Episode of the Week: Chuck vs The Imported Hard Salami (1.09)

NBC Synopsis: JEALOUSY ON WHEAT, HOLD THE MUSTARD; RACHEL BILSON GUEST-STARS — Chuck (Zachary Levi) starts dating Lou (Rachel Bilson, “The O.C.”), a sandwich-maker, and things seem to be going really well — which incites some jealousy on behalf of Chuck’s “ex-girlfriend,” Sarah (Yvonne Strahovski), since she may be discovering that her feelings for Chuck were not all just a cover. However, things seem to get complicated when Lou is discovered to be a part of a smuggling group. Meanwhile, Morgan (Joshua Gomez) starts developing a new relationship with an unlikely girl.

Chuck This Ranking: 24
Dave’s Ranking: Much lower. In the 60s.

Full Write Ups: Chuck vs The Imported Hard Salami (1.09) by Dave, Ernie and Joe.

Other Write Ups: Reader’s Digest Re-Watch: The Arc of Truth by Ernie.

About atcDave

I'm 53 years old and live in Ypsilanti, Michigan. I'm happily married to Jodie. I've been an air traffic controller for 30 years; grew up in the Chicago area, and am still a fanatic for pizza and the Chicago Bears. My main interest is military history, and my related hobbies include scale model building and strategy games.
This entry was posted in Re-watch, Season 1. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Episode of the Week: Chuck vs The Imported Hard Salami (1.09)

  1. resaw says:

    I continue to rank this episode quite highly although I am reluctant to assign a number to that ranking. It’s an important episode because: 1. it highlights that the tension between his personal life and his spy life extends to the most intimate corners of his life; 2. Sarah’s behaviour even before the kiss shows how much she has fallen for Chuck. I like how, in the trunk of the car, she asks, “Who’s jealous now?” which suggests that she recognizes that she was behaving jealously; 3. Bryce Larkin is alive! The man who started it all, the link between Chuck and the Intersect, between Chuck and Sarah, the “nemesis,” as the next episode is titled, is such an important character to the Chuck story that his reappearance alone makes this significant, in my estimation at least; and then there’s, 4. The KISS!

    • thinkling says:

      I agree with all of that Resaw. Especially #4 and also #2, but mostly #4. Oh yeah, and did I mention #4!!

      It was a good episode for jealous Sarah, which was always fun … and greatly enhance by Yvonne’s amazing face.

      • anthropocene says:

        But speaking of faces…ya gotta love Chuck’s goggle eyes when Sarah grabs him and plants that first kiss!

  2. aalleess says:

    Is that Jeff calling me? I’LL BE RIGHT THERE, JEFF!

  3. Wilf says:

    Always liked their conversation at the beginning where Sarah says “… it is very common to perceive a connection where none exists …” and Chuck responds that he would like “… something less common like, I don’t know, a real relationship…”. And I never really fathomed out Sarah’s rather exaggerated tears immediately after that; were those real, or something for the watching crowd, perhaps?

    • atcDave says:

      I think it was performance, but likely a pretty easy performance as it involved embracing her own feelings.

      • resaw says:

        Layers beneath layers… Sarah the dumped girlfriend cries as performed by Sarah the spy as performed by Yvonne Strahovski the actress. The great thing is that we are engaged in the story. Sarah the spy sells it, but she is able to do so because Yvonne the actress has the most captivating and expressive face in television.

  4. noblz says:

    As I said before, I always watch Truth and IHS together they are great.

    I’ll go with resaw’s comments above but add the hilarious scene where Sarah scares the hell out of Lester and what immediately followed, when Sarah called out to Lou. Sarah was saccharine sweet smiling and telling Lou not to hurt him, then when Lou turned away the way that Sarah’s face morphed into something evil was great (Yvonne hit a home run with that scene with both Lester and Lou). In fact Yvonne is the stand out in both of these episodes, but especially in IHS. For me, this is where I think Sarah (Yvonne) began to stand out as a separate very critical part of the show. She held that till the end…er except during the much lamented S 3.0 where she became a prop.

    I loved Truth and IHS together, wasn’t a big fan of Nemesis. Chuck at its best.

    Now as a complete aside but since we’re talking about Truth and IHS some Chuck alumni news. Saw a deal on Hulu to “pre-premiere a premiere”. I watched a show called Forever starring Ioan Gruffyd (whom I really like). Well it appears the executive producer and writer of IHS is the executive producer/ show runner for Forever, our very own Matt Miller. Also the editor for Truth is the editor for at least the pilot (Matt Barber). I liked it.

    Mrs Dave pointed out a couple of things while watching it. 1) It has the same feel and light attitude of Castle and 2) not being too spoilery, but there is something that looks very much like a Chuck “Flash” in this show. Forever actually premiere’s on September 23 at 10/9c on ABC. Give it a look. It will be head to head with POI one of my current watched shows. I may have to make a call here.

    • atcDave says:

      “Forever” is definitely on our “to check out” list for this fall. So far, it’s the only thing that is!

      • mr2686 says:

        Forever is on my list as well. Some additional news about the show, Joel David Moore from Chuck vs The Couch Lock (and good friend of Zach’s) will be in the show, and…wait for it, Chris Fedak will be executive producer. I know that might not sit well with some of you, but I’m more than fine with it.

      • thinkling says:

        Sounds interesting. I’ll put it on my list. Sounds a little like New Amsterdam, which didn’t last long at all.

      • atcDave says:

        Yeah I saw that MR, believe me it gave me pause. But there is just painfully little of interest to me right now, so I still think I’ll give it a try.

      • noblz says:

        I didn’t see Fedak in the credits, but I could have missed it. I’m still watching even though I’m pretty sure Fedak had the bulk of the blame for 3.0 (I think Scwartz probably contributed the “get together in 13”, but an unsupervised Fedak gave us a mess of the other 12 while Schwartz was playing “Hart of Dixie”). Maybe he won’t cause too much trouble.

      • Ernie Davis says:

        I’d just correct one thing. If you want to see “unsupervised Fedak” look at season 4 and 5. Schwartz was still contractually involved as a supervising producer (even co-writing the season finale with Chris Fedak) in season 3, but his contractual obligation ended with season 3.

        Also Hart of Dixie premiered about a month before Chuck’s fifth season.

      • atcDave says:

        I strongly suspect its Schwartz I have the most problems with anyway. It may be that a Fedak managed show will work out well for me. At least I mean to give him a chance.

Leave a Reply

