Fan Fiction Time!

Yes its been a while since I’ve done this.  But its occurred to me in the last couple weeks that I’ve read some pretty good stories, that I haven’t mentioned here yet.

So after the jump, let’s get back to some good fan fiction.

Its been a big change this last couple months since our previous re-watch, and my own “Overview” series of posts finished up.  Chuck is clearly not as big a part of my life as it once was.  But I don’t think that will ever mean it has no part!  And I’ve continued reading those stories that catch my eye at fanfiction.net.

For this post I’ve got a mix of work by familiar writers and complete new names to me.  So let’s start with a well established writer on my favorites list.  I’ve mentioned a lot here by CostasTT.  He likes a lot of the same sort of things I like best about the show; a team of good friends, heroic characters who try to do right, and an emphasis on family themes.  His latest, “Chuck vs the Masquerade” is a complete AU that has Chuck recruited by the CIA because of his alarming resemblance to a wealthy international criminal, Hans Lichtenstein.  This story will involve many characters we know and love in different roles.  But a familiar part will be how quickly Chuck connects with his official handler, Sarah Walker.  Apparently the plot here is borrowed from a television show I’m not familiar with.  But it is well conceived and constructed.  The whole story is now complete, and would take a couple of afternoons to read. I would say its rated PG, and is fun and exciting in all the right places.

One of those odd coincidences that often seem to arise; two stories, by two writers I previously did not know, set off from a similar situation in show history and go AU in ways that are both similar and different.  Both are from the end of Chuck vs Tom Sawyer, and relate to Chuck learning about the kill order issued against him back in First Date.  This comes about in pretty different ways.  The first up is “What Would You Like?” by Stars90.  It begins with Chuck being personally congratulated by the President after averting World War III.  How things come out, and play out from there is entertaining and fun.  Its obvious this writer has thought about many of the same things we’ve discussed at this site many times, from kill orders to Red Tests.  This story is complete and could be read in less than a couple hours.  It would be rated PG.

The second story along this line is “Chuck Takes a Stand” by Nomadic Nerd.  The truth comes out quite differently here, which requires some different leveraging and maneuvering by Chuck.  This is also a wonderful appearance of our favorite Wildcard Enforcer here, suffice to say Sarah is not amused by what Chuck learns.  This story is not complete yet, and could currently be read in less than an hour.

The last piece I’ll bring up this time is by an author familiar to readers of this site.  Its “Chuck and Sarah” by ChuckFanatic21, who will be better known to readers here as “Josh”!  This is an epilogue story.  It is immediately about Sarah recovering her memories and reclaiming her life.  But its also about the future, and the career/business/family choices Chuck and Sarah will make together.  So far we have two hefty chapters up, that look like almost an hour a piece of reading.  Josh reports his next chapter is on the way, so hopefully this will update regularly.  And Josh has delivered something a lot of fun.  It looks like PG-13 sort of material to me.

About atcDave

I'm 53 years old and live in Ypsilanti, Michigan. I'm happily married to Jodie. I've been an air traffic controller for 30 years; grew up in the Chicago area, and am still a fanatic for pizza and the Chicago Bears. My main interest is military history, and my related hobbies include scale model building and strategy games.
This entry was posted in Fan Fiction. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Fan Fiction Time!

  1. Wow Dave thanks for the mention, ts very much appreciated:) Luckily I’ve got plenty of time on my hands while I wait for word on a job, I wasn’t expecting so much traffic either but it certainly helps keep me motivated especially because this story is off the top of my head.

    • atcDave says:

      I think staying fun and upbeat helps with the traffic too. You’re providing the sort of epilogue we all hoped for.

      • I was always partial to moments where everybody was together, like in Business Trip or Baby and S3 taught me a valuable lesson about giving people what they want!

  2. resaw says:

    If I haven’t mentioned it before, I strongly recommend people check out “Becoming” by Arya’s Prayers. I would describe it as deep dive into the person who we know as Sarah Walker. It’s not an Alternative Universe but rather an Alternative (Sarah’s) Point of View. It’s very detailed and I suppose that might scare off some people, but it’s unlike any other Chuck fanfic that I’ve read and I think it’s very much worth taking the time. Thanks to Marc Vun Kannon for pointing me toward this story when it first came out.

    • Neale says:

      Yeah, “Becoming” is an amazing layout of a rather believable Sarah character, the one you see mainly in the Chuckverse, but also about pre-Charah Sarah that she hates and we only see a few glimpses of (mainly in the Thailand segment)

    • Wilf says:

      “Becoming” is one of the most amazing Chuck fics I’ve read. It’s not so much a fic, as a hugely in-depth analysis of Sarah, her background and the reasons why she acts and operates as she does. As Russ says, it’s very detailed, and it really is fantastic.

  3. Dernik says:

    Sarah vs The Reconquista by Whiskeyflips is also a good story (still in progress) but deals really well with the Charah, Shaw series 3 canon. Very much worth a read

  4. noblz says:

    I haven’t seen it mentioned, but there is a nifty AU called “Chuck vs Hollywood” (not to be confused with an earlier one by the same name). This has some potential, I have enjoyed it so far.

  5. Cory says:

    Amazingly, Canadian Crow popped up after 5 1/2 years (understandably – read his A/N) and is picking up where he left off with “Hidden File Application”, the continuation of a trilogy that began with “Hidden File Command”. It’s a great season one AU series. He also just wrote a one shot that’s worth reading.

    • atcDave says:

      That is a pretty incredible break, and it’s awesome to have him back writing again!

      I’ve read and enjoyed a couple of his one-shots, now I’ll need to read his multi-chapter stuff.

    • I.need.to.change.my.name. says:

      Ah yes! Canadian Crow! When I saw his story in the archive, I immediatley went and read the first one. I think it’s really good. And I also agree about the oneshot ‘Fragile Balance’ it showed a different side of Devon and was a lovely short read.

  6. I.need.to.change.my.name. says:

    It’s nice to see that persons are still vested in Chuck fanfic. Observing the site over the past couple of days, I noticed the traffic has slowed down a bit. Nevertheless, I am thankful to the writers who sit down and type wonderful stories for us to enjoy.
    CostasTT’s story was wonderful as always, and very enjoyable to read. The conclusion was also very fitting. I’m very interseted in seeing how ‘Chuck Takes A Stand’ unravels as well.
    .
    On the fluffy side, or for those who like Charah having a family type of stories, I recommend ‘Chuck versus Their Future’ by cowgirlangel95 and ‘The Life She Only Dreamed Of’ by Barbadiangirl. The latter has made it a collection, rather than her original one-shot which was written for the Chuck-versary this year. My favourite chapter would probably be chpt 4- where she introduced, or is it reintroduced (?) us to Sarah’s grandmother whom we had seen in vs the Wedding Planner and gave us a bit of background as to how Sarah ended up with Jack.
    I think both writers are still in their teens, and the work they write is of a high quality and enjoyable despite that.

  7. Does anybody know what the distance was of the shot that Sarah couldn’t risk near the end of Break Up? I’m mentioning it Chapter 3 of my story…

    • atcDave says:

      I don’t remember a distance being mentioned, but it looked like 40-60 feet. A reasonably tough shot at a covered target. Especially if the shooter is still seeing double from a concussion…

      • Thanks a lot!! i’m close to finishing CH3 , typing with one finger is tedious and slow…this chapter will be the longest I’ve written though and I’m making sure its worth it!

      • atcDave says:

        I look forward to it Josh.

      • I.need.to.change.my.name. says:

        Gotta agree with Dave on this one. I even checked Chuck wiki and some other pages to see if it was mentioned, but they just said Sarah couldn’t make “the shot”. So I guess it’s up to your authorial inclination.

      • BDaddyDL says:

        Just a little info on this non shot. When I was in law enforcement many… many years ago I was considered a pretty good shot. I scored several perfect scores.
        At 60 ft 20 yards hitting 6 shots into a paper plate is considered a really great shot.
        Even on a perfect day hitting the bad guy would have had luck more than skill on his side

      • atcDave says:

        Thanks for weighing in bdaddy, that was helpful.

Leave a Reply

