Episode of the Week: Chuck vs The First Fight (4.07)

NBC Synopsis: CHUCK GOES ON A ROGUE MISSION AS HE AND SARAH FACE THEIR FIRST RELATIONSHIP CRISIS – LINDA HAMILTON, ANA GASTEYER AND TIMOTHY DALTON GUEST STAR – After their first real fight, Chuck (Zachary Levi) avoids confronting Sarah (Yvonne Strahovski) by going on a rogue mission that leads him to his mom’s MI-6 handler, Gregory Tuttle (guest star Timothy Dalton), and a mysterious Russian agent (guest star Ana Gasteyer). Meanwhile, Ellie (Sarah Lancaster) is on her own mission to uncover the Bartowski family’s long-buried past.

Chuck This Ranking: 27
Dave’s Ranking: I agree!

First Impressions: Observation Post: Chuck vs the First Fight

Full Write Ups: Chuck vs The First Fight (4.07) by Dave and Joe
Layers – Chuck vs the First Fight by Thinkling
First Fight – Joe & Ernie’s re-watch and review by Joe and Ernie

Alternatives: Season Four Alternatives: The Front Bit by Dave

About atcDave

I'm 53 years old and live in Ypsilanti, Michigan. I'm happily married to Jodie. I've been an air traffic controller for 30 years; grew up in the Chicago area, and am still a fanatic for pizza and the Chicago Bears. My main interest is military history, and my related hobbies include scale model building and strategy games.
This entry was posted in Re-watch, Season 4. Bookmark the permalink.

52 Responses to Episode of the Week: Chuck vs The First Fight (4.07)

  1. Martin Traynor says:

    The last two episodes haven’t generated too many comments. Are people that busy, are the episodes not so comment worthy (or comment worthy anymore, this far out from the live airings), or has everything already been said? Hmmm…

    I thoroughly enjoyed this episode. I loved the interrogation of Mama Frost with Chuck outside calling in…I loved Timothy Dalton – both versions of him, but especially as Tuttle. Brilliant!

    But most of all, I loved the fight near the end, where Chuck and Sarah work through their first fight by, of all things, actually, physically fighting (bad guys, that is). No, they will never be normal, and I love that about them.

    It’s so much easier to weather – or even slightly enjoy? – some of the “angst” that comes the rest of the way, knowing what we know. And thankfully, it never really got too angsty again after S3.0. But some of these issues, where they fight here about his mom…and how to adjust to each other, the spy life and the intersect/no intersect, are genuine and real. Unlike some of the “angst” they contrived in S3.5 (Sarah moving in, unpacking, the intersect’s effect on Chuck – though that one was pretty organic, while not expertly handled, i.e., Chuck’s lies and omissions), the issues here play true and have more humor interspersed throughout.

    I also like how they keep you guessing about Frost. Keeps things interesting…for us and our heroes…

    • atcDave says:

      Yeah I agree with all of that Martin. This episode is fun all the way through, and I even love how they handle a little bit drama too.
      I think this first appearance of Mary (Aisle of Terror and First Fight) is her best of the season. They sure left us wondering at the end; I mean, so she doesn’t want her son killed, but that doesn’t really say what side she’s on!
      And Tuttle/Volkoff was just a total blast. Best villain the series, one of the best television villains ever.

      Comments and traffic at this site are both down. We’ve seen this happen before, traffic goes way up when discussing S3, especially when we get a good argument going. And we’ll probably see some increase when we get to the finale.
      But we’re 3 1/2 years past the end of the series, at a relaxed, happy point in our rewatch. Interest is weak. I expect we won’t see a really big change until we see an announcement about a movie!

  2. authorguy says:

    This episode has Tuttle, so that’s good. I wish they’d used him more as a persona for Volkoff, although Hartley turned out to be pretty similar. Dalton’s appearances stole every scene he was in. The fight itself was less than compelling, but the resolution of it was enjoyable. Lots of giveaways, of course. The triangular floppy appearing twice immediately gave the game away, but Dalton’s charisma and menace as Volkoff overcame that defect.
    And of course the most problematic aspect of the episode, Frost showing that panel to Chuck, neutralizing the Intersect. Even at the time trying to explain that was difficult, and when they later revealed Volkoff’s origins as an Intersect-generated personality, became even more so. This is not to say that they didn’t make sense, that a story couldn’t be made to explain it (and they did, in the Gobbler), but it’s not immediately obvious or straightforward, since the Volkoff origin story had some problems of its own. Trying to put together all the various actions and comments by Frost into one coherent whole was the most intriguing and challenging aspects of the whole season.

  3. Martin Traynor says:

    Yeah, I love Dalton as Volkoff – he plays it so well. Cold, conniving, vindictive, threatening. But when he’s Tuttle (and like AG says above, the similarly-played Hartley), he’s at a whole other level. And those characters are just so likable!

    For whatever reason, I was a glutton for punishment earlier this week, so I went back and read some of the comments on American Hero after watching some of the more angsty parts (I really don’t know why). While parts of the episode were great, there was some angst, like how much Sarah seems to be enjoying her date with Shaw before Chuck crashes it, or how when Shaw says that they should have done the date sooner, Sarah’s reactive look at him basically screams “I know, right! Because we’ve already done EVERYTHING else!”

    Anyway, it occurs to me that while some of us give passes or explain away the many, many inconsistencies and parts that just make no sense whatsoever where it concerns a mission or a villain, I tend to take everything related to Chuck/Sarah as gospel. I’m going to start applying the same rules to both, in that what doesn’t make sense or gibe with how I think it should go doesn’t really count.

    Thankfully there’s not that much concerning C/S from this point on where that need apply.

    And now, for my third tangent…is anyone else just a little bit more hopeful for a “Chuck” revival with the onset of the “Heroes Reborn” series starting in a few weeks? Does it bode well for such a thing? I’d prefer a series restart or “mini-series revisiting” over a movie any day…but would be happy for anything.

    • atcDave says:

      I think Zach and Yvonne hanging out together bodes well for a Chuck movie…

      No doubt a lot of shows have seen reboots of some sort in the last few years. I hesitate to get TOO excited, it still could be a while. But honestly I do expect to see a Chuck movie at some point.

    • anthropocene says:

      So it appears that Zach is going to play half of a power couple again—just an evil one this time.

    • DKD says:

      I’ve always felt an official “Chuck” revisit of any type was just something that would need some time to pass–at least five years since the finale. The market seems open to revisiting old series, but not all revivals work out. A revival of Coach was announced months ago, but canceled recently.

      I don’t see Zac and Yvonne’s interactions having anything to do with a Chuck revival in any form, since their being friends is irrelevant to the process.

      • atcDave says:

        We’ve seen many actors decline to work together again. Their friendship is crucial. The rest is just business…

      • DKD says:

        I wasn’t aware that Zac and Yvonne’s friendship was in any doubt. I believe she has attended Nerd HQ every year since Chuck went off air.

        Maybe you heard a rumor I didn’t.

      • atcDave says:

        Not at all. The closeness of the whole cast is good news. But the two leads is always most important. Especially now, three years later. I don’t have many co-workers I’ve stayed in touch with three years after!

  4. Martin Traynor says:

    Sorry, I was kind of all over the place, there…

  5. noblz says:

    Well, I missed last week’s discussion on Aisle of Terror. I’ll say this about that:
    OK episode but too much Jeff and Lester(hated their stuff here). Otherwise a good episode. Not in my top 10 (29) but middling overall.
    The Sarah and Chuck interactions were great, especially in the café. The ending set up the next episode perfectly.
    Oh, a lot of people mention the arrogant hair flip by Sarah when Chuck describes her as his girlfriend, but the good part to me was how Mary looks Sarah head-to-toe-to-head as if to say “Really?”…great scene. What a way to meet your future mother-in-law.

    Now for FF. This one did make my top 10 (29). Great solid episode through and through. Two observations:
    One is the story of Mary and Steven as told to Ellie. We don’t hear it but the look on Sarah’s face clearly says it’s a lot like the story of Sarah and Chuck.
    Second, how does Mary know just where everything is? How does she know what the device does? She had to have been in contact with Steven over the years. It was clearly implied here, but they never really used it afterward. Another missed opportunity for TPTB.

    Good run of episodes here.

    • atcDave says:

      Your reaction seems to match our poll, so you are normal! (Sorry)
      Good observation about the parallels of Chuck/Sarah and Frost/Orion. And I sure do love that first meeting/showdown for Sarah and Mary!

      I agree that some sort of contact between Mary and Stephen is reasonable. It makes a lot of things easier to explain.

  6. Martin Traynor says:

    I always thought of Orion/Frost as a sort of weak parallel to Chuck and Sarah, where the former got it wrong (by splitting up and choosing the spy life over family) and the latter will (hopefully) get it right (Chuck made THAT mistake earlier at the start of S3, if you accept what the writers presented).

    Great observations about Mary’s seeming knowledge of Orion’s fortress under the house. But I don’t think they were ever in contact, based on what Orion said to Chuck in his post mortem video (from the Ring). Instead, I think Mary knew about the base before she left for good and probably understood her husband’s habits and mannerisms well enough to figure out how he would organize his records, tools, etc. It’s also just as likely that she kept tabs on Orion (as she does with Carmichael), after she left, so she probably know at least something about the intersect, as Stephen, Roark and Hartley had developed an early prototype that turned Hartley into Volkoff.

    It would be nice if they had kept in touch, but I don’t see it. Just my thoughts…

    • atcDave says:

      I think they did keep in touch. In spite of what Orion suggests at the end of Ring II, when we get to Push Mix we see clearly that Orion had the technology to infiltrate Volkoff’s systems. That combined with Mary knowing the location of an item that couldn’t have existed when she disappeared, it just seems clear to me.

      The briefing Orion prepared for Chuck at the end of Ring II was just obviously incomplete. Or Chuck didn’t find the rest of it or something. There is just so much stuff that Orion HAD to know that he never passed on, somehow Chuck missed something.

      But as far as the parallel, yeah Frost/Orion are a BAD parallel, but that doesn’t mean there isn’t one! I always really wished we had seen a more clear declaration of how Chuck and Sarah weren’t going to repeat their parents’ mistakes. Especially in Gobbler, they really dropped the ball.

    • authorguy says:

      What exactly did he say in that video? “I’ve been a spy for 20 years, and I did it all for her.” Nothing there says he couldn’t have been doing it with her as well.

      • Martin Traynor says:

        True, AG, I don’t think anything he says is definitive, but the way he says it, coupled with the file card at the very end of that episode that reads “Mary Elizabeth Bartowski: Missing” are strong indicators to me that they were not in touch. Why would he label her file missing if he knew where she was? And let’s face it, Frost spent 20 years on basically a failed mission. Both his parents are clearly shown to be smart and capable – at times – but they seem to have failed miserably as parents in the long term…I see no reason to believe they failed at protecting each other. I could buy that Mary kept tabs on Orion, but I still don’t see Orion knowing anything about Frost after she left.

        I think it’s a greater fail on their characters if they were in touch. Call me a romantic, but I see a “lost” Orion, pining for his wife who disappeared. Maybe he knew she was on a mission, but at least that partially explains why he left the kids – he was mourning her absence and was not whole without her. If they were touch, that, to me, makes them look like even worse parents than they are.

        And I thought elsewhere in the series either Chuck or Mary mentioned she was deep undercover and that Orion had searched for her for 20 years. But maybe it was Volkoff who said that…?

      • atcDave says:

        The biggest problem with “missing” is just that Volkoff is a creation of Orion. There’s virtually no way Orion isn’t tracking his activities. And Mary’s mission comes closest to making sense if she is trying to make right the whole Hartly/Intersect debacle.
        Which again, makes it hard to believe Orion wasn’t up on what she was doing.

        I’m perfectly willing to believe they had only infrequent contact. Maybe even it was 20 years since they’d seen each other or had voice contact. But I have to believe they were in touch somehow.

      • authorguy says:

        Which was exactly the logic I had behind my explanation for all of Mary’s actions in season 2, Dave. I can also see that maybe he would have let his connection to Mary lapse in order to let Volkoff think she had nowhere else to turn. The story of Mary Bartowski and Orion is so full of holes it’s easy to come up with an explanation for anything. The trick is making it plausible, but fortunately that’s not very hard.

      • atcDave says:

        Oh yeah, I don’t think it’s hard to “fix”. But the canon story, like most television, does have sort of a jury rigged feel to it at times!

      • authorguy says:

        Especially S4. I believe they had a purpose behind S3 that they dumped in the light of the intense negative reaction, along with the writers. All the new writers had no story to write to and no familiarity with the characters and the previous arcs to guide them in writing new stuff. In many ways S4 is most full of underexplored ideas. They really were quite good, lots of great ideas that they just didn’t carry forward, or used against the wrong person.

      • atcDave says:

        Well you know I completely disagree with using the dropped ideas as a criticism. S2, the most popular season of the show by far, is just loaded with ideas that were suggested or touched on only briefly. Things like kill or bunker orders, Sarah being reassigned, going on the run, Orion and Roark’s relationship…
        So many things could have been explored in more depth. That’s no criticism. It’s simply an observation about how packed it was with possibilities. Most of what was done was a ton of fun. But I can always imagine other ways that could have been a ton of fun too.

  7. noblz says:

    atcDave

    That was my point that both of those plot lines Mary-Steven = Sarah-Chuck and Orion-Frost in contact could have been used (from Gobbler on as you point out).

    Martin

    They briefly touch on my two plot lines later, but only indirectly. In Push Mix Mary says to Sarah something like “I won’t let you become me and I won’t let my son become his father”. Clearly this is a reference to how close their parallel was, but as atcDave points out Mary-Steven is a bad example.
    In Last Details Mary says something like “that’s something else were going to have to clean up” while discussing that Orion turned Hartley into Volkoff.

    Not using those two plot lines more and more directly was a TPTB fail IMHO.

    • atcDave says:

      There were certainly some good opportunities they never took advantage of.

      • authorguy says:

        I could have written an extra appendix on all of them. The show was full of wasted opportunities. Every season. So sad.

      • atcDave says:

        So much of that is just the nature of television. They have 43 minutes each week, and 20 or so episodes a season. With an idea and characters as rich as Chuck it’s just begging to have details filled in. And I think it’s unavoidable choices will be made, and directions taken, that will leave other choices and directions unexplored.
        And that’s why I spend more time now with fan fiction than I do watching the show. That is no indictment of the show; just that after 20+ viewings it’s sort of spent; and it’s all those other alternates that are more interesting to me now.

  8. Martin Traynor says:

    Good stuff everyone. When I said that Mary/Steven were a weak parallel to Chuck/Sarah, I meant that they were definitely a parallel, but not a positive one. So, “weak” in the sense of a poor example, not an inaccurate one. I’ll work on my phraseology next time.

    Whether they were in contact doesn’t really matter to me and my enjoyment of the series. I agree that it would go a long way in tying in the whole Hartley/Volkoff transformation and Mary’s knowledge of it and attempt to fix it, though I suspect that was an afterthought by TPTB, given how flimsy the whole arc is in regards to her being gone for 20 years trying to bring down the entire organization.

    One FF story I read (Thanks, Dave!) explained her 20-year servitude as just that – Mary having been force into an intersect/amnesia that had her under Volkoff’s authority. At least that made some sense!

    • authorguy says:

      That would be NinjaVanish’s Chuck and Sarah vs the New Recruits.
      The plot matters a lot more to my enjoyment of the show, so putting the whole Orion/Mary/Hartley story on a sounder footing was my main goal in writing the second season of nine2five, far more than the fluffy stuff. We had quite a few arguments on this site about resolving all the many actions of Frost into a coherent narrative, and I took that as a challenge. It sounds like you never read it, so I hope you do at some point.

      • Martin Traynor says:

        I definitely DO plan on reading it, though I admit to really, really liking the fluff stuff…

      • authorguy says:

        I do too, but in my story I tend to assume it. Chuck and Sarah are in love and fully committed right from the get-go, so constantly going on about it would be like saying they were breathing. I don’t often go on about the kissing and whatnot unless it serves a purpose in the story somehow. It didn’t help that canon had C&S literally a world apart for a long time in S4. They didn’t take it very seriously, but I did, and the goal was to get them back in the same hemisphere, but their love for each other was never in doubt (plus I was spreading the love amongst the entire tribe, not just C&S). In the first season I was deliberately trying to put more of the fluff in there, but in the second season I was trying to repair the story, and the fluff took a back seat. (Think of it as robbing S4 to pay S3, balancing the fluff and the drama more equitably in both seasons.) This didn’t suit a lot of people, which may be why there are so few S4 AU stories. Most people are happy enough with what they saw on the show.

  9. oldresorter says:

    The whole parallel story issue gave me a great fanfic idea for season 5. I have a couple ideas that I might try to write, including an AU starting in the Pilot and extending thru Paris, now an AU season 5. If nothing else, it’ll force me to finish my one unfinished story, which I might release in full with a slight rewrite of the part already written. My idea is the ending would more or less work with the old story, but would work better with my rewritten story, as well as the rewrite would accomplish what I originally intended, which somehow I meandered off course on.

    Chuck in s4 and s5 IMO really missed JS, even though he missed the boat in s3, he still really knows how to create really good people interactions, esp romance. Once he (and his team) quit, gave up, pouted, moved on for greater things, or whatever else you or I think they did, the show was never quite the same, always somewhat out of sync, the jokes didn’t work as well, the romance didn’t quit seem right or passionate, the drama didn’t work well at all, the plots seemed out of phase or simplistic, certainly not riveting, the mythology didn’t make as much sense, etc.

    The only thing they did right in S4 / 5, is they didn’t mess up Chuck and Sarah, until the final two eps. At the end of the day, the show deserved to be cancelled, and since the writing team got the ending they wanted the show might not deserve a second chance. I hope they get one anyhow, but I’m not so sure the creators even want one. I seem to recall both JS and CF somewhat balked at the thoughts of more Chuck, esp JS. I have little hope that the team that did s4/s5 would do either a movie or a s6 reboot any better than s4/s5 were done, yet if they got a 2nd chance (or is it a 3rd or 4th or 5th chance?) I’d be pretty fired up about it. I’d be even more fired up if a new showrunner took on the project, as most TV I watch is better written than Chuck s4/s5.

    • atcDave says:

      Well I can’t agree with much of that! Although I think I would be very interested in a movie or reboot.

      • oldresorter says:

        Yea. I understand. The longer I’m away from the show, the more other things I watch, the more negative I get. Prior to Chuck, I watched very little tv. Now retired, I watch much more, plus with the options one has to watch old shows on replay, it’s so much easier to watch tv these days.

        I liked s4 the most of all the seasons, including 2, but it was not exactly Gone With the Wind epic writing, was it? The greatness of s4 was Chuck and Sarah being together, after the painful s3 experience.

        Oh well, sorry for the negativity. I really liked s4 and liked first fight more on rewatch than I did live. It simply was a little dumb, Mary in the Orion Cave / erasing the intersect was dumb, Mary’s 20 yr backstory was dumb, CS’s fight for the first part of the show was even sort of dumb. But Volkov / Hartley / Tuttle on the other hand was brilliant. CS’s fight sequence awesome.

      • atcDave says:

        The performances and comedy were the greatest strengths of the show from the beginning, it was never really a “drama”.

    • authorguy says:

      Just about anything would be. Bring back the original writing team and let them finish the story they started. I think we can do without Schwedak’s ideas of the Hero’s Journey and whatnot, but with a proper story those original writers would be dynamite.

    • DKD says:

      I have no illusions that any revisit to the Chuck universe could recapture what made the show special to me. It doesn’t matter who writes it. Time moves on.

      It would be modest nostalgia at best.

      • Martin Traynor says:

        Based on how they ended the series, I’m almost afraid of what they’d do if they did reboot or go with a movie. I almost guarantee, based on what they’ve given as far as angst and drama go, that they’d so something stupid like having Sarah leave after the kiss on the beach to find herself, and 5 years later she starts remembering and tries to win Chuck back, or some other such gawdawful, contrived angst…

        It occurred to me that while Chuck really, really wanted to go to Paris (First Class, American Hero), I would think Paris would be the worst place on earth for Sarah, as that’s where the worst day of her life happened, when she killed for the first time as part of her red test…I wonder if Chuck was aware of that…

      • anthropocene says:

        I don’t think they could simply restart the narrative on the beach (whether they did so sadly or happily). Though this was a huge event for fans, it would be essentially meaningless to any new viewers unfamiliar with the “Chuck” backstory. That big chunk of a potential audience would have to be introduced to the mythos in some way that also would not come across as redundant to the long-time fans. So I think the writers would have to:

        (1) call back to the beginning of the series in some way and revisit parts of the story from a slightly different angle (as the writers of the “Serenity” movie re-entered the “Firefly” series—though admittedly they had a lot less backstory to negotiate than “Chuck” has) or

        (2) begin with a post-series Chuck and Sarah—hopefully together and happy, perhaps running C.I. and starting a family—and have something out of their CIA/Intersect/Wild-Card Enforcer pasts emerge to challenge them (thereby re-introducing the old story).

        Whatever they’d do, I don’t think a new movie or miniseries could simply start with episode 5.14; not after this much time has passed.

      • oldresorter says:

        The Orion role ( ‘doing the things the government wouldn’t’ ) for a Nick and Nora styled team would be the strongest movie idea for me, starting time wise whenever the actual number of years had passed, 5 or 6 if done today, 15 or 16 if done in ten years. I’d run from the dismal ending, maybe dismissing it with a line or two.

      • atcDave says:

        I’m with Anthro and OR on this. I think they’re most likely to pick up several years later, and in a good place.
        But it is possible they would do something I don’t want to watch, we’ll just have to pay close attention to spoilers when the time comes!

      • thinkling says:

        Ditto. They can’t really pick up on the beach after this much time. I imagine the spy world interrupting their happy, normal life. Something that comes back to bite them (and the Intersect) and turns their world upside down for another crazy spy adventure. I certainly hope it would start with them happy with a family and a business, as that’s what Fedak said he envisioned for their future.

        Should they go for another round of wt/wt with their marriage in trouble (or heaven forbid, Sarah still trying to find herself and her marriage and Chuck), then I’ll sit this one out, thanks. That said I think option 1 is far more likely, especially after so much time has passed.

      • authorguy says:

        I would have no interest in a movie like that. The show almost ended at the perfect place, and if it had stopped with the Baby, it would have been the perfect place. Other than fixing the ending I don’t see all that many growth prospects for C&S (maybe a child of their own, but they’ve already got Molly), and without that, a new movie would just be a lot of meaningless running around. I’ll pass on that.
        Just had a story idea: Chuck and Sarah have moved forward from the beach, even though Sarah didn’t get all of her memories back, and however many years later, they get an opportunity to get them back. Having built herself again, would the new Sarah want the memories of the old Sarah to return? This idea would work if it was done now, since the show’s been off the air for a few years. 10 years from now wouldn’t work so well. There’s an episode of Medium with an idea like this, where Ariel skips forward in time and occupies her own future bodies, effectively resetting them to her 17-year-old self, and her husband has to deal with her new self all over again.
        There’s a nice but unfinished fanfic about Chuck going back in time 10 years and dealing with all the events of the show after having already lived through them, that idea would be good for a reboot.

      • atcDave says:

        I’d think it would pretty easy to pick up with a new threat, or even revisit an old one. Even better if Chuck and Sarah now have kids to protect.

      • atcDave says:

        AG I know exactly the FF you’re referring to. Just a fascinating premise, especially as Chuck wrestles with his love for Sarah in two different time lines. They’re same, mostly. But the differences are fun and painful.

  10. Martin Traynor says:

    I could very easily be on board with a “five years later” scenario, as long during those unseen five years, Chuck and Sarah were together and, like you all suggest, in a good place (building C.I. AND a family would be optimal). But that’s my concern – that they would not have them be in a good place, and that the crux of the story would be them having to get back together.

    Although, like you all suggest, such a scenario wouldn’t really do anything for the new fans, who would not have the C/S backstory to lean on…

    • atcDave says:

      They’ve also been saying in the media, since the show ended, “Chuck and Sarah are together and they’re fine”. I don’t think they would step back from that for a movie.

      • Martin Traynor says:

        Dave,

        Let’s hope not. Maybe it’s the weather here in “sunny” Florida (read “rainy, hot and humid”), but my faith in TPTB is shaky at best. Pointless to worry about it at this point, though…I’ll continue to hold out hope and enjoy lots of good FF…

      • atcDave says:

        Yeah I’ll admit to some lack of faith in their creative process. But let’s say I’m 80% confident in this.

  11. noblz says:

    You’ve mentioned ff here in the discussion of where a movie would go. Several authors had good post finale stories (Thinkling, Angus, etc) but he best story, to me, would be Bill and Brick’s Long Road Home (I think that’s right). While it shows some of Bill’s fascination with sex as a weapon, it is still a complete story with a flashback at the end. It would make a good movie plot with the sex stuff toned down.

    • authorguy says:

      It’s far too long and involved. Most movies are in fact little more than a short story if you turn them into a book. Most full-length novels have entirely too much material to fit in a movie. Most of the sub-plots would have to be dropped. Chuck and Sarah vs the Bunker might work. Or maybe Sarah vs the Dearth of Chuck Bartowski, if that’s the right name.

      • atcDave says:

        I sure wouldn’t object to a mini-series…

        No doubt my first choice would be “Finding Herself”. Although “Missing Years” (Angus), “Next Adventure” (Lost Jeff) or Anthro’s S6 would all be excellent choices.

    • Martin Traynor says:

      Yeah, Noblz, I read at least a few of those, and they are great. I agree that they could be used for a movie; start from the beach and use flashbacks to tell the story anew to those unfamiliar, and give a refresher to those of us who don’t really need it but would love it anyway…

Leave a Reply

