Fan Fiction!

Surprise, Surprise; I know its been a while, but I’m still reading at least a little fan fiction.  And I figure since its been quite a while, I could find a few things to recommend. Especially with another holiday season on us, there’s always some Chuck Christmas stories worth reading.

After the jump, a few new treats and recommendations.

The sad reality is, many of us seem to have moved on to other interests (any one check out planedave.net yet?).  Traffic and discussion at this site is way down.  But maybe we’re finding a new more relaxed pace?  Slower has never meant zero, and I’m sure I’m not the only here who still looks forward to checking in here to see if anyone has anything interesting to say.  Fan Fiction as similarly slowed down.  And a lot of what’s new has been much darker than I care for.  Very slim pickings. But like Chuck This; slim in fan fiction has not meant nothing.  So let me share a couple of my findings.

The main new story I’ve found is the latest by CostasTT.  This is “Chuck vs The Forgetful Spy“.  This front loads the amnesia into the story; Chuck first finds a badly injured Sarah washed ashore on the beach.  He gets her to the hospital where she recovers, but has no memory of who she is.  So far we’re only four chapters in, and its been pretty interesting as Chuck and Ellie have helped this stranger try to track down anything about who she was.  Those familiar with Costas will know he writes fast paced, fun adventures, usually with minimal angst.  He also faithfully updates ever Saturday and always finishes what he starts (!).  So the prognosis is good for a complete and fun adventure here.  Costas writing is usually PG-13.

I also should mention Costas did finish “Chuck vs the Masquerade” not too long ago.  I have previously recommended that story here and want to add only that it was fun to the end.

In that last post I also recommended “Chuck Takes a Stand” by Nomadic Nerd which has also continued to update.

Moving on to some Christmas stories I suppose the biggest news has to be a couple of updates this year on KateMcK’s terrific “It’s a Wonderful Cover Life“.  After only one update a year for a couple years she seems to have found some renewed passion, with three new chapters this year, including some fun and interesting twists.  I hope we see one or two more this month (!), but expect another couple years before this is finished.

On a similar note, Altonish posted a new chapter of “Another Stocking“.  This is not tagged complete yet, but it currently stops at a nice enough place.  Maybe that’s all we can ask for this year?

I’ll finish with a quick mention of my two favorite complete Christmas stories.  The first would be “Chuck vs a Grinch, Ground Rules and a Grand Marq” by Jagged1.  This is set way back in December of 2009, and assumes a more S2 sort of setting.  Its a good time, and fast, funny and sweet tale.

And absolutely don’t miss Mikki13’s  “A Chuckmas Carol“!  This is one of the very best stories ever written for this fandom.  Seriously, I even got my sister, who has never seen a single episode of Chuck to read this story;  and she liked it!  It is a mash up with A Christmas Carol (no surprises there!) that works very well.  It was also written that Christmas right before S3 started.  The mood of the fandom was dark then, and this story starts with a Scrooge-like Sarah in an appropriately dark place.  But this story is beautiful, inspiring and fun!  I challenge anyone to read it and not cry.  It may only be five chapters long, but it is pretty lengthy and packed five chapters, allow a couple hours to read it.

As its still early December I expect we’ll see a few more holiday pieces in the next few weeks.  I’ll post here if anything really catches my eye.

~ Dave 

About atcDave

I'm 53 years old and live in Ypsilanti, Michigan. I'm happily married to Jodie. I've been an air traffic controller for 30 years; grew up in the Chicago area, and am still a fanatic for pizza and the Chicago Bears. My main interest is military history, and my related hobbies include scale model building and strategy games.
This entry was posted in Fan Fiction. Bookmark the permalink.

51 Responses to Fan Fiction!

  1. duckman says:

    Thanks for continuing to do this Dave, I still check the site daily. I’ve gotten pretty lazy with the fanfic recently. I’ve kinda wandered off from several I was reading, and the others haven’t updated much. Coverlife and vs the end are the only new fics I’ve read in months. As lame as it sounds, I’ve been reading a little SOM every day from the ebook file on my ipad. I’m on my 5th read a little over a year, they’re currently in Salzburg. I just dig that fic for whatever reason. I’ll make it a point to check out some of these. Been itching to read permutations again too, that’s right up there for me. I sometimes wonder if Fedak is aware of how much people are playing with his characters, and what he would think of all of us who refuse to leave the sandbox.
    Oh yeah, I’ve been popping in on plane dave, I don’t have anything useful to say, but I like to stick my nose in there.

    • atcDave says:

      SoM is awesome, I still re-read it often too! I think our taste is similar enough you’ll like most of these. Especially check out Chuckmas Carol, I’d say it’s one of the top five FFs out there.
      It’s great to hear you’ve been by planedave too. It’s funny, I get hits but little discussion. It’s a different dynamic, and I get that; but it’s just so different from the chatty crew we have here!

  2. BDaddyDL says:

    I always read a chuckmas story, but I also don’t miss the Christmas surprise. Also in 09, it’s a fav. Remember brickroad’s Collide has a few good Christmas tales in it also.

  3. Wilf says:

    I still look at the FF site most days and there are some good fics ongoing there. Not necessarily the greatest, but full marks for sheer volume of output (oncer a day!) and exciting scenarios following the Finale, must go to Ronnie1958 for his stories, the latest of which, Chuck vs Electric Sheep, has just completed. His method of ending and completing story lines and then starting a new fic to continue the story, appeals to me rather than just continuing on a seemingly endless and monumentally long single fic.

    • atcDave says:

      Ronnie tells a fast paced and entertaining story. I finally dropped out when it seemed his version of Chuck and Sarah never learned their lessons about keeping secrets and lies with each other. I had considered trying to pick it up again, but at this point it’s pretty intimidating just how much, and fast he writes!

    • Wilf says:

      Yes, it is true about his version of Chuck and Sarah although I think they are learning, if paralysingly slowly! You’re right, it is intimidating how fast he turns out the chapters; if I go on holiday it’s almost too much to come back to!

  4. resaw says:

    “And a lot of what’s new has been much darker than I care for.” I assume you include “Becoming” by Arya’s Prayers” in the “darker than (you) care for” category, Dave.

    I just discovered “It’s a Wonderful Cover Life,” recently. I agree it’s a great story. Thanks for the other recommendations as well. I will keep these in reserve.

    • atcDave says:

      Yeah I remember having many discussions with AP at this site in the immediate aftermath of the show. She definitely has some good and insightful thoughts on Sarah’s character. But I’m really not that in to wallowing in it. Still, I have no doubt she is a good writer.
      Even so, I might eventually read what she’s come up with. Especially since I know so much of the ground work was laid here.
      I was thinking more of Charina and such. So much that heads off in tangents that are not my interest.

      • resaw says:

        Charina? Didn’t know that even existed, although fanfic has endless possibilities.

      • anthropocene says:

        Even on the show, Carina gave it her best shot!

      • atcDave says:

        Carina is fun when she fails spectacularly. But I’ll never understand how anyone finds her an appealing or plausible match for Chuck.

        But as Resaw said, the possibilities of fanfic are literally endless. I guess my own taste on the matter is fairly “conventional”. I always want the best for and from the characters I love.

      • uplink2 says:

        Gee, I wonder what fic you might be talking about Dave lol. Yea I think I’ve made my thoughts known on that score. 😉 I’ve had more than one person tell me they are reading more for the reviews than the story lol. But what I will never understand is why many writers who want to write about a different pairing like Charina feel they need to trash in a very mean spirited way, the Sarah character in particular to sell their pairing. If the pairing works you shouldn’t have to. I posted in my review of AP’s fantastic story a comment on writing I saw on Tumblr today. The main point is to “Respect the characters” . My take on virtually all other pairings many times is that the author doesn’t respect them and that is why their story fails. If a writer feels that a pairing of Chuck and Carina is something they are interested in, why do they have to disrespect and belittle Sarah to sell it? I just don’t get it. Tell your story and let the reader decide if it works or not. Don’t first make people hate one character to get folks to want a different pairing. Also write the characters consistently. Don’t make them bipolar just to fit the needs of your plot. Fedak tried that in season 3 and look where that got him lol.

        But there are some good things still out there. The rash of Netflix viewers has helped the hobby a bit. But the really well written stuff is a little thinner that it used to be but that is only natural for a show that has been off the air for almost 3 years now. And yes before anyone asks I will have another chapter of LL&L up before the end of the year.

      • atcDave says:

        My suspicion would always be that writers doing alternate pairings just really dislike Sarah! There always was a fraction of the fandom who didn’t seem to “get” her conflict of interest and blamed her for leading Chuck on. I don’t “get” how such viewers would have even stuck with the show! But almost from the very beginning there were a few who seemed to dislike her, some of them very strongly.
        I think most who disliked Chuck himself simply left pretty quickly; although a number of them may be responsible for the “macho Chuck” stories.

        And yeah, I’m one of those who never read the story, I was leery of the synopsis. But I read some reviews, and those are a hoot!

        I look forward to that next chapter Uplink!

      • uplink2 says:

        I agree. I think most, not all, do dislike Sarah and that is why they looked to write alternate pairings. I’m fine with that to a degree and fine with expanding the characters. But my issue with most is that they become hate fests on Sarah and then instead of expanding the characters, they change them. I’m fine with that too in a scenario like say APR’s AUs. I know what I’m getting into when I read his stories. The characters for the most part only share their names. Canon rarely applies there.

        Most of my concerns are in stories that break from canon at a certain point. Unless the writer tells us something specifically that is different from canon at the beginning then I as a reader assume that all of canon up until that point is valid. That the characters are as we knew them then. So with that being said I believe the writer is obliged to show me why they now act differently. Why they made different decisions and how that will manifest in the upcoming story. Again it goes back to respecting the characters as originally “drawn”. You can’t just say that it happened and then show us a completely different character going forward without showing us why they are different. Plus why anyone would ever want us to hate on Sarah Walker is beyond me lol.

      • BDaddyDL says:

        I once got a great lesson in relationship math from Frea. If you add or subtract something from the charachter it effects the others.

        I know I wanted Chuck to be in a certain mindset. It took a lot to get him there. If you don’t change the world he lives in how can you expect the charachter to change.

      • atcDave says:

        Yeah its all sort of interesting. I’m sure everyone knows Sarah was my favorite character, especially late in the series. So I just flat avoid stories that I know will trash on her. I’ve encountered a few stories where it didn’t become apparent until a couple chapters in, but usually its pretty obvious pretty fast.
        That’s not to say I expect a simple portrayal at all. Early in the series in particular, the girl had some issues! Some stories, like Sarah vs Green Bay dealt with her conflicting personal/professional issues nicely; or the much later Rome Assignment. But much as I liked and related to the early portrayal of Chuck; Sarah sorting through her various issues sort of defined the show for me. So making her look like an idiot for her struggle; or abandoning that story all together (as canon did for 12 episodes) is a sure way to turn me off cold. At that point, its not even “Chuck” to me, and I’m just not interested.

      • uplink2 says:

        @BDaddyDL I hope I’m reading that right but I agree if I’m understanding it correctly. To get a character to make a different decision something has to have changed that causes that changed behavior. So if you want to change their behavior you have to change something that affects them and that behavior. Something has to be added or subtracted from their universe to cause them to alter how they see it and react to it. If that was your/Frea’s point I agree and there in lies my point.

        Taking this to the extreme, if when Devon asks Ellie to marry her you as a writer want her to say no, you have to have changed something in her environment or universe that precipitated that changed behavior. You can’t simply say she said no with no explanation. You would have had to set her on a different path earlier to get a different outcome. Now you may not reveal that immediately but at some point you need to, to make that change work.

      • atcDave says:

        Eh, I don’t particularly agree with that. Maybe with the “with no explanation” part thrown in. But I think it’s fair game to explore “what ifs” just by looking at if a different decision had been made.
        Much like KateMcK’s “Common Spy Problem” hinges entirely on Chuck and Sarah loosing control in the shower. In cases where we know the characters were torn anyway, I think looking at if they’d made a different choice requires little explanation. The closer we thought they were to choosing differently in the first place, the less we need to fuss with alternate decisions. Obviously, if viewers never bought the decision as being close, it will require more effort to buy into a variation.
        Making too big a deal of this is just making up rules for their own sake.

      • atcDave says:

        I suppose I should add however, the real fun of exploring different options with choices is seeing how they play out across the whole setting. How one slightly different character choice could impact a variety of other characters or stories; and end up with a very different world.
        I am a big fan of alternative history. Looking at the “one little difference” sort of chain reactions. Especially when it highlights HOW IMPORTANT a particular decision or event was in the first place.

      • uplink2 says:

        Dave, I think for more minor decisions you are probably correct that no explanation is needed but for me if someone makes a major change in one’s life path with the exact same data I think at least some reason why is needed. Why many stories like this succeed say Fogh’s Rome Assignment is that very different decision was explained and in many ways the different decision is actually more plausible. Or at least the reaction to what led up to it. In say minirix’s Beautiful Mess it’s that Sarah leaves before Chuck get’s back from DC and we never hear from her for 3 years. So the Charina scenario is allowed to grow honestly without any bashing of Sarah. I think what got me here with this story and others like it, is that the reasons are never shown and the character is inconsistent with what we knew at the time. Hell in that story it’s inconsistent throughout the entire story from chapter to chapter and even paragraph to paragraph.

      • atcDave says:

        The whole “Beautiful Mess” scenario makes me so sick to my stomach I hardly care if its plausable! And of course that’s another whole side to the alternatives issue; I’ll make a whole lot more allowances for a variation that’s fun and entertaining than I will for one that’s depressing. I think among writers there’s a tendency to worry too much about what makes most sense sometimes, and they loose site of what’s edifying or entertaining. I have no use for “realistic” fictional misery. There’s enough of that in the real world. I’m an enthusuastic student of history, which often tends to be dark. If I’m going to spend time on fiction, its going to be fun or I’m not interested.

      • Wilf says:

        I’m with you on this particular fic, Uplink. It just doesn’t fit. Actually, Sarah deciding to leave chuck at the end of Nemesis, as it does, is not necessarily out of character given the situation at the time, but what follows is just not feasible, in my view, or accetable. I like your long reviews, though 😉

      • uplink2 says:

        Thanks, I do tend to get wordy sometimes and know I should avoid that but I can’t stop myself lol. I think what bothered me more for the first 20 chapters was how incredibly inconsistent every character was written. Chapter to chapter, paragraph to paragraph, even sentence to sentence you had no idea how these characters were going to react to anything. Plus all of them, Chuck, Sarah, Beckman, Graham and Carina are all so incredibly unlikable. Graham is a total bi-polar idiot and Beckman isn’t much better. The last 3 have just turned it into a cliche Sarah bashfest to try to justify Charina. The story has become such a train wreck but like a train wreck, I can’t look away lol.

      • atcDave says:

        I suppose I can understand having to watch the train wreck! Maybe that’s why I got a kick out of reading the reviews. But I really have no desire to find out for myself.

  5. The only fan fiction I’ve read so far that i’ve enjoyed is Angus Macnab’s work and that was at least a month prior to starting my own…I always had a starting point in mind but everything else has been completely off the top of my head.

    Charina sounds wrong on every level but I admire whoever had the guts to attempt that parring, I simply have no desire to write such a thing…I was inspired to write the future while staying in the present and once i got going the story started forming on it’s own and has since turned into a novel. Working 3 days a week since November has forced me to slow down quite a bit but I try to update at least once a month

    I find it hard to believe that there are writers that trash on Sarah…that just doesn’t seem writable (or readable) to me …I guess everyone has a mindset where the Chuckverse is concerned; i was always for a little bit of everything but it had to be believable and there are a ton a scenario’s i stay away from both while I write and when i read Fan Fiction. I can usually tell within a chapter or two if i like something.

    .

    • atcDave says:

      There is certainly a wide range of taste among fans, its not just fan fiction writers! But we’ve definitely seen fans both here and over at the NBC forums who were actually quite hostile towards Sarah. As I said, I don’t quite get how you would even continue to watch the show if you disliked the number two character so much (!); but it certainly happens.

  6. oldresorter says:

    A couple of fan fic questions for those with more experience. Has anyone stopped a story and rewrote it, because they were unhappy with their own work? Has that worked out, or are some stories not going to work out perfectly maybe a little bit like s3’s unhappy arc in Chuck, and the writer (in this case me) should finish it up and move on? A final ?, I have a story completely fresh and different that I’d like to tell, two of them actually, might getting off the snide on something new help? As an aside, I hope asking these question will motivate me to finish up my current unfinished story, that I had high hopes for, but for some reason (carelessness maybe, I have to say, all my other fan fics came remarkably easy) I went off half cocked in a direction I hadn’t originally intended. Any input would be appreciated.

    • atcDave says:

      I know a few writers have gone back and fixed/tweaked older works. I often like the result, but I would think it may have less readers than the first attempt. I’ve also seen many writers run multiple stories at the same time. I would imagine that’s a lot of work, but if working on one helps motivate for the other, what the heck…

    • Speaking as someone who’s writing on the fly, all i can suggest is write what you’re feeling and put everything else on the back burner. I have had to rewrite chapters but never an entire story; i never delete anything but instead cut it and save it to a separate document . Writing new is tricky but if you’re idea is fresh than give it a shot. Some people plan there writing i’m not that way but i do have to edit everything sometimes to an obsessive level and sure sometimes i have to scrap something completely but i’m still writing consistently…the most important thing is pleasing yourself and everything else will follow as a result of that:)

    • uplink2 says:

      Well I can tell you this from my experience. There are times I’ve hit a wall with my big story and moving on to write something else has helped. Something new that inspires me or just gets the juices flowing again. But there are times I just have to force myself to push through the block and when I do that most of the time I like the result a lot. Some of the best stuff I’ve written just seemed like I was simply typing the story someone was reading in my head and sometimes its when I’ve had to force myself to push through something. There is no pattern that works for me. But I’ll admit that its very tough sometimes to maintain the drive to finish. I have probably 4-5 chapters of LL&L to write to finally finish that story and they have been the toughest to push through and finish. Even though I hate, absolutely hate, abandoned stories I do kind of understand how it happens. I feel an obligation to finish that story, mainly for the readers who have stuck with it but also to respect the memory of my late pre-reader esardi. His passing has definitely stalled that story but I really want to finish it for him as well.

      As far as re-writing something I’ve never done it once it’s published. When I go back and read a story like Permutations I cringe at some of the mistakes I made with it. But it’s part of the learning process and I think it’s better to show growth as a writer, if you can, than to fix something once its out there. Believe me I’m not comparing myself to these guys by any stretch of the imagination but I try to focus on something that I think it was John Lennon said when asked about some of the mistakes in their early recordings. And let’s face it there are plenty of mistakes in their earlier recordings. But he said those didn’t bother him as long as they got the emotion and feel of the song right. For me my Permutations story is full of glaring writing mistakes and absolutely written by an amateur, but I think I got the emotion I was looking for almost perfect, at least for me. So I am very happy with that story.

      So you have to find what works for you. It’s all personal and all in how your mind and heart works. Only you can figure that out. But I will say that the greatest inspiration you can get in this hobby is reading those first few reviews. Nothing beats that feeling.

      • oldresorter says:

        thanks for all the comments Josh, Dave and Uplink. I’ve already written today, which I haven’t done much of in the past year or so, other than one brief spurt. i’m going with what I wrote and going to finish the story off as is, mistakes and all, then moving on to new stories.

      • atcDave says:

        I’ll look forward to that!

  7. noblz says:

    There is some real good fan fiction out there. In fact, I wish sometimes TPTB would have read more fan fiction.
    First, from fan fiction, when to put Chuck and Sarah together. One author, ersk4, has a couple of good stories from S2. Beguiling Behavior occurs after Break-up (and would have made a great actual episode) and Super Spy occurs after DeLorean (and would have made a great 2 or 3 episode arc). I would have been great with either of those.
    After Chuck and Sarah got together, I would have liked to have seen another fan fiction invention, namely the hilarious Adorable Psycho parody (the jealous nymphomaniac part not necessarily the homicidal part). I felt just having Sarah run off petite brunette customers until the General has to chastise her would have been fine, but ernie had a better idea of how to do this. Suppose Chuck and Sarah go to DC for a meeting. Of course all of the petite brunette analysts hear that the dreamy Agent Charles Carmichael is coming to town (remember Stanley Fitzroy) and corner Chuck in the hallway until the Giant Blonde Shemale arrives to scatter them. It would have been a hoot.
    The nymphomaniac part could have been done to be funny. Like having Chuck and Sarah arrive in Castle with Sarah as fresh as a daisy while Chuck is all disheveled and scuffed up, then Casey makes the mistake of asking Chuck about it and have Chuck begin to explain Sarah’s actions until Casey can’t take it anymore. Also, I really wanted to see Casey open the supply closet to find Chuck and Sarah using it in a very unauthorized fashion. Adam could have made that a great scene.
    Not necessarily from fan fiction, but I would have loved the Rene Russo/Clint Eastwood hotel scene from Line of Fire. It could have been made very funny. Also, in S5, if they had played Chuck vs Sarah in a lighter way like “Mr and Mrs Smith” I would have accepted it better than the attempt to go so dark as we approached the end. Didn’t really work for me the way they did it.

    • atcDave says:

      Wow, some great stuff there Dave! I think I agree with all of that.
      Ersk4 in particular has written many excellent stories for a mid to late S2 pairing that I think would have played very well. And although I’m not really a fan of taking the Adorable Psycho stuff too far, there’s no doubt that a jealous Sarah could have been a lot of fun.
      And of course I agree about the end. Everything needed a lighter touch, and more sure resolution.

      • noblz says:

        I always liked it lighter. To me, Chuck was a comedy with dramatic moments not a drama with comedic moments.

        They gave us little glimpses of the AP-Sarah (3.15, 4.02, 4.03, 4.12, 4.18, 5.06) but a few more would have been welcome.

  8. TJ says:

    Reposting this *with edits* since apparently saying anything negative about Adam Baldwin is not OK on this board.

    A bit late with this, but thanks for the Christmas fics recommendations, I do like Kate McK’s story a lot. Perhaps it’s finished by next Christmas?

    It seems to me that there just aren’t many good new Chuck stories these days. Steampunk Chuckster’s ConVerse story is one of the few reasons I still check out ff-net (I only read Chuck!Fic) these days.

    Really sad about Frea’s decision to abandon her “That Which is Greater” story before its conclusion (I really wanted to read all about the Incident), thanks to Adam Baldwin… *doing something*. I do hope she reconsiders, since while I agree that AB is *something special*, he never actually did what Frea thought he did (Mary Sue retracted the statements they made about AB).

    Oh well. Please keep on doing these fanfiction updates, I don’t think our tastes match 100%, but I do like reading them!

    • atcDave says:

      We’re just trying to avoid various personality or political disputes from taking over an entertainment themed site. We all have enough differences just with the show and setting itself, we don’t need to be finding new ones!

      It is too bad if Frea chose not to finish Greater; but I didn’t expect her to once she started writing professionally anyway. And last I knew that story was in a complete enough state anyway.
      No doubt the rate of FF production has slowed way down. I still find some fun new work (I LOVE Costas latest story!), but there’s just so much less to chose from it doesn’t surprise me that stories to my taste are even more uncommon than ever.
      “Wonderful Cover Life” is down to just a few chapters a year. I think Kate said 7 or 8 chapters to go? That may mean four years…

      And hey, there aren’t many readers whose taste matches mine exactly! But I figure my taste and opinions are pretty well known, so you can know what you’re getting with one of my recommendations. I figure eventually some writer will tell me they’d rather I kept my mouth shut…

    • thinkling says:

      We have a strong policy about keeping a person’s work separate from their person in critical comments. If you want to criticize his acting ability, that’s fine. It’s not fine to impugn his character or call him (or anyone else) a horrible person. We have zero tolerance for that sort of thing, and those comments will be deleted. We used to admonish — endlessly — now we just delete.

  9. Martin Traynor says:

    Dave,
    I’m loving the F you recommend, and I’ll be looking for another story soon. Have a link to that Costas story?

    • atcDave says:

      Let me see here, it is Chuck vs The Forgetful Spy. It’s a complete AU, so the amnesia is not related to the canon ending. It is eleven chapters in (maybe halfway?) and has been fun all the way. Costas pretty faithfully updates every week, and his stories are always pretty low angst and lots of fun.

  10. Martin Traynor says:

    That should read FF for fan fiction…

  11. Martin Traynor says:

    Sounds great. I have a few more chapters ( a dozen?) left with vs. the Sound of Music II, then I’m on it! Thanks!

    • atcDave says:

      I’m jealous! It’s a story that holds up very well on repeat too, but the first time is special!

      • I wish i had more time to read fan fiction! Work makes that extremely difficult…i honestly wasn’t expecting such positive reaction when i started my own and i’m surprised that I’ve written 7 chapters and powered through several cases of writers block.

        Dave do you have one on your list that is a personal favorite; I’ll give that a read!

      • atcDave says:

        Josh your story has been very good. I’m glad you’ve made the time to keep it going!

        There’s a lot that I really like. I expect to have another (reader requested!) Alternatives post up tonight. But I think my go to stories are
        1) favorite epilogue – “Sarah vs Finding Herself” by Thinkling
        2) favorite AU – “Chuck vs The Sound of Music” (and sequel!) by Quistie64
        3) favorite holiday story – “A Chuckmas Carol” by Mikki13

    • duckman says:

      Don’t fool yourself, Martin. You’ll be rereading sound of music (or as I’ve renamed it in my mind) “Rocky Mountain High”, shortly after finishing it. I think I went 3 weeks or so before starting again. Absolutely check out Caro Emerald when you get to that place in the story, She’s the YS of singers.
      Josh, there’s probably a link to your fic someplace, but it eludes me, would you mind posting one here?

  12. Martin Traynor says:

    I’m sure I’ll be re-reading everything I’ve read so far. I am just so in awe of the talent, and I’m really surprised at how much I like the AU Sound of Music stories! I also want to tackle Josh’s story,but I’m savoring every moment. You only get one first time, right?!

Leave a Reply

