Friday Fun: Chuck Trivia Time

Chuck305_0344

What is Casey’s favorite gun? d) The one in his hand.

Time again for some Friday fun in the form of a Chuck trivia quiz.  This time I’m doing something a little different.  The quiz will concentrate on trivia about the three main characters.  Think of it as a Valentine to our favorite stars, or their characters, or you our devoted fans and readers.  See if you know as much about Chuck as Morgan does, or can get past the imposing facade that is John Casey, or solve some of the hot mystery around Sarah Walker.  Join me after the jump for another round of Chuck trivia.

Once again, every effort is made to ensure the accuracy of the questions and answers, but I am human, so respectful and polite corrections will be entertained.  Have fun, and I’ll be posting the answers in a day or so, so no peeking.  As usual you can take the quiz here if you browser isn’t playing nice with the embedded one.

About Ernie Davis

I was born in 1998, the illegitimate brain child and pen name of a surly and reclusive misanthrope with a penchant for anonymity. My offline alter ego is a convicted bibliophile and causes rampant pognophobia whenever he goes out in public. He wants to be James Lileks when he grows up or Dave Barry if he doesn’t.  His hobbies are mopery, curling and watching and writing about Chuck.  Obsessively.  Really, the dude needs serious help.
This entry was posted in Inside Casey, Inside Chuck, Inside Sarah, Trivia. Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Friday Fun: Chuck Trivia Time

  1. thinkling says:

    Thanks, Ernie. These are always fun. I missed one: a weapon Casey hadn’t used … RPG … started to put that, but then my imagination betrayed me and I thought he fired an RPG from the helicopter in Pink Slip. But that was just a monster machine gun.

    Happy Valentines Day everybody, and go watch Masquerade.

    • Ernie Davis says:

      Thanks Thinkling, I think I’m starting to get the hang of how hard to make these. When most questions are answered right about 70% of the time, but almost nobody gets a perfect score I figure I’m getting close. No single question is too obscure, but almost everyone misses a few.

      And yes, Suburbs and Masquerade are on the watch list for tonight.

    • mr2686 says:

      Great quiz. I also missed the RPG.

    • atcDave says:

      I was sure he’d used an RPG in Seduction Impossible (to blast the door?).

      Much harder quiz this time!

    • thinkling says:

      I selected mini-gun. When did he use a mini-gun?

      • Ernie Davis says:

        Thinkling, that was the thing he had in the helicopter in Pink Slip

      • thinkling says:

        Huh. Who’d a thought? Didn’t look mini at all. I’m clearly not up on my weapons manual.

      • Ernie Davis says:

        Well for those not into the shoot-em-ups I can understand it being a bit of a misnomer, but Casey actually identifies it in the episode correctly, it is the M-134 “mini-gun”. It is a mini version of the one in fighter aircraft.

      • atcDave says:

        Yeah its a modern type of Gatling Gun. The “full size” versions being 20mm, 30mm, or 37mm (that’s more of a jumbo gun! used on the A-10 Warthog). The Mini is 7.62mm (about 30 caliber). It has a higher rate of fire than the bigger guns, but obviously has much less hitting power. Its so small it can be mounted on a standard size pick-up or van.

      • thinkling says:

        You guys are killing me. I see the term “mini-gun,” and I think a gun up the sleeve, or a pocket gun … not something mounted to the hood of a jeep or a truck. I am seriously flunking spy school, here.

      • atcDave says:

        We did see Sarah with a small gun on occasion that she carried in her purse. It creates quite the funny image though to call it a mini gun!

      • thinkling says:

        Ah … miscommunication 🙂

    • M203 grenade launcher in Sarah vs the Mystery Agent, Chapter 4, which is non-canon so it’s also why I got that one right.

      Thanks for the quiz!

  2. I got all of them except the last one. He was a Wedding Planner in Ring, but I wasn’t sure if that was an alias. He was also involved in post-Wedding prep in Wedding Planner, but I guess that isn’t wedding planning. I was pretty sure he had been a Costa Gravan soldier, but guessed it anyway.

    • Ernie Davis says:

      I would contend that he planned a wedding, but clearly misrepresented the use of the beach (for national security purposes) in Ring, thus was not representing himself as a wedding planner, and in Wedding Planner he was posing as security.

  3. joe says:

    AAARRRGGG!!! Here’s a tip. NEVER, ever do this after drinking two glasses of wine!
    Thanks, Ernie. Much fun!

  4. noblz says:

    Well, I missed 2. I knew I had a 50-50 chance on the degree, but I can’t believe I forgot about Lon Kirk…Oy!

  5. Ernie Davis says:

    Answers time, along with my convoluted logic where necessary.

    Chuck suffers from what skin condition?

    Eczema, mentioned briefly in Best Friend, possibly to cover his playing with his earpiece. Confirmed in Honeymooners.

    Chuck is the world champion of what video game?

    That would be Missile Command from Chuck Versus Tom Sawyer.

    What was Chuck’s major before he was kicked out of College?

    Electrical Engineering. We see his diploma in Chuck Versus Tom Sawyer.

    Sarah speaks many languages. Which of the following is not apparently one of them.

    Japanese

    Sarah speaks Thai upon entering the mercenary bar in Chuck Versus Phase Three.

    Sarah responds to Carina’s Swedish in Chuck Versus The Wookie

    Sarah speaks Russian in Chuck Versus the Undercover Lover

    Sarah speaks Hungarian with the waiter in Chuck Versus The Baby

    Sarah speaks German several times in the Weinerlicious

    Sarah speaks Polish to Carina in Chuck Versus The Wookie.

    French, well I slipped up including French. We know she speaks French because of the Alana Truffaut flash in Helicopter, but we never see her speak or respond to the language on screen.

    Other than on Chuck, when is the first time we see Sarah use her seduction skills on a mark?

    Season 1 on Lon Kirk

    While knives are Sarah’s weapon of choice which of these has not been employed in Sarah’s arsenal?

    Tranq Darts – Manoosh in Nacho Sampler

    A Rocket Launcher – NOPE!

    A Mop – Well the handle at least on Casey in Helicopter

    Handcuffs – on La Ciudad in Tango

    A Plate – escaping Carina’s improvisation in Wookie

    A Tiki Torch – in the courtyard on Karl Stromberg’s men in Three Words

    A Knife – From the very beginning in the pilot

    Machine Gun – Frankly I couldn’t think of her using a machine gun before Angel d’ la Muerte.

    Chopsticks – First Date and Bullet Train

    Heels – On poor Morgan in First Fight.

    Casey loves guns, but in a pinch he’ll improvise. Which of the following has Casey NOT used as a weapon?

    A Freezer – Tango

    A Crown Victoria – First Date

    Tranquilizers – The concept is introduced in Helicopter, but Casey doesn’t use one until Third Dimension in my recollection.

    An RPG – I’m sure he’d have loved to, but nope.

    Jeff and Lester’s heads in Final Exam

    A MiniGun in Pink Slip

    A Chair in Helicopter

    A Plastic Fork in the same fight as the chair in Helicopter

    A Microwave while moving merchandise in Tango (the ding is priceless)

    While a man of a thousand faces (or just one cop-face) his go-to disguise is bartender. Which of these episodes does not feature Casey playing a bartender

    Chuck Versus The First Date is the only one of those episodes where casey doesn’t tend bar.

    Which of the following has not been a disguise/alias for Casey

    Nerd Herder – Tom Sawyer

    Wedding Planner – he actually does plan a wedding, but doesn’t pose as a wedding planner in Ring

    Security Guard – DeLorean, Wedding Planner

    Costa Gravan Soldier – Angel de la Muerta

    Computer Nerd – Dream Job

    Maitre d’ – Ex

    Limo Driver – Tango, Wookie

    Plumber – beginning of Predator

    Bartender – Tango, Seduction, etc.

    Manservant – Balcony

    • atcDave says:

      More than just a few rote phrases, Sarah also translated German in DeLorean. And wasn’t she translating French in Ex?
      No wonder I couldn’t remember Casey using Jeffster’s heads, I’ve tried hard to blank out that episode!

      • Ernie Davis says:

        I did remember the German translation in DeLorean, and like you I thought she translated Guy LaFleur’s French in Ex, but he was speaking English the whole time.

    • I was suspicious of French, but she had plenty of opportunities: Ex, Balcony, Honeymooners, Red Test, Other Guy, and Helicopter.

      I still think wedding planner is hair splitting. In Tango and Wookie, he was actually driving a limo and in Predator he actually did plumbing. Casey’s team was consulting him as a wedding planner so he had them fooled. He also was doing the job only for his country (to get back tax payer dollars).

      With a lack of an valid answer, I guess I’ll admit that wedding planner is the most correct (even if it is still wrong 🙂 ).

      • Ernie Davis says:

        I’ll admit that I was on shaky ground with French via my own criteria. But if actually driving a limo is an argument against it as a cover, then actually bar tending makes all those cover gigs real jobs? Likewise, does actually planning a wedding, by Chuck and Sarah and others involved in the real first wedding make it a mission? If not, why does Casey’s participation make his genuine actions in Ring a cover? Who was he deceiving?

      • He was protecting Chuck’s losing the ring cover story and Sarah’s cover.

        He was fooling his special forces team. They actually thought he cared about whether or not the bunting colors clashed.

      • Ernie Davis says:

        I disagree. he cared about the clashing bunting the same way he cared about moving beast masters.

    • mr2686 says:

      As for Sarah’s weapons, I was going to say dish but right before I was about to click the answer I looked up and, you may not believe this, I saw her on my TV screen throwing a dish is Wookie. Strange but true. Turned out to be a great time for a re-watch.

  6. John G. says:

    F* yeah! Only got Q.5 wrong. I think because subconsciously I only want to think of Sarah making sexual overtures to Chuck and no one else at all ever no way no how no thank you.

    ED Language please

  7. Ed says:

    your quiz is too easy and also there’s a glitch on the question 5 I clicked season 2 and it said I got it wrong and clicked season 1

Leave a Reply

