Episode of the Week: Chuck vs The Wedding Planner (4.21)

NBC Synopsis: IN ORDER TO CATCH A THIEF, CHUCK AND SARAH MUST ENLIST SARAH’S FATHER AND CON THE CIA — GARY COLE AND MEKENNA MELVIN GUEST STAR — When Chuck (Zachary Levi) and Sarah (Yvonne Strahovski) get conned out of their wedding money, there is only one man they can turn to for help — Sarah’s conman father, Jack Burton (guest star Gary Cole). Meanwhile, Morgan pressures Casey (Adam Baldwin) to face Alex’s (guest star Mekenna Melvin) mother.

Chuck This Ranking: 17
Dave’s Ranking: About 10 better

First Impressions: The Wedding Planner – Welcome Back Jack! by Joe

Full Write Ups: Chuck vs The Wedding Planner (4.21) by Dave and Joe
The Wedding Planner: A Con in A Sting in A Misdirection by Thinkling
Adventures Lost, Adventures Found by Faith

About atcDave

I'm 53 years old and live in Ypsilanti, Michigan. I'm happily married to Jodie. I've been an air traffic controller for 30 years; grew up in the Chicago area, and am still a fanatic for pizza and the Chicago Bears. My main interest is military history, and my related hobbies include scale model building and strategy games.
This entry was posted in Re-watch, Season 4. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Episode of the Week: Chuck vs The Wedding Planner (4.21)

  1. authorguy says:

    We get to watch Chuck and Sarah act like fools, act completely out of character in every way, let the bad guy get away through their own professional misconduct, and then ruin multiple people’s lives in order to compensate for their own stupidity. And we get a treacly paean to fatherhood and family delivered by the world’s worst father, who teaches his daughter how to be a criminal. By far the worst episode of the series.

    • atcDave says:

      I knew you’d feel compelled to weigh in. I strongly disagree on every level, this is Chuck at its best and one of my absolute favorite episodes. It’s funny, sweet and entertaining all the way through. Well except for the “Super Shuttle” thing….

      • thinkling says:

        Ditto that. One of my favorites (except for the shuttle). Just all kinds of fun and sweet.

      • atcDave says:

        Hey stranger! It’s always good to hear from you. Just ’cause it’s nice to know someone will agree with me!

      • thinkling says:

        Yup. I love: younger Sarah quickly counting the woman’s money and adjusting her price, accordingly; big Sarah’s total girly-ness over her wedding; Chuck’s being in tune with the society page and clueless about the spy stuff he should know. I’ll never not laugh as Chuck and Sarah pan the wall of monitors with their wedding planner as the #1 target of the federal government. The wedding is such fun (with Sarah’s fake accent and fake cake, her and Morgan taking out the bad guys) with good Chuck heart (the dance between Sarah and her dad and the one between and Kathleen and Casey) both of which were resolve during the take-down. Chuck negotiating with Jack, trying to get him to stay is so Chuck. And the final scene goes a long way toward healing Sarah’s daddy wounds.

        Take out the shuttle scene (inside the shuttle), and it’s all good. I do love Daphne’s net capture — funny every time.

      • atcDave says:

        This episode is so rich! I’d add flash face as one of my favorites; I’m not sure which is funnier, that Chuck thinks he looks “cool” when flashes or Sarah trying to set him straight.

  2. Martin Traynor says:

    I almost hate to admit it, but the more I see of Jack Burton…the more I…LOVE THE GUY! What a great character, flaws and all. In fact, it’s the flaws that make him so endearing (well, at least when coupled with all that charm). Actually, what I think I like most about him is his appreciation for Chuck and Chuck’s role in his daughter’s life. He may not be father of the year, but he loves his daughter, and to his credit, he recognizes that Chuck is perfect for her.

    And I know it’s been said almost ad nauseum, but Yvonne really rocked this episode with that New York accent. How incredibly sexy (AND TALENTED) she is!

    Dave, I too loved this episode. Fun, Fun, Fun, all the way around. Sure it had plenty of silly, and I even liked the idea that Sarah is so in love (and thus maybe a little less guarded) that she (of all people, i.e. spy and con-daughter) gets conned. Real girl stuff going on here.

  3. On another matter, altogether, Netflix Canada has removed Chuck! I understand it is gone from a number of European sites as well.

    • atcDave says:

      Well that’s a bummer. I understand things come and go with Netflix, but I think that’s been a huge source of new viewers.

      • Exactly. I understood that lots of new fans were attracted to Chuck on Netflix. Pure unfounded hope on my part, but I wonder if SyFy (or Space in Canada) would be interested in adding it to their schedule….

      • DKD says:

        Only Netflix knows how many viewers their shows have, which is a sticking point with the companies that sell them the rights. Dropping a show isn’t a good sign.

      • IMO this does not matter much…Empire flopped everywhere except in the US. Some things just don’t catch on elsewhere …

      • atcDave says:

        Yeah Josh, I think ultimately Chuck sinks or swims based on the US market.
        But we have had so many international fans here it is a shame if things become more difficult for them.

      • Wilf says:

        Happily, Chuck is still available on UK Netflix. hope that continues.

  4. noblz says:

    This is one of my top 10(29) episodes, easily. Martin nailed it, and I like how…I don’t know… arrogant Sarah is about how good she and Chuck are as spies.

    Gary Cole is right up there with Mini Anden, Scott Backula, Armande Assante and Timothy dalto as my favorite recurring guests stars. He nails the slick conman and his asking Chuck to look out for Sarah is both prescient and ironic.

    Oddly, this episode had almost the lowest number of viewers in S4. Its a shame the Chuckpocalyse kept so many viewers from enjoying this.

    • atcDave says:

      I agree exactly with all of that noblz.

    • Wilf says:

      For some reason, I never quite liked this episode enough to call it one of my (many) favourites. Whilst I, too, really like Gary Cole’s character and there were a lot of laughs in WP, it just doesn’t do it for me. I do enjoy viewing Chuck’s reaction to Sarah’s fake flash, though, and the ending is very sweet even if Sarah is accepting tainted money from her dad!

Leave a Reply

