Episode of the Week: Chuck vs The Seduction Impossible (4.14)

NBC Synopsis: THE TEAM JETS TO MOROCCO TO SAVE ONE OF THEIR OWN — JOHN LARROQUETTE RETURNS AS ‘ROAN MONTGOMERY’ — LINDA HAMILTON AND MEKENNA MELVIN ALSO GUEST STAR — In need of an exciting new mission, Chuck (Zachary Levi), Sarah (Yvonne Strahovski) and Casey (Adam Baldwin) are sent to Morocco to rescue Roan Montgomery (guest star John Larroquette). Meanwhile, Chuck and Sarah are at odds over their future plans. Back at home, Morgan (Joshua Gomez) prepares to meet Alex’s (guest star Mekenna Melvin) mom, as Mary (guest star Linda Hamilton) bonds with her family.

Chuck This Ranking: 22
Dave’s Ranking: I Agree

First Impressions: Seduction Impossible: First Impressions About…

Full Write Ups: Chuck vs The Seduction Impossible (4.14) by Dave and Joe
Summer Rewatch 4.14: Chuck vs The Seduction Impossible by Ernie and Thinkling
Seductions Impossible – Loves Indispensable by Thinkling

About atcDave

I'm 53 years old and live in Ypsilanti, Michigan. I'm happily married to Jodie. I've been an air traffic controller for 30 years; grew up in the Chicago area, and am still a fanatic for pizza and the Chicago Bears. My main interest is military history, and my related hobbies include scale model building and strategy games.
This entry was posted in Re-watch, Season 4. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Episode of the Week: Chuck vs The Seduction Impossible (4.14)

  1. authorguy says:

    A quickly cobbled-together filler piece.Not too bad considering it had to be a rush job but it suffers from the usual problems of S4 magnified a bit. The plot has flaws you can fire an RPG through. I suppose Beckman firing an RPG was supposed to be a ‘Crowning Moment of Awesome’ but it just drove home to me how short-handed they must have been when throwing this episode together. Far from the worst episode of the series but not good.

    • atcDave says:

      Well you know I disagree on almost every level. I think this is a total blast. This is having fun with, and honoring the role reversal that lies at the heart of the show. It is a good time with fun character from the show’s past, it has fun with some of Casey’s awesomeness (hiding in walls, cutting off arm), and we get another example of Dr Morgan, the world’s most incompetent therapist.

      All in all, i’d call it a great example of Chuck at its most fun.

    • Wilf says:

      I also really like this episode for most of the reasons Dave mentions (still not particularly keen on the Morgan parts, though). I also love the moment when Sarah explains why she really wants to elope and displays such vulnerability.

      • atcDave says:

        No doubt a little of Morgan goes a long way! And he is often over used.

        I agree Wilf about Sarah’s explanation of herself, definitely a big moment.

  2. Justin says:

    I thought this episode had some funny moments like Chuck and Sarah trying to manipulate each other through seduction (Sarah’s means of seduction being more effective) and Chuck saying “No…woman” to an outraged Sarah. That last one is my favorite.

  3. oldresorter says:

    This episode returned the show to stand alone great fun Chuck and Sarah episodes. Felt like it could have been wedged into the middle of season 2 sometime with a few changes reflecting the diff in the s2 relationship status.

    IMO this ep was what the show needed to be in order to succeed all 5 seasons, while the relationship grew much on the same are, except for the steps back in s3.

    Problem with this arc, and sea 5 too, the writers never again came up with either a great bad guy or a great story to tell. Instead, the writers kept telling some version of the same story over and over again with rehashed bad guys in some way, shape or form. I thought the staleness showed with the comment about the finale, what could be better than falling in love again? For some reason, the writing struggled to move the story into the future, with something other than a damsel in distress arc ending concept and some sort of relationship angst. Been there, done that, move on writing team.

    But this one ep and the next ten or so to some degree or another, they all are pretty good to great. They did no harm, and mostly were great fun. This sort of rationale is why I liked Role Models, in spite of the cheesy writing and acting from the baddies of the night.

    • atcDave says:

      I agree with a lot of that. I really wish they’d come up with a global threat type enemy with less of a personal interest in Chuck’s life. I really think that would have made the world feel bigger and more important.

    • authorguy says:

      I’m struggling to recall any good episodes from this half of the season . Certainly two of the worst, CAT Squad and the abominable Wedding Planner, are in here, but I’m not sure I’d say any episode in this half of the season rises above mediocre.
      The last really good episode I can recall of all of S4 is Coup d’Etat. After that I’d have to look at the episode list just to know what they were.

      • Justin says:

        What about the Chuck S4 finale? At least, most of it, outside of the Morgan-Intersect ending, was above mediocre.

      • authorguy says:

        Wholly aside from the fact that the best actor on the show, Yvonne, was lying in bed the entire time, we had
        crappy special effects (a super motorcycle that clearly wasn’t moving very fast)
        blatant stupidity (a helmetless Chuck driving the supermotorcycle at supposedly high speeds, with neither a comm-link or a windscreen, just so we could see his heroic face in a close-up)
        a contrived plot device (Lead Apron),
        physical impossibilities (the fastest flight to Russia and back that has ever been done )(not to mention Carina and Zondra returning from I think Egypt at equally high speeds),
        and the deployment of a foreign military unit on US soil (can we say act of war?).
        The potentially most emotional scene in the show (Sarah’s recovery) is pissed away in favor of a visual joke that surprised no one,
        followed by the most ordinary, tacked on wedding scene ever, with Morgan somehow officiating.
        So no, on a quality scale this episode really isn’t very high up there.

      • authorguy says:

        Of the back 11,I’d say Family Volkoff, Seduction Impossible, and A-Team (maybe) are probably the best of the lot. Also pretty high on the not-embarrassing scale would be Muurder (maybe) and Agent X. None are great, but these are most tolerable.

  4. What sticks with me from this episode is that they were finally done with “The Search for Chuck and Ellie’s Mom.” I always had ambivalent feelings about Frost through those first 13 episodes, but beginning with this episode I found her to be a more sympathetic character. I’m still not a big fan of season 4, but I’m glad that there were always some things to enjoy in pretty well every episode.

    • atcDave says:

      I definitely think the mom mission fell a little short, but she will be a fun character from here on out and has some very good moments to come.

  5. oldresorter says:

    Dave your fav topic reared its ugly head on SHIELD this week. Simmons got a LI. The ep is being given huge props by critics, somewhat divided by fans, and you could see it coming a mile away, but the acutal love was a few kisses took 5 minutes max of screen time. This is hugely preferable to the 5 or 6 eps it took place on Chuck. And quite honestly, the circumstances were such that the plot was logical.

    Now it’s up to the writers to write a good angst story for the rest of the season / series, and hope that their show doesn’t fall victim to what typically happens, LI’s tend to make a show start losing fans and have the fans in the fandom start bickering, both at each other along with at the writers. Of the shows we all typically watch, has such a thing ever really been a good idea for the show? I mean not for us as a part of the fan base, but for the show. Isn’t it so that if you infuriate a part of your fan base, the only way you increase viewership is to draw in that many new and happy fans? I don’t get it. You’d think they’d learn? And as I said, this was kind of well done even.

    • atcDave says:

      It’s obviously a long time staple of “dramatic” writing, but yeah, I think I’ve been tired of love triangles since I was 10.
      Fortunately I’m not very invested in the characters on SHIELD, but what a sad statement that is; I often have to NOT CARE in order to enjoy a show. Bizarre.

  6. Martin Traynor says:

    I LOVED this episode! It was FUN. Any time Roan Montgomery comes out to play, it’s a good day. We never really got enough of him, did we? And I really loved the Chuck Sarah stuff here.
    Sarah’s “OK. I hear what you’re saying. But why do you get to say ‘No’? What about what I want?” is priceless. She’s really coming into her own in this relationship.

    Let’s not forget her reaction to Chuck;s “I said NO…Woman!”

    A lot of great stuff was mentioned (including the above), but I also very much enjoyed Casey in the wall. Sounds like a drinking game. Everyone slam beer when Casey is in the wall!

    Beckman as a blonde, because everything was blonde in the 80s – how true!

    This was just a lot of fun for me, and we got some insights into how Chuck and Sarah will work things out. He really must NOT seek out Morgam on relationship advice, though (until that dreadful last moment of the series, anyway).

    • atcDave says:

      Yeah I agree with all of that Martin, this really is a ton of fun and represents just how awesome this show can be.

      • Martin Traynor says:

        Dave,
        I echo your point about having to temper your investment in a show/characters in order to enjoy it. I’m sure, had I been watching Chuck on air as it unfolded, I would have left in early S3 and not come back until Honeymooners.

        But I agree in that I, too, cannot invest too much into characters/story-lines, because I will undoubtedly be disappointed, angered, and left upset. A sad statement, to be sure, but true nonetheless.

      • atcDave says:

        I pretty aggressively look for shows I can invest more fully in, but such things are rare.
        Chuck registered as “special” in that way from pretty early on. Of course that has a lot to do with why S3 outraged me the way it did. But when it works, like here in S4, it’s just as good as television ever gets.

  7. noblz says:

    Been away working, so I will comment on PM and SI here to catch up.

    Push Mix was a darned good episode, making my top 10 (29). There were only two things I didn’t care for…
    Too much Morgan. Most people here know me and I was “Morganed out” by the end of Season 2. The made Awesome look completely silly, over the top.
    Otherwise this was great, I even liked the Push It! from Jeffster. Everyone knows the only thing I hate more than Morgan is Jeffster, but it just seemed to fit. The proposal was just right.

    Seduction Impossible also made my top 10 (29). I really liked all of this one, but some stand outs for me were…
    The way Chuck and Roan bonded, the counseling session in the dungeon and Casey’s rescue (“tranq and explode!”). Any time we get Sarah in a belly dancing outfit its a plus, but I felt she was even more attractive (if that’s even possible) in the red sweater right after the belly dance.
    The only thing I had was the poor quality of the sets, but with the budget constraints by this time I guess we have to live with that.

    All in all, a great two episode set.

Leave a Reply

