Fan Fiction Update

Hi I’m Dave and like to welcome you all to this new web site…

I think we just set a record for longest period between posts here at Chuck This. Sadly, this may be the new normal.  I still have a couple ideas percolating in my little brain, but for now things will likely remain slow.  But, as I’ve said before, don’t mistake slow for completely dead (!).  And since there is still a trickle of new fan fiction being published I thought I would take that as an excuse for a new post.

So once again, after the jump…

Let me start with a one-shot by WvonB.  This is a newer writer, his first work only goes back about a year.  All seven of his works are on my favorites list.  I particularly like Sarah vs The Darkness.  This takes place the night after episode 2.11 when Sarah shot Lt Mauser.  It starts very reflective as Sarah grapples with what her actions mean to her as a person, why she did it, and what it means for her and Chuck.  Pretty tough stuff!  It gets more interesting from there, and has the sort of resolution to this story that I think would have satisfied more viewers than the short punt we actually got in canon. I recommend this (and everything by this writer) very highly. It would be rated PG for some thematic issues and takes about a half hour to read.

I’ll follow that up with a longer, on-going adventure.  Chuck vs Jen Burton: Spy Girl by PJ Murphy.  This is well written and a lot of fun.  It starts about where the show does, except that Sarah and Casey are stars of prime-time television show called “Spy Girl” who just happen to be real agents.  So when Chuck first encounters “Vicky Vale” at Buy More, he knows exactly who she is…   except for the spy part.  The story does follow the first seasons of the show with that major change impacting how everything plays out; starting with a cover that involves publicists and gossip columnists.
As a basic twist this is entertaining and well executed.  The one warning I will have for readers is PJ Murphy’s continued (over) use of his pet OC Jimmy Slade.  This character is well written and plays well with the story, but I’m sure many readers would prefer if he’d been left out of this one.  I suppose the good news is that much of the darkest angst can play out through him instead of Chuck or Sarah.  And as I said, Slade is well written and integrated with the story.  But he is a distraction sometimes.
Still, I recommend this story quite highly.  It is a lot of fun, especially all the twists to canon coming from this alternate set up.  It would be rated PG-13 for some language and situations.  It is already novel length and I don’t think its into the final act yet, so it could be on-going for a while.

Another entertaining serial comes from willynilly23.  Many readers are no doubt familiar with this writer’s previous work, and this post-series story is nominally a follow on the previous “Chuck vs The Love Scenes“.  But “Chuck vs The Unknown” is more in the realm of other epilogues.  It initially focuses on Sarah’s attempts to reclaim her memories. Some of the initial set up (Sarah and Chuck apart for several weeks as Sarah gets treatment) was forced; but the characters are always extremely well written.  Ultimately this joins the ranks of very satisfying post series stories and is as much fun as any.  It would be rated PG-13 for an amorous couple and could be read in a couple hours.

My last recommendation for this post is “Chuck vs Sam” by Sir Chucky.  This is a “Fake Name” alternative that, like many others, finds a much more satisfying way of resolving that episode.  It is fascinating to me how many viewers interpreted what was happening on screen at this time about the same, and were itching for a satisfying turn that was far too long in coming.  This would be rated PG and take 10 minutes to read.

For now, these occasional fan fiction updates are the only posts I can promise.  But eventually we will start another re-watch. For now, fan fiction is the only source of new Chuck material so I encourage fans to check out these, or any of the many other excellent fan works I’ve linked from here over the years.

~ Dave 

About atcDave

I'm 53 years old and live in Ypsilanti, Michigan. I'm happily married to Jodie. I've been an air traffic controller for 30 years; grew up in the Chicago area, and am still a fanatic for pizza and the Chicago Bears. My main interest is military history, and my related hobbies include scale model building and strategy games.
This entry was posted in Fan Fiction. Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Fan Fiction Update

  1. Yay! Thanks for “keeping the faith,” Dave. I’ve read a couple of stories by WvonB in the last few months and cannot but agree with you that he is a favourite. I’ve also got PJ Murphy and willynilly23 among my authors to read, but I haven’t gotten there yet.

    I saw the Pilot episode of Chuck in May when my wife and I went on a vacation to Lake George, NY and had access to US Netflix. I have the series at home, but somehow, since it’s been dropped by Netflix Canada, I’ve not been watching it of my own initiative. I need a Chuck This rewatch to get me back on the path.

    • atcDave says:

      I’ve made a point of not re-watching for now. I had sort of worn it out, and I think a break may make me more excited in a while.
      But I definitely still look forward to new fan fiction. We’ve had so much excellent stuff over the years.

  2. Wilf says:

    Thank you very much for this update, Dave. I couldn’t agree more with your views on this latest batch of Chuck fictions – I’ve really enjoyed them all.

  3. Justin says:

    Have you done a post on Chuck’s main villains, comparing them to each other?

  4. noblz says:

    In the blast from the past category, ne71 is posting new stuff done with the same humor and quality of ne71’s earlier work. (except for the one dark piece that is)

  5. CaptMediocre says:

    Dave (or others),

    I need somw help finding an older fanfic.

    I don’t recall much about this story other than in the final chapter Sarah (civilian Sarah of I recall) foils a bank robbery.

    I’ve been reading some older stuff lately and this one came to mind but for the life of me I cannot remember the title.

  6. anthropocene says:

    Not a post related to FF…but there is very good news to pass along! Our friend kidneyforruss, aka resaw, received a kidney transplant this past Friday! He reports that the surgery went well and he is already in much better shape!

    • thinkling says:

      Great News!!!

    • atcDave says:

      That is awesome news!

    • Wilf says:

      Wonderful news, and gives hope that a dear friend of mine who also awaits a kidney may find what he needs very soon.

    • noblz says:

      Fantastic news! Keep us posted!!

    • Thanks for taking the initiative, Anthro, and my apologies to you all for not reporting sooner. I’ve been somewhat preoccupied…. I was discharged from hospital on Wednesday, the earliest they had predicted, so yes indeed, the recovery is progressing well.

      To say a little about this event, I have been a participant in a Canada-wide Paired Kidney Donation program, in which I happened to have two willing but incompatible donors. After several rounds in which no matches were made, early in July I got a rather cryptic message that the local transplant unit here in London, Ontario (a mere 30-minute walk from my home for the last 15 years), one of the leading centres for organ transplants in Canada, was “working on something.” It turned out that a local undesignated donor (not paired with anyone in particular) “unlocked” the impasse and as a result several matches were made, including for me. Next month, one of my friends will donate one of his kidneys to someone else to complete our paired donation involvement.

      What can I say about the graciousness of people who are willing to undergo the removal of a kidney and deal with weeks of recovery post-surgery for the benefit of someone else? I am grateful beyond words. These people are heroes. The hospital takes great pains to protect patient confidentiality so in this case, I will never know the person who donated to me directly, but I will write a letter of appreciation that will be passed on via the hospital social worker.

      Thank you for all your kind words. I have felt like I have been surrounded by saints in prayer and among those who are not so inclined good wishes and hopes on my behalf. Wilf’s note is a reminder that there are many others who are waiting and hoping for the freedom that a new kidney can bring. Living donation makes up an increasingly significant minority of kidney donations, but most still come from deceased donation. If I can make a public service announcement, please find out about organ and tissue donation in your local jurisdiction and register as a donor. A t-shirt one of the transplant nurses wore had a nifty slogan that I think bears repeating: “Don’t take your organs to heaven. Heaven knows we need them here.”

      Thank you again,

      Russ

      • atcDave says:

        Great to hear you’re on the mend Russ. I have no doubt it’s been an exhausting experience for you, and it’s great for us to get such a reminder on an entertainment site that real dramas are all around us. I can’t imagine how confusing and exciting a “we’re working on something” message must have been!

        You keep getting better and we all will keep praying!

      • noblz says:

        Yeah, what he said. Good luck, get well soon!!

  7. Martin Traynor says:

    Thanks for the updates. I’ve been very slowly pacing myself through the FF to make it last as long as possible, and coupling that with some sporadic rewatches (revisited a good chunk of seasons 1 and 2 this holiday weekend) has me really jonesing for some new stuff. I even went back last night to review some older posts.

    I hope this site never goes away, even if new content dries up, because what’s here is really, really insightful and helpful when it comes to some of those issues some of us struggle with even years later.

    To my point, I was cogitating on the finale again (a story I’m reading springs from it) and found some posts from season 2 (I think it was vs the Beefcake) where the conversation went to what Sarah was starting to remember and not remember. It was suggested that none of her memories were emotional, but rather only mechanical or muscle memory, to which if have to agree. I’d also like to note that although she does ask Chuck to kiss her, and even kisses him multiple times there on the beach, her body language is anything but into it. Her body faces front and her hands/arms remain at her side. At least she leans in, but it is very reserved on her part.

    As you can see, I still struggle with the finale a little bit.

    • atcDave says:

      We plan to keep this up as long as we can, probably many years yet. We expect to have some new content next year, for the tenth (!) anniversary of the start of the show. But probably not much, except maybe a fan fiction post or two, until then.

      As for your interpretation of the end, I understand, but I don’t completely agree. No doubt, when it first aired I felt it looked horribly ambivalent to me, and I disliked the end for that reason. But after several rewatches, and the extra material on the discs, I don’t feel that way anymore. For starters, some of the earlier moments were plenty emotional; I think Sarah was shook in 5.12 when she recognized her own carving at the dream house and it triggered a memory. If we credit a deleted scene for anything, and I do in this case, Sarah removing her rings tore her up. That was an intensely emotional moment for her, presumably because it felt so wrong for her to do it. Even without a specific memory she feels a very strong connection to Chuck.
      But to me the biggest scene is the beach itself. I do wish we’d seen a more unrestrained and joyful Sarah at that point, and a little more passion in that kiss. But we DID see her very emotional, laughing and crying. This is completely unlike S1 or S2 Sarah. She has lowered her defenses for Chuck and is ready to claim her life back. At least that’s how I’ll always see it.
      Of course that also means I’m not very interested in more canon Chuck content at this point. I don’t trust television writers one bit, and I fear new Chuck would mean revisiting a sort of drama I have zero interest in getting back to. Several fan fiction stories, and even complete AUs mean more to me than the show at this point. My enduring memory is that Chuck and Sarah are happy and raising a family. I’m not really that interested in how canon ended; Thinkling, Anthropocene, Quistie, mynameisjeffnimlost and others told better stories that I will remember longer.

      • Martin Traynor says:

        Dave, you have achieved a level of enlightenment I hope to one day ascend, but I sadly don’t think I’ll ever get there.

        You and several others have made great points, and maybe I could agree with your reasoning and possibly see it, but I’ll never feel it, I fear. All the sadder for me, I know. And I want to embrace that ending, or at least not hate it, but my wiring…she just doesn’t work that way, I guess.

        I agree with your take on the FF out there and say that for me, as well, some of it almost supplants cannon.

      • Hello everyone, its been a long, long time since my last post. After two years, 183,000 words and just under 500 pages if it were in paperback form I have finished my fanfic which spans 20 chapters plus an epilouge that’s an actual ending. The rest was published yesterday after working in seclusion on the last four chapters, in a row for two months.

        This whole experience has given me great respect for TBTB. Writing is not easy, I was stuck after i published chapter 16 and that was December of last year. If not for the Cavs winning Cleveland’s first championship in 52 years. I might not have finshed it (ill-health and family hardships) from December-May left me totally uninspired) I don’t envy tv writers they can’t wait for inspiration so instead write the first thing that pops into their head and are left at the mercy of fan reaction.

        My botton line is I just want more CHUCK no matter how we get it or what that may look like and this is one fan that won’t cpmlain if it happens!

      • atcDave says:

        It was great to see your story get a proper end Josh! Congrats on seeing through.

        I never doubt that writing is a lot of work. I also understand that the writer’s perspective will always be a bit different from the reader’s. But as a reader I consider that no excuse. The writer writes what they want. I feel no obligation to like or appreciate the result, no matter how much work it represents.
        Now that said, you delivered a fun tale with a satisfying (and complete) ending. So THAT I can appreciate.

      • Wilf says:

        Josh, I’m also very pleased to see your story re-surface and be completed. It’s a tribute to how memorable the story is to me that, despite the time that has elapsed since you published the previous chapter, I can actually remember what it is about and have not needed to re-read it – something I frequently need to do when a story reappears after a long time. I’m working through the new chapters right now and really appreciate the work you have done.

      • I’m thrilled you remembered my story and stuck around. Enjoy the rest of it and you can message me over at fanfiction anytime

  8. duckman says:

    I haven’t posted here in quite some time, mostly because I didn’t have anything of value to add. I will say I continue to check the site for updates and hope it hangs around. At this point I have gotten more enjoyment from fanfiction and this site than from the show itself. As far as I’m concerned I last saw them christmas day at the end of the last som christmas one-shot, and when idle, my mind takes them on new adventures in that universe far more satisfying to me than any tv writer would be allowed to come up with.

    • atcDave says:

      I like all of that Duckman! I enjoy the same “final episode”!

    • Martin Traynor says:

      I find myself meshing FF with canon quite often, sometimes to the point I’m not sure which is which.

      One aspect about most of the FF I “graviton” toward has Chuck and Sarsh much more amorous than we actually saw. I’m not complaining about canon in that regard, but I thoroughly prefer my C/S much more playfully loving, hands-on and even a bit more dependent on each other. More “Phase three” Sarah and “Cliffhanger” Chuck, as it were.

      One more quick thought about the finale (and many shows sadly end this way), but I’m no fan of everyone going their separate ways at the end to start their own adventures, ala Frasier, Friends, Chuck, MASH (though that does make sense) and a slew of others.

      • atcDave says:

        I agree about the going separate ways. Although I would have bought Casey heading out, Ellie and Devon seemed pretty pointless.

  9. klara says:

    Dear Dave,
    every now & then I come to rewatch “Chuck” in my leisure time I then I get back to this site to read some of the commentary and this so carefully made site.
    I would want you to know that I still appreciate so much what you and all the others have done here.
    Thank you so much.
    dearly greetings to all of you
    klara :o)

Leave a Reply

