Episode of the Week: Chuck vs Agent X (4.22)

NBC Synopsis:  CHUCK’S BACHELOR PARTY GETS OUT OF HAND WHEN SOME UNINVITED GUESTS ARRIVE – RAY WISE GUEST STARS – Chuck (Zachary Levi) and Sarah (Yvonne Strahovski) put aside spy work to have a weekend of debauchery, but Awesome’s (Ryan McPartlin) plans for Chuck’s big night don’t go quite as expected. Meanwhile, Ellie’s (Sarah Lancaster) investigation into her father’s computer leads to a life-changing discovery.

Chuck This Ranking: 56
Dave’s Ranking: I Agree

First Impressions: 4.22 Chuck vs Agent X: First Impressions

Full Write Ups: Chuck vs Agent X (4.22) by Dave and Joe
Circles and Rubik’s Cubes — Agent X Re-Watch by Thinkling and Dave
Twist and Shout: Chuck vs Agent X Review by Faith

About atcDave

I'm 53 years old and live in Ypsilanti, Michigan. I'm happily married to Jodie. I've been an air traffic controller for 30 years; grew up in the Chicago area, and am still a fanatic for pizza and the Chicago Bears. My main interest is military history, and my related hobbies include scale model building and strategy games.
This entry was posted in Re-watch, Season 4. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Episode of the Week: Chuck vs Agent X (4.22)

  1. Without attaching a particular number to it, I place this episode in the top third of season 4. (I understand that Wedding Planner ranks quite a bit higher. While I appreciated the reappearance of Gary Cole’s Jack Burton, which allowed for more Sarah backstory, Sarah and Chuck’s behaviour in going after Daphne Peralta was over the top. I’d put these episodes on par with each other.)The bachelor party thing was a bit silly, and Sarah’s party in particular was weak, but there was some important events that took place here. First, Ellie finally knows that Chuck is with the CIA, and second, we discover that Volkoff is actually Hartley Winterbottom. I really don’t remember whether that was a surprise to me upon first viewing, but I still like the way it is revealed. In previous watches, I know that people have felt that trying to get Volkoff back to being Winterbottom, important as that was, hardly seemed an adequate explanation for the Bartowski parents’ abandonment of their children. I don’t disagree with that, but at least there is *some* explanation in the story. As someone who never really understood the character of Mary Bartowski, this episode offered at least a little bit more of a foundation for her behaviour.

    Merry Christmas to all those who are celebrating this time of year.

    • atcDave says:

      Yeah I do agree this is a pretty solid episode and I really like the way Agent X is revealed. I think I was quite surprised by that.
      I do completely agree this was a poor excuse for Mary’s (and Stephen’s) behavior, but “poor” is an improvement over what we previously had. The Bartowski parents are pretty bad parents, even with a new found inkling of “why”.

      And absolutely, Merry Christmas to everyone! Safe travels, enjoy family, celebrate Christ’s birth. Looks like a very wet holiday for us this year!

  2. noblz says:

    First of all, Merry Christmas everyone! hope the season finds all in good cheer.

    Now, I have to part ways a little with Russ, in that I really like this ep, not enough to make the top 10(29), but in upper half of the “good” episodes.

    I did not hold the little semi-rogue mission in Wedding Planner against them. It’s not even in the same league with what Mary/Stephen did. Just saying…

    I loved the little bubble bath scene and how Sarah openly teases Chuck. The Sarah/Ellie action was also very good as was the Ellie reveal and “machine gun momma”.

    The guys little trip to Las Vecas was the part I liked least, but Casey wiping out the SOF team and Chuck’s brawl with India de Beaufort’s character was good. Jeff, Lester and Big Mike were beyond annoying.

    Good ep. Even a Chuck ep that is just “good” is way better than stuff on TV now.

    Speaking o which, has anyone else noticed the recent “copies” of Chuck? I mean Intelligence and Limitless. Intelligence was a straight up drama and didn’t fare well, but limitless is a drama with lighter elements sort of like Castle was in the first couple of seasons. The set up of the characters and situations are uncannily similar to Chuck.

    Also, in the area of Useless Chuck trivia, I stumbled across a Netflix fan site (didn’t know they had one) and guess what two of the leading shows are to be saved/revived by Netflix? Well leading by a huge margin was Forever but laying at number 5 or 6 was Chuck. I hadn’t thought o an angle like that.

    And a happy New Year for all!!

  3. atcDave says:

    Interesting about Forever. It was a very fun show, but I’m not sure I need more (mainly because I like how it ended, and have little confidence that future episodes could be as good as I imagine them). Obviously Chuck would be my first candidate for more product.

    You know I was a huge fan of Wedding Planner, excellent episode.
    And Agent X is just a solid average. I seem to enjoy Las Vecas more than you did! Sure Lester was annoying, but he always is. Jeff made me laugh hard. I liked how the most clueless guy on the show was the only one who understood where they were going. And I loved how Chuck, Morgan and Casey were all surprised; but they just went with it.

  4. MartinTraynor says:

    I think my favorite part of this one was the Ellie reveal Gosh it took them so long to finally do that, however! I love when Ellie asks what’s so important that they all need to protect, and Sarah and Casey and Morgan exchange glances before looking toward Chuck for the answer.

    The camping bachelor party had its moments, and Lester throwing money in the air and making it “rain” actually made me laugh a few times.

    Season four had a few of those episodes that just felt like 4 episode sin one. You had a lot going on here, and after all the wedding stuff (which was fun to see), we had a quick trip to England to meet Hartley’s mom, her Sarah exercise a sexy British accent, scuttle an antique home and learn the origins of Volkoff. I can’t help but wonder if that was the plan all along (to have Volkoff be the first intersect), because if so, and Mary had the means to suppress it in Chuck, why not just do the same to Volkoff? Unless the removal device was different than that used by Decker (I know, his were glasses). I just don’t think the story is very tight around the idea that both Mary and Stephen knew Hartley, made him Volkoff, and then had Stephen had to search for him and Mary couldn’t do anything about him for 20 years. But this has been discussed ad nauseum earlier, and it’s not a really big deal to me, sat least not enough to ruin the episode (or mythos, for that matter, though it does dent it up a little).

    This certainly goes in the top half, along with most, if not all, of season 4. Since the biggest draw for me in CHUCK is the relationships between the characters, and esp. Chuck/Sarah, we got a lot of interactions on a personal level, from the bachelorette party to the camping trip to the bathtub “get ready” scene at the beginning to the Ellie reveal.

    • atcDave says:

      Yeah I completely agree that the spy story is far less important to me than the relationships and the humor. I can overlook a lot of failings in overall plot as long as the characters are good.

Leave a Reply

