours, but it still feels early in the story to me.  I’m guessing this could go quite long (that’s good!).

My next few fan fiction posts will focus on Season Five Alternative stories, and then maybe a big one looking at post series themes.  As always, now is the time to discuss any other favorite stories you might have.  And to honor this theme of “Getting Started”, I’d love to here from those who are just getting started on fan fiction reading.

~ Dave

About atcDave

I'm 53 years old and live in Ypsilanti, Michigan. I'm happily married to Jodie. I've been an air traffic controller for 30 years; grew up in the Chicago area, and am still a fanatic for pizza and the Chicago Bears. My main interest is military history, and my related hobbies include scale model building and strategy games.
This entry was posted in Fan Fiction. Bookmark the permalink.

64 Responses to Getting Started on Fan Fiction

  1. gatesoutcast says:

    Thank you for the links! The current TV rating system does not cover those of us because of high work schedules, family obligations, etc, DO NOT watch tv anymore. Online viewing and Netflix are the new ways to see shows. The problem great shows like Chuck get cancelled because we are not watching TV. I hope one of these writers will bring us a Chuck movie, if Chris Fedak will not do it. I say lets call Joss Whedon.

    • atcDave says:

      No doubt Gates, during the whole run of the show we were aware of the impact of changing viewing habits. In particular, Chuck had a sophisticated and tech savy audience that often didn’t measure well by traditional means. Now we’re ven starting to see NetFlix and other non-traditional providers making their own programming; so things are changing fast. I do believe that could be capitalized on, I think there is still a potential Chuck audience, with money, that will make this happen someday. But getting the ball rolling has not been easy.

  2. anthropocene says:

    Thank you, Dave! You are to “Chuck” FF what Ryan and Sepinwall were to “Chuck” … only better! Two other FF authors I’d like to plug here are the prolific Marc Vun Kannon and somedeepmystery.

    • joe says:

      I’ll second that notion about atcDave.

      It’s true, what he says. The FF world for Chuck is vibrant, large, growing and daunting. The value of the guidance is huge!

    • atcDave says:

      A big problem with a post like this is there are so many very good writers and stories out there. I wish I could plug all 268 entries on my list! There were a lot of painful omissions.

    • authorguy says:

      Thanks, Anthro. I would also recommend NinjaVanish for the more dramatic suspenseful, action-packed stuff, DocInOz has a great touch with the humor, and ne71 is spot-on with his dialog. Truly it depends on what type of fiction you like. When people would favorite my stories, I checked out their profiles and found a bunch of stories i liked myself. That’s how I built my collection.

  3. garnet says:

    I’ll second your selections and also Marc Vun Kannon who has taken season 3 and now 4 and redone them in a fun and entertaining way. I will suggest that Frea’s “What Fates Impose”, and anything by dettiot or steampunkchuckster should be on the list. One somewhat quirky story that works much better than it might first appear is the authorsintersect’s “Cuck vs. the Terrible Horrible Nogood Very Bad Day. It is by, I believe, 10 of the better (if not best) Chuck authors and takes us through what happens when ALL of the baddies that have been put away are broken out of prision and are bound and determined to have their revenge. Thereisanother has a current story The Biggest Loser that is quite entertaining, but a warning that some older stories are a bit graphic and potentially disturbing (but in the end also quite fun). Yeah, my list could go on and on as well….

    I think that the saddest thing about your post is that I have read most of the stories already. I keep hoping to discover some oldie but goodie. I guess I’l just have to reread a few.

    • atcDave says:

      Garnet I share your dream of finding some long lost gem of a story I knew nothing about! It is so much fun to dive into a new story for our favorite characters. To be fair, new work continues. But my appetite is huge.

      You are completely correct about a lot of excellent stories I didn’t mention, or even just missed my list. “Chuck vs the Terrible Horrible NG Very Bad Day” is on my favorites list and really is a fun (and exciting!) treat.
      A few of the others you mention highlight my point about excellent work that isn’t quite to my taste. SteampunkChuckster is a very good writer, and several of her one-shots are on my favorites list. But for her two bigger tales (“Steampunk Chronicles” and “Con”) she embraces a much darker Sarah that just isn’t quite to my liking. The stories are great, but I can’t quite call them favorites. Detiot has a few on my favorites list too. Frea has two big AUs; I completely love “That Which is Greater”, but “What Fates Impose” explores too many themes I don’t care for (abandonment, mind control) which just gives it a darker feel I don’t really care to spend time with.
      And actually, the mixed results I get from those writers sums up a lot of what I was saying about quality. It s often a separate issue from like/dislike. And the flip side of it is there are few stories on my favorites list I know are of weaker technical quality, but I favorited them anyway because I really liked some part of the story or concept.

      • garnet says:

        One example might be MySoapBox’s Everything She Ever Wanted. It is a great story, well written by a great FF writer, and every time I run across it, and read it, I feel like throwing myself under a bus. It might be the very definition of angst. I would very much like to see more of her unfinished work “The Knife Thrower” it has a great start and just begs to be finished.

    • garnet says:

      How lame is it to make an errorspelling l Chuck on a Chuck website. sorry about theat chief. that should be “Chuck vs the Horrible……..”

      Also I wanted to add that I really look forward to these occasional posts on FF. I hope you will continue to do them for some time to come. I really appreciate the time and effort that goes into posts like this and the site in general. I think that we, the readers, do not say thanks nearly enough. So thanks again and keep up the good work.

      • atcDave says:

        You know we all do it because we love it. And so many enthusiastic fans makes it very rewarding. The fan fiction posts have slowed down, as the pace of new fiction has slowed down. But hopefully, even years from now, I’ll still find an excuse to do this on occasion.

      • joe says:

        Garnet, years ago I lost the ability to type the word “check” correctly. It *always* comes out Chuck, and spell chuckers (see?) don’t work on that. Proof reading and catching the typo is a hit or miss proposition, too. 😉

      • garnet says:

        Thanks joe for making me feel a little better… until I noticed I had missed a space spelled that as theat and added a ] for some reason. Errors in one’s post correcting errors… now that’s lame. I just have to take a little more time and look more closely. I will try to do better, and uphold the high standards of this site, in the future. If only WP would allow for error correction/spell check.

    • authorguy says:

      I started from the beginning and worked my way backward through the list. I usually skipped the uncompleted stories, but I found a really good ghost story, if you’re into that sort of thing. The Hitchhiker, by Mikki13. So,so many other great stories here.

      • Mobi Cobbult says:

        I did that as well, but then I discovered a few authors (I think LeeCan was one of them) that have several finished stories that they never bothered to mark complete. So now I have to skim reviews on old stories that aren’t marked complete to see if there are people wailing about it not being done and try not to read any spoilers.

  4. oldresorter says:

    Not sure if other writers have noticed, but seems to be an uptick in readers over the past couple of weeks. Possibly to early to be a trend, but since it’s been a while since I’ve written anything, all my hits come from someone taking the time to give a Chuck story a try. Anyone else notice?

    And I second the notion about Dave, he does a great job as a promoter of not only fan fiction, but the show chuck in general. And an added bonus, most of the time I agree with his POV, which means he must also be right – LOL!

    • atcDave says:

      Thanks guys, I’m feeling the love!

      We have also seen a small increase in traffic here, including a lot of new commenters. So I have to suspect a NetFlix influence. Both new viewers, and maybe some casual viewers getting excited again with a rewatch. It’s all good news for this fandom.

    • garnet says:

      Ok, I suspect I may have asked for this before and my memory is playing tricks on me, but I can’t find an oldresorter on FF. Do you have another pen name you use?? (jason??).

      • atcDave says:

        Jason75. And I want more Long Island Debutant!

      • oldresorter says:

        My bad. I use both, for some reason oldresorter overwrites jason in my wordpress setup, unless I manually fix it. Originally all my wordpress stuff was jason, but I use oldresorter on many other things. I think one of the places I visit, changes it somehow. so I’ve given up fixing it when I sign in here, when I blogged here more I tried to fix it. I suspect, oldresorter will always be how I am seen here from now on.

        Info overload – I know – but wanted to differentiate from those trying to have a debate with themselves or gang up on others – jason = oldresorter here, and when I write fan fiction, I am jason75.

      • garnet says:

        Yeah, I thought you were Jason 75 ( actually went to FF to check on LID to see if I could confirm that before posting, but was unable to) I know I have enjoyed Long Island Debutante and I (and many others I’m sure) would love to see another adventure set in this universe.

      • oldresorter says:

        I just edited Ch 1 after reading your two comments. The entire story is fleshed out, but the devil is in the detail. I must admit, fan interest drives my writing, and those two generous comments got me going to write over lunch hour. I’ve been careful about releasing this story too soon, as this story is more complicated than what I usually write, very deceptive at least in my mind at least.

        Anyhow, I’m itching to release the first chapter now, and might today. Haven’t settled on a story title yet, Murder on the LA Express is the front runner. Dave, I think you’re a fan of Grandpa George, so you’ll be happy to know George Herbert ‘Walker’ (Sarah’s famous grandpa) is on the train! With George there, we explore Sarah’s past. If you ever watched Murder on the Orient Express, my own version of Princess Dragomiroff, an 80 year old woman named Countess M in also on the train. Just call her M for short (how cool is that?). My M would kill Bond’s M so fast, your head would spin. Asta is there too! Does that wet your appetitie at all?

      • atcDave says:

        Sounds like fun, and its great to hear you getting excited again Jason!

      • garnet says:

        Wow, that news makes my day. Also thanks for the comment about how our comments can help spur you on. As a reader, the best I can do is offer my encouragement, and I hope this spurs a few people to write their favourite FF writers and give them a “warm fuzzie”. Many read, but few review, and reviews or PM’s are the “currency FF writers get paid in”, as one writer put it.

      • joe says:

        I can’t speak for Dave’s appetite, Jason, but you’ve sure whetted mine. 😉

        Your fault – you had to bring in Asta. And BTW, I had a crush on Merna long before Dave got his! (double 😉 )

      • atcDave says:

        Hah! Well I do have to admit to never seeing any Thin Man movie until maybe 15 years ago. My wife and I saw one of them one night in a hotel and loved it (we always seem to find fun shows and movies on vacation). Then that Christmas she gave me the boxed set of movies, and I’ve loved the movies and characters ever since. Maybe it was more Nora Charles I had a crush on…

    • I’ve noticed a resurgence of readers in the past few weeks as well, Jason. I’ve been wondering why people where suddenly reading Rogue Spy again. I guess, Netflix must explain it.

  5. Cory says:

    I jettisoned my Gmail account with which I used to use to post here, so please forgive if the email address doesn’t work properly. I tried searching this site, and there is one completed post season two story that I’ve never seen referenced: “Sarah vs the FBI” by “TwotoTenth”. It’s probably been missed because it’s a crossover with Veronica Mars. However, it’s very Chuck-centric and I’ve never watched a minute of Veronica Mars and didn’t have any problem following the action. Highly recommended – one of my favorite stories in Chuck fan fiction.

    • atcDave says:

      Thanks Cory, I’ll check it out.

    • atcDave says:

      Okay Cory, that was officially an excellent recommendation. I had never seen VM, and had some concerns about knowing the characters, but that truly was no big deal. The story was very Chuck centered, well written, and just tons of fun. It helps that it’s a post S2 story, which is really a terrific time to spin off from.

  6. John says:

    There’s some good reading to be gleaned from this. After discovering Chuck, I spent an entire month watching and re-watching the show. When I realized I would burn myself out, I sought new ways to feed my hunger for all things Chuck. So I moseyed over to FF.net, a website I hadn’t visited regularly in TEN YEARS, and dove in.
    Some of the stories you’ve suggested I’ve read. But there are some new ones I can’t wait to dive into. In fact, I’m -almost- embarrassed to say I recently had five days off work and spent all of that time reading Chuck fan fiction.
    I know, I have a problem.
    My username over on FF.net is Molotov, so if I’ve left you a particularly glowing review, please know that I will 100% gladly PayPal you some money to compensate you feeding my desire for more Chuck.

    • atcDave says:

      Hey John/Molotov it’s always great to know I have plenty of good company!

    • Angus MacNab says:

      Hi John.

      Thanks again for the reviews you’ve left for my Chuck fics that have brightened my day. They really did make me smile. Besides the personal satisfaction a writer gets from crafting a story, the reviews, the notes, and the friendships and collaborations we garner within the community are the currency that drives fan fiction authors forward. Their value cannot be overstressed. They are vitally important. And while the idea of having someone drop a couple of bucks in one’s PayPal account is a very enticing idea, there is that ever present issue of ownership when it comes to this genre that makes it impossible. We don’t own these characters and their backstories, so we can’t be monetarily compensated for what we create from them. Simple as that. Reviews like yours should be enough.

      Recently Amazon began exploring the idea of author compensation and licensed revenue sharing for fan fiction, but the idea doesn’t seem to be catching on, and only a few fandoms are represented at this time. Chuck isn’t one of them. I can only conclude that the creators of the show don’t see enough value in the projected revenue stream, and that’s a shame, because a number of fandoms have exploded into phenomenons over the years by carrying the stories and themes forward – Star Trek being one classic example of it.

      So the future of the Chuck fandom rests on our shoulders as things currently stand, every fan, from the writers who try to keep the stories alive, to the folks who offer us a place like this to talk about our favorite characters . I love this fandom a lot, and for me that’s saying a lot, because very few fandoms have taken ahold of my creative mind like Chuck has. So I feel a certain responsibility to do my share to try keep it thriving. Because of that, I’m feeling pretty awful about dropping the ball with one of my stories. To borrow an agricultural term, Sarah Versus the Farm has been chemfallowed, and the field has been sitting with nothing growing on it for far too long. The topsoil is slowly blowing away. I’m trying to correct that, and it’s the readers like you, and fellow authors and other friends in the community jabbing me metaphorically in the ribs who are encouraging me to get back in the Thrush and spread some seed on that fallow farm field again. (Honestly, I’m a Thrush guy. I don’t know what possessed me to have Farm Chuck own all Air Tractors, lol.) I’ll probably try to correct that in the future, *IF*…

      Dave,

      As always, thank you very much for the mention, and your continuing and much valued friendship within this community of Chuck. I do appreciate it more than words can express.

      • atcDave says:

        Well I figure the best way to get more writing out of you is to get more people hooked on your work…

        Angus I feel the same, and really there are so many friendships, alliances and rivalries in this community that make an always exciting place. But of course the friendships are the best.

      • resaw says:

        A jab in the ribs, eh? If that gets you back onto the Farm again, who am I to argue with inflicting a little pain? And if I could visit down your way, I could also avoid this nasty “polar vortex” that has been hanging around the Great Lakes region for way too long!

        Seriously, Sarah vs the Farm is a great story. I hope you find the inspiration again, Mac.

      • atcDave says:

        Gee Resaw I’m really coming to enjoy 5 degrees and 30 mile an hour winds. Seriously our tower HVAC can’t keep up, the stairwell is 40 degrees and the cab is barely 60. I have to wear a coat all day at work!

      • joe says:

        Dave, I have a quick story for you, from my days in Ann Arbor.
        Imagine this. I’m walking down Washtenaw Ave heading north and a song from a then old album (Crosby, Stills & Nash) comes to my mind – the song is Wooden Ships. Understand, the last line of the song starts:
        And there’s a fair wind, blowin’ warm outta south, over my shoulder.
        The north wind was in my face at about 30 mph, the temp. was about 10 deg. AND IT WAS MISERABLE!!! Perfect! 😉

      • atcDave says:

        Sounds like Ann Arbor!

      • Angus MacNab says:

        Vortex, schmortex. Come on down to God’s country Resaw; you and the Mrs. are always welcome. High of 75 tomorrow, and light winds. You can jab me in the ribs while we hang around the unnecessary fire pit cooking pie iron goodies. 🙂

      • anthropocene says:

        Resaw and Dave, I toasted both you tough gentlemen this evening while my wife and I sat comfortably on the patio of a neighborhood restaurant in the 72 degree F evening here.

      • joe says:

        It’s registering 10 deg. outside here, Anthro and Angus. And I’m freezing my nuggies off. In the words of Golum, “We doth hates thee, Bilbo Baggins!”

      • anthropocene says:

        Then a toast to you as well, Joe! As we like to say down here, you never have to shovel sunshine!

      • atcDave says:

        As wicked as it is; I got home from work last night to hot fajitas, then we had hot chocolate and cuddled under a blanket while watching television. Winter in the north has its merits!

      • resaw says:

        Dave, Joe, it sounds like we have invitations from Mac and Anthro. The benefits of cuddling under blankets notwithstanding, I’m ready to go… as soon as I shovel out my driveway.

      • joe says:

        Yeah, I have to admit that once the shoveling is done, a nice fire, the cat, a glass of wine and my wife to cuddle with isn’t a bad way to spend the evening.

        Once you add skiing to the list, even the youngin’s get that!

      • atcDave says:

        It is warmer today. Mid 20s, that’s shorts weather!

  7. Another list, this one of winners voted on in various categories. The Awesome Awards:
    https://www.fanfiction.net/topic/49974/44317203/1/All-Awesome-Award-Winners-and-Nominees
    The first post is all nominees, the second is just the winners, and the third is the list organized by author.

    • By the way Jeff, I’d love to see more of your Castle-Chuck crossovers. Maybe post-S05 Chuck and mid-S04 Castle? Just saying 🙂

      • Beckett vs the Linchpin is in the same series as Castle vs the Law of Averages and is in that time frame. It is consistent with Chuck & Sarah vs Their Next Adventure, but doesn’t have to be considered in the same AU. Readers choice.

        Also in the Law of Averages universe, I have half of a one-shot written that is set in early Castle season 5. So far it has the same tone as Linchpin. I have half of one chapter of an ambitious 8-12 chapter mission story set in Castle mid-season 5.

        I’m just blocked on writing because I have less time with the job I started over a year ago. That’s also why I’m not hanging out here as much. I just need to block out the time and get used to creative writing again.

  8. As always, thanks for the mention Dave! 🙂

  9. noblz says:

    For me, FF falls into 4 discrete groups

    1) Close to the show, could be dropped in as an episode or arc, some of the notable authors in this group for me (doing this off the top of my head so I may miss a couple) are KateMcK, Uplink2, ersk4, ninjaVanish sdchuckfan… Wish there were more of these. A subset of these are the “continuation” stories, my favs are thinkling, Angus McNab and Bill and Brick.

    2) AUs have to be not too AU and our main characters have to be the same, some I like here are Jason, Angus McNab (please get your muse back, Sarah vs the Farm was great), and Dawg is keeping “Inevitability of Life” alive and I really liked that one.

    3) Crossovers- I really only dig the Castle Crossovers (way to go MyNameisJeff, those stories are great) but most of the others haven’t really grabbed me. A couple of the White Collar ones show promise.

    4) Parodies- I have to say the Adorable Psycho series is hilarious (and after vs Phase Three somewhat plausible) and Liam has some similar stories (Fight Night, both of them, Bourbon, Scotch and Beer). Love these.

    I would love to see more of all of these. Perhaps the Netflix showing will inspire more budding authors out there.

    • Thanks. Crossovers are tricky. A lot of time it is too forced or throws in too many characters (which I am guilty of). I never would have dreamed of trying one until I read too really great ones (Bones/Stargate SG-1 and Eureka/SG-1, both on my favorites list even though I don’t read Bones FF and had only seen one episode of Eureka at the time). They showed something fun can happen if the two casts grate at each other unintentionally, but still respect each other. The Eureka one also has a one of my all-time favorite funny FF scenes that probably only worked because it was built up for over twenty chapters.

    • authorguy says:

      I don’t know of too many shows as good as Chuck is, that would do justice to a crossover. The only one I can think of is a short-lived show called Wonderfalls, but I can’t imagine trying to match the writing on that. Or maybe Bones and Chuck, with Sarah and Booth as the legmen?

      • atcDave says:

        Ultimately I think the quality of the writing matters more than the quality of the source material. I’m currently reading the Veronica Mars crossover Cory recommended above, and even with no VM knowledge at all I’m enjoying the story quite a lot. Jeff’s Castle crossovers also work well. But that might be more because I love Castle than anything Jeff has done… Kidding! Jeff is a great writer with an excellent sense of humor that really makes those crossovers a ton of fun.

      • Angus MacNab says:

        I’ve pondered a post season two crossover of Chuck and Covert Affairs; one where Chuck accepts Beckman’s offer for an analyst position, and moves to work at Langley while Bryce and Sarah are off in Europe on missions. Auggie introduces Chuck to Annie, and fireworks ensue when Sarah finds out, leaving Bryce scratching his head and saying, “Wha…?”

      • atcDave says:

        And the other agent Walker dies a tragic death….

        That could be fun.

    • Angus MacNab says:

      Working on it Dave. Thanks for the jab.

      I am putting myself to the fullest possible use, which is all I think that any conscious entity can ever hope to do. – Hal 9000, 2001: A Space Odyssey

      *Starts singing ‘Daisy’*

      • noblz says:

        Which Dave me, or the other one?

        Doesn’t matter, if we get more of Sarah vs the Farm, then you are welcome. I’m with resaw, that was shaping up to be a really great story. Look forward to seeing more of it.

        Dave

      • Angus MacNab says:

        Yes, you were the Dave I was addressing. Thanks again.

  10. reppin246 says:

    Not sure if you guys read it yet, but a relatively new-comer posted a one-shot on Chuck’s anniversary. It’s calle The Life She Only Dreamed Of by Barbdiangirl. It’s fluffy, has romance and even the family element we all loved about the show. I think it’s pretty awesome. It’s lenghty, but definitely worth the read. 🙂

Leave a Reply

