Episode of the Week: Chuck vs The Subway (3.18)

NBC Summary: THE RING TARGETS CHUCK AND HIS TEAM–SCOTT BAKULA (“QUANTUM LEAP”) GUEST STARS- The Ring is closing in on Chuck (Zachary Levi) and Operation Bartowski. Fortunately, Chuck’s dad Steven (guest star Scott Bakula) is working hard to save his son. Meanwhile, Casey (Adam Baldwin) must secretly protect his daughter from the Ring, and Big Mike (Mark Christopher Lawrence) receives some serious news about the Buy More.

Chuck This Ranking: 16
Dave’s Ranking: Middle of the Pack

First Impressions: First Impressions Pt. Un!: Subway and The Ring Pt II!
First Impressions Pt. Deux! Subway and Ring II by Joe

Full Write Ups: Chuck vs The Subway (3.18) by Dave and Joe

About atcDave

I'm 53 years old and live in Ypsilanti, Michigan. I'm happily married to Jodie. I've been an air traffic controller for 30 years; grew up in the Chicago area, and am still a fanatic for pizza and the Chicago Bears. My main interest is military history, and my related hobbies include scale model building and strategy games.
This entry was posted in Re-watch, Season 3. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Episode of the Week: Chuck vs The Subway (3.18)

  1. uplink2 says:

    Seems a little quiet after all the NerdHQ stuff but that’s ok. Personally I’d rank this episode in the top 3 of Season 3 for me, possibly #2 because of that awful final scene from Tic Tac. Part of the reason for that is I think this is Routh’s best episode of the series. I know that’s not saying much and he still isn’t a great actor, but I do think if you excuse all of the bringing back the dead one more time or negating one of the principle things they said had to happen in season 3, Chuck killing someone, he gives a decent, solid performance here. The look through the subway window was probably his best moment ever for me. And it has lots of other great moments like Sarah punching Poochie in the face, Casey’s comments about “picking a good one, Walker, finally.” and his admiration for Chuck the spy was great.

    Orion’s death was a bit of a surprise but it was such a great shocker on first viewing. Finally stakes that actually mattered and didn’t get retconned later. Morgan and Devon’s banter and desire to do what they could to save Chuck. Plus now we finally see Ellie being brought in or at least beginning to. The Beckman stuff with Morgan and Devon was great too.

    All in all I think this episode works really well for what it is. Sure I hated the idea of bringing Shaw back from the dead but if they were going to do it, to quote Fedak “we finally found out how to write for Routh”. Couple that with some really great moments and you have a very solid episode as far as season 3 goes.

    • atcDave says:

      I wouldn’t argue with say top three of S3; of course that says a lot about the huge drop after Honeymooners. This was a season with one extraordinary episode and handful of good ones.
      But as always, the rule on Chuck is that even middle of the pack episodes are highly entertaining. So Subway truly is a ton of fun. Just like most episodes from other seasons.

      • i myself never watch Nerd HQ live too busy for that but it was very good this year! William shatner’s Panel was the best newcomer!

        On a sad note for all us gaming nerds; nintendo president Satoru Iwata passed away Saturday from a blie duct tumor..he had a hand in most of the best games of my childhood and we owe him a lot of gratitude RIP sir…

  2. Martin Traynor says:

    If there was one “couple” aside from Chuck/Sarah that didn’t get near enough screen time together, it was most definitely Morgan/Devon. The two of them play off of each other so well. I loved the scene in an earlier episode this season where they both realize they each know Chuck’s secret. But in this episode, and again in S4 when they make spears for Casey on Chuck’s bachelor outing…the comedy with them is gold. Would have LOVED to see the two of them in more scenes together.

    I also enjoyed when Devon taught Morgan how to man up, in season 1’s “Sandworm.” A true classic!

    But this episode did have plenty of good drama. I, too, loved Casey’s remarks to Sarah about Chuck being a “good one,” and that “our boy’s a spy.”

  3. oldresorter says:

    I have to admit, I’ve not watched this ep very often, this series of 4 eps and the arc after the excellent pair of eps (HoneyM and RoleM) are not my fav’s by any means. I watched this one with an open mind last night, made it to the part where Chuck wrestled into the big room and Shaw came in and accused Team B. I turned it off. I could get into why I turned it off, but I’ll just say not my cup of tea. I’m glad I got season 4 and bits and pieces of season 5, but to my eye, there is no doubt, the show is a dead man walking at the end of season 3, same as the show’s fav character in this arc.

    I didn’t make it to Orion’s execution (that was in this ep right, or was it the next ep?), but the writing surrounding Orion’s execution used to be my biggest gripe about this ep or this arc. The Orion character is the best idea this show ever had, and to waste it on an out of the blue execution was not my cup of tea either. Orion’s death prob should have been the final, with the lesson either ‘do not lie’ to each other ever again or at least Orion should have heroically taken out the Ring (and Shaw) in order to save Team B (probably in order to save Ellie) or preferably both. But anyhow … did I mention, this arc and this ep not my cup of tea?

    • atcDave says:

      On initial viewing I certainly found this episode exciting and fun; but for many of the reasons you mention it does not have a great replay value for me either.

    • Wow, my reaction is so different. Orion’s death was a highlight for me. It reinforced Shaw’s absolute ruthlessness, for one. I also thought that Ellie’s inclusion (at last) in the circle of knowledge regarding the family’s CIA connections made this episode extra special. But, to return to Orion’s death: It was telegraphed somewhat in his statement to Ellie that he wasn’t “going anywhere” (so of course, sadly, he was soon to be gone for good); the absolute highlight for me within that, though, was after Orion was shot and the incredibly plaintive “One October Song” by Nico Stai was playing, the camera pulled back to reveal that Ellie had witnessed her father’s death.

      There were other pieces in this episode that I “treasure” within the Chuck canon, as well. I loved the scenes leading up to Casey revealing to Alex that he is her father; Devon’s bringing in of Morgan to help fill in the details for Ellie regarding the CIA and The Ring (complete with dramatic words and gestures); and, the dramatic ending with Devon and Morgan sitting in Casey’s car as they begin their quest, with Ellie, to save Chuck, Sarah and Casey.

      In short, this was a great episode in what I still regard as a superior season in the series.

      • atcDave says:

        There were certainly some terrific moments. I think almost everything involving Devon was just perfect. Add in some excellent scenes for Ellie, and Sarah punching Shaw, and no doubt it was fun in places.
        It will never be a “favorite” of mine, but I can enjoy it whenever it comes up in rotation.

Leave a Reply

