Episode of the Week: Chuck vs The Sizzling Shrimp (1.05)

NBC Synopsis: MORAL STIR-FRY?– Chuck (Zachary Levi) faces his first moral dilemma as a spy. When agents Sarah (Yvonne Strahovski) and Casey (Adam Baldwin) refuse to help an unauthorized mission that is taking place in Chinatown by a top Chinese spy, Chuck is faced with a tough decision. Either go against the U.S. government and his friends, or do what he believes is right? Meanwhile, Morgan (Joshua Gomez) is caught in a dilemma of his own when Buy More forces him into a sales competition that could cost him his job.

Chuck This Ranking63
Dave’s Ranking: A bit higher, in the 50s.

Full Write Ups: Chuck vs The Sizzling Shrimp (1.05) by Dave, Joe and Thinkling

About atcDave

I'm 53 years old and live in Ypsilanti, Michigan. I'm happily married to Jodie. I've been an air traffic controller for 30 years; grew up in the Chicago area, and am still a fanatic for pizza and the Chicago Bears. My main interest is military history, and my related hobbies include scale model building and strategy games.
This entry was posted in Re-watch, Season 1. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Episode of the Week: Chuck vs The Sizzling Shrimp (1.05)

  1. aalleess says:

    Spot 63? Well, this episode is full of Morgan. I guess that’s the reason for such a low rating. I would rate it higher.

    • atcDave says:

      It may just be that its unremarkable. Chuck was such a strong show, out of 91 episodes I enjoyed more than 80 of them to one degree or another. I really can’t specifically rank most episodes precisely. I’m pretty sure by the time we get through this re-watch my ratings won’t make much sense at all. Just remember, I have 32 episodes on my top ten list…

    • noblz says:

      For me its a 60-65 level episode. But even then its very good. Average on Chuck is better than almost anything on television today. The best part of this is Sarah and Casey getting caught and Chuck’s rescue, followed by Sarah becoming a part of “Mother’s Day”. Very good!

      atcDave- I feel inadequate, I only have 28 episodes in my top 10.

  2. oldresorter says:

    Dave I liked this ep alot. I’d struggle with rating any of these higher or lower. They are all great. I’ve taken to power watching Chuck, for the first time in years, I’m in s4 now. After having not watched for a while, it is fresh and new. I’d recommend others who have given up to give it a try, I am cheating a bit, as I skipped the 2 cole eps, all of s3 except RM and Honeymooners, and I plan on stoppinig at Baby, with skipping the Shaw XMAS from hell ep too.

    The continuity of going around the Cole eps is 100% OK, and skipping from Ring to Honeymooners or RM to Anniversay is painless too, I mean, the things that don’t add up, it isn’t like I don’t know them.

    I plan for now to watch the misery eps all at once, cole, Shaw, then s5’s unhappy final arc once I get done enjoying the happy part of the show. So far, this has been great for me. Lying Chuck isn’t near so annoying if you skip the end of S3. In many ways, Chuck has not trusted and lied to Sarah most of s1 and s2 too, by choice, without batting an eye. Ellie and Morgan too, although he usually feels bad about that in the moment. Usually when he lies to Sarah, he pays some consequence of some sort or another later in the show.

    Watching Sizzling S, that’s the overriding theme that struck me, how much I liked Ellie with Morgan, now that Ellie has started liking Morgan, and how old Chuck lying to Ellie is getting. Its hard to imagine, this will go on for four seasons! They should have brought her in sooner, and used her more. Sarah Lancaster is a tremendous actress, and has tremendous chemistry with Morgan, with Devon, with the ‘herders’, with Sarah, and with Chuck.

    I like seeing Casey and Sarah on missions together, with Chuck in the car almost as much as Chuck and Sarah on missions together, with Casey in the room.

    also, on rewatch, it was amazing how ‘happy’ Sarah was in the first part of the show, in the Buymore and on the date with Chuck and Morgan, and at the end when she got invited to Ellies for dinner.

    • atcDave says:

      Some great observations OR. No doubt I skip episodes too on my re-watches. I like the way the lying to Ellie played out through S3, but certainly afterwards it was silly. I do like that Chuck never really got away with lying to Sarah; but I’ll always dislike that he ever even tried.
      I do agree about Ellie’s chemistry with the cast; it makes her underuse in S4 that much more frustrating, and Ellie/Sarah in particular is a relationship I’ll always wish we’d seen more of. Great point about how happy Sarah is in much of this episode, that’s likely a big part of why I rank it a little more highly.

    • Wilf says:

      Interesting plan for watching episodes OR. However, that means that after watching all the nice ones, you leave yourself with an unpunctuated run of stressful episodes and I don’t think I could follow you on that strategy. I’ve been watching around 5 episodes a week (give or take) for the past three weeks and think I am just going to brave it through all those in their proper sequence.

      • oldresorter says:

        wilf I’ll let you know what I think when I get that far. Its funny though, once I eliminated the ones that feel (funny I didn’t use the past tense when I wrote it – i.e. felt) ‘really’ bad, the rest of the little bad stuff is no big deal, none at all. I have found each and every episode near perfect. I loved s1, s2 more, so I thought maybe I’d find s4 less good, since it was my fav first times thru. Now in the begginning of it, I find s4 even better.

        I was going to not watch the bad at all, but I’m curious how watching those eps will feel. Maybe they won’t feel bad either. Also, when watching all the ones I don’t like at once, I’m curious how they will feel relative to each other. Remember, I have not watched an ep (more or less) since the final two episodes ruined my Chuck experience, until just a few weeks ago, so the show and the eps feel amazingly fresh and new! Loving it.

  3. anthropocene says:

    A little touch I enjoyed was when Sarah, after “grooming” Chuck in the courtyard outside his apartment (first example of this?), can’t resist playing with his hair a little bit….

    • atcDave says:

      She also did it in Wookiee. Although those episodes have switched air dates, so arguably this is the first instance!

      • anthropocene says:

        Of course, and I knew that all along! 😉

      • aalleess says:

        Switched air dates? Really? Any other examples of this?

      • atcDave says:

        Well the big one is Best Friend and Suburbs. And that’s the one we always fix the order of here on our re-watches, because they damaged the continuity with that switch!

      • aalleess says:

        Well, Suburbs include Valentines day, so switching dates makes sense. But why Wookie and Sizzling Shrimp?

      • atcDave says:

        I don’t know the story. And as both episodes are pretty episodic in nature it doesn’t seem to matter much. Although I think Morgan seems more comfortable with Sarah in Wookiee, while in Sizzling Shrimp he’s still questioning what her value is. Others have observed Sarah seems more settled after Mother’s Day, in Wookiee, than she was before. But that’s all vague stuff.

        Oh another involves how Best Friend was originally supposed to run before Third Dimension too. But apparently the availability of the 3-D cameras forced them to move up shooting Third Dimension, and delay Best Friend. But of course in this case the scripts were altered too, so we can’t really say the current order is “wrong”.

  4. DKD says:

    Like many of the early episodes, this establishes some important series mythology in the form of background about Chuck and Ellie’s parents. For hero’s journey focused fans like myself, they are already establishing a more active role for Chuck on the missions beyond being there to flash. Despite being told to stay in the car or van, we see that he’s manning the comms equipment in the van and being relied on to communicate intel he’s receiving to the field agents.

    Whether someone ranks this highly on entertainment value, it’s a key episode for series as a whole. It doesn’t pass the “if you skip it, you won’t miss anything important” test.

Leave a Reply

