Episode of the Week: Chuck vs the Predator (2.17)

NBC Synopsis: CHUCK DOESN’T KNOW WHO TO TRUST ANYMORE WHEN HE FINDS THE CREATOR OF THE INTERSECT—TONY HALE (“ARRESTED DEVELOPMENT”) GUEST STARS—After Chuck (Zachary Levi) is contacted by the mastermind behind the Intersect Computer, he must decide who he can trust—Sarah (Yvonne Strahovski) and Casey (Adam Baldwin) or the mysterious scientist who might be able to erase the Intersect from his mind. Meanwhile, a conflict breaks out between the Burbank Buy More and the more prestigious Beverly Hills branch.

Chuck This Ranking: 35
Dave’s Ranking: A Little Better

Full Write Ups: Chuck vs The Predator (2.17) by Dave and Joe

Arc Write Up: Reader’s Digest Re-Watch: The Search for Orion Arc by Ernie

About atcDave

I'm 53 years old and live in Ypsilanti, Michigan. I'm happily married to Jodie. I've been an air traffic controller for 30 years; grew up in the Chicago area, and am still a fanatic for pizza and the Chicago Bears. My main interest is military history, and my related hobbies include scale model building and strategy games.
This entry was posted in Re-watch, Season 2. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Episode of the Week: Chuck vs the Predator (2.17)

  1. garnetflint says:

    Overal a good episode. I’d have to say that it seems to me to play better once have seen who Orion actually is. So I think I liked it more in retrospect. I have to say that there was a little bit of Carmen SanDiego in the costume design for Orion.

  2. joe says:

    Wow. When did we first see this episode? Six years ago now? Yes, it’ll be six years next month and it’s still one that makes me smile and think and wish I could experience the whole thing over again for the first time. Predator is sorta like the beginning of Chuck becoming what he was meant to be and the end of his being a $12/hr Nerd Herder. It’s a baptism by fire or maybe a bar mitzvah – a coming of age thing.

    From here to the end of the season, I was on an emotional roller coaster. After every episode, I couldn’t wait for the next.

    • atcDave says:

      It was definitely a very exciting time to be a Chuck fan! Its funny, none of these next few episodes (except for Colonel) have really endured as “favorites”, but this whole arc was an amazing experience.

      • DKD says:

        It was during this arc that I graduated from “casual viewer” to “avid viewer”. I think I visited the NBC.com Chuck website for the first time.

      • joe says:

        I was a regular on the NBC Chuck forum those days, but right around the time Predator aired, I couldn’t stay away. That board became a real addiction.

      • atcDave says:

        Santa Claus for me, but I’d been regularly reading for a few months.

      • Really? They aren’t high among the favourites? I’m sure you know better than I do, Dave, but that surprises me. I watched the series right from the beginning but had no idea that there was an active online discussion of Chuck on various fora. In any case, I really quite enjoyed rewatching this episode and continue to think that that it signalled quite a turning point for the series: the Introduction of Orion, a newfound awareness by Chuck of the challenging situation (conflict) that Sarah is in, the declaration by Beckman that Chuck is crucial to the fight against Fulcrum, and Beckman’s suspicions that Sarah is “compromised,” to name those that quickly come to mind. For all those reasons, Predator has to be high on my list (were one to actually exist).

        I appreciate it that you continue to put out these postings week after week. It seems this forum may be largely past the days of passionate detailed discussion, but thanks to you, I have an excuse to bring up Chuck on Netflix, and hopefully provoke TPTB to recognize that there is still an audience for this particular “franchise.”

        Russ / resaw

      • atcDave says:

        Hey I’m happy to be abetting your Chuck habit Russ!

        The S2 finale arc, what we sometimes break into Orion and Intersect Arcs, was as much fun as I’ve ever had with a television show when it first ran. It was all amplified by the fun mood and comraderie at the NBC forums. We were analyzing every detail, every preview, every spoiler. And I loved every episode and every part of the on-line experience.
        But the big picture has changed things somewhat. I still enjoy all of what’s to come. But it’s the more light hearted and fun episodes that I more often revisit. Like those first five of this season, DeLorean, and Best Friend; those are the enduring legacy of Chuck to me.
        I think my favorites yet to come would be Broken Heart, First Kill and Colonel. Those are the strongest parts of a strong arc. But no doubt S3 is weighing heavy on me now in a way it didn’t back in early 2009. So much of what seemed special about these episodes has lost its luster. Chuck, and to a lesser extent Sarah, are not maturing in all the ways I credited them with back when this was new. And the romance seems particularly bitter and pointless at this point. The show I truly love most won’t really return until Honeymooners.

      • oldresorter says:

        dave another problem with s3 was the ‘fun’ of being a united fanbase in love with a tv show was lost for all of us, shippers and non shipper alike. For those who didn’t like the shaw arc, the reason was obvious, but it also affected those who did like the arc at the time, because they really got mad at the other fans for how they reacted. In many ways, I don’t think either side ever forgave each other. The s5 final seemed to put a dagger in the hearts of the fan base, and dashed any potential group hug that could have occurred. Amazing really.

      • atcDave says:

        I agree exactly with that OR.

  3. Justin says:

    Hey, atcDave, just wanted you to know that I’m about to post an alternate scenario on the early romance alternative that I think you are going to like.

  4. noblz says:

    Since everyone is giving some background here, some may recall (if you even care) that I never watched S1 or S2 when it aired. I was hooked by DVDs. I literally had to power through S2 the Friday, Saturday and Sunday prior to the special Sunday premier of S3.

    As I powered through there were a number of episodes that I initially didn’t like (Break up, TS, Beefcake, LW, and Predator). Upon re-watch I graduated all out of the dud pit except for Beefcake.

    Predator I came to like a lot. So much revealed that is so important. Orion brought into sharp focus, Beckman’s true agenda, Chuck’s determination to get free and get his girl and how compromised Sarah is. I also thought it was telling that Chuck figures out early on that Beckman will never set him free. Just good stuff.

  5. Martin Traynor says:

    I’m still not a fan of Beefcake OR Lethal Weapon. Any person or episode featuring a person that competes with Chuck for Sarah’s affections and vice versa is persona non grata in my book, regardless of the possible tangential benefits…

    While I love season two for the most part (see exception above), season three really puts the kibosh on any feelings of hope that it clearly is establishing (as far a relationships go, IMHO).

    Predator is a great episode, and I even like the Buy More stuff here, which is more rare than not.

Leave a Reply

