Episode of the Week: Chuck vs The DeLorean (2.10)

NBC Synopsis: BLAST FROM THE PAST—GARY COLE GUEST STARS—Chuck (Zachary Levi) spies on Sarah (Yvonne Strahovski) and sees her on a date with an older man (guest star Gary Cole). Chuck frantically tries to warn Sarah after he has an Intersect flash, but she assures Chuck that she is not in danger and reveals the identity of the mystery man. Meanwhile, Anna (Julia Ling) wants to move into an apartment with Morgan (Joshua Gomez) forcing him to finally act like an adult. Awesome (Ryan McPartlin) offers to help Morgan pay for the apartment, but a relic from the past causes Morgan to lose focus on his new grown-up responsibilities.

Chuck This Ranking10
Dave’s Ranking: I agree

Full Write Up: Chuck vs The DeLorean (2.10) by Dave, Ernie and Joe
Delightful, Delovely, DeLorean by Joe
DeLorean: “The bigger the lie, the easier it is to believe” by Faith

About atcDave

I'm 53 years old and live in Ypsilanti, Michigan. I'm happily married to Jodie. I've been an air traffic controller for 30 years; grew up in the Chicago area, and am still a fanatic for pizza and the Chicago Bears. My main interest is military history, and my related hobbies include scale model building and strategy games.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

59 Responses to Episode of the Week: Chuck vs The DeLorean (2.10)

  1. oldresorter says:

    I rank DeLorean higher than maybe anyone here. If I’m in the right mood, I’d call the rank #2 behind only Honeymooners.

    What I loved about the episode, is I feel this is the episode where the writers state their case for Chuck’s worthiness as Sarah’s ‘real’ soulmate, using the most prejudiced POV possible to judge him in Jack Burton. Chuck passed with flying colors. I’m a sucker for happy endings, and this one was filled with three great scenes at the end, Jack and Sarah, Chuck and Jack, then Sarah and Chuck.

    After this ep, the tone of the series changes, as the trial turns to Chuck’s worthiness as Sarah’s ‘spy’ partner, instead of her real life one. Cole is introduced to show how inadequate Chuck is as a spy partner, the line when he tells Chuck to release him and give him the guns so he can save Sarah, portrays ‘spy’ Chuck as impotent, requiring a real man to save the love of his life. Shaw comes along in the next season in a seemingly never ending arc to carry this metaphor on even more overtly. In many ways, the show struggled with this ‘spy Chuck’ issue all the way to the end, using the interesect in so many different ways, portraying spy Chuck (and spy Chuck and Sarah the partners) in so many different ways, from a bafoon cartoonish spy loser to Bond cool, and everything in between, that I never could quite figure out what the writers were trying to say. But for one episode, the show stated the case for ‘real’ Chuck and Sarah as strongly as possible, perfect really. Thanks to the writers for Delorean!

    • CaptMediocre says:

      I agree, from day 1, Chuck was always a worthy “real life” partner for Sarah.

      The funny thing is when Chuck “became” a spy, he was made into essentially a carbon copy of Bryce, Cole and Shaw, and lost all / most of his unique specialness.

      • Martin Traynor says:

        “The funny thing is when Chuck “became” a spy, he was made into essentially a carbon copy of Bryce, Cole and Shaw, and lost all / most of his unique specialness.”

        What I saw was that Chuck the man changed when he became “Spy -Chuck,” and he grew into a competent spy, but I don’t think he ever became like those you mentioned above. Those others could be led to put others first, but Chuck LED everyone to put others first. I don’t think Chuck changed THAT much when he grew his spy wings. Sure he had more confidence, but he still needed Sarah to help him. He never got to the point, in my mind, where he was as physically capable as those others. Intellectually and emotionally he trumped them, but never physically. And it’s that fantastic combination of intellect and emotion that always kept Chuck unique to me.

      • atcDave says:

        I guess I’ll split the difference between you guys. I do think “spy Chuck” changed the character in ways that made him less appealing, less relatable. And they occasionally, irregularly, chose to play him as the buffoon. All of this is unfortunate, and I wish they’d kept him more like his early portrayal in many ways.
        But mostly it’s S3 that’s problematic, where Chuck behaves poorly towards Hannah, and Ellie and Sarah and his Dad with all his lies. Afterwards, they tried, and mostly succeeded in getting him back to the good guy who put people first. I think the ugly S3 left a stink, the character was permanently damaged in way. But otherwise, well he had to learn and grow and become more capable in the new world he was a part of. I wish they’d made him more of a mastermind and computer genius, and left the muscle work to Sarah and Casey. But they decided to give him the 2.0 as a super power. And I think that further removed him from anything I could relate to, and diminished Sarah and Casey in a way.

        I guess the bottom line to me is; S3 is the only period I have major problems with. But I probably would have done the later seasons a little differently too.

      • CaptMediocre says:

        But everyone kept saying “Chuck has to become a spy to be worthy of Sarah”. All I’m saying is that he was always worthy.

        As a spy Chuck was confident and emotional – sure. But the inherent sweetness of the guy who “noticed the little things” was no longer there.

        (In fact, Morgan became the guy who noticed the little things to the detriment of the Chuck character.)

      • atcDave says:

        Well yeah, that’s a big part of the S3 tragedy. It was no longer “the nerd gets the girl”. First the nerd had to become cool.
        I don’t believe that was ever the intent; I think it was meant to have more to do with Chuck finding direction and purpose, and realizing he still needed Sarah for it to mean anything. But it played out all wrong. Because Chuck had to prove himself to get her, it robbed the show and Sarah of something that had been very special.
        I do agree Morgan was later over used for sage advice, but I never felt that sunk to the sort of soul crushing stupidity that S3 did. And Morgan was wrong enough too, practice “no”, flakey self help books, and Disney princess movies all made Morgan out to be pretty inconsistent for any sort of wisdom. I’m fine with that, apart from generally wishing we’d seen a little less of him.

      • Justin says:

        I agree, atcDave. How they portrayed Chuck in part of S3 was disappointing for the most part. The 2.0 often felt like a gimmick which is why I had removed at the very beginning of my AU Season 4. Although, I sometimes wonder what could have been if Chuck had never downloaded it at the end of S2, if the Ring had succeeded in having taken it for themselves. Then S3 would have been Chuck, Sarah, and Casey in a race against time to stop the Ring’s nefarious use of the Intersect 2.0 and avenge the death of the fallen Bryce Larkin which the show failed to use as a personal motivation in the fight against the Ring.

      • atcDave says:

        Yeah Justin that definitely works better for me!

      • joe says:

        I have to get back to my old habit of saying “Great discussion.”
        I’ve probably said this before (“many times, many ways… Merry Christmas, to you…” – oops. Off topic. Sorry.) but it always seems to me that having Chuck become a poor copy of Bryce and Shaw (that is, a spy) was important, if cringeworthy. It sort of forces us to see Chuck through Sarah’s eyes, doesn’t it? It makes him something other than what we saw as clearly as Ellie in the pilot. It also makes Sarah’s rejection of Chuck throughout S3 almost understandable.

        Dave’s always been right that it’s not enjoyable. Watching Chuck become suave and debonair, if only temporarily, in First Date and again in the Jill arc was fun. Watching Chuck blow it like that in S3 was not.

        I see a saving grace, though. It’s in the way Sarah backs away so reluctantly, always looking back to see if “her Chuck” had returned at all. She hated seeing Chuck change this way as much as we did. It’s hard to bear, but Sarah’s pain does add a certain depth. Perhaps it’s a miss for most fans, but I understand why the story was written this way.

      • atcDave says:

        Oh I see the why, I just think it was a bad call.

  2. Martin Traynor says:

    I agree that once Chuck became the spy he wanted to be, that he changed, and I’ll go as far as to say he did become less special in later seasons than he was at the beginning, but I see the inherent Chuckness throughout.

    Even in Season 3, I see Chuck going off the rails as only an über nerd would. If you’re going to be a bear, be a grizzly. And Chuck, when he messed up, he messed up good.

    I abhor early season 3 for a plethora of reasons, but I think each of the characters were in character throughout – just the smaller, dumber, more thoughtless characters that we all have within us.

    I agree that there was manipulation of story and character to take our heroes to a place they neither should have been or deserved to go (and that goes for us the fans as well), but I could see how two people could get so lost, confused and mixed up, especially if there is any self-loathing involved.

    At one point I did like Chuck getting all the bells and whistles that came with the 2.0, but now I almost wish he never did get the upgrade ( Kung-fu). He was more relatable that way. And the Chuck of season 5 was pretty special in his own way, without any intersect. Like Casey said, “before the intersect you were smart.” And how!

    • atcDave says:

      The problem with S3 for me was never that I couldn’t believe anyone could be such an idiot, its that I had previously liked Chuck precisely because he was not that sort of idiot. So it was “out of character” in the sense I no longer liked a character I previously had liked very much. On a meta level I can appreciate that Chuck had to sink to rock bottom to discover what was truly important to him. The problem is I don’t watch meta. I really don’t care about such issues. Its a week to week deal, and I want to have fun when I tune in my favorite show.
      So Chuck had started as this sweet fantasy of the perfect nerd and the perfect hero finding each other, completing each other, and living happily ever after. But then it went off the rails by stripping both characters of their most admirable traits, and giving us a dark, twisted version of those characters. So honest, moral Chuck becomes an immoral liar; and strong faithful Sarah becomes this pathetic broken husk. Its not that none of that is believable drama; its that I have no interest in watching this on my favorite comedy.
      CF himself said they had created a new show on the skeleton of the old one. And that is exactly what I am grumpy about. I liked the old show, and I disliked the “new” one.

      Now as I’ve said many times, they fixed the problem. They reinvented once again and came up with a show for Dave (S4). Mostly. I’ll always resent the journey I despised and what it did to my (previously) much loved characters.

      But I think we’re in the same place with the 2.0. I never “hated” it as a story choice. I wish they’d focused more on Chuck the genius and never gave him super powers. But this is not a huge issue to me.

      • CaptMediocre says:

        It’s only believable drama if it is resolved.

      • atcDave says:

        Well it was never even well set up! It was just a jumble based on out of character behaviors and lack of communication.
        But I think that’s beside the point, it was just a different sort of show that I don’t want to watch.

      • anthropocene says:

        I would have liked to see the 2.0 work more in tandem with Chuck’s intellect and existing skill set: give him expertise in more fields, more languages (it would have been fun to see him conversing in different languages with Sarah); maybe enhance his skills as a hacker and problem-solver.
        They could have mined humor from a situation in which Chuck’s body (at least at first) couldn’t cash the checks that the 2.0 was writing. I can mischievously imagine a declassified scene right after the end of “Ring,” in which Sarah, exhilarated by Chuck’s heroics, hauls him off to bed to finish what they started in Barstow…except that after taking out all the bad guys, he’s now so sore he can barely move! S3 could have opened with an arc in which Sarah and Casey have to train Chuck to handle his new physical abilities. That would certainly have been more fun than the training Beckman was giving him in “Pink Slip.”

      • atcDave says:

        I love it Anthro! Fun idea.

      • authorguy says:

        I can’t agree that they ‘fixed the problem’. S4 was much worse than S3 ever was. S4 might have ‘fixed the problem’ if they’d restored the lighter Chuck while maintaining a good solid storyline, basically balanced out the darker story of S3. Instead they trashed the show, and threw a lot of plastic smiles and fake kisses at us, just as artificial as most of the angst ever was but no one complains about that. A kiss/hug/HEA that goes OOC is just as bad as any angst/triangle as far as I’m concerned. More so, really.

      • atcDave says:

        I know you feel that way Marc, but I completely disagree. I call S4 the best of the best. It was the show I’d been waiting for. Entertaining, exciting and satisfying. Few shows have ever risen to such heights.
        When I call Chuck my favorite show, it’s mostly about S2 and S4.

      • Wilf says:

        I very much enjoyed Season 4 and, for me too, it was probably the best season, that and Season 2, of course!

      • atcDave says:

        Wilf I’m glad to be in good company!

    • CaptMediocre says:

      I saw no self loathing in S3. But then when a character doesn’t speak, any interpretation is plausible.

      But getting back on track – Jack Burton episodes were some of the best of the series. There was more Sarah “growth” from his appearances than at any other time.

      • Martin Traynor says:

        Sorry. Just wanted to prove I, too, am not immune to Chuckwin’s law 🙂

        You know you’ve done something right when we want more of it , and I’ve always wanted more Jack Burton and Stephen Bartowski.

        I enjoyed the first of Jack ‘s appearances, but not nearly as much as his second. And like with Chuck’s family, I prefer the fathers to the mothers. Not sure why, but they seem to be deeper and more fun, better developed with so many more layers. I like both moms, but they do tend to come off as a bit flat.

        How about a family dinner with Jack trying to con ultra paranoid Stephen? What a hoot that could have been.

        Going off topic for a sec, in my mind, at some point Sarah’s mom talks to post memory-loss Sarah and tells her just how much she could tell just how much Sarah loved Chuck. Just a thought I wanted to share.

      • atcDave says:

        All five Sarah centered episodes were extraordinary!

      • atcDave says:

        I would have loved Jack and Stephen interacting! That would have been a hoot Martin!

        Quite a few of the post-series fan fics have featured Sarah and Emma discussions; its definitely fertile ground (look at “Finding Herself” by Thinkling or “The Long Road Home” by BillandBrick). No doubt the fact Sarah’s entire support network was on board with Chuck, even Carina, makes for an interesting scenario. Whatever doubts Sarah may have had, just talking to friends and family would affirm that she and Chuck were happy and good together.

      • joe says:

        Hear hear, Captn! I’ve seen Gary Cole much more since Jack Burton, and I’ve enjoyed his performances every time.

        I liked his character in S1 and S2 of The Good Wife.

      • Ernie Davis says:

        Self loathing may be overstating it, though it is canon that Chuck says he hated himself for who he was when he was stuck in the Buy More. There was certainly a lot of self-doubt however, and a lot of it was just an amped up (perhaps some feel too far) version of what we saw developed in season 2. Chuck felt inadequate and as if he’d never be worthy of Sarah and Sarah felt inadequate and unable to commit to Chuck. Chuck felt the need to prove himself without Sarah doing everything for him and Sarah wondered if her presence in Chuck’s life was good for him.

        There were a few other themes developed that they apparently felt the need to resolve. One being whether Sarah was in love with Chuck or the idea of Chuck. They resolved that by showing she was still in love with the version of Chuck HE wanted to be rather than her more innocent less ambitious idealized version of “her Chuck.”

  3. Martin Traynor says:

    Dave, I’m reading Thinkling’s piece now, and can only say, “WOW!” Only two chapters in and it reads very true to what I wanted to see.

    Loving it! Thanks.

  4. First, it’s Resaw aka Russ here. I’m signed in via my blog about my life with kidney disease. Feel free to click on the link and read some of the posts, if you wish.

    Dave, Ernie and Joe, I just re-read your reviews from two years ago. Great comments for a great episode.

    The one thing that I’ll highlight is the consolation visit Chuck brings to Sarah the morning following her father’s disappearance, with the money (or so they thought). Chuck, riffing off Sarah’s dad refers to himself as an “articulate schnook.” Sarah replies, “Lucky for me.” I like this. It says how much she recognizes the support that she gets from Chuck. To me, it speaks not only of that moment but of their relationship as it has developed to that point. I think it’s great that Sarah recognizes that she is more than just a protector/handler of Chuck.

  5. oldresorter says:

    I enjoyed Jack asking Chuck if Sarah was some sort of a cop. And also how at the end he identified Chuck as the real deal to his daughter, and visa versa. He went into the ep thinking sarah was still a grifter of some sort, and chuck some sort of rich mark, and called him a kid. So Jack changed his POV about Sarah and Chuck so much in 40 minutes of tv, yet the change felt earned by the story told. By the end, Jack recognized both Sarah and Chuck for who they really were, and it turned out, he approved of both, almost a 180 degree change. Other than the obvious shipper-rific story the ep told, the way Jack sold the story was epic.

    By the way, how can the Librarians afford the cast they assembled? They have Roan on there for goodness sakes, noah wilde off and on, Newhart a little, rebecca Romejin (lady from King and Maxwell), Christopher Stone (tough guy with the pony tail from Leverage, Elliot). I realize all those folks aren’t stars or anything, but several would be my choices, maybe after YS, AB or YS for just about any typical role you might cast. Not sure if the show will keep up with the concept, but as long as it stays fun and lite, I’m in.

    • atcDave says:

      I agree with all of that OR, so much fun to see Jack’s reaction to Chuck and Sarah, and how it changes.

    • noblz says:

      OR

      Jack is one of my top 5 recurring guest stars (along with Carina, Roane, Generalissimo Goya and Alexei Volkoff) and this is one of the very best Sarah episodes. Just damn good.

      As to the Librarians, it’s kind of like a Chuck reunion tour over there. We have seen, so far, Roane Montgomery, Robin Cunnings, Fatima Tazi and Alex Forest. I wonder who turns up next.

  6. Martin Traynor says:

    I see a lot of similarities between Chuck and the first Librarian movie especially. Flynn is Chuck (the super nerd), Nicole is Sarah (the super spy/protector), Judson is Casey, (saves day when needed/wise sage), and Charlene Is Gen. Beckmann (hard nosed but lovable authority).

    Haven’t seen the show yet but have them recorded. Hope they’re like the movies. Love those!

    • atcDave says:

      Yeah I enjoyed the movies too, and am planning on getting to the show. I completely agree the movies, especially the first, were quite Chuck-like. I think I may have to re-watch all of them…

  7. oldresorter says:

    I rate Delorean higher than most, I was trying to think of other episodes of Chuck that felt like Delorean to me, without giving it scientific thought, Role Models, Suitcase, Wedding Planner, Business Trip, and the epitome of a Chuck / Sarah adventure story, the Honeymooners came to mind. Real time, I could never understand how the TPTB couldn’t figure out how great the show was when written in that ‘funtastic’ way, years later, it’s pretty clear to me that we all loved something a little different about the show in different ways and times. I think that’s true of most all TV and fanbases, but Chuck seemed to amp up the intensity of the reactions, both positive and negative. DId I miss any ‘funrific’ Chuck and Sarah eps?

    • atcDave says:

      Yeah I completely agree it’s the fun Chuck/Sarah episodes that just MADE the series for me. Drama, not so much…
      I wish they’d just stuck with that fun, sweet mood. But as you said, so many of us were wanting completely different things. And the writers’ vision was clearly not mine. Oh well…

      • duckman says:

        It’s no secret that I’m not real big on drama in the first place, but I don’t avoid it either. The thing is this show never,ever, did drama well. It was a predictable cycle- waste 2 or 3 episodes poorly setting up a contrived situation, ignore any organic drama already there that would have worked well, to hell with having any fun. Then spend half an hour being “heroic”, and maybe 5 min. doing what the show was actually good at. It’s the 5 min. part that I sat through the rest waiting for.

      • atcDave says:

        I don’t completely agree, but I guess I don’t completely disagree either. I think especially in the first two seasons they drew some very good drama from Chuck’s being trapped, and Sarah’s conflict of interest. And even after, I thought they did very well with things like introducing Mary, or Sarah’s near death in Cliffhanger.
        But they did fail pretty badly on occasion too. Even in the first two seasons they took the miscommunication schtick too far, and they tried to draw drama from Chuck/Sarah angst LONG after it was more annoying than dramatic. And of course drawing drama from Chuck lying was, I think, a terrible decision; especially to Sarah and Stephen in S3 and Ellie in S4. That rang false and felt manipulative.
        In the broadest sense, if I could change one thing about the show, it would have been to play up Charah much earlier and more decisively. Certainly no more angst after S2; but even more, I would have used the pairing for role reversal and opposites attract type comedy. All while playing them up as a faithful, committed and happy couple in the midst of a sometimes dark and scary world. That was always my favorite theme of the show, and it was awesome when they went there in the last 2+ seasons. So I can only say “more of that!”

      • anthropocene says:

        “A faithful, committed, happy couple in the midst of a sometimes dark and scary world.” Perfect, Dave. They got there eventually, but it should have started with the first episode of S3.
        I would distinguish spy-world drama from interpersonal (often angst-driven) drama. I liked the darker, more sinister drama whenever it strengthened the bond between Chuck and Sarah, or caused Chuck, Sarah, or Casey to act cleverly or heroically. The bright moments wouldn’t have looked nearly as bright if there wasn’t the contrast. The spy world portrayed in “Chuck” almost certainly wasn’t realistic, but it could be gripping at times, and I always enjoyed that part of the show. The contrived OLIs and failures to communicate, any time after S2 and Barstow, were a different story all together. Those I could have done without.

      • authorguy says:

        Unfortunately it seems the first lesson in screenwriting school seems to be how to generate false angst, rather than how to understand the characters well enough to create genuine pathos. It’s painful watching smart people do stupid things.

      • atcDave says:

        Hey look at that! Anthro and AG and I all on about the same page! Very cool.

      • authorguy says:

        Saying S3 could have started better is like saying the sky is blue.

      • authorguy says:

        When you get abstract enough, everybody’s on the same page. It’s what you do about the specifics that causes trouble. I’m against contrivances of any sort, for good or bad. Pulling them apart when they’re obviously together is just as bad as keeping them together when they’re supposed to be apart.

      • joe says:

        Cool? Unprecedented, I’d say. Shocking, even. 😉
        Sometimes I miss the good ‘ol days when we could all disagree about everything, including the day of the week and color of the sky.

        NOT!

    • Justin says:

      I love the sound of that, atcDave. Maybe you have in mind could work if Chuck and Sarah had more clearly admitted their feelings to each other during S2 but realize that as long as Fulcrum is around and Chuck has the Intersect in his head, the relationship they desire to have with each other cannot be. So they work together to ensure the downfall of Fulcrum and the removal of the Intersect to fulfill their dream of being a real couple. They would keep their dream a secret from Beckman and a suspicious Casey. Maybe Sarah would have a hand in making out the Tron poster map with Chuck. The more I type about this, the more I like it. What do you think, atcDave?

      • atcDave says:

        I think that’s a great scenario Justin. Maybe a scene a little after Colonel where we see Chuck studying his TRON poster, and all the connections and roles; and then the camera pulls back and we see Sarah right over his shoulder, as she says “erase that line, I don’t think these two ever met, but add one for Vincent, somehow he ties back into the Ring…”
        Doesn’t have to be anything of huge significance, just to show they are completely in it together. That could have been so much fun…

      • authorguy says:

        That would have been a great scene, but I don’t think subtlety is exactly their forte, Dave.

      • anthropocene says:

        I actually liked that arc just the way it played out, with Chuck hunting Orion on his own, and Sarah torn between Beckman’s orders and Chuck’s well-being. We got such a dynamite payoff to that, with Chuck rising in Beckman’s esteem (as the one who found Orion), and then with “Take off your watch” and Barstow. S2 was hitting on nearly all cylinders then.

      • anthropocene says:

        But that imaginary scene would have been a dynamite opener for S3!

      • authorguy says:

        Just about anything would have been a better opener for S3 than what we got. Sarah giving Chuck a backrub for the third straight night after his kung fu display would have been a better opening. I think somebody did a fanfiction with that story.

      • atcDave says:

        Again I think we’re all on the same page! Will miracles never cease…

        Yeah Anthro I like how S2 played out, I was thinking of an alternate S3 but trying not to get too specific this time.

    • authorguy says:

      I would rate most of those episodes on the low end, myself. Wedding Planner in particular is the worst episode of the series on several levels. Not a single noble, honest, heroic moment for anyone, except maybe Casey talking to Kath, and he was trying to avoid that. Suitcase was okay, at least I didn’t have to add material from other episodes to pad it out when I did my rewrite, which is my main standard when it comes to S4 episodes. Now that my rewrite of S4 is finished, I’ll be rewatching S5 for the first time. Hopefully Business Trip is as good as you think it is.
      If only they’d made more like First Date.

      • atcDave says:

        You probably won’t like Business Trip AG. It’s much loved by all of us who are nuts for Wedding Planner and Suitcase! I could have gone for several full seasons more like those two episodes (and Business Trip!)

      • authorguy says:

        I seem to recall Business Trip as being pretty good. I’m not against fluff, when it works with the story. It’s when the fluff works against the story, or substitutes for the story, that I don’t like it.
        Like I said, Suitcase was okay, except for Chuck taking yet more relationship advice from Morgan, and that painful-to-watch scene with the bomb in his hand, where he suddenly starts talking about her weird unpacking thing! Chuck acting stupid is never funny, or fun. The rest of the episode survives in spite of this.
        Wedding Planner is rotten from root to leaf.
        –Sarah has suddenly become stupid and gets conned.
        –Somehow she can find her father easily, but not Daphne.
        –She misuses government resources to track Daphne down, which results in them being canned (after a dreadfully unfunny scene on a bus) and the bad guy getting away to con some other young couple.
        –Team B then has to ruin not only one person’s wedding but another person’s Sweet 16, to catch a new set of bad guys, but since they’ve been canned, probably those new bad guys get away too, on some technicality or other.,
        There aren’t enough hugs and kisses in the show to make up for that kind of idiotic mendacity. The usual words I use to describe Chuck, like clever, smart, courageous, kind, caring, heroic, don’t have any place in this episode.
        And now here you’ve made me think od S4 again, just when I thought I’d escaped.

      • atcDave says:

        Most viewers loved Wedding Planner. It was very well received and holds up well in our poll (17). None of those issues concern me at all; especially not that Sarah might have an easier time finding her dad than someone who doesn’t want to be found.
        For me it’s top ten.

      • atcDave says:

        I want to add too that I think you make WAY too much of this “should be” and “shouldn’t be” stuff. It’s fiction. It can be written any way we can imagine. They could have written a much darker story, of Chuck’s path to destruction, and Sarah’s death of conscience that leads to her becoming a honey pot and assassin of the most extreme sort. That story could have been well written and drawn high critical praise.
        And I would have quit watching long before the end.

        I couldn’t care less about such “quality” issues. The first requirement for a show is to be fun and entertaining and edifying. Obviously I want stories that make sense to me, and I want things to be as well acted and produced as possible. But that edifying part may be what distances me from most modern television. And that may be the single biggest issue on if I watch or not. I mean that on a weekly basis too. Although I’m okay with the occasional arc of a couple episodes, I watch television to relax at the end of the day. A show that leaves me upset has no value to me, regardless of objective “quality” issues.

      • duckman says:

        Wedding planner didn’t play all that well with me. The getting caught and benched just rubbed me the wrong way. That just made my heros look bad. The tone was right but as usual they altered the characters to force the story to some previously brainstormed scene with no regard for those characters or my feelings about them. This ep fares better with me when compared to the eps around it, at least they got the tone right.
        Dave touched on something I’ve come to realize lately with Forever, and often with Chuck. If a show leaves me upset, angry, or regretting watching, I’ve really got no use for it. This ain’t film school, I work hard all day and I want to feel good for 40 min. not played.

Leave a Reply

