Episode of the Week: Chuck vs the Curse (5.06)

NBC Synopsis:  A CASE OF MISTAKEN IDENTITY GIVES ELLIE AND AWESOME A DATE NIGHT THEY WILL NEVER FORGET — REBECCA ROMIJN GUEST STARS –Chuck (Zachary Levi) and Sarah (Yvonne Strahovski) race against time to take down a dangerous computer virus, pitting them against Robyn Cunnings (guest star Rebecca Romijn), a ruthless spy who will stop at nothing to get what she needs. Meanwhile, Ellie (Sarah Lancaster) and Awesome’s (Ryan McPartlin) date night takes a dangerous turn and Morgan (Joshua Gomez) is sent on a special mission to recover Chuck’s P.A.N.T.S.

Chuck This Ranking: 84
Dave’s Ranking: I agree

First Impressions: 5.06 Chuck vs The Curse: Specs and Reacts!

Full Write Ups: Chuck vs The Curse (5.06) by Dave and Joe
Romance, Torture, Spies, and the Bartowski Stupid Stick by Thinkling

About atcDave

I'm 54 years old and live in Ypsilanti, Michigan. I'm happily married to Jodie. I've been an air traffic controller for 31 years; grew up in the Chicago area, and am still a fanatic for pizza and the Chicago Bears. My main interest is military history, and my related hobbies include scale model building and strategy games.
This entry was posted in Re-watch, Season 5. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Episode of the Week: Chuck vs the Curse (5.06)

  1. atcDave says:

    Based on the comments of readers here I gave Castle another chance. I mostly liked what I saw, enough to put it back on the “to do” list. The “secret relationship” thing is sort of cute. Especially how no one around them gets it. I think this would have worked better four seasons ago. It certainly is what I wish they’d done with S3 of Chuck.
    But I have absolutely no desire to go back and see how they arrived at this. I can guess enough.

    • Justin says:

      I don’t know if I have it in me to get back to watching current episodes of Castle. I am still burned by the forced breakup melodrama.

      • atcDave says:

        Well they’re no longer broke up. But everyone thinks they are. Its mildly amusing. But certainly not worth junking half a season to get to it. It just screams “the writers are bored”. Even if the show runner is new…

    • oldresorter says:

      the really good castle ep was the first one with them back together. IMO they have not done near as much with it as they could. I caan’t even quite recall any real Martha and Lexis moments. I’m thinking Martha might know, or is going to know when they tell her. Oh well. I think the ‘Kate’ actress is bored out of her mind with the show, and she is done. The only issue will be if Rick and Lexus (or somehow Summer Glau) somehow form a new show IMO. Then again, since Ms Glau is appearing this season, the show probably is over, isn’t that how it works?

      This ep of Chuck was kind of the beginning of the end of ‘fun chuck’ for me. It’s also too bad, as this ep could have been pretty darned great, but the show seemed to have lost it’s steam at this point. Even the good stuff they did wasn’t quite clicking, and the bad wasn’t too good at all. In retrospect, Chuck really missed it’s A team of writers.

      Some interesting news I read today, X Files might do a second season of it’s return run. Hoping the more of these revival’s that work, the better the odds for Chuck.

      If chuck comes back, I’m going to try to stay relatively spoiler free and somewhat lower my expectations.

      • atcDave says:

        I’ve seen since the break for Castle, they’ve been “together” the whole time. They even created fake “other relationships” that are pretty funny. It seems not even Mom or Alexis has any idea they’re faking it.
        Stana Katic does seem bored, and perhaps an off the wall story arc like this was the deal for bringing her back; but on balance, I think they should have just ended it last season.
        I could imagine going forward with Rick and Alexis’ detective agency, but they would need Beckett several times a season or things would feel fake or depressing.

        I really don’t agree about the writers for Chuck. I think the “B” team was as good or better than those who started the show. All my top episodes are by later writers. But I do think Baby is the last “great” episode of the series. The show is let down by an uninspired finale arc; five mostly tepid episodes in a row. But so much great Chuck has been recent, and another great lies just ahead…

      • Wilf says:

        The uninspired finale arc was also completed with two episodes which lacked any real sort of worthwhile humour at all which, for a comedy show, was unusual in the extreme.

      • atcDave says:

        Yeah I agree exactly Wilf. 5.12 in particular strikes me as a foolish misstep.

  2. Justin says:

    Chuck vs. the Curse is one of my least favorite episodes of Season 5. I didn’t like how Chuck got in his head about his family being cursed and because of that thinking, he did something stupid on his own without Sarah and Casey to back him up. The look Sarah gave Chuck when she rescued him gave me the chills. Reminds you that Chuck is married to an assassin. Another reason why the episode disappointed me is the quick resolution of Chuck and Sarah’s life on the run that I thought would go on longer before it was resolved.

    • atcDave says:

      Yeah I agree with all of that Justin. Chuck and the Curse is too much “Chuck the moron”. Its just not a version of our protagonist I ever needed to see.
      But it was a good Sarah episode.

  3. noblz says:

    Ah…the Curse. This is one of the few episodes that when I first viewed it I condemned it to the dud pile. On recollection, I promoted out of the dud pile mainly due to Sarah and the ending (also I think Rebecca Romijn is hot). The take down of Robin Cunnings team was damn good and the Sarah Bartowski cold shoulder looked positively frigid. There were some other good moments in here, the Casey-Beckman rendezvous comes to mind.

    Since there are 9 episodes in my dud pile, this is probably 80-81 in my list.

    • I never deliberately created a dud pile, but this one certainly ranks very low in my estimation. As I began watching it this time around, I actually felt disappointment, the opening moments reminding me of what was about to unfold. This many years along, Chuck the moron should have faded into the past.

      Nevertheless, there are some good lines here or there. I like the whole P.A.N.T.S. thing, and Casey’s reminiscing about the dark times including the “Clinton years” still makes me laugh (and reminds me of someone I met back when Bill Clinton was first elected). And then there is Agent Robyn Cunnings, a cringeworthy name that belongs in a James Bond flick.

      • atcDave says:

        Hey, a shock Russ, we mostly agree! Except I thought the “PANTS” thing was pushing too far. Not much works right here for Chuck. Ellie, Devon, Sarah, Casey and even Morgan all have a pretty good episode. But moron Chuck pretty much torpedoes it for me.

      • Wilf says:

        I didn’t dislike the episode that much (is this what you call damning with faint praise?), although the PANTS thing was to me just silly (in such a serious programme, I know!). I liked it that Robyn got her proper comeuppance and Chuck and Sarah ended up in a good place again, after scary Sarah had had her say.

      • In truth, the best part of the PANTS thing was when Alex opened up Morgan’s box and saw she held a prominent place among the contents. I think that began Morgan’s rehabilitation in her eyes.

      • atcDave says:

        Wilf no doubt I liked scary Sarah! I particularly liked when Chuck was threatening Robyn with the wrathful wife. The only thing missing was Robyn saying “nobody told me Mrs Bartowski was Sarah Walker…”

        Russ I do gree with all of that. I mostly dislike Chuck’s “I forgot my pants” bit. So Morgan has a better scene than Chuck!

Leave a Reply

