Episode of the Week: Chuck vs the First Bank of Evil (4.17)

NBC Synopsis: CHUCK AND SARAH PLAN THE ULTIMATE HEIST AT A HIGH-SECURITY BANK—LAUREN COHAN AND RAY WISE GUEST STAR—Chuck (Zachary Levi) pushes Vivian McArthur (guest star Lauren Cohan) to get in touch with her inner villain for a mission. Elsewhere, Sarah (Yvonne Strahovski) tries to get in touch with her inner bride as wedding plans ramp up. Meanwhile, Morgan’s (Joshua Gomez) search for a new roommate takes an unexpected turn.

Chuck This Ranking: 41
Dave’s Ranking: A Little Higher

First Impressions: First Reactions: Chuck vs the First Bank of Evil

Full Write Ups: Chuck vs the First Bank of Evil by Dave and Joe
Summer Re-Watch 4.17: Chuck vs the First Bank of E-vil by Ernie
First Bank of Mua-Ha-Ha! by Joe

About atcDave

I'm 53 years old and live in Ypsilanti, Michigan. I'm happily married to Jodie. I've been an air traffic controller for 30 years; grew up in the Chicago area, and am still a fanatic for pizza and the Chicago Bears. My main interest is military history, and my related hobbies include scale model building and strategy games.
This entry was posted in Re-watch, Season 4. Bookmark the permalink.

46 Responses to Episode of the Week: Chuck vs the First Bank of Evil (4.17)

  1. Justin says:

    That scene when Chuck and Sarah robs the bank never stops being entertaining to me. The way they switch between the robbery and chatting as a couple is so delightful. Moments like that shows how great Chuck and Sarah can be together.

  2. Martin Traynor says:

    That (bank robbery) and when Sarah looks for a wedding dress in Castle are real gems, for me, from this episode. Both scenes show a real “normal girl”-ness to Sarah, yet both are starkly contrasted with their location and relativity to her life (a bank robbery and their secret spy base, respectively). Very well played.

    The scene where she is “dress shopping” was both hilarious and touching. I enjoyed seeing her go through all those emotions there and the ultimate elation at both having found a dress (that of course changes drastically from what we see in the wedding) and her joy at getting married to the man she loves. I love it when it finally clicks, though it did feel a little overplayed to me at the time.

  3. Martin Traynor says:

    I’m not looking to start a discourse on S3 of Chuck…HOWEVER, is it just me, or do a lot of shows suffer from some sort of reboot or “de-boot” for their junior year? I’ve heard Elementary had a tough season 3. In Castle, Beckett dates Josh with Castle back in the arms of wife #2. Of course, we had Chuck and Sarah split in their season 3 front half…In Alias, Sydney loses 2 years and her boyfriend at the start of season 3…I’m sure there are many more.

    Just found that odd (pun intended, for I make so few good ones…)

    • atcDave says:

      I think a lot of shows struggle at different periods. Elementary made, I think, a similar but less dire mistake to what Chuck did in S3. They introduced a new character (Kitty) who stood between the main characters and disrupted the show’s chemistry. Even as a non-romantic figure she upended the chemistry of the main characters.
      Now on Elementary I thought it worked out okay; and in the end I liked Kitty’s story. But it sure hurt the ratings!

      But I think its a huge risk whenever a show runner plays around with key components of a show. I understand they want to do different things and “shake things up” on occasion. But when they actually undermine something so central to fan enjoyment I can only call it a foolish choice. Its especially troubling when “shaking things up” ends up just looking like standard television doctrine. Their attempt to do something different looks more like tired cliche!

    • Wilf says:

      Funnily, in my experience, large corporations tend to do something very similar and reorganise or bring in extraneous elements, sometimes for good reasons of course, but sometimes just to “shake things up”. The results are often similar … disrespect of the managers, uncertainty and pointless angst.

    • DKD says:

      I think you’d have to do a pretty large survey of TV shows to figure out if 3rd Seasons are particularly “re-bootish”. I can think of two of my favorites–Babylon 5 and Farscape–who had a great season 3.

      I found an article ranking seasons of different TV shows and several had strong Season 3’s: http://www.thewire.com/entertainment/2014/05/a-definitive-ranking-of-every-season-of-every-tv-show-that-mattered/371852/

      What a “re-boot” is, is also up to interpretation. Giving Chuck Intersect 2 was more of a change to the show than “breaking” Chuck and Sarah up. They weren’t even broken up, since they were never together really.

      Putting Chuck and Sarah together, from one perspective, was more “re-booty” than keeping them apart. It also wasn’t a boon to the ratings.

      • atcDave says:

        S3 of Babylon 5 was about as good as television ever gets!
        I’m not real interested in the S3 part of the discussion per se, but more the drive to tinker.
        I would say the change in tone and mood that made early S3 so relentlessly dark is THE major reinvention of that time. No doubt the specific Charah issues can be better described as drawing things out too long than a particular reinvention. But even so, it was notable that screen time between our two leads was greatly reduced, and far less fun than it had been in S2. That alone was a greatly unwelcome change; and that’s before we even get to a lot of more specific gripes.
        When I’ve written about this in the past I’ve always acknowledged S3 saw two major changes; in Pink Slip and again in Other Guy/Honeymooners. I loathed the one as much as I loved the other.

      • anthropocene says:

        “Rebooty?” Ba-da-bum!

    • Ernie Davis says:

      I can see why the impression of a third season curse exists, at least in the Chuck fandom. With TV, or at least a number of shows I can think of, second seasons tend to be pretty strong since the actors, writers and directors have had the time to develop a rapport and style, everyone has gotten to know the characters and what works, but generally there is still a lot of material to explore. By the third season, if they are doing season 2 right, there often needs to be a shake up to provide for more material for the writers to work with. The more serialized the show the more they need to be able to explore the characters and the story in new ways to keep from going stale. But there are also a number of things that can make any season of a TV show tough to keep afloat. I can think of a few of those that just happened to happen in season 3 of the show. Arrow (which I just started to binge) had a rough third season due to a new character they wanted to introduce for a spin-off. In Chuck fashion the new character was placed front and center in the place of the popular male lead. Downton Abbey and the OC killed off characters popular with the fans. In the case of the OC the character was also one of the weakest in terms of the performance and the character’s direction. With Downton Abbey they actually killed off two. Both were universally loved. One was killed for story reasons, the other, in the season finale died because the actor was no longer under contract and decided to leave. With that the show-runners had no choice. The only way to explain his absence was his death.

      What I find sadder than a weak third season (or any weak season of a really good show) is the really great freshman season that never gets a season 2 to reach it’s full potential. I constantly think how could anyone not see how great these shows were about My So Called Life or Freaks and Geeks or Wonderfalls or of course Firefly. Frankly I can think of a half dozen more like Enlisted, Life As We Know It, Cupid, Action,Terriers and The Black Donnelly’s. All great shows that never found their audience, or their audience never found them, so all that potential produce just a single season.

      With TV’s current reboot fever I’d love to see someone revisit some of those.

      By the way, if you are interested in seeing how various seasons of your show stack up someone made a graphing program here:

      http://graphtv.kevinformatics.com/

      • atcDave says:

        I’ll agree with most of that, although I think too many writers make poor choices with regards to what is a good idea to play around with, and what isn’t. Especially in this day of instant feedback, I have a hard time crediting good motives or much intelligence to some of the choices that are made. It shouldn’t be that hard to start a season planning session with “what is working for us and what needs work”. Well that, and I know too many creative types who who often want to tinker whether it’s a good idea or not (I see this frequently in game design, some gamers want to constantly reinvent more because they love reinvention than for any actual need).

        I would also mention the graph you linked is an amusing toy, but it’s source of data is IMDB ratings. So it’s pretty meaningless as any sort of qualitative measure.

      • Ernie Davis says:

        Yeah I wouldn’t say it’s meaningless. It’s more like our surveys here. It tells us how people who rate things on IMDB feel about various episodes of Chuck. It’s a decent sample size, over 100K, but it doesn’t tell you how that spreads across the episodes. A quick sampling through all the seasons shows most get around 7-800 ratings with a few getting 1200-1400.

      • atcDave says:

        I think the biggest shortcoming is that it’s continuously open. It represents no particular perspective or point in time. If such surveys were better broken down by say week they aired, or were open for just a few days at the end of the season to encourage a more consistent block of voters they might be more interesting.
        The way they structure things, I could go and vote on episodes of “The Six Million Dollar Man” right now. Even though I haven’t actually re-watched since I was 12. Sure I might be able to remember a few high lights and episodes that made a strong impression; but it’s completely not the same as how my 12 year old self would have actually ranked things. Worse, if I re-watched now I couldn’t possibly watch with the eyes of the intended audience. It could only be broadest sort of impression; or I might cringe my way through the whole series and rate every episode a 2 because it’s all dreadfully bad, which is clearly not how I saw it in my youth.
        Even with more recent content, I think any reaction more than a couple days after viewing is suspect (except for those shows a viewer is more aggressively paying attention to).

        Bottom line is, I do not trust the sort of bias issues that can pop up in such a loosely structured survey. I honestly think the surveys we did here are far more interesting and valuable because they capture a very specific time and context.

      • CaptMediocre says:

        I no longer watch Arrow because of its S3. S4 does seem more fun but can’t hook me again.

        Oddly enough, S2 of Sleepy Hollow was atrocious. S3 is better but it took a big time jump and change to episodic storytelling to make it better.

        Castle is the exception, S9 is unwatchable. I watched 20 minutes of the this season’s first episode and haven’t return.

        I find myself struggling with S1 of Blindspot, mostly because I think the promos for the show were misleading. To this day I still think that the show’s male lead is a totally annoying caveman who was miscast for the role.

        I do find that after enduring S3 of Chuck, my patience for questionable storylines or characters isn’t there. Making me tune out early, and most times never returning.

      • atcDave says:

        I agree with most of that Capt M.
        Funny thing with Blindspot, I’ve enjoyed it; but if you’ve read any “behind the scenes” stuff I’m thinking it may not last long. NBC wants more, its been well rated. But lots of backstage drama and apparently a difficult star (who recently caused a shut down and got her make up people fired).

      • thinkling says:

        I like it when shows grow and change, and character growth is a must if I am to stick with a show. That said, some changes change the whole tenor of the show and alter its most appealing aspects, often ending up tarnishing the characters. Chuck S3 tarnished the characters, but I plowed through to the bright horizon of Honeymooners and enjoyed the rest of the show.

        Castle is in a category all its own this season with negative change — a turn off on so many levels … so that’s what I’ve done … turned it off. The show runners that the end will be worth it. They are daft if they think I will give them 7 hours of my time, watching something that I find both offensive and stupid, to get to an unknown pay-off that is deemed “worth it” by the same people who created the offensive and stupid.

        Arrow S3 was darker than I like, but I continued watching. I liked where it ended up, but I won’t watch S4 until I find out how they handle the Oliver/Felicity relationship and who they kill off. If it’s Felicity, I will purge the dvr of arrow S4. If it turns out to be acceptable on both scores, it will give me something to watch next summer.

        I like Blindspot, even though I, too, am not wild about the male lead. But I’ll keep watching for now.

        I quit Quantico after I figured out the formula (each week raise suspicions about one of the Quantico recruits) and realized the show seems to be more about who has slept with whom than any plot that might one day emerge. It’s a sort of sexcapades-meets-Fugitive where the former is a tired, eye-rolling device that doesn’t have anything to do with the plot; and the second supposedly is the plot, albeit a slow and boring one.

        Enjoying Flash and Supergirl for what they are … light, fun, super-hero, comic book shows … light-hearted, stress-less entertainment … what a concept.

        Started Blue Bloods on Netflix. The more I watch, the more I like it. It’s another show with intangible themes that I like.

      • DKD says:

        That’s funny what Inkling said about the lead of Blindspot. I like him a lot. He has a very interesting mix of masculinity and heart.

      • atcDave says:

        Wasn’t he in the second 300 movie? He sure seems familiar, I don’t really have strong opinions. I’m still watching Blindspot, it’s sort of fun. But a lot of conspiracy and distrust issues. Makes me think I’m not in it for the long haul; just until they really irk me.

        We’ve really enjoyed Supergirl so far. Campy fun, and very self aware. There’s obviously an organic love triangle, and another was just bolted on these last couple episodes; so THAT could get very tiresome.
        But so far it’s mostly just cheesy fun so I’m not overly concerned.

      • atcDave says:

        I did want to comment a little on Thinkling’s growth and change comment.
        I really am okay with a lot of procedural and episodic type shows that simply follow the one formula they’re good at for many seasons on end. If I like the characters and formula, I may enjoy the show for a very long time (NCIS).
        But, I think at the very highest level, the most satisfying, most exciting shows; do need to do more than that. And it is fine line. They need to show character growth and/or long term story arcs that seem to matter. But it has to stay to true to what I first liked too.
        Chuck was heavily dependent on two likable main characters that generated much of my enthusiasm for the show. So a long arc that made both main characters look bad was disasterous for me.
        We mentioned Elementary above which was another show that depended on two main characters. They weren’t as much “likable”, but their interplay was hugely entertaining. So introducing a third wheel who took time away from the original twosome was a drag. I didn’t quite consider it ruinous, but given the dramatic drop in ratings its obvioius many viewers did.
        Another such fubar was Andromeda. It was a Star Trek like show originally; sort of a quirky/low rent/juvenile take on the formula. But S5 they ran out of money or something. The main characters were stranded on a baren planet; and the Captain spent the whole season putting the team back together and fixing his ship. It was boring! Not at all the campy fun of the previous seasons. It was a radical change in formula that just utterly failed.

        Chuck may be uncommon for getting it so wrong, then fixing things and getting it so right. As frustrated as I’ll always be by S3 I’m thankful for S4. I really can’t think of another show that swung between such extremes.

      • Ernie Davis says:

        My present shows are Brooklyn 99, which has handled the pairing of the leading man with his sometimes partner quite well by largely ignoring it past a few jokes here and there. They did foreground it last episode, but if they keep that a part time thing I think they’ll be fine. Castle isn’t bugging me past the complete idiocy for the reason Beckett “needed space”. You are going after ruthless bloodthirsty killers, but as long as you’re separated they won’t threaten or touch your husband or anyone else you care about. That said it isn’t really affecting the show that much.

        I also continue to enjoy Blindspot, though I get it about the male lead. He’s constantly in “intense” mode to the point that in the latest episode the writers seem to be jokingly referring to it. On screen at least the two leads seem to have good chemistry. I was frankly pleasantly surprised with the depth and intensity of Jamie Alexander’s performance in a character who is literally a blank slate. But then in Thor and Kyle XY there was a formal stiffness built into the roles, so finding this whole other range in her acting was a pleasant surprise. I’ve also read the rumors about Jamie Alexander being a diva and I lean toward not believing them. She’s been working in the industry since 2007, got a lot of attention with her role as Sif 4-5 years ago, so high profile isn’t anything new to her. In addition every interview I’ve seen or heard or read she comes off as the exact opposite. A Texas tomboy who is very laid back and unimpressed with her own celebrity. That said I could see her getting fed up with the make-up process at times. The thing is that they are still leaning so heavily on the tattoo thing when they don’t need to. The last episode they easily came up with a reason to give her a break from them for the most part. And so often they have scenes where everyone else is wearing jackets and she’s in a tank top. I really think they are overestimating how much of a draw Jamie’s tattooed body is. A lot of the critics joke about how long it will be before she is constantly wearing turtle necks. I say make it a character thing. Make her self-conscious about them to the point that she hides them and give the poor girl a break.

        iZombie and Agents of Shield both continue to do well, and even improve in the case of Shield. It has been riding a wave of better and better quality and performances for about a year now. Arrow has finally drawn me in and I’m both watching season 4 and binging earlier seasons. There is a certain darkness inherent to that world, so it doesn’t bother me too much. My issue is that it seems to be more and more used as a spin-off machine. As long as they can mostly integrate the spin-off characters into the organic story I’ll put up with it.

        Heroes Reborn is still entertaining, for the most part. I’ll stick with it because I like a lot of the cast and it’s fun to see them back on my TV.

        I’m still watching The Big Bang Theory. I have no idea why.

        I am really looking forward to Jessica Jones and The Man In The High Castle.

      • thinkling says:

        Re Blindspot: Ditto on the turtleneck thing, Ernie. After a while, it seems like the visual effect of the whole-body-tattoo would wear off, and they could switch to more cloaking clothing. At this point I don’t need to see them constantly. I get it. I know they’re there. Just give us a shot of the tat of the week and get on with the story.

        Dave, I watch and enjoy a lot of procedural and episodic shows, like NCIS, Blue Bloods, The Closer and Major Crimes. Interestingly, some of the episodic shows last the longest (NCIS, Law and Order, etc) Obviously episodic shows won’t have big, sweeping story changes (perhaps a reason for their success), but even so, I like to see the characters grow. These I mention have let their characters and relationships grow quite a bit. That’s part of liking the characters.

        By contrast House, also episodic, (to me) bogged down under the weight of stagnated characters and predictability. I quit watching after a couple of seasons, because the characters just didn’t grow, especially the titular character, whose lack of growth sucked most of the enjoyment out of the show. What little enjoyment was left evaporated in the Saharan formulaic telling of the stories.

        Forgot to mention Scorpion … another show I enjoy more and more. The wt/wt is a little different, in that, he now knows that he loves her, and she knows it … and he knows she knows. Ditto for her. That’s moderately better than 4 seasons of denial. We’ll see where it goes, but for now it’s not burdensome; it’s kinda cute. Lots of endearing, quirky characters who continue to grow personally and with each other … and on me.

      • atcDave says:

        The one I didn’t mention before is Grimm. I was fearful going into the season it would be VERY dark. The way last season ended absolutely would have allowed it.
        But apart from some appropriate acknowledgment of what happened, they’ve managed to return to their brand of fun. It’s obviously a darker show in some ways. But I love it. I’d put it with Madam Secretary and Supergirl as my current favorites.

      • Ernie Davis says:

        Re: Blindspot. I don’t think they can do away with the body tattoos completely. A major plot point in a recent episode was identifying a local landmark that matched one of Jane’s tattoos, but they could easily cut way back.

      • atcDave says:

        Once they’re fully mapped they wouldn’t need the physical tats again. I’m sure they’ll always want to show them off, but it would logically be simple to never see them again.

      • Ernie Davis says:

        In the plot point I’m talking about they were out in the field with no access to the database. It was a nice twist and my guess is that they don’t want to give up that tool. But since they’ve very prominently used it they don’t want to revisit it too often.

      • thinkling says:

        There’s always the option to display whatever tattoos are necessary for the plot, but they could probably reduce the tattoo exposure without hurting the show.

      • Ernie Davis says:

        Oh absolutely. And as this show already got a second season I’d venture that for the sanity of their female lead they’ll have to.

      • thinkling says:

        Yes. Standing – she cannot sit apparently – for 7 hours while someone paints your naked body … man, that would make almost anyone cranky. Kind of like Prison Break, only I think he wore concealing clothing more often than not.

  4. Martin Traynor says:

    Great comments, everyone. I just happened to notice that the third season of several shows I’ve watched tend to change something major. Sometimes it happens earlier or later. Heck, even Happy Days went through a stylistic change from season 2 to 3 (maybe it was budget, I don’t know), but it went from having that genuine 50s look and feel in the first two seasons to looking like it was taking place in the 70s/early 80s for the third season on.

    I know some shows had casting changes, like Three’s Company (I’m going way old school here, I realize), but even the great J.J. Abrams’ Alias had several major changes for its third season, not the least of which was setting the main couple back to being apart, but still having those sparks between them. Even the Brady Brunch did it (I realize the kids were growing up). That show started out with some real, honest stories of the challenges of blending two rather large families into one larger one. Then after a few season, it lost its heart and became a caricature of itself. I mean, come on, Perms for men?!? Point is, it’s been done since way back when, and it’s a shame that it continues today.

    It’s a trend/trope that I am really getting tired of. And it seems to take place across the board, no matter the genre.

    • atcDave says:

      Unexpected cast changes are one of those things that have haunted and undermined so many good shows.
      One of the things I’ve mentioned for a Chuck reunion, they have to have Zac and Yvonne. That seems like a “duh” sort of thing, but we’ve seen some pretty brain dead omissions over the years. So I’ll say right here, for me, Zac and Yvonne are irreplaceable. It is simply not Chuck if either is missing. Any other absence can be explained!

      • The Flash is my new favorite show hands down:great cast, great writing, their honestly has not been a bad episode yet!

        TBBT started slow but has since recovered nicely and is still very funny despite the fact that viewers dislike them shifting from imature to querky adults and last nights episode was the funniest all year! I will watch until its end whenever that may be!

        Scorpion is still very entertaining and looks poised for syndication

        Supergirl is great but might not make it

        Supernatural seems immortal at this point but i have watched it live from go and theres no point ditching it now; keep hunting boys!

        Castle is what it is but i’ll keep watching anyway!

  5. Martin Traynor says:

    I continue to watch Castle, but care very little if it were no longer on. Forgive me if I group you with me incorrectly here, Dave, but I’ve also started to lower my investment in characters and stories for fear of being disappointed…yet again.

    I had low expectations for Flash this season, given how much they revealed and then turned back at the end of last season, but have so far been pleasantly surprised. I did stop watching Arrow last season, but picked it back up at the end and am now back to enjoying it. I also don’t like when the main characters, who I have grown to like and enjoy, change drastically in character and/or behavior. That’s just not fun for me.

    I left SHIELD last season when it just got crazy. They kept adding and subtracting too may characters for me, and again, started messing with who they were.

    Scorpion is running strong and I’m very much enjoying it. The characters are growing, but not turning into something they are not.

  6. oldresorter says:

    I think Supergirl is the only new show I watched, and not sure if I am up to date or not. I probably will binge watch it after the season, another show I do that for is ‘once upon a time’, although not sure if I even watched last yr, show got too ‘epic’ for my tastes, I want to be able to casually watch and not over think something as silly as the show is based on. No interest in Blindspot or Quantico, none.

    Scorpion is taking such a unique appr to the wt/wt, it’ll be interesting to see how they pay off the story they are telling. I almost have to think a step backwards is coming, which could really hurt that show, since the show relies on the female character’s role in the day to day stuff – for someone I thought was a singer, not an actress, she is awesome on the show – Katherine McPhee (prob mispell) is her name maybe?

    Madam sec delivers near each week, proving great drama can be written without ANY wt/wt in play among the lead characters. I wonder if they too will maintain the course? Again this week, a really decent episode. Hat’s off to whoever is writing this show.

    I watch SHIELD, arrow and the flash. They all are kind of the same to me, I really could care less about any of the wt/wt, except I like FitzSimmons. I hope somehow that works out really well. On the other shows, I sort of don’t like the main love interests, and somewhat hope those shows kill someone off (please kill Felicity, ple…..ase), and have all kinds of 3D chess BS going on. I worried about the flash going into this season, as I like the Star labs team from last season, and thought it all would break up. Now I’m think the Frost Queen might come from Earth 2, and Cisco appears to be sticking around, Joe is around, Iris is helping, and even Dr Wells is in the room – earth 2 again at work. I worry that earth 2 will ruin the show eventually, but for now, all is good.

    Castle, I simply am a fan, I think the Castle writers can do the stupidest thing in the world, and I’d still like the show. Matter of fact, I think they have. One other Castle comment, this I did not read, but is me making something up, does anyone else notice that the female recurring guest, could actually be the captain this season, and very litttle would actually change (other than the somewhat added in Caskett stuff?)? That was true even this past week, the spa scene for example, could have been just her, or her and Lanie or her and Alex. I wonder if most of these eps were at least fleshed out b4 Stanic agreed to return?

    Let’s hope we can all talk about a Chuck movie or remake of some sort in these terms someday – fingers crossed.

    • By not shoving Barry and Iris into uncomfortable angst I’m hoping that the flash can avoid the “season 3 curse”…part of chuck’s issue was they crossed that line way too early and then backtracked completely after dangling the carrot. The flash has only gone as far as one dire moment kiss in a timeline that has since been erased which has clearly helped avoid angst. Tom C. is absolutely superb on this show, though.

      IMO Beckett should not have left Castle. did Pam leave Jim when they were having issues in the last season of the office no, i know this is comparring apples and oranges but my point is that they should work through things TOGETHER!

      • atcDave says:

        I think Hollywood in general is so convinced nobody wants to see a healthy couple deal with life, they just decide to break them up and put them back together is the only story to tell. That combined with the short shelf life of Hollywood marriages makes me think they have no idea what a good marriage looks like anyway.
        So it all means Castle has managed to tick me off more than any show since S3 of Chuck. But Castle didn’t have the investment to begin with, so it was easier to just dump it.

        As far as the pacing of things on Chuck goes, they did get things going fast in S2. But I think that was honest to the characters, while the S3 reset was not. At least to say; the strength and warmth of the Charah relationship felt ready to progress quite early on. It may be true that television doesn’t ordinarily move fast on such things, but I think that’s just a darn shame. I think every television relationship, just like every real relationship, has its own pace. Chuck would have felt right with a committed couple from the start of S3, while a show like Castle had a much slower honest pace.

      • Justin says:

        atcDave, I agree that every television relationship has its own pace depending on the characters involved and the show itself.

        I haven’t been watching Castle since the third episode this season. But I can’t bear to see any more of the unnecessary angst going on between them because of this separation. It frustrates me so much. I am going to wait until that drama is resolved.

      • atcDave says:

        Yeah I agree entirely Justin. I MIGHT go back if I hear that arc is over and things are moving on; but for now, I’m not planning on it.

    • DKD says:

      Interesting that no one has mention Zac’s show “Heroes Reborn”. Is it because you aren’t watching it or because you ARE watching, but find it ‘meh’?

      • atcDave says:

        Not watching. I never saw Heroes, and I’m not going to start just to see Zac play a villain. Not my thing.

      • Justin says:

        I’ve been watching parts of Heroes Reborn and, as much as I enjoy watching Zachary Levi back on television, the overall show is just as much of a disaster as Heroes was in its last few seasons. Convoluted storytelling, the overuse of time travel, and most of the characters possessing very little depth or a lot of wasted potential. I never felt it was necessary to bring Heroes back years after its cancellation. There are many cancelled shows that deserve a comeback more than Heroes.

  7. noblz says:

    Been traveling all week (damn government job), first things first. FBoE was a great little episode. I always see this and Masquerade as a “pair” (like Truth and Salami) for me. Good episode, not in my top 10 (29), but still good. The bank robbery scene was great and the Sarah gown and bridezilla moments were just heartwarming. I think the Vivian turn at the end and, of course, too much Morgan. The Vivian turn made no sense as it was set up.

    Now to other shows. A couple of years ago they tried a near copy of Chuck with Intelligence (computer chip instead of Intersect and the recipient was a Delta Force operative not a nerd) but it didn’t get a next season. Now we have Limitless. Has anyone seen it? It is so nearly a copy of Chuck it isn’t even funny (Brian’s bodyguard/handler is nowhere near as good looking as Yvonne though). Although a pill/drug causes our hero to be heroic, but the sinister Sen Morra (Bradley Cooper) is like Fulcrum/Ring in Chuck. It is real close, concept wise. Ratings are ho hum, but it might get a second season.

    • atcDave says:

      Completely agree about FBoE. A lot of fun stuff, just a little short of the best.
      Pretty fun though when the “main plot” (Vivian going dark) is weakest part of the episode.

  8. Martin Traynor says:

    I was disappointed in them having Vivian go bad. Not only was it not set up well, but she made, I thought, a really likable ally to Team B. I guess she pulled it out in the end, but her going dark made no sense. And all because she felt betrayed by Chuck concerning the absent father she hated anyway?!?!

    • atcDave says:

      And the whole betrayal was sort of silly (“he promised!”)
      I didn’t find Vivian all that likable,mostly sort of bland. Until she went psycho.
      It was not well set up.

Leave a Reply

