Episode of the Week: Chuck vs The Nemesis (1.10)

NBC Synopsis: HE’S BACK! MATTHEW BOMER GUEST-STARS— It’s Thanksgiving and Chuck’s (Zachary Levi) nemesis, Bryce Larkin (guest star Matthew Bomer), returns after being ruled dead earlier in Chuck’s life. Secret internal committees trying to destroy the “intersect” — now better known as Chuck’s brain — saved Bryce in hopes he would be able to help them locate it. Bryce needs Chuck to help prove to Sarah (Yvonne Strahovski), Casey (Adam Baldwin) and the rest of the CIA that he is not a rogue agent. Upon seeing Bryce and Sarah back together, former lovers and partners, Chuck grows jealous and doubts any future with Sarah. Meanwhile, Buy More is prepping for the biggest shopping day of the year and Morgan (Joshua Gomez) is left in charge.

Chuck This Ranking40
Dave’s Ranking: A little lower, but not as much this time.

Full Write Ups:  Chuck vs The Nemesis (1.10) by Dave and Joe

Other Write Ups: Reader’s Digest Re-Watch: The Arc of Truth by Ernie

About atcDave

I'm 53 years old and live in Ypsilanti, Michigan. I'm happily married to Jodie. I've been an air traffic controller for 30 years; grew up in the Chicago area, and am still a fanatic for pizza and the Chicago Bears. My main interest is military history, and my related hobbies include scale model building and strategy games.
This entry was posted in Re-watch, Season 1. Bookmark the permalink.

51 Responses to Episode of the Week: Chuck vs The Nemesis (1.10)

  1. I.need.to.change.my.name. says:

    Ah, I enjoyed this episode. Glad you included those links as I had never read the reviews. The description of Bryce was quite eloquent. The analysis og the episodes were very thorough, so Kudos!
    And of course this episode had some good music, “No One’s Gonna Love You” by Band of Horses comes to mind. I loved the way the show chose music that went perfectly with the scenes.

  2. aalleess says:

    Just noticed Bryce called Sarah rusty in vs the Nemesis when she came into Chuck’s room while she called him rusty in vs the Break Up when they were dancing.

  3. Wilf says:

    Given that, in the final scene, Sarah was shown to be torn between Bryce and Chuck, one has to wonder what would have happened had Chuck not telephoned at that moment, since she seemed to be packed and ready to leave.

    • I.need.to.change.my.name. says:

      I think she did seem a bit hesitant to leave. What Bryce was offering her undoubtedly appealed to her at first, so that’s why she was already packed. But I think even if he hadn’t called, her mind would flood with memories of Chuck, and she would listen to her heart and realise she shouldn’t leave. The song they chose, “No One’s Gonna Love You” went perfectly with her internal battle. Because truthfully, Bryce would not love Sarah like Chuck did, nor would Sarah love Bryce like she did.
      Quite a few fanfics have explored her leaving with either Bryce or ‘he who shall not be named’. Most of them end up going in the direction of Chuck being broken and first before he pulls himself together and becomes the ultimate spy with the help of Casey. While Sarah realizes that her heart is still in Burbank with Chuck and she leaves whichever guy she is with to go back and fight to get Chuck.

    • Wilf says:

      I can go with that interpretation, thanks.

    • atcDave says:

      I don’t think there’s any way Sarah could have stayed away long. She knew Chuck needed her, and as she later admitted, she was already smitten.

    • uplink2 says:

      Interesting that you’ve mentioned “No One’s Gonna Love You” because that song choice has always confused me and still does. In many ways it can be interpreted based on the lyrics and the plot at that moment that it is Bryce saying it to her. But of course we know that is a lie and the person is in fact Chuck. Is it Bryce’s delusion? Is it Sarah’s internal torment? My current view is that it is in fact Bryce talking to her, pleading with her, that life with him is the best she can have and she should come with him. And Sarah’s choice depiction shows that she was very much tested. Yvonne once said that one thing she took away from season 1 Sarah was that she loved Bryce very much. Was it her love of Bryce still present or had Bryce’s betrayal of her forever altered her view of him? Had seeing what “normal” was and knowing at least instinctively that Chuck, if she let him, would “love her better ” and it scared her.

      I have never had a complete understanding of what that song choice meant. If it’s Bryce, it’s a lie. If it’s Chuck the back story of the song doesn’t fit. It it’s Sarah, does she even think she is capable of that kind of love? Many songs chosen fit the moment perfectly and I completely understand the image they are trying to present. But this one confused me a great deal and probably the only other one I have as much discomfort with is Rivers and Roads. I will never see that as a happy, positive and uplifting song at all.

      • atcDave says:

        Honestly I always saw it as both Chuck and Bryce, each professing their own love. And what each has to offer is unique. The issue for Sarah is, which sort of love does she want? Ultimately, I don’t find this song choice either interesting or illuminating.
        And of course I agree entirely on “Rivers and Roads”.

      • joe says:

        I love the question, Uplink. Honestly, I spent a lot of time wondering about that song’s meaning myself back then.

        I do think it was meant to be both Bryce’s theme and ambiguous at the same time. The creators seemed to like being ambiguous that way, you know. Perhaps we can also think of it as something Sarah might hear in her mind and wonder about. Is it Bryce’s song? Chuck’s song? The song she wants to hear either way? At this point, I don’t think she knows, and I’m pretty sure that the audience isn’t supposed to know for certain either. We’re two seasons away from hearing her say “yes” to Chuck’s question “Do you love me?”

        As for Rivers and Roads, I must say, the song and it’s meaning have really grown on me these past 2.5 years. I’m trying to figure out exactly why that is.

      • I.need.to.change.my.name. says:

        OK, first let me apologize in avance if my thoughts are a bit jumbled in my novice analysis of the song choice.
        Hmm, your questions are interesting.The song does have a high degree of desperation seeping through it.
        “When things start splitting at the seams and now
        The whole thing’s tumbling down
        Things start splitting at the seams and now
        If things start splitting at the seams and now,
        It’s tumbling down
        Hard”

        That verse does fit the Bryce/Sarah relationship and the betrayal. He was her partner and his actions (supposedly going rogue etc. did start the ‘splitting’ of their relationship. So yes, maybe Bryce is desperate for Sarah to return to him and wants her to believe that the life with him, the one she knows best is the right thing for her. But again, I do think he knew, or suspected or had a slight inclination that Sarah was beginning to have feelings for Chuck. Hence, there is still that memory of the relationship that hangs around like a “ghost.” “No one’s gonna love you more than I do” is his way of saying that even when things don’t work out, he would always have this place in your heart where he will forever love Sarah.

        And if we look at it from Chuck’s perspective. maybe the chorus suits him best. the chilling “But no one is ever gonna love you more than I do…No one’s gonna love you more than I do.” Chuck has fallen hard for Sarah, and she tries to mask her feelings for him. Add that to his apprehension? feelings of inferiotity? maybe, the word isn’t coming to me right now…but his knowledge of Bryce and Sarah being an item would cause him to fear the possibility of her leaving… His message to Sarah is straightforward, Bryce is not going to love you as intensely as I do….

        Onto Rivers and Roads…The lyrics do fit the plot…”And my family lives in a different state” (Ellie etc) and “All our friends will move away” (Casey). I think the underlying message was supposed to be that Chuck won’t give up on Sarah or their love for each other. the obstacles may be there and things might look bleak, but he will continue to fight. Hence the chanting of “Rivers and roads till I reach you.” They will do whatever it takes until they repair their relationship.

        I’ve downloaded quite a bit of music from the show and they have grown to be my favourites. Dave, here’s a suggestion: maybe we can do an analysis of the music on CHUCK. If that has been done before, can someone direct me to it please?

      • atcDave says:

        Joe has done several posts on music, it is something he is pretty passionate about. And if you do a category search (right column) you’ll see a music header that should take you to several relevant posts.
        As far as “Rivers and Roads” in particular goes, I talked about it some in my Finale post earlier this year, and several other readers weighed in as well. There’s never a final word, we like to think all our discussions here are on-going. But that would probably be the most in-depth I’ve done to date.

      • I.need.to.change.my.name. says:

        “One issue summed up discontent for many of us. The closing song “Rivers and Roads” is a melancholy song that struck many viewers as focusing on the struggles ahead, not the joy or the final triumph this episode seemed to be. So for everyone who has another thought for a great song, we look forward to hearing about it in comments! My own choice, probably my favorite love song, would be “I Will Be Here” by Steven Curtis Chapman. It was originally written as a song of God’s perfect love for his people, but a few years ago Steven Curtis Chapman re-recorded it as a love song for his wife. It’s no mistake the God of the Bible uses the love of man and wife as illustrative of his love for all of us. And I think this message of loving commitment and determination perfectly fits the end of the show.”

        Wow, I never saw it that way before, but I see where you are coming from. As for your song choice, I LOVE it!!!!!! That will definitely be added to my ITunes! So thanks for that.
        Your post was great and very thorough. I think I’ll remeber this especially: “Chris Fedak once challenged us with “do you quit reading a book at chapter seven?” (well I have Chris, if I didn’t like the book!)” That made me laugh. I would probably quit too. Heck, I’ve been known to stop earlier than that.
        Thanks for directing me to that article and to the others in the music category. 🙂

      • joe says:

        That’s a pretty good analysis, Change. And I definitely agree with the multiple perspectives way of looking at No One’s Gonna Love You. Mostly, I find the song hauntingly beautiful, pretty much the way I was seeing the Chuck and Sarah’s fragile relationship that winter of 2007. Sarah had been so controlled up to then, but all of a sudden she doesn’t seem to be so sure of herself. Chuck’s insecurities were overwhelming (you’re choice of the word ‘desperate’ is perfect). Bryce is exactly the person they need; he’s been Chuck’s best friend and he’s been Sarah’s partner. He’s also their worst nightmare in all sorts of ways.

        That’s pretty powerful stuff, all brought out by the music. Dave’s right – I am pretty passionate about it and the final word has not been written. Gee – someone (I wish I could remember who!) asked about songs that were “Chuck adjacent,” and I’ve been thinking about that since. Great term – Chuck adjacent. I’m almost ready to do a post on that, but I’m not sure I have quite enough yet.

      • I.need.to.change.my.name. says:

        Ou la la! Je l’attends avec impatience, Joe. Sorry, French dialogue from school just flooded my mind. But I do look forward to reading your latest musings. I never considered myself as “being into music” before, but I’ve found watching Chuck mostly, my genres have expanded and now, I’m really loving Band of Horses, Bon Iver etc. And I must say, it’s a nice change from the pop and calypso (not that I have anything against my island’s art form) that tends to flood the airwaves.

        And Dave, I’m glad I started visiting this site. You guys (and gals) are very thorough and do some wonderful analyses. I know what you mean about the songs that cause you to think about C&S, sometimes I’m just on YT and come across a song and I think to myself “Man, that suits Chuck and Sarah’s romance perfectly!”
        So thanks to you too for keeping the site up to date and continuing to let the Chuck tentacles stretch. 🙂

      • atcDave says:

        Change I sure do appreciate your comments and your enthusiasm for what we’ve been doing here! Thanks for that.
        And I’m really pleased if you like my song choice too. I think a few people weighed in with fun choices on that, there’s a lot of music out there that causes us to think of this favorite romance. I know its often on my mind.

      • Wilf says:

        Some great thoughts over these two songs, making it clearer what “No one’s gonna love you” might have meant. And Change hit the exact point for me on Rivers and Roads … it was just too melancholy to give me any sense of hope. A more upbeat hopeful song which still emphasised the struggle ahead would have been much better. One more reason why the finale sucked for me.

      • I.need.to.change.my.name. says:

        Yea, I was quoting Dave, hence ” “. Sorry for the mix up. Don’t sue me Dave, it wasn’t plagiarism. Lol. :p
        Well, I didn’t like the finale when I first watched it either, but the song grew on me somewhat.

      • atcDave says:

        I think Change actually liked the song though! He was quoting me from the 5.13 post.

      • atcDave says:

        No problem Change, we’ve seen much bigger misunderstandings than that!

      • uplink2 says:

        Great thoughts everyone as usual. I think that Joe probably hit my issue with No One’s Gonna Love You best for me. It is intentionally ambiguous. It is the writers and probably Tim Jones and the editors trying to make us think exactly that. Who does love you better Sarah? The betrayal by Bryce of both of them, Chuck’s ever present insecurities about Bryce Larkin, Sarah’s total ignorance of what true love is and means. All of it is designed to get us the viewer to look at their situations and hopefully see that “Sorry Bryce, you’re wrong. What you offer is incomplete, and ultimately unsatisfying.” There is no sense that given the same situation again that Bryce learned his lesson and wouldn’t betray either of them again. In fact we kind of see that when he returns in season 2. Bryce knew that the chip they were pursuing was an Intersect update and he betrayed both Chuck and Sarah by lying to them about it. He forced this life on Chuck without his knowledge once more and in so doing manipulated Chuck into giving up on Sarah so he could have her. He betrayed Sarah by lying to her about his motives and taking away her chance at happiness because he saw that she might love Chuck enough to leave the agency and him if Chuck was no longer the Intersect. Chuck meant more to her than he did and he couldn’t let that happen. What he is saying with this song is that this is the best she can ever have and its a lie, just like him. So the song choice makes us think and so in that regard it works even if the lyrics coming from Bryce’s mouth are a lie.

        We have discussed this before but this is the verse of Rivers and Roads I have the most issue with and it is why I don’t see that song as hopeful at all.

        Been talkin’ ’bout the way things change
        And my family lives in a different state
        If you don’t know what to make of this
        Then we will not relate
        So if you don’t know what to make of this
        Then we will not relate

        Then we will not relate. That creates in my mind the real strong possibility that Chuck and Sarah are doomed. That if she can’t come to terms with this change their life and their love is over. And nothing the writers nor the showrunners did eliminates that possibility as clearly as their backpedaling or if some are more comfortable with this term, their explanations after the finale aired seemed to try and show. The melancholy tone of the song and that lyric in particular damage that moment and make it even more painful for me. I do believe that Chuck and Sarah find happiness again but I believe that because I want to believe it not because that final moment showed it leaving no doubt because it didn’t. Rivers and Roads tells me there is a great deal of doubt about what happens next.

      • carrol.chuck.fan says:

        I am a very new fan of Chuck, having recently discovered the show on Netflix. I watched all 5 seasons in a couple of months over the summer and was surprised by how much l fell in love with the show and the evolving relationship between Chuck and Sarah. I then discovered your site and have thoroughly enjoyed your comments and analysis, especially on the finale of the show, which had left me with a melancholy feeling rather than the usual joy I felt after watching most of the other episodes. I have watched Chuck vs. the Goodbye a couple of additional times after reading thinkling’s post on how she sees Chuck and Sarah’s plans throughout Season 5 as the real epilogue to the show. That has been very helpful. In that light, I was thinking about the song Rivers and Roads at the end of the show. I know quite a few folks find it depressing as it seems to imply that Chuck and Sarah have a lot of work to do before they can truly restore their relationship and their marriage. I wonder, though, if it could also be referring to the hardships they have already been through to be together, i.e. Bryce, Lou, all of Season 2, spy training, Shaw/the “misery arc,” rescuing Chuck from the Belgian, Sarah undercover with Volkoff, Sarah being poisoned right before their wedding, and finally Sarah’s memory loss and partial recovery when they meet again on the beach at the end. There are a lot of roads they have already traveled to be together – maybe this is just the final one before they reach their dream house with the red door. I guess the creator of the show said the finale was supposed to be a kind of recap of the whole show and Chuck and Sarah’s journey. So, perhaps Rivers and Roads is also a type of recap of how far they have come and is meant to give us hope that they are just about there. At least, until the next mission.

      • I.need.to.change.my.name. says:

        Like Dave said, welcome Carrol! 🙂
        I’m loving the discussion on this post, and this sort of discussion where fans can dissect almost very minuscule aspect of the show is why I like this site so much. Taking the song as a references to their tumultuous past works too.
        “If music be the food of love, play on.”~ Osino (T.N)

      • I.need.to.change.my.name. says:

        **Duke Orsino

      • atcDave says:

        Hey Carrol, welcome to the site! And you took the words right of my mouth.

        I was going to say, the only peace I can make with that song is to put it in the past tense. If it’s the story of all that they’ve overcome, it becomes a lot more tolerable. Now I think its obvious that’s not the original intent of the song, but that is a common pitfall in using music that isn’t actually original for the show anyway. There’s often little disconnects. And if all I have to do is make an assumption about the tense of the last song to enjoy the ending a lot more; well I’m way ahead of where I am in dealing with S3!

      • uplink2 says:

        Carrol, first of all welcome and glad you are part of the Chuck family. The point you bring up about Rivers and Roads is a good one. Is it historical or is it a prelude? That kind of ambiguity works well in an episode like the one this thread is about where we don’t know so many many things and we are dying to learn as much as we can about all of these characters and their past and future. That’s why I guess No One Love You Better works at that point in their story. But for me at least that kind of ambiguity does not work at all as a series finale. All I wanted to know at that moment was will Chuck and Sarah be ok and will she get her memories back because for me what is the point of doing a rewatch of the series if the most important character to me remembers none or very little of it? For me at least this show became more about Sarah than anyone else very early on. I love Chuck, well except for season 3 Chuck in particular, but the show took a quantum leap for me because of Sarah Walker, not Chuck Bartowski. The ambiguity of her story has tempered my desire and enjoyment of my up until that moment favorite show and characters ever. If forcing myself to look at the song as historical is the only way I can enjoy it then it fails for me. As prelude it’s simply too melancholy and leaves the very large door of a doomed relationship open for me to escape.

      • carrol.chuck.fan says:

        Thanks for the very kind welcome from everyone! I have to agree that the finale ended on a more ambiguous note than I would have hoped for. As several folks on this site have commented, I would have been much happier with just a few more seconds to allow a “Take me home, Chuck” or for Sarah to embrace Chuck. Of course, I would have been even happier to see absolutely clearly that her memories are restored and that Sarah Bartowski has returned. This was such a happy show that I really believe it deserved a soundly joyful ending. My thoughts on Rivers and Roads were probably part of my way of trying to reconcile myself to the finale and its ambiguity. I do think the lyrics, combined with the way the episode tried to reflect, however imperfectly, the entire story of the series and the Chuck/Sarah relationship, can fit fairly well with the road they have traveled as well as the, hopefully short, journey ahead. These characters really got under my skin, maybe more so from watching the show in such a compressed period. They just deserve their happy ending, so I am willing to find a way to believe they have it.

        And atcDave, I am with you on Season 3. I had the luxury of skipping ahead to see how they finally got together when I was going crazy with the long, forced separation. And going back to fill in the episodes after that, I think I could enjoy the fun parts, and there were quite a few, a bit more knowing what was ahead. Still, what a missed story opportunity for that first half of Season 3. I do think the show would still be on had the writers/showrunners handled that period differently.

      • atcDave says:

        Carrol it’s always great to find another kindred spirit!

      • CaptMediocre says:

        Not that we can change it ….. but,

        “No One’s Gonna Love You” might be better more “hopeful” for the beach scene.

        While “Rivers & Roads” more appropriate for this ep.

      • atcDave says:

        Yeah good point.

  4. Unpacking Chuck says:

    The key, concluding scene of “Nemesis,” among the most artistically well-executed in Season 1, places the episode in my top 25, possibly 20. At first glance, it seems as if Sarah, dressed and packed with her passport prominent on the bed, is eager to leave on her next lark with Bryce. However, the deeper internal conflict is evident not only in her positioning at the far end of the room away from the phone she expects to ring (and seemingly moves towards only after 4 rings), but also her pensive gaze over the L.A. skyline, which she will call “the only place that felt like home” in Season 3. When the phone does ring, her expression becomes strained.

    On a more subtle figurative level, the phantom reflection of her face in the window reprises the same reflection inserted into the shower/fight scene in “Wookiee”, a scene that also highlights the battle between her fear of leaving the itinerate spy existence and her emerging feelings for Chuck tied to the latent dream of a future normal life and home. Meanwhile, the musical lyrics precisely link the frames of Bryce Larkin calling from the airport with “the ever-living ghost of what once was,” the frames of Chuck with “no one’s ever gonna love you more than I do,” and the frames of Sarah to “the whole thing’s tumbling down hard.” The scene ends with an hard-swallowing Sarah looking up from Chuck’s face on the vibrating cell phone and forward, not back again at the ringing land line (Bryce). This foreshadows the dynamic when Bryce returns in Season 2.

    The morning-after scene in “Crown Vic” will follow up with additional imagery figuring Sarah’s slow awakening to her feelings for Chuck, but that’s a topic for next week.

  5. Ellen says:

    I literally just re watched this episode this morning!!!! I loved it but then again every single episode of Chuck is amazing and I LOVE them all 🙂 Zachary and Yvonne have some of the best on screen chemistry I have ever seen and although bryce gets in the way of chuck and sarah, matt bomber was well suited/chosen for that role :):)

  6. great episode…I honestly think Sarah’s “internal struggle starts as early as the end of wookie…thats actually one of my favorite scenes of the series and when i knew Yvonne was something special…the stuff at Buy More is my favorite part of this episode!

  7. I’ve been watching CHUCK’S distant relative Burn Notice, I’m on S2 and enjoying it a lot!

    • atcDave says:

      I loved the early seasons of Burn Notice. But it does get progressively darker. I would never choose to watch the final season again.

    • carrol.chuck.fan says:

      I was thinking of checking out Burn Notice, but was worried it would get dark. For those who have seen it, is there a good point at which to stop watching that one? Or is it not worth it to start?

      • atcDave says:

        I think the first three or four seasons are terrific. Although they all end “cliff hangery”, so there isn’t a real convenient stopping point. But I do think S2 was the clear high point of the series.
        The last two seasons were really too dark for my taste. But ***BIG SPOILER*** it all ends in a nice “happy” spot. But that last season… Well, it would be like if Chuck ended at Season Three; “The Other Guy”. You have a long, mostly depressing arc, where everything just suddenly works out all right in the end. Just not my idea of fun.

        I want a show to be “journey” AND “destination”. A significant failure for either can ruin the whole show.

      • garnetflintIt is possibly says:

        I really agree with Dave. Our family watched Burn Notice and really enjoyed the first couple of seasons. By the final season they had changed Michael’s character so much that, although it ends in a “happy shot”, our family was wondering why we had subjected ourselves to a season of character assassination and torture for a few seconds of “feel good” warmth. It didn’t come close to making up for the preceeding episodes. Not to mention that what happened to a supporting character or two was even worse ( I won’t spoil it further by saying what or who)!

      • atcDave says:

        My wife quit watching the last season. I would have too if I hadn’t known it was the last season.

  8. ChuckFanForever says:

    I’ve always like this song “No I’ve Never Seen Nothing Like You” by Nate Highfield as seen in this video for the finale:

    • I think its a lot more difficult to pick the song for a final scene then we realize. I know several people have mentioned ‘No one’s gonna love you” and I don’t see how that works for people, the melody doesn’t fit the location or the overall mood of scene at all and the lyrics are as depressing as you can get.

      I have thought about this quite a bit recently and several songs come to mind as alternatives (for me anyway) but they all have an issue: “Fix you” and “A Message” by Coldplay have lyrics that match the situation perfectly but the melody goes; low, high and then finishes low on both…

      “The scientist” also by Coldplay matching melody and lyrics but is likely too sad for a lot of viewers…i guess R&R is a nice medium.

      • atcDave says:

        Except those who don’t care for Rivers and Roads find nothing “medium” about it. I would have prefered “Snoopy vs the Red Baron”…

      • anthropocene says:

        I thought “Fix You” was very appropriate for an imaginary post-finale Chuck and Sarah in the process of reconnection (the lyrics, written by Chris Martin specifically to console Gwyneth Paltrow, also seemed suggestive of Chuck reassuring Sarah that he would be there for her), and so I embedded that song in an early “season 6” fanfic scene set at Sarah’s dream house. The melody swells near the end and I envisioned that part backing an imaginary scene of Chuck carrying Sarah over the threshold.

      • atcDave says:

        Nice Anthro, I like it!

  9. resaw says:

    I hesitate (ever so slightly) to write this lest I be accused of a foot or shoe fetish, but in later seasons we often saw Sarah wearing ridiculously high heels. In season 1, her shoes were often more sensible and suitable for physical activity. I note that when she kicks off her shoes before entering Casey’s apartment (when Chuck notices Bryce turning on the lights), even those shoes appear to be flats, despite being rather “dressed up.”

    Anthony Ruivivar was a brief bright shining star of a villain as Tommy. When Bryce threatens to kill Chuck with the needle in the elevator, I love Tommy’s response: “I wouldn’t want you to just kill some random person….” Interesting tidbit: did anyone watch the quickly cancelled series in which Matt Bomer starred called Traveler? Anthony Ruivivar also played a character in that series.

    In these early episodes, Anna sure added a lot of “colour” to the show. Hers was a different sort of craziness than that of Jeff and Lester. Morgan accurately assessed her: “She scares the crap out of me.”

    • atcDave says:

      I’ll just guess they let Yvonne wear more practical footwear in the earlier seasons because she wasn’t close to Zach as much. By late S3, the six inch height difference was a bigger deal and the heals helped fix that. Although even in the Pilot, Sarah was wearing some pretty outrageous heals on a mission, so it’s not like it was a complete change.

      I loved early “crazy” Anna. She seemed to mellow a lot in S2.

      • uplink2 says:

        Funny thing about the shoes and the pilot, when she is running through the halls to get to the Stanfield reception she has on heeled boots but when she runs through the water she is wearing flat heeled boots. Damn that girl can change outfits fast lol.

        Also I think part of that might have bee that Bomer is not that tall compared to Zach and Adam. He is very close to Yvonne’s height so they kept her heels lower in those scenes.

  10. carrol.chuck.fan says:

    Funny that you are mentioning the shoes as I also noticed Sarah’s shoes change several times between scenes depending on the action required from her. When they went to Barstow in Colonel, for example, she was wearing high heeled boots and presumably took no luggage as they were on the run. Then, the next morning she is suddenly in flat boots for her fight with the various Fulcrum agents. The lack of continuity must have struck me at the time to remember it now.

    • atcDave says:

      They did the same thing in 5.12, she was wearing heals when they left for DARPA, but for her “short cut” action sequence she definitely was not.

Leave a Reply

