New Ventures

I just wanted to share a new project I’ve embarked on.  It is of no particular interest to this fandom, except to say I hope some of you are interested enough to check it out.  Its always good to hear from old friends…

I’m sure you’re all aware of my eclectic interests; especially related to military history, aviation, strategy gaming, and scale modeling.  After the jump, I’ll let you in on where this is heading.

The short answer is, I’m starting a new blog.  This should not impact Chuck This in any way.  Well apart from the fact this site is no longer as big a part of any of our lives as it once was.

But it started with my desire to do a photographic record of my models.   I was first thinking of purely personal documents, but more and more I thought putting something “out there” might be even more beneficial.  It would be easier to access from any computer, and easier to share with friends and family.  And hey, if anyone wants to discuss the stuff I’ve done, even better.  This won’t really be a “serious” scale modeling site like Hyperscale or Aircraft Resource Center, because I’m not really that serious a modeler.  But my love of history and aviation collides at scale models.

During the peak years of this blog my modeling really suffered, and I got very little done.  But one fun thing I did for the local Yankee Air Museum was the restoration of a 1/6 scale r/c P-38 Lightning.  The model was totaled in a flying accident several years ago, and the museum purchased the wreckage to convert it to a permanent static display.  A small number of us volunteered our time.  My favorite thing to do is painting, so I did some small part repairs, and all of the restored painting.

IMG_0031

No, I did not do the 1/1 scale F-4 in the background!

I hope to see some familiar names at Plane Dave!

 

About atcDave

I'm 53 years old and live in Ypsilanti, Michigan. I'm happily married to Jodie. I've been an air traffic controller for 30 years; grew up in the Chicago area, and am still a fanatic for pizza and the Chicago Bears. My main interest is military history, and my related hobbies include scale model building and strategy games.
This entry was posted in Off Topic, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to New Ventures

  1. anthropocene says:

    Best of luck with the new blog, Dave. Now if it were trains instead of planes…. 😉

    • atcDave says:

      Yeah I have a feeling its not going to quite appeal to most folks here. But its fun for me. If anyone else gets anything at all out of it I’ll call it a win.

      • duckman says:

        A close friend scale models rc planes and vintage drag cars, he’s pretty hard core. I have zero ability but more than a passing interest in what you guys can do. I’ll follow along and watch…

      • atcDave says:

        I’m completely happy to have friends along for the ride.

  2. macnab13 says:

    Planes. I like planes. Big planes, little planes, planes I can admire, planes I can fly.

    See,ya, mother earth. Gone flyin’.

  3. FSL says:

    I admire your talents. I can’t really paint. I always admire people who can paint, or even weather scale models.

  4. thinkling says:

    Congrats, Dave. I know how much you enjoy this. I’m glad you’re going to document it all on your blog. I’ll be watching.

  5. Justin says:

    When I read New Ventures, planes were the last thing I thought they were going to involve. But it can’t be about Chuck all the time.

    • atcDave says:

      There’s no easy way to put it. But I have other interests. I had hoped it wouldn’t come out this way…

      • Justin says:

        I’m sorry it took me so long to post you a response. There was an issue preventing me posting any comments or posts on this site that was plaguing me for a while. I realized today that it has been fixed somehow. I wanted to comment on your Complete Alternatives post.

      • atcDave says:

        Oh please do Justin! You’ve always had fun stuff to contribute. And there’s no expiration date on when you can comment!

      • Justin says:

        Ok. I’ll do that very soon. Keep an eye out.

      • Justin says:

        Hey, atcDave, I tried. I really did. But none of what I came up with felt good enough to me. They all pales in comparison to my creation of AU Chuck Season 3 and Season 4.

      • atcDave says:

        Oh not a problem Justin. Much as I love a lot of early fan fiction I never feel any urgency with it. The show got off to such a strong start, and apart from saying I wish they’d spent more time on certain things, there isn’t much that I think needs to be tinkered with.

        And I do appreciate how much fun we had with your particular AU; a Chuck This exclusive!

      • Justin says:

        It means a lot to me that you call my AU that.

Leave a Reply

