Episode of the Week: Chuck vs The Frosted Tips (5.03)

NBC Synopsis:  WHEN LIFE AS THE INTERSECT INFLATES MORGAN’S EGO, CHUCK IS TESTED AS BOTH HIS HANDLER AND HIS FRIEND—CARRIE-ANNE MOSS GUEST STARS—As the team is tasked with finding one of the CIAs most wanted, Chuck (Zachary Levi) fears that the Intersect may be going to Morgan’s (Joshua Gomez) head. Meanwhile Sarah (Yvonne Strahovski) helps Casey (Adam Baldwin) navigate his relationship with Gertrude (guest star Carrie-Anne Moss). Elsewhere, Captain Awesome (Ryan McPartlin) makes a startling revelation about Jeff (Scott Krinsky) and Lester (Vik Sahay).

Chuck This Ranking: 67
Dave’s Ranking: Slightly Higher

First Impressions: Chuck vs The Frosted Tips (5.03)

Full Write Ups: Chuck vs The Frosted Tips (5.03) by Dave and Joe
Bring Back Morgan – Chuck vs The Frosted Tips by Thinkling

About atcDave

I'm 54 years old and live in Ypsilanti, Michigan. I'm happily married to Jodie. I've been an air traffic controller for 31 years; grew up in the Chicago area, and am still a fanatic for pizza and the Chicago Bears. My main interest is military history, and my related hobbies include scale model building and strategy games.
This entry was posted in Re-watch, Season 5. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Episode of the Week: Chuck vs The Frosted Tips (5.03)

  1. As season 5 episodes go, I rank this one pretty highly. There was some real tension going on, and Morgan’s sanity hung in the balance. But I probably liked the one-liners and visual gags the most.
    First for me was the scenario where Casey is trying to console Alex after she was “DMPD’d” (the ‘d seems redundant) by Morgan. I like that Casey’s initial instinct to simply kill Morgan was replaced with the idea of keeping him alive so that *Alex* could work him over.

    Chuck painted a picture in my mind that I would probably like to forget: “It’s like middle school all over again, when Morgan grew his first mustache—full, thick, manly. Like a miniature Tom Selleck.”

    And then there’s Casey to Verbanski: “I’m here because you stole our mission…and our moron.”

    The final visual delight was the view of the rehabilitated Jeff. Erudite, articulate, health-conscious and completely incomprehensible to Lester.

    And of course, the conspiracy story creeps back in at the end: the Intersect glasses were not from Beckman, were tainted, and meant to cause trouble for Chuck; Morgan’s life is in danger, evidently because of Decker.

    I’m glad that these weekly postings give me an excuse to keep on regularly rewatching Chuck. Thanks again for keeping this going.

    • atcDave says:

      Well you know we’re happy to provide an excuse for your Chuck habit!

      There was a lot to enjoy in this episode. I think it holds up pretty well; and of course, is even more important for how it impacts the finale.

  2. authorguy says:

    Speaking of the finale, today is the anniversary of that sad event. If anybody is looking for a way to make it less sad, the final chapter of Nine2five season 3 went up today, a very Charah-filled, forward-looking story of our favorite team/family unit as they move on past the Intersect Project.

    As for the episode itself, I agree with pretty much everything Russ said. I somehow managed to miss something when watching this the first time, since the foreshadowing of this episode on the finale completely escaped me. It’s not complete, since no one was forcing Morgan to flash using any cards. Were they simply to force the flashes, which then caused the memory loss, or were they somehow part of the memory-loss process? As I recall they targeted specific memories to be lost, so there’s still that little incongruity between Morgan’s case and Sarah’s.

    • atcDave says:

      Yeah Sarah was specifically harmed/damaged in a way Morgan was not. I think that’s enough to explain why she had no memories at all while Morgan at least remembered who everyone was! In the end, I think Sarah asking for “our story” as the equivalent of Morgan at the end of Frosted Tips; emotionally back where she was, just missing the details.

      • authorguy says:

        If we view the cards Quinn used as somehow forcing the Intersect to erase those specific memories, but otherwise the process of erasing the memories was the same, then there should be no difference between Morgan’s and Sarah’s cases. The problem then would be finding a trigger for Sarah.

      • atcDave says:

        Well I would say she did find that trigger, just spending time with Chuck. I think the big indicators at the end; Sarah “without you I’m nothing but a spy” Walker told Beckman “no thanks” to a job offer; and then told Chuck to tell her “our story”. I think that all adds up to saying she had gotten over that hump just like Morgan had at the end of Frosted Tips.
        And like Morgan, she may continue to have gaps in her memories for quite some time, but that shouldn’t stop her from reclaiming her life.

        But I think we were supposed to see the major part of the recovery was well under way. I would have loved to see something more concrete, what we got failed to satisfy me emotionally. But rationally it was adequate.

    • If I may be allowed to throw in my two cents (which is more than Marc got paid for his efforts!), I read the final chapter of Nine2five last night and found it to be a very satisfying conclusion. I hesitate to say more so that I don’t undermine the joy of discovery as the story unfolds for new readers, but let me suggest that readers of the whole series might find it interesting how Carina’s character develops.

  3. noblz says:

    This was my least favorite of the “Morgansect” episodes. As Russ pointed out, there were a lot of good things to balance the Morgan overload.

    The thing I liked best was the emergence of Sarah Bartowski, emotional counselor to the spies. She wingman’s Casey attempt to set up Gertrude and she is the one to convince Chuck that something is very wrong with Morgan. This was tremendous growth in Sarah’s character and funny to boot.

    The Casey-Verbanski interlude in her office was beyond hilarious. In fact, the entire infiltration of Verbanski Corp was a hoot.

    Too much Morgan, again, but a very watchable, entertaining episode.

    • atcDave says:

      I agree with almost all of that, except I thought the previous episode was worse from a “too much Morgan” perspective.
      Sarah becoming Morgan’s advocate, even to welcoming him to the guest room at the end, was wonderful.

  4. Martin Traynor says:

    I think we saw more character growth in Sarah (or perhaps more accurately the fruits of that growth) in two short scenes (helping Casey try to ask Gertrude out at the beginning and consoling Chuck about Morgan the morning after his defection to team Verbanski) the we see in just about any character anywhere. Simply wonderful to see.

    Really, a lot of the characters grew or displayed their character development this season, which is refreshing and satisfying as a viewer and “friend” to these wonderful characters. Especially where our beloved Sarsh is concerned.

    Which is what makes the finale so bone-crushingly disappointing. But we can talk about that more in a few months…

  5. oldresorter says:

    It’s so hard to not watch these first three eps and not both love and hate and love again, Chuck and Sarah were fun, but the Morgan character was so overplayed such that no real serious story got told, yet I can see the underlying story arc the writers were trying to go for, it simply didn’t work for me, yet, I really loved the ep if Morgan wasn’t involved at all. For me, he makes the show too ridiculous, too silly, and then when the show tries to do something real, I want to punch something.

    Found a new show, just started the second season after an 8 ep first season. Set in WW2, a spy org in Nazi occupied France with a woman handler and a very gifted, very troubled man agent. Both characters are tragic sorts, and ‘love’ or ‘in love’ is not even the word I’d use, but they have some of the s1/s2 serious part of Chuck and Sarah going, some of the serious issues of asset / handler. The lady character in particular is very ‘real’. And there is a Bryce ‘floating’ around somewhere – literally. The rest of spy team is pretty solid too, both in the field and at the home base. All drama. X Company is the name – canadian network.

Leave a Reply

