Chuck vs Bo (5.10)

Okay this is important because, you guessed it, we’re now up to the episode with the shortest title of the entire series…

Hmmm.  Or how about the beginning of the finale arc?  That sounds better.  Bo introduces us to Nicholas Quinn, revisits Morgansect, and features those dreaded words; “One last mission”.

After the jump, we’ll discuss the start of the finale arc.

I have to admit I was not looking forward to this one.  Not that Bo is a bad episode.  It ranked at 48 on our overall poll, so most viewers rank it as average.  I might rank it lower, but still in that average sort of range.  No, I wasn’t looking forward to this one because we are now in the home stretch of this re-watch. And even though I’m an optimist where the finale is concerned, I still don’t particularly want to go through it again.

As far as Bo itself is concerned, its harmless enough.  Like most average (ish) episodes there is good and bad here.  What I call bad here I’m sure will surprise no one; I really don’t care for the trashier aspects of this episode.  Way too much smutty humor involving Bo Derek and rainbows; and none of that is really my sort of thing.

A lot of what’s good in this episode is very good.  Just like last week I like the “B” plot with Jeff and Lester quite a lot.  Even when they’re being clever, they’re still morons.  At least they’re funny morons in this episode.  I love the Vail Buy More, very funny in a Twilight Zone sort of way.  Especially Big Michelle and the manager’s safe.  This may be the funniest incarnation of the Morgansect of the entire season, especially how clueless Morgan is about how much of an idiot he was!  “Don’t trust Bo Derek” was laugh out loud funny; and it was funny when she was being interrogated and Chuck observed what a talkative sort she was.

This is also when we meet Quinn.  All things considered I felt he was an acceptable villain.  Not as much fun as some, but plenty menacing.  As mentioned in a previous write up, I would have been fine with him being tied into the earlier conspiracy as the ringleader.  I think they sort of missed an opportunity by not doing so.  He definitely worked better as a villainous mastermind for me than Shaw did.

As is so often the case, the real highlight of this episode is Sarah.  This episode and Bullet Train have her at the pinnacle of her growth as a character. She has not only embraced the idea of having kids, she’s also got a plan for a safer future, specifically to raise a family.  This is just beautiful growth from a favorite character.  And she’s so much fun as she sets out to accomplish her plan.  I particularly like the team meeting including her new Chief Googler, and her happy excitement as she is up all night planning at the end.

Which leads to the hardest part of this episode.  It will all come crashing down.  The final action sequence is fun.  And its impressive as I remember the interview were it was claimed they had a stunt double on set for Sarah’s big scene, and they didn’t use her.  Nice.  But this is truly the beginning of the end.  All will never be right again for our favorite team and couple.  Even if we assume all is well at the end, and I do, we will never see it. So this episode has a lot of baggage for me.  Its an average one that I really didn’t look forward to watching.  Even if I can laugh and enjoy myself through so much of it.

 ~ Dave
ct_bar

Three Sarahs

Bo Derek, not so bad guy.

Bo Derek, not so bad guy.

I really want to ditto Dave here. I too wasn’t particularly eager to re-visit Chuck vs. Bo and pretty much for the same reason. It’s truly the beginning of the end, so much so, in fact, that I dislike seeing Nicholas Quinn’s (Angus MacFadyen) face on screen.

Sorry ’bout that, Mr. MacFadyen. Fact is, even I can see that you’ve done a great job as “the bad guy” here. There’s menacing and there’s insane and Quinn is both. Appearing insane is the way, it’s said, that (the then) Cassius Clay defeated Sonny Liston in February of ’64. Clay/Ali convinced the former inmate that he was the one kind of person every prisoner is taught to avoid, a raving lunatic. Clay ranted convincingly in front of cameras to prove it too. That was a very good idea and well executed. But because I know what’s coming, I hate seeing it personified in Quinn, the man originally tapped by the CIA to be The Intersect.

I’m also a bit mixed about that last idea. Having Quinn appear essentially out of nowhere and inserted into the Intersect mythology at this late date seemed a bit forced even on first viewing. Not terribly so, mind you, and certainly the idea is no worse than any major introduction. But I must say it didn’t quite feel as seamless as was, say, the introduction of Ted Roark, who came along with Stephen, or Volkoff, who came along with Mary. But I can’t make too much of that. It’s minor.

Take a load off.

Take a load off.

There are, as Dave said, some great things about Bo, not the least of which is Jeff and Lester. Even at the beginning of the episode they are so close to the truth that it takes drastic measures by the now first-class spy team of Casey and Grimes to cover Chuck’s tracks. It’s necessary. Jeff and Lester don’t need the burden.

Vail Lester

Vail Lester

By the end of Bo Jeff is sufficiently frightened (yes, he can’t handle the truth!) and Lester sufficiently cowed that they are unlikely to cause more trouble – or want to. And that will protect them. Win-win.

Vail Jeff

Vail Jeff

Another win for this episode is, like Dave alluded, the Vail Buy More. Ya gotta love it. Having broken limbs is apparently a requirement to shop there. For my money, watching Ellie regress Morgan back to his youthful crush-stage was hilarious too.

Big Michelle

Big Michelle

Oh! Don’t forget that Yvonne the comedienne is allowed to strut her stuff in this episode too!

Chuck: Hi, Bo Derek. I’m Chuck. My name is Chuck. Really big, big fan. Just loved 10 so, so much.
Morgan: We really do.
Bo Derek: I know what you did with that poster.
Sarah: Ew!

Great timing. The biggest gift given to us by this episode, though, is something that I had to look hard for. In fact, I had to reconsider something I’ve long held to be true, which is really my excuse for not quite seeing it before. And that, dear readers, is this:

There are not, as I have always maintained, two Sarahs, the cold-school killer known as Agent Walker and the Sarah Walker who came into existence sometime after Chuck fixed her phone and before he defused a bomb with a computer virus. There are three and between you and me, I love Sarah Bartowski, wife, companion and hopefully, mother-to-be, most of all. That’s the Sarah who finally wants to leave spying behind and have a life as a real person.

Sarah: I just ran to the front door with a gun because I heard the newspaper being delivered.
Chuck: Yeah. Parents can’t be shooting their paperboy.
Sarah: Look. I’m a spy and that’s all I ever thought that I could be. But I realized that we don’t have to give up what we’ve already built.

Let me expand on that. We see Agent Walker only a few times, you know. In Chuck’s flash we see her killing French assassins, we see her shoot an unarmed Mauser, we see her gun down a table of Hungarian kidnappers (also assassins) before she met Chuck and we see her rampaging through Thailand in search of him later. Most everything else we know of Agent Walker is by reputation; she’s an ice-cold warrior, a wildcard, incapable of emotion. Or, at least, undeterred by emotion.

We see Sarah Walker much more often. She’s the one mostly fighting with Agent Walker to soften her position on the best way to execute the spy missions. She’s the one who, despite her training, calls Chuck “my guy” and yet points a gun at Casey with no intention of pulling the trigger. Maybe. She’s the protector whose worst nightmare is to see Chuck dropped from a roof top or blown up in a herder. Sarah Walker turns down offers of getaways with MI 6 heroes and with her best friend. She also admits to having issues and not being very good at relationships. There’s also the fact that she’s quite able to use a small truth to hide a bigger truth while being quite troubled by the implications of withholding from those for whom she cares.

I said that wrong. The agent isn’t separate and distinct from the protector. One person, Sarah, has grown and become more than she was to encompass both.

But there’s also Sarah Bartowski. Oh, there are hints all through season five; she’s the woman who feels very much at ease attending a Buy More convention with her husband, happy, even. Very briefly in Baby, much more in Kept Man and all the way through Bo, we see her, finally, as someone who looks forward to the future and wants, someday if not right this moment, to be the mother of Chuck’s children. This is a woman in love. Really, Agent Walker seems to be a distant memory.

Agent Walker makes a stand

Agent Walker makes a stand

Still, it’s not exactly right to say that the agent is gone. Instead, Sarah’s quite whole now. Agent Walker and Sarah Walker are still part of the woman as much as Sarah Bartowski is now (and in fact, it’s Agent Walker who makes the decision to put on those tainted Intersect glasses, I think). Yet, when all is said and done, it’s the whole person that makes Chuck vs. Bo worth watching. That’s who we wanted Sarah to be.

Complete. Whole.

Complete. Whole.

You can say much the same thing about Casey and about Chuck. The $12 an hour nerd-herder and Charles Carmichael are still there, but the person we see most is Bartowski, a devoted husband and a complete person. That’s quite a statement to make about a group of fictional characters. It’s also quite an unusual theme for a mere television show.
 

Take a load off, Fanny
Take a load for free
Take a load off, Fanny
And (and) (and) you put the load right on me
(You put the load right on me)

The sadness I experienced last week is even deeper this week, mostly because we’re getting closer to the end. But there’s one other reason. You can hear the anxiety in Chuck’s voice and in Sarah’s.

Chuck: It just seems like no matter what, the Intersect keeps finding me. I keep trying to break free and the very thing that started this keeps hooking us back in.
Sarah: Chuck, we’re gonna finish this, and we’re gonna move on, I promise you.

– joe

About atcDave

I'm 53 years old and live in Ypsilanti, Michigan. I'm happily married to Jodie. I've been an air traffic controller for 30 years; grew up in the Chicago area, and am still a fanatic for pizza and the Chicago Bears. My main interest is military history, and my related hobbies include scale model building and strategy games.
This entry was posted in Season 5. Bookmark the permalink.

43 Responses to Chuck vs Bo (5.10)

  1. anthropocene says:

    Hmm…no comments yet on “vs. Bo” in spite of the typically well-done analysis by Dave and joe? Since we’re at the start of the finale arc, I’m reminded that the sea typically recedes waaaay back before a big tsunami hits the shore….

    • atcDave says:

      Funny.

      It will be interesting to see what happens in the next couple weeks. First time through the traffic surrounding the finale was second only to the misery arc. But so far, this doesn’t bode well!

    • It’s weird. As much as I was looking forward to this arc, I feel like we’ve discussed these episodes so many times now. I still read the reviews, but it seems like once we get into the finale, the fans have split into three firm camps: love it, hate it, and didn’t like it, but came to grips. Not sure what’s left at this point.

      • atcDave says:

        Well I think you summed up three distinct viewpoints quite well! It seems a number of those who were unhappy with it have already voiced their intention to sit the re-watch out, and given how much traffic has dropped off abruptly they may be doing exactly that.

        Perhaps it will be like S3, and the alternatives posts will draw far more discussion than the the re-watch post. It will be interesting to see.

  2. Aplegat says:

    I feel very much like you do, Dave. I love the first scenes of the episode for Chuck and Sarah, and the way they break the news to Casey a moment later. I think the mug scene might be the second to last scene I watch when rewatching the series, as it pretty much goes downhill for me from this moment on; than cut through to the last scene on the beach, as it makes up for some of the disappointment the final episodes were to me.

  3. gatesoutcast says:

    I admit that when Chuck complained about the Intersect keeps finding him, I thought of the Godfather and Al Pacino. I did love the mixture of the Bo episode, humor, action, adventure, and the team of Casey, Chuck, and Sarah are solid. I thought Bo herself did a great job, but like the rest of you I knew what was coming, even the first time I was watching on Netflix, as a chatting nurse excited about the show was complaining how it ended.

  4. Bo is definitely one of my top 20-30 episodes. The idea of Bo Derk playing herself, and being a spy is just plain inspired, as is everything Chuck and Morgan do to play off it. I totally believe Chuck had her poster (and probably Fedak did too). All of the little details are plain hilarious: “Just gefilte fish curry, like always,” Morgan’s lip tattoo, his partying as the intersect while it’s supposed to be a secret, “aka Michael Carmichael, which is… ridiculous.” I’d call this easily the funniest episode of Chuck, until the twist!

    One of the review headlines I saw when this came out was something link “Funny, funny, funny… SHOCK!” and that’s a perfect way to describe it. I understand why people who don’t like the final arc wouldn’t like her getting the intersect, but at the time, it was an electrifying decision. Sarah is absolutely lethal, even more than usual, in that last scene, which couldn’t have been easy. As solid “A” episode.

  5. garnet says:

    I thank that most of our thoughts and feeling about the finale start from here. Sarah putting on the faulty glasses is clearly a bad thing. A minor quibble is that she didn’t seem to do anything out of the ordinary, for Agent Walker, after flashing. That makes the whole memory wipe a truly unfortunate incident. That being said, I think we all guessed that there were going to be memory issues popping up, but I, for one, had hoped for a Phase 3 type resolution rather than what we got.
    Although I am old enough to remember 10, and listening to Bolero has never been the same, I really find the idea of using BoDerek as herself a bit odd. I can’t recall any other character playing themselves on CHUCK. So why they chose to have her appear as herself is beyond me ( unless they thought the only way we would recognize her was by having her play herself). All in all an OK episode that is the setup for the final arc…

    • garnet says:

      that’s think. And they could have simply played on the fact that she looked like Bo.

      • First, Stan Lee plays himself. Second, for what its worth, I just finished watching through Chuck with somebody who hadn’t seen it before. The first thing she did after watching Bo was text me “Sarah with the intersect is AWESOME!!!”

      • John G. says:

        BAM! Garnet here echoes my thoughts when I re-watch this episode. Sarah could already do so many of the things the Intersect gave her. She can already fight, she can already shoot. In the next episode, she uses it to read Japanese – okay, hey, great. But the rest? She can already do it all. It doesn’t make any sense.
        Which touches back to the Season 4 episode, “Chuck vs. the A-Team” – when the Gretas have the Intersect, why does Vicki have to flash to shoot the guy (thus arming the nuke)? She’s a CIA Agent. They make everyone who enlists in the Army to be proficient with an M-16, even if they’re a cook or a truck driver or a mechanic. I would imagine someone who qualifies for field work in a clandestine intelligence agency wouldn’t need a computer program to allow them to fire a pistol at a near-enough target.
        ARGH. When I think about it, it frustrates me. Because when I watch this episode and Sarah puts on the glasses, I react like Casey. “NO! DON’T DO IT!”
        Jesus. I just fired up the episode so I could quote him verbatim here and just watching that scene makes my stomach tighten into knots.
        PEOPLE WHO AREN’T REAL SHOULDN’T MAKE ME FEEL THIS WAY, DAMMIT.

        Okay.
        Calming down.

        I really enjoyed this episode all the way until Quinn showed up. Jeff and Lester, the Vail BuyMore and their “Big Mike”, Bo Derek and Sarah’s quips to Chuck regarding his childhood crush on her. “Did you get to see your girlfriend’s boobies?” So great.

        Okay. I uh…I think I need to go read Thinkling’s post-finale story now. It’s my surefire cure for the Season Five Blues.

      • atcDave says:

        It’s because the Porsche with stripes is faster than the one without…

      • Angus MacNab says:

        @Arthur

        Sarah with an Intersect *is* awesome (even though she really doesn’t need it, per Stephen Bartowski). However, Sarah with a faulty Intersect… sux.

    • atcDave says:

      Well I think Bo Derek is a spy is funny all by itself. I actually like the idea of that, its absurd. As I said above, I could have gone for a little less of the smutty humor, I don’t find that part terribly funny. But “Don’t trust Bo Derek” is awesome and brilliant.

      Among the issues I have with Sarah getting the Intersect is that it seems a truly trivial upgrade for her. Its like some new chip that’s 2.4% faster or something. I mean we’ve seen her take out five mercenaries or eleven hoodlums in mere seconds before anyway. I much preferred MyNameIsJeffNImLost’s take on it in “Chuck vs All of the Intersects” where he has the Intersect actually slowing Sarah down because its just a back seat driver for her.
      So among my minor beefs with the whole finale set-up here is just that I can’t quite get enthused about the idea Sarah would actually need it anyway.

      • When I saw Sarah put the glasses on, as John G. eloquently stated, my stomach tightened and hated that she put them on. I also dont see how She couldnt have taken them out like she normally does, and I really feel the Intersect did not really help as much as the the writers wanted it too. But Sarah needling Chuck about Bo was hilarious, especially the line where Chuck asks Sarah not to hit Bo in the face.

  6. Hi. I’m a first-time commenter on the site,although I’ve been following for a while. I just wanted to say that I agree with you who say that Sarahsect was pointless (why would she need to flash to through a javelin?), and was really only there to serve the story line.

    • atcDave says:

      Hey Jeffrey its always great to hear from another reader!

      I was thinking the other day maybe it would been more plausible for many of us if she’d needed a skill or intel she didn’t have. Anything from Japanese to hacking a computer to figuring out where Quinn’s secret hideout might be; or something. The problem with the combat is just that we all believed she was invincible anyway!

    • Wilf says:

      Hi there and welcome.

      “if she’d needed a skill or intel she didn’t have” – I thought the point was that Sarah considered herself to be in an impossible situation and hoped that, by downloading the Intersect, she would flash on some new skill or intel to help her to find a way out.

      • atcDave says:

        Well yeah that’s what they showed. It just seemed a little plot devicey since the new skill she gained at the end of Bo was not too far outside of her skill set anyway. It would be like Chuck “having to” flash for hacking or Casey having to flash to use a sniper rifle. To me, it would have felt less plot devicey if Sarah had gained a skill or Intel that was well outside of what she already could do.
        Maybe if Sarah (and Casey) destroyed the bad guys in the warehouse without using the Intersect, but the only clue as to Chuck’s whereabouts was a note in some code neither of them could understand. Then Sarah uploaded the Intersect to decipher the note and find Chuck. To me, that feels more fitting; and it accomplishes the same thing for Bullet Train.

    • Ernie Davis says:

      I usually just let these things go when they border on matters of taste, but this one I’m going to weigh in briefly. There has never been a Sarah Walker fight scene as intense as the one at the end of Bo, and there has never been one where she so easily and confidently dispenses with a bakers dozen (a complete rifle squad plus) of trained soldiers with a half full pistol magazine (5 shots). She did things we’d never seen effortlessly and confidently when the scenes leading up to her intersecting herself made clear, through the actors narrative and acting, that they weren’t getting out of there with the talents, arms and ammunition the had. In my opinion, those who think Sarah could have done all the things she did in that scene without the intersect are overriding the clear and well done presentation of the situation with Sarah Walker fanon. If Sarah could, why didn’t she untill after she intersected?

      Sorry, had to say it. I thought the end scene was an incredibly well done demonstration of how the intersect made even the awesome Sarah Walker even more Awesome. I think there is a desire among many to delegitimize the final story arc, even if they aren’t doing it intentionally, but these scenes make sense and tell a story and are well done. And I know some will say it’s just a matter of taste, but there are objective factors behind what I’m saying. If you accept what the show is presenting.

      • atcDave says:

        Ernie I think most of us do get it, and did see that they made her “more awesome”. But even so, it was just more of the same awesome. So they turned her up to eleven and did a cool action sequence. A cool action sequence not too terribly different than we saw from her in Tic Tac, or Baby, or 5.12. And that’s not fanon. As a long time D&D player I would say instead of her usual 16th level self she seems to have amped up to an 18th level version of herself.
        As I said, I get it. It was just a little too plot devicey to me. A slight variation on Chuck’s Kung Fu crutch. I wish they’d done more varied and interesting things with the Intersect.

      • Ernie Davis says:

        I disagree, it was very different. Tic Tac was her surprising 5 lightly armed guys. Baby was her surprising 11 moderately heavily armed guys. 5.12 was her doing a Bryce and taking out 5-6 guys sequentially as she moved through the hallway, never fighting more than one at a time. Bo was her taking out 13 heavily armed and armored guys who had and were actively using automatic weapons to keep her pinned down. TPTB did everything they could to highlight that, as did the following episode, that they needed the intersect and that Sarah was even more effective with it. They basically say it out loud and explicitly in Bullet Train. At a certain point you can’t blame TPTB as poor storytellers or negligent for things that some fans refuse to accept.

      • atcDave says:

        Oh c’mon, we’re talking about a minor issue here all in fun! That some of us can imagine a twist that might have worked better for us is not a serious critique,

        And I still say you’re drawing too fine a point; Sarah was always a dynamite fighter, loading the Intersect to be slightly more dynamite was just not that exciting to me!

      • Ernie Davis says:

        So I’ll ask this and then drop it. Did that final scene of Bo leave you with a feeling of Meh, nothing new? Business as usual?

      • atcDave says:

        It was a good action sequence (I said “fun” in the post!), but yeah, it didn’t really impress me as anything shockingly new. It’s not a huge issue to me either way. It was a good action sequence on a show I enjoyed for its good action sequences; done by a character I always expected great things from.

      • Ernie Davis says:

        OK, we’re watching in different ways. I saw a desperation, a “no way out” vibe that I’d never seen before, and a Sarah action sequence that really surpassed anything else, given that she had many awesome one-on-one fights, but nothing else as far as ease and the number of people she took out in the given situation. The next episode only reinforced that.

  7. mr2686 says:

    I really like this episode. It comes in at number 33 on my list, and is a lot of fun to watch. I absolutely love the Jeff and Lester scenes, and especially love that every time they’re back in the crashed car, there is an additional vulture sitting on the car. Also, you just have to love the Vail Buy More and the “anti” characters that work there. Talk about your twilight zone…or maybe the Burbank Buy More is the twilight zone. Hmmm. LOL.

  8. noblz says:

    This episode is my one dud for S5. While the opening scene between Chuck and Sarah is one of my all time favorites and the Jeff and Lester waking up in the desert was good, there was just too much Morgan for me. I hit my Morgan overload at the end of S2. This turned what could have been a great episode into a dud. The idea of having Sarah upload the intersect was also a definite minus for me.

    Still, the Chuck/Sarah talk at the open and their convincing of Casey was one of my all time favorite scenes of the whole series. They had to go ruin it.

    My opinion here.

  9. I think I may have opened a can of worms here. I’m sorry, Ernie, If I seemed to be de-legitimizing the Quinn arc. That wasn’t my intent. I was just thinking how, up until this point, Sarah had been able to pretty much hold her own without the Intersect. I realize there was a story-related purpose, it just seemed unnecessary.

  10. I should also mention that this was the last S5 episode I think I really enjoyed.

  11. resaw says:

    I’m late to this episode rewatch, a combination of catching up from being away on vacation and a reluctance to proceed to inevitable finale, I guess. I was not a big fan of this episode but now that I’ve watched it again, it stands up rather well. The Jeffster B plot is comedy gold, but the hard thing about this episode for me, and for some others, at least, I gather, is that this begins the downward spiral to the terrible situation of Sarah’s memory loss and all that is associated with it. For that reason, Quinn becomes for me a far more evil villain than Shaw ever was, and season 5 is much more difficult to watch than season 3.

    If I may throw in my two cents about the final scene, where Sarah is intersected, to me that was one of the most intense, awesome and terrible scenes of the series thus far. The situation truly was desperate, there was no apparent escape, no one coming to help, no backing from Beckman or from CIA student recruits. The stakes were high. And yet, Casey, in as desperate straits as he was, implored Sarah not to download the Intersect, anticipating the tragic consequences.

    There are a few funny lines that I think have not been mentioned so far. Casey, re the Buy More: “Let’s kick the creepy cousin out of the family.” Morgan describing Ellie’s career as: “Brain Science.” Lester describing Sarah: “That whore-y blonde” (is he still smarting from having tried to pick her up at the Wienerlicious back in season 1?). Bo Derek mentioning Jaclyn Smith, as a competitor, apparently. It is really funny the way that Sarah clobbers Bo and says to Chuck, “Sorry I had to do that to your girlfriend,” and then Chuck responds with concern that Sarah may have hit Bo in the face. He just can’t help himself.

    It turned out to be a better and more important episode than I remembered.

    • atcDave says:

      I think to me the big difference between the finale and S3 is that I feel like the finale actually honors the characters and show I love. While S3 gave me unrecognizable re-imagining of the characters that I could neither like nor respect, which led to a dramatic reduction of investment. So the finale as me on the edge of my seat, while S3 had me on the edge of the delete button.

      • Dave, I’ of two minds about S3 now. I first watched it before finding this blog, and that time I was able to look at it as what TPTP were trying to show: Chuck learning the spy world. Could it have been done better? Of course (more Chuck&Sarah’s always a good thing, and I would’ve liked so see Sarah help Chuck learn the ropes.). Now, however, I just find S3 extremely boring. Last rewatches, I jumped from v. the Ring to mid-v. the American Hero which, for my money, is where S3 picked up.
        I think I’ll save any further comment for later. BTW, are you doing vs. Sarah and vs. the Goodbye as one episode, or separately?

      • atcDave says:

        Well I can certainly agree the decision to reduce Chuck/Sarah interaction time was among the major failings. We’ve mentioned here a few times how Castle, which also drew things out a season too long I think, managed to do a little better just by keeping the focus of the show ON the featured couple; even when they weren’t technically “together.” I think that made Chuck kind of boring at what should have been a key crossroads in the story.
        And yeah I do agree there was an important story there to tell about Chuck’s entry into that professional life, and a few potentially important issues were brought up. But overall it didn’t work.
        I usually point to the Charah problems as the biggest part of that failing. Certainly it was the most emotional part of that failing for me. But Chuck’s behavior (lying) and Shaw not really being well managed (a lengthy essay all by itself!) were all major problems with the season.

        For the next couple episodes we will give each their own posts, plus a finale “Alternatives and Epilogues” post. So a few posts yet to come!

    • Resaw you hit the nail on the head for me re. the hard think about this episode. I think I’ll save further comment for later.

  12. I’ve read the S3 posts, and I think your right, Dave. Aside from pacing, the biggest problem there was, I think, the lack of communication which, I think, you pointed out. I’ve been reading a lot of fanfic lately, and many authors get into how Prague and the Red Tests affected Chuck&Sarah. I don’t remember the comments re. particular episodes at the moment, but I’ve always wished that the characters would’ve talked more. That would’ve made that season, if not enjoyable, at least more bearable, I guess. No secrets, no lies a lot sooner, maybe?

    • atcDave says:

      Oh yeah, no secrets no lies was a great moment; and sooner would have been a good thing.
      You mentioned reading the S3 posts and ff; does that mean you also read the Alternatives posts? We sort of split into separate factions that season, and I know we sometimes get a little overly passionate in our perspectives (!), but we sure did cover this all in a lot more detail.

  13. I’ve glanced at the alt. posts a few times, but actually found fanfic on my own.
    I had mentioned how the alts get into Prague, etc. There’s at least one story I like, Sihlouette, that gets into Sarah’s development as a person. Part 3 of that one’s in the middle of Final Exam, and has Sarah worry about Chuck as a spy. There’s also one called The Silence Between the Words. This’s another Sarah-centered one set during Other Guy. In it, while at the Paris cafe, Sarah sees Chuck with his gun, and there’s mention of her wondering whether he’d be able to use deadly force.
    Have you read either of those?

  14. Sorry, to continue from my last. The stuff I noted in the fanfic is material that should’ve at least gotten a line or two on screen. You might agree, I think.

  15. Pingback: Episode of the Week: Chuck vs Bo (5.10) | Chuck This

Leave a Reply

