Episode of the Week: Chuck vs Muuurder (4.19)

NBC Synopsis:  WHEN A SPY IS MURDERED IN CASTLE, IT’S UP TO Chuck TO FIGURE OUT “WHO DONE IT” – ROBIN GIVENS GUEST STARS – Chuck (Zachary Levi) is put in charge of a top-priority mission, but his leadership skills are pushed to the limit when there is a murder in Castle. Meanwhile, Awesome (Ryan McPartlin) takes on a mission of his own when Ellie (Sarah Lancaster) finds an alarming new hobby. Elsewhere, Morgan’s (Joshua Gomez) leadership is also tested when his Buy More troops wage war against Large Mart.

Chuck This Ranking: 88
Dave’s Ranking: about 15 higher

First Impressions: It’s Muuurder! 4.19 First Reactions.

Full Write Ups: Chuck vs Muuurder (4.19) by Dave and Joe
Summer Re-Watch 4.19: Chuck vs Muuurder by Ernie
Lead on MacChuck – Chuck vs Muuurder by Thinkling
Chuck vs Muuurder Review: So much fun it should be murder! by Faith

Alternatives: Season Four Alternatives: Engagement (4.14-4.19) by Dave

About atcDave

I'm 53 years old and live in Ypsilanti, Michigan. I'm happily married to Jodie. I've been an air traffic controller for 30 years; grew up in the Chicago area, and am still a fanatic for pizza and the Chicago Bears. My main interest is military history, and my related hobbies include scale model building and strategy games.
This entry was posted in Re-watch, Season 4, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Episode of the Week: Chuck vs Muuurder (4.19)

  1. authorguy says:

    A very claustrophobic atmosphere. not much of a mystery, and some slipshod story logic really undercut this episode. It also has a really good turn by Robin Givens at the end, redeeming her mostly unlikeable character by taking the bomb into the secure room, knowing it will kill her. Have to like that part. There are many far worse episodes than this one, so 88 is just far too low.

  2. Martin Traynor says:

    I enjoyed this one more than I think a lot of others do/did. I’m stymied by how/when Chuck became the de facto leader of Team B, though. I know he’s given charge in this ep. by Beckman, but somewhere along the line, he becomes the leader and master strategist. We saw it as early as the second half of season 3, when he took down Shaw the first time and got Casey re-instated, and perhaps even earlier than that. I know Sarah started giving more weight to his plans/approaches by at least “Tom Sawyer,” if not sooner. I’m not saying he didn’t deserve to be leader; it just seemed to happen without any officiality.

    That said, I very much enjoyed the way Sarah and Casey both aided, assisted, supported and followed Chuck through this one. For me, the story was never about the case of the week as much as the character interactions and how they grew with each other and grew through that mystery/case of the week. At least that’s what I enjoyed the most.

    I also liked that Chuck was able to get through to Givens’ character (he sure seems to do that with lots of people, including his own team) and create an ally there. And him saving her without the intersect was just plain fun to watch. As an aside, we replay the pig shooting out of the vent every time we see this episode. Fun-ny!

    I don’t think I’d rank this as a favorite, but i very much enjoyed it, again, for the way Team B really gelled, especially at the end. And now Chuck has another nemesis. Oh Boy!

    • atcDave says:

      Yeah I’d agree exactly Martin. It’s not really a “favorite”, but still a lot of fun and I hold nothing against it. It’s an episode I’ll happily re-watch, even if it isn’t one I normally think of.

      I do love the way the team is shown here too. TeamB at maturity.

  3. I’ve watched this episode multiple times as part of the Chuck This rewatches, and my own desire for canonical completeness, but this time I slept through half of it, which has never happened before. Not a great endorsement…

Leave a Reply

